We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tropical Paradise”
Review of Couples Tower Isle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Couples Tower Isle
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 October 2009

The staff at Tower Isle is what makes this resort a vacation to be cherished. My husband and I honeymooned there 25 years ago when it was COR and just recently returned from celebrating our 25th anniversary. Although the resort has undergone a major renovation the concept has remained the same-every care and concern is addressed and the staff is extremely attentive. Even though my husband was ill for one day of our trip the staff went above and beyond tending to him. We met many "couples" - majority are honeymooners. My only regret is we were only there for 4 nights-not long enough. We'll make it at for at least a week next time and won't wait 25 years.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoriB27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chitownshandi, director of sales and marketing at Couples Tower Isle, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2009

Hello and thank you for your review of Couples Tower Isle, formeraly Couples Ocho Rios. We are so happy you enjoyed the changes and still felt like you were coming home, thanks to the awesome staff there. During the renovation we actually kept staff on payroll to be sure they would come back and take great care of the new and repeat guests. Be sure to register for romance rewards for your next return so we can give you perks for your return stays. Thanks again, we look forward to welcoming you home again soon.
Andi Conway
Director of Sales and Marketing, Couples Resorts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,525 - 2,531 of 3,157 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2009

We just returned from our trip to Couples and have to say it was one of our best trips ever. We've been to AI's in Mexico 15+ times in the last 10 years and none of our experiences there have even come close to the food and service we experienced at Couples. All the restaurants were outstanding...I even convinced my husband to try the veggie bar and we ended up eating lunch there almost every day. And the (included) room service was fantastic. What better way to start your day than waking up to a tray of Blue Mountain coffee, pastries and mouth watering fresh fruit. All while sitting on our private balcony overlooking the ocean. Wow.

The included activities also surpassed anything we've experienced before at AI's before. We figured out which days the cruise ships docked and then planned our Dunn's River and horsebacking riding trips on the "off days". When we arrived at Dunn's River we realized it wasn't a requirement to hike it with a guide (and holding hands with everyone). We just walked to the bottom and hiked up, having the Falls virtually to ourselves! The horseback riding was also a wonderful experience not to be missed. The guides were very knowledgeable and fun to talk with. Catamarin cruise was also a great experience. Very friendly staff (and bottomless rum punch!) and the cove where we stopped to swim was idyllic!

We were also able to dive almost every day of our trip. If you plan on diving, make sure you bring your log. We've been diving for 20 years and brought our cards, but not our logs. Because we didn't have them, we had to do a skills test in the pool before they would let us sign up for the following day. Not a huge deal, but it would have been unnecessary had we brought our logs. We had two different divemasters...Collin and 'Rasta' :-). Rasta was our man for pointing out things we would have otherwise missed. Collin is just one of those people that makes an impression on you for the rest of your life. We'll go back just to see him!

And as far as that goes, I could go on and on about the staff...they are truly the heart and soul of this resort and what made our trip "over the top". Everyone was so friendly and everything was so easy! No problem, mon!

We will definitely be back at Couples in the near future!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 4boymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chitownshandi, director of sales and marketing at Couples Tower Isle, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2009

Hello and thank you for your review of Couples Tower Isle. Since the re-opening in April, the reviews have been amazing and most of them focus on the staff. I will be sure to pass your accolades to them - its such a great perk for them to know how much they influence your vacation. We are thrilled to learn that you took FULL advantage of our amazing inclusions - scuba, horseback riding, dunn's river falls and catamaran boat ride. WOW, sounds like a great trip. Be sure to register for romance rewards, so we can reward you for your return stays.
Andi Conway
Director of Sales and Marketing, Couples Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2009

This resort is really beautiful! It is very clean and has been newly remodelled. It has a private beach which I love. No, you can't take long walks on the beach, but the great thing about it is that there are no vendors wandering onto the beach to bug you. The staff here is wonderful - they keep the property looking great - it seems like there is one staff member for every guest! But, back to the beach... there are plenty of chairs on the beach and nice palm trees to give shade if you prefer to lay in the shade. There is of course wait staff to bring you drinks while you lay on the beach. There are two floats anchored in the ocean for the guests to lay on - that was really fun! There are two lovely pools - one with a swim up bar. My only complaint is the location of our room - we were too close to the evening entertainment - it sounded like it was right in our room. On Fridays and Saturdays, the entertainment lasted until midnight, all other nights 11pm I think. Anyway, there were a few nights that we just wanted to go to bed early, but I could not sleep because it was too loud! Other than that, I would say this is a great resort. The Bayside and 8 Rivers restaurants are very good! We also enjoyed the buffet - you can try a variety of local foods there. Also, if you come to this resort, consider doing the Dunn's River Falls hike - yes, you hike up a waterfall. You climb up the same slippery rocks that the water is rushing down. Scary, but fun! A real experience! I have to mention that the drinks here are very weak - the beer is near beer - lower alcohol content than in the US. And the liquor is watered down or something - they do offer top shelf though. They do not have a wine list. They have a chardonnay, a merlot, etc. No selection though.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank wildcat41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chitownshandi, director of sales and makreting at Couples Tower Isle, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2009

Hello and thanks for your review of Couples Tower Isle. We are so excited about the $30M renovation and from your review it seems as though you appreciated the improvements. I too love the scalloped beaches of Ocho Rios - just enough space and no distracting vendors. I will contact the operations team regarding beer and liquor, next time be sure to ask for a floater or additional alcohol to taste - its all included so its no problem mon :) Thanks again, we look forward to welcoming you home again soon.
Andi Conway
Director of Sales and Marketing, Couples Resorts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2009

We were hesitant to go to an all-inclusive but once we got there and were shown around it was the best choice we could have made for that area.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank p_nutt99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2009

We spent 2 weeks at Couples for our honeymoon in August and it was an incredible experience! Without writing a novel, it is hard to know where to begin.

The included activities were a ton of fun!! Our favorite was going Scuba Diving. I think we went 10 times during the 14 days we were there! I'd recommend trying everything you can, from the catamaran cruise, to horseback riding to dunn's river falls. You really can't go wrong.

The food was consistently good. We really liked the ambiance of the Asian restaurant over the water, but we would have to rate every meal we had at CTI either Good or Excellent, which was wonderful compared to some previous all-inclusive experiences!

Also, the staff was really cool! I've never been to a resort where so many different people took the time to get to know us and learn our names. And most of the time they would remember our names when they saw us again! Certainly, a great touch!!

Overall, if you're looking for a Romantic getaway, it is hard to imagine beating this blast.

Thank you Couples for making our honeymoon so memorable!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank goducks413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2009

Tower Isle is the newly remodeled version of the former Couples Ochos Rios. The new rooms are large, bright and all have balconies or porches.
They still have the old pool, but have also added a new pool with a swimup bar.
The offshore (nude) island has a pool with a swimup bar, beach loungechairs and hammocks. The whole resort, though small, is pristinely clean and beautifully landscaped. The quality of the restaurant food is exceptional by all-inclusive standards.
Greens fees, snorkel trips, SCUBA and a trip to Dunn's River Falls are all iincluded in the price.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jetkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2009

A very good hotel in a beautiful location, interesting island owned by the hotel! You will have to be brave and be prepared to strip if you want to take the boat out to the island. The entertainment was particularly good in the piano bar but pretty poor late at night, if you like to stay out late like we did. Stunning grounds and beautiful views. It did make you feel a bit guilty with beggars at the resorts edge and whenever you stepped out the hotel grounds.

Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
3  Thank DamianG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
1.9 mi away
Couples Sans Souci
Couples Sans Souci
#4 of 35 in Ocho Rios
3,927 reviews
85.3 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#8 of 80 in Negril
4,363 reviews
8.2 mi away
Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, Ocho Rios,Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios
#8 of 35 in Ocho Rios
8,757 reviews
85.6 mi away
Couples Swept Away
Couples Swept Away
#14 of 80 in Negril
5,287 reviews
4.4 mi away
Moon Palace Jamaica
Moon Palace Jamaica
#7 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couples Tower Isle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Tower Isle

Address: St. Mary, Ocho Rios, Jamaica (Formerly Couples Ocho Rio)
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range: £242 - £387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Couples Tower Isle 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playground to Hollywood celebrities in the 1950s, glamorous Couples Tower Isle exudes a chic sophistication perfectly balanced by a relaxed Caribbean sensuality. Perched on the lush terrain of Ocho Rios, Jamaica—the resort seduces with breathtaking sea views, a wide sandy beach and century-old palm trees. Discover the joys of snorkeling among the reefs, windsurfing on the waves, or sailing into the sunset on a catamaran, rum punch in hand. Intricate blue tile work and jade chaise lounges offset the striking white retro architecture. Luxurious rooms boast private ocean-breeze balconies. Whether being pampered in the Zen-inspired spa—recognized as "Best in the Caribbean" by Travel+Leisure—sipping cocktails at the piano bar or indulging in an exquisite meal alfresco, Couples Tower Isle creates countless intimate moments that inspire you to return again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Couples Tower Isle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Tower Isle Hotel Ocho Rios
Couples Hotel Ocho Rios
Couples Ocho Rios
Couples Hotel Isle
Couples Ochos Rios
Ochos Rios
Couples Tower Isle Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing