We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Relaxing”
Review of Couples Tower Isle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Couples Tower Isle
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2010

We stayed at Tower Island the second week in July. We had a beautiful room facing the ocean. We slept great every night and honestly had no complaints whatsoever.

We ordered room service every morning. It arrived by 0630. After that we usually went to the gym (very nice weight/exercise room) and worked out. After that we checked our email (excellent and free internet cafe) and then had coffee on the veranda.

The overall cleanliness of the place was excellent. The new renovations are top notch. The food was also excellent. We went for the informal veranda dinners. However, we did book the Asian (Thai) restaurant two nights. The ambiance was incredible and the food and service was good. I also think that the desserts are some of the best I have ever eaten...especially the Key Lime Pie.

The various pools throughout the property were very relaxing too. Lots of chairs pretty much everywhere. We never had a hard time getting a place to sun ourselves. The resort is also big enough that we were able to find privacy as well.

We also booked two massages. Both were very relaxing.

The fellow vacationers were mostly Americans with a sprinkling of Brits and Canadians. Since it was summer there were quite a few honeymooners. Quite a wide age range...early 20's to 70's.

All in all an excellent trip with no downsides. We will most probably be booking again in the winter.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DryProp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,147)
There are newer reviews for Couples Tower Isle
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,357 - 2,363 of 3,147 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2010

My wife and I have just spent our first wedding anniversary at Tower Isle which happened also to be our 3rd stay at this amazing place.
We always read the reviews on here and having read some of the none to complimentary ones I do really wonder if they stayed at the same place.
The reports of rude staff are rubbish a friendlier bunch you could not wish to meet.
The food as always was exemplary.
I spent a lot of time diving and the dive team of Collin, Lloyd(Raster Man) and David the boat captain cannot do enough to make the diving relaxed and fun, and as for the erroneous reports of having to pay for the dives that is complete rubbish, albeit you do have to pay for any training courses, it is PADI what else would you expect.
Our room was cleaned every day, our only small complaint was the one or two groups of very loud and drunk Americans but these were only the minority, a little more could have been done to control their behavior (management comment possibly here?), all this having been said we met with old friends there and we WILL be back next year all being well.
Karl & Sue Brackenbury.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahL_Karl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2010

Can't say enough good things about our visit. There are many things provided by the resort inside and out. We could have been busy the whole time, but did lounge on the beaches where servers would stop by with fruit trays or ask you if they could get you a drink. Everyone was pleasant and they weren't even working for tips; very refreshing. The resort offers activities for any speed of lifestyle (partiers, active, slow-paced, etc.). You can be as busy or as relaxed as you want to be. Some hi-lights for us was the catamaran cruise, kayaking on the sea, fitness center looking over the ocean, the food!, horseback riding, classes offered, and Dunn's river falls. This was all included. A great trip for a new chapter in our lives.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KS_King_KandA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2010

My wife and I stayed at Couples Tower Isle July 7 to July 11. It was our 10th anniversary and we had planned the trip for a year. I picked CTI because of the vast reviews I read about on Trip Adviser. 90%+ of these showed good reviews. We did not find this on our stay. We are simple people who enjoy cruises and just getting away. Mainly the CTI staff (mainly the women) were very rude and more concerned about looking good than helping you or even smiling when you ask a question. We went for the free activiies as well. The horse back riding was posponed. CTI stated it was an unknown reason but we found out someone got robbed. I was not suprised with Jamaica being the way it is that this happened. CTI just shrugged this off and did not offer anything else. My main thing was the Scuba Diving. They say it is free for all and that is true but if you are there for 3.5 days as we were you are out of luck. There is a list everyday and you need to do it before your second to last day as you are not allowed if flying the next day. I asked the manager about this and she said to stay longer. I advised her of the horse back riding situation as well the fact that the desk clerk's mistake that caused us to miss Dunn River Falls. She gave us 20% off at the gift shop on items we could of got for 50% off down town. On the Dunn River Falls issue we ended up paying for our own cab ride down town to the tune of $50, not exactly free! My wife left her jewelry there and after four days she realized. She called them and they said they found it in the room but for whatever reason they did not call us. She made arrangements with the security manager to have it mailed. Two days later she received a call that it had been found. She advised the lady that it had all been taken care of and asked why she did not know. All and all this place lacks in many departments but mainly customer service. I would not stay here. I cannot say on the other Couples Resorts and probably will never know first hand. Don't believe all of the good reviews. They are probably submitted by CTI employees under false names and accounts!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mkjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamman, vice president of Operations at Couples Tower Isle, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2010

Thank you for your review. I am very disappointed that you did not experience the same excellent vacation that so many others have had.

Your experiences will no doubt help other guests when visiting a COUPLES resort.

1/ Our Horse back riding is 3 days a week and is included in our all-inclusive package.

2/ We offer free scuba diving for certified divers and a novice dive is included also. If you are staying just 3-4 days best to sign up for this the day of arrival. Always remember that it is an international standard not to dive then fly with in 24 hours.

3/ We also, include Dunns river excursion which includes free transfers and entrance fee. There is no sign up for this. We require guests to meet in our lobby to board the transfer bus. This procedure is also explained during guest orientation conducted twice per day as well as on our in room TV channel.

4/ Please lock your valuables in our room safe provided.

5/ Our All-inclusive package also includes shopping tours.

ALL reviews on this site are written by past guests NOT COUPLES staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2010

This was my husband's and my first trip to a Couples resort and I could have stayed forever! The staff is super friendly! We had an accident on one of the sailboats and had to be rescued (how embarassing) and the gentleman who rescued us coud not have been more comforting and friendly (No worries, mon!). The food was phenomenal and the activities were wonderful. I would go back in a New York minute! The only complaint that we had was that the Cataraman cruise was a bit too much of a party atmosphere for us. Otherwise, bliss!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Couplesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2010

We stayed two weeks at Couples Tower Isle, our first experience of all inclusive as we had always thought it would not be worth the money. However we treated ourselves and found we were completely converted. The choice and quality of the food was excellent. As a vegetarian, I had been a little worried there would be nothing to eat but there was absolutely no reason to be concerned. As well as a veggie bar serving light snacks (e.g. goats cheese and roasted veg on olive foccacia, vegetable crudites and sweet potato crisps with hummus), every restaurant offered tasty and imaginative vegetarian options at every meal. The menus changed frequently and even on our last day we were still spotting new items on the breakfast menu. The Eight Rivers and Bayside restaurants have to be booked in advance but we found no difficulty in booking whenever we wanted. If the resort was very busy, I suppose you would need to do this on your first day to be sure of a reservation. Both of these restaurants, and the Verandah restaurant for which no booking is needed, served excellent food accompanied by excellent service. For a more informal setting, the Patio restaurant offers an enormous buffet where you help yourself to as much as you want. For the food alone, this resort is worth visiting, especially as we spoke to holidaymakers from other hotels who had been disappointed with their hotel food. I cannot imagine many people making complaints about the food at Couples Tower Isle.

Drinks were premium brand, wine was good quality and the cocktail list went on and on. We are not big drinkers by any standards but it is still nice to know you can have whatever you like and not be faced with a bill at the end.

What makes this resort especially good value is that the excursions are also included. We thought the Dunns River Falls trip and the horseback riding at Prospect Plantation were especially worthwhile (although had we had the hold up experience of a recent reviewer we may have thought differently). The horse riding is suitable for absolute beginners and includes a highly entertaining demonstration showing the local plants and fruits. We also went on a couple of shopping trips and to Margaritaville, a night club in the town centre. All of these trips can add quite a bit to your holiday costs if you have to pay for them separately. The only trip we found disappointing was the visit to a craft flea market - instead we would recommend the craft market in the town. Don't be put off by the wire fence surrounding it, inside you will find a much greater choice of souvenirs as well as the opportunity to see craftsmen and women at work. You can also try out your haggling skills.

There is lots more to do at Couples Tower Isle, including a catamaran cruise and a variety of water sports. We did not want to sunbathe au naturel on the island but we did make a trip across there first thing one morning just to see it - just ask at the water sports hut if you want to do this.

One thing I particularly valued was the free internet cafe. This made it really easy to keep in touch with family at home, and also to check reviews or book additional trips outside the resort. And yes, if you possibly can, do leave the resort now and again and get out and see something of Jamaica and its people. Take the same safety precautions as you would take anywhere unfamiliar to you and enjoy the island's beauty.

Probably the one thing that really sets this resort apart is the staff. We found they were all extremely helpful and attentive. There are plenty of them and we never had to wait for anything. It makes a difference when everyone you meet greets you with a friendly smile and a willingness to give excellent service.

If I tried really hard I could find one or two things that could be improved (the bathrooms seem a bit shabby to me and evening entertainment finished quite early) but no more than very minor irritations. Focus on the good points, of which there are many, and I do not think you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MrsSfromLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2010

My husband and I visited Tower isle in May. This was a returning trip. We got married there in 2003. We were somewhat dissapointed. The place has changed some much. Although the renovation took place, it's the service that has really changed. 7 years ago the customer service was impeccable. Most of the staff was just rude and not helpful. We stayed in a "ocean view" room. Was not worth the upgrade. I had to stand in a chair and look through a tree to see the ocean. If you wanted to use the wifi, you would have to go out on the balcony because it wouldn't pick up in the room.

The nightlife was terrible. The people that work in the outdoor beach grill are RUDE. We stayed 7 nights and were ready to come home. We will be going back to Sandals in Montego Bay. The 2 hour bus ride after the flight is just too long to travel. I would, however, recommend the massage, it was great.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ddhanback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
2.6 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,303 reviews
1.9 mi away
Couples Sans Souci
Couples Sans Souci
#4 of 35 in Ocho Rios
3,900 reviews
85.3 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#8 of 80 in Negril
4,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, Ocho Rios,Curio Collection by Hilton
85.6 mi away
Couples Swept Away
Couples Swept Away
#13 of 80 in Negril
5,267 reviews
59.7 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 64 in Montego Bay
6,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couples Tower Isle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Tower Isle

Address: St. Mary, Ocho Rios, Jamaica (Formerly Couples Ocho Rio)
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range: £234 - £376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Couples Tower Isle 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playground to Hollywood celebrities in the 1950s, glamorous Couples Tower Isle exudes a chic sophistication perfectly balanced by a relaxed Caribbean sensuality. Perched on the lush terrain of Ocho Rios, Jamaica—the resort seduces with breathtaking sea views, a wide sandy beach and century-old palm trees. Discover the joys of snorkeling among the reefs, windsurfing on the waves, or sailing into the sunset on a catamaran, rum punch in hand. Intricate blue tile work and jade chaise lounges offset the striking white retro architecture. Luxurious rooms boast private ocean-breeze balconies. Whether being pampered in the Zen-inspired spa—recognized as "Best in the Caribbean" by Travel+Leisure—sipping cocktails at the piano bar or indulging in an exquisite meal alfresco, Couples Tower Isle creates countless intimate moments that inspire you to return again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Couples Tower Isle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Tower Isle Hotel Ocho Rios
Couples Hotel Ocho Rios
Couples Ocho Rios
Couples Hotel Isle
Couples Ochos Rios
Ochos Rios
Couples Tower Isle Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing