We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Vacation--we just like Couples Negril better”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Couples Tower Isle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Couples Tower Isle
Ranked #5 of 36 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Vacation--we just like Couples Negril better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2010

First off let me say that we got married at Couples Negril in Dec. 2008, and loved it very much. We went to Tower Isle for our one year anniversery. It was great but we found ourselves comparing everything to Negril.

At Tower Isle the food was great, the drinks were great. We love the service and the wonderful staff. I loved the spa, we had a credit and we got 2 one hour couples massages, and i got a facial, body scurb and half hour massage package. It was great.
We had a primer ocean room and i am glad with our choice, the location was perfect. We had a little mishap with flooding in our closet, but it was quickly corrected, and they made up for it by giving us a private dinner on the beach and getting the wet clothes laundered. The dinner was so romantic, I am just not sure i would pay for it when you have already paid for the all-inclusive food, but it was a good experience. We loved the watersports, and the dive staff, they were so much fun.

My one complaint would have to be the bathroom, i knew even before we got there that the zero edge shower created water all over the floor. Besided that the placement of the soap tray was right at my head level, i bummped my head on it everyday. And for being rennovated, i thought the white tile in the bathroom looked really dingy, i wore sandals in the shower. But nothing to ruin a vacation at all.

Couples Negril has a way better beach, and i just liked the tropical resort feeling i got with negril, at Tower Isle it really did feel more like a hotel. I thought Negril had a lot better grill and snack bar. I loved the fresh guamamole and chips at negril and really missed that at tower isle.

We also went to mexico and stayed at the riu tequilla in feb of this year and have decided we still love couples resorts and have booked for couples negril for dec of next year.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fendawg42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,056 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,988
    718
    210
    96
    44
See reviews for
38
2,389
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (975)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kent
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2010

We spent 14 nights at Tower Isle, Couples Resort in a deluxe ocean view room which are all fully air conditioned and very spacious...plus 32" flatscreen TV. Only niggle is a modern nice looking flat style sink which can be worked with but not the most practical. Everywhere is spotlessly clean, the grounds are luscious and plentiful with hammocks. The spa is honestly the best smelling place we've ever been!
Food at all 6 bars/restaurants is top notch and caters from the simple easy eating (burger and fries) to top class haute cuisine at the EIght Rivers restaurant....mind you, there's nothing basic about the flavour of their burgers, some of the best we'd tasted anywhere..and we've been to a lot of places!
Drinks...well, they're free and plentiful with quality spirits and a choice within each type. Bar staff are knowledgable and friendly. Water is filtered so you can drink as much as you like and fill up the free water bottles supplied at all locations and water fountains on every floor. Juice bar at the spa was refreshing and excellent, sometimes had to wait for a member of staff over there but what's an extra 5 minutes in a hot-tub and on island time..yeh mon!
Activities: you do as much or as little as you like, it's that simple. All staff involved are very friendly, and helpful...excellent selection-see the website.
House-keeping:the most comprehensive we've ever had, twice daily and a turndown. Fresh towels freely available and large!
All staff are incredibly friendly and helpful, always acknowledge you yet manage not to intrude on your holiday, they genuinely seemed to make it their job to ensure we had the best holiday we could.
Tipping: ignore reviews regarding tipping culture, there is none in the resort, the only place where you may wish to tip is in the spa as they're not Couples employees, but we weren't pressured to do so. Other than this, you may wish to tip your drivers, but they are mostly very chatty and informative on your surroundings but absolutely no pressure. (they're not stood waiting for it!).
Their website really does show you what you get...a stunning location, with exceptional food, drink and staff.
You really can do as much or as little as you please.
If we had our time again, the only thing we might do differently is spend one week at Tower Isle and the 2nd week on the west coast, Negril/Swept Away resort, so we could see more of Jamaica.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Exige1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2010

My husband and I booked this resort to scuba dive. Four out of six days were red flags for no reason. The weather was beautiful and the winds were blowing but not to the point of red flags. Their new water sports manger, AJ, was overcautious. My husband called another resort 10 minutes down the road and they have been diving the entire time. We stayed at Sandals before but wanted to try something different. Sandals is a step up from Couples (customer service, more engaged with us, food, cleanliness). Couples didn’t go the extra mile like Sandals did. The dinners were awesome but their buffet was mediocre. Their beach was extremely small and the seaweed was awful. I would probably recommend CTI if it wasn’t for the run around we got about the water conditions. When the red flag is up you can’t do any water activities (snorkeling, scuba, windsurfing, swimming, etc) and there isn’t much else to do. One last downfall is the hour and forty minute drive to CTI. I felt as if I was in NASCAR racing.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YaMon2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamman, vice president of operations at Couples Tower Isle, responded to this review, 26 April 2010
Thank you for your review.

Our dive program is more extensive than any other resort chain. Our dive crew dive up to 21 dive sites in the Ocho rios area. COUPLES resorts is the only resort chain in Jamaica that offers a free novice dive and training as well as free unlimited dives (subject to availability) for certified divers.

One of our proudest achievements is that our safety record for our water sports and Scuba department is second to none. Safety is our priority and we will not compromise on this.

I am surprised that you found little to do due to rough seas. COUPLES Tower Isle has a host of activities included in our all-inclusive package, also more than any other resort. for example, we include Dunns river tour, horse back riding, shopping tours, golf, free tennis lessons, cooking and craft classes to name just a few.

I am

Gary Stephens
Vice President of Operations
COUPLES resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2010

The hotel itself is beautiful, the rooms are very nice, but there are a lot of underlying problems and management is completely uninterested in addressing them. First, kudos where they are due - the food is the absolute best of an AI I've ever been too. However - the problems:

1. You can hear every noise in the hall, no matter how small.
2. If you have a room fronting the beach, the noise from the evening entertainment sounds like you have a mariachi band sharing your bed.
3. There are certain public areas that smelled so bad it would choke you.
4. The "no tipping policy" is more like a don't ask, don't tell policy.
5. The reservation system for restuarants and activities is a joke. Don't choose this resort on the basis of the included activities, there is a very real possibility that they will not be available to you.
6. Any kind of complaint or questioning of these items nets you a blank stare from whichever employee you talk to about it but certainly no action to correct the situation.
7. There are often not enough employees working at breakfast to attend to cleaning tables and servicing all the breakfast stations.
8. Our door was knocked on by staff constantly during the day for various reasons. There was a different person for toilet paper, towels, mini bar, soaps, cleaning, turning down bed etc. The rooms were nice, but it took all day long, and a dozen different people knocking on your door to make up the room for the day.
9. The in room mini bars are a joke. You are alotted ONE pepsi per day, you may not have any more no matter how nicely you ask. The liquor as promised is not in your room when you arrive, you must request it and it shows up the next day. We did not end up requesting any liquor in our room, as we are not big drinkers, however, soft drinks are treated this way as well. If you drink the one you are alotted for the day, then you must fill out a form to request a replacement, maybe it shows up the next day and maybe not. It was hit and miss for us. In other words - don't be tempted into a higher room category for the convenience of the mini bar - there is nothing convenient about it.
10. The staff is pleasant, but they are not the "make you feel like family" staff that Couples advertises.
10. Management is uninterested in dealing with complaints. We filled out the comment card as requested, including contact information assuming they'd at least send an email to address some of the issues, they have not. I posted on their message board a review with the issues, they have ignored it. I TRIED to post on their message board that I was disappointed that management seemed to not care, and that post mysteriously disappeared. Long and short of it, once you have paid for your stay - they are not interested in what your perceptions of the resort are.

I hope this information helps.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank justthefactsfromcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamman, vice president of operations at Couples Tower Isle, responded to this review, 28 April 2010
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. Rest assured your comments have been discussed with our management and team in our most recent staff meeting and can only help us to improve our service standards. We are extremely proud of our guest rating on Tripadvisor and are so disappointed that you did not have the excellent experience that most have had.



Our resort was reopened a year ago this month after a US$30 million refurbishment. Our room doors are standard hotel doors and should be sound proof. I am not aware of foul odors in public areas. We have impressed on staff that tipping is not allowed. We include more activities than any other resort. Please book your activities as soon as you arrive to avoid disappointment. Our staff to guest ratio is approximately one staff for every guest. Our Minibars are stocked as requested by our guests and is not limited.



Our General manager does not recall your complaints while at the resort. He would have been happy to correct issues while here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2010

What a fabulous holiday at Couples Tower Isle. We enjoyed 2 weeks at the beginning of March and can't wait to return.
The hotel offers fantastic service the staff are very subtle however nothing is too much trouble. We had a lovely ocean view room which was a good size and offered all the amenities we required and most importantly extremely clean.
The hotel buffet restaurant is great and offers much variety both in the evening and lunchtime. We ate at the Veranda Restaurant just once and the food was good, the asian restaurant at the Bayview is in a pretty setting and whilst other restaurants offer better food it was nice, it can get a little breezy so ladies take a cardigan and hold on to your serviettes. Eight Rivers is Exquisite need we say more fine dining with outstanding service, thank you Devon.
Brenton, Naisha, Kayden and Matthew thank you for our breakfast chats and great activities, Patrick is the ping pong champ.. ha ha.
Joy-Ann at the reservations desk always had a lovely smile and was happy to help. Book early for the activities as they fill quickly don't end up disappointed. The horse riding is great and a must do.
Thank you so much to Leonard and Maxine, it's great to see the managers of a hotel taking so much pride in their work you were fantastic you know what you did.
All the bar staff will go out of their way to find your favourite tipple - mind the BOB MARLEY'S they'll blow you away. Taneisha was a sweety and ensured every evening our glass was full.
The hotel band are good quality and we enjoyed them however it would not harm to have a little more variety.
Hannah and Patrick really recommend this hotel and we can't wait to return......

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PathanWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2010

We were really impressed with this resort. There isn't anything we would have changed. the staff is great. So much to do and it is all included! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Can084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
regina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2010

We were very happy with the Couples lounge at the airport. It was really nice to arrive to a cold drink after a long flight. The staff was very friendly. It wasnt long until we were on our way.
We had a very smooth and quick check in. We were taken to a garden view room. Not the category we booked. The ocean view deluxe was not available so we were moved to a premier ocean with a promise of a our booked room the next morning.
All of the rooms were very nice. The garden view rooms were very private, the ocean views had very beautiful views. All had a really nice size walk in closet and plenty of drawer space. We really enjoyed the use of the robes, shampoo and lotions offered.
The resort is absolutely beautiful. I dont know how they manage to keep it so clean! The hotel is literally right on the beach. Everything is just steps away.
We loved every meal we had! Surprising, since my husband is very picky! We had the room service breakfast on our balcony looking at the ocean a few of the mornings. It was a beautiful plate of fruit and pastries along with the most delicious coffee. Lots to choose from! We ate in each of the restaraunts with no problem getting reservations. Our favorite was the 8 Rivers. The beef wellington was amazing!
The service at this resort is top notch! Best bar service! The drinks are quality and plentiful! The wait staff very friendly and quick. The maid service was touch and go. Sometimes our room wasnt cleaned until 4pm, then turned down while we were getting ready for dinner. We loved her anyway. She was a very nice lady.
We did a few of the included excursions. Horseback riding at the plantation was alot of fun. Dunns river is also a must do. The Catamaran cruise was very entertaining, would do over and over. The shopping shuttle could have been better. It seemed to have been created for tourists. We would have liked to see real jamaica while shopping. We found better souvineers at the gift shop for very reasonable prices. We liked the cash free system they have. You pay at check out.
The beach was nice and although we travelled during a very busy week we had no problem finding a chair or floaty. We were dissapointed that there were no flags to alert the staff that we needed a drink. They did come around often, no problem.
The entertainment staff kept us entertained. Bingo at the pool bar during the day and kareoke at the piano bar in the evening was fun. We also saw a movie on the beach that was alot of fun!
We had a chance to use the spa. The fruity drinks were delicious! The couples massage was perfect for rainy afternoon relaxation. While we were there we used the hot tub surrounded by trees and flowers as well as the buddah pool and steam room. I had my hair and make up done at the salon. Very nice! Prices were fair also!
I would like to mention that we were married while we were there. Latoya is one of the most warm, friendly and helpful people. Our wedding was everything I imagined and more!
Now for the not so good! We booked Couples because we like to travel without having kids around. There were families at this resort while we were there. 2 that we saw on a regular basis. One family had the parents along with two young teenage girls. We mentioned it to a few staff members, as the teenage girls walked by, and got no explanation. We asked several times if there was someone to speak to about this. Of course there was never anyone available! We finally decided that we would not spend our precious time at such a beautiful place looking for someone who would explain and to deal with it when we returned home. I called customer service who seemed shocked by this and said it couldnt be so. I asked her to call the hotel directly. I would have been happy with an explanation. Instead I recieved an email stating that it did not happen and they look forward to my return home! Are you kidding! I was very hurt and upset! Although sharon from customer service said she knew I was not making it up initially. I was not the only one saw these families. We travelled with two other couples that were also shocked by the response. The young girls were snorkeling with my son and told him that they would have to be in the lobby to meet thier parents and that they are in high school! This hotel checked this family in and lied about it! I later found out through friends that there was a huge overbooking problem at a large AI on the island and that was the reason the family was transfered to CTI. I completely understand but I did pay for a vacation that was couples only. All I wanted was an explanation! That would have been enough! But instead they lied said it did not happen. And I was told I should ve dealt with it at the time! It is now time to book for next winter. I had originally planned to visit one of the other Couples properties on the Negril side. But just cant bring myself to give this company anymore money. The customer service is terrible! They lie! they lied!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank coach_princess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamman, vice president of operations at Couples Tower Isle, responded to this review, 28 April 2010
What an excellent review marred by your perception that the resort accepted children while you were here. Please be advised that we ONLY accept ADULT COUPLES 18 years and older. We do not ask if guests are a couple nor do we ask for proof of age on arrival. Our General Manager does not recall any guest that appeared under age and would have been happy to investigate your claim if you had asked him.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
1.9 mi away
Couples Sans Souci
Couples Sans Souci
#4 of 36 in Ocho Rios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,749 reviews
85.3 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#9 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,217 reviews
59.7 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
59.8 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
8.2 mi away
Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, Ocho Rios,Curio Collection by Hilton
20.5 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couples Tower Isle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Tower Isle

Property: Couples Tower Isle
Address: St. Mary, Ocho Rios, Jamaica (Formerly Couples Ocho Rio)
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Couples Tower Isle 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playground to Hollywood celebrities in the 1950s, glamorous Couples Tower Isle exudes a chic sophistication perfectly balanced by a relaxed Caribbean sensuality. Perched on the lush terrain of Ocho Rios, Jamaica—the resort seduces with breathtaking sea views, a wide sandy beach and century-old palm trees. Discover the joys of snorkeling among the reefs, windsurfing on the waves, or sailing into the sunset on a catamaran, rum punch in hand. Intricate blue tile work and jade chaise lounges offset the striking white retro architecture. Luxurious rooms boast private ocean-breeze balconies. Whether being pampered in the Zen-inspired spa—recognized as "Best in the Caribbean" by Travel+Leisure—sipping cocktails at the piano bar or indulging in an exquisite meal alfresco, Couples Tower Isle creates countless intimate moments that inspire you to return again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Couples Tower Isle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Tower Isle Hotel Ocho Rios
Couples Hotel Ocho Rios
Couples Ocho Rios
Couples Hotel Isle
Couples Ochos Rios
Ochos Rios
Couples Tower Isle Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing