We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay... and affordable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chrisanns Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chrisanns Beach Resort
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
Farmington Hills, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay... and affordable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2010

I enjoyed my recent stay at Chrisann's Beach Resort - July 4th weekend. The location is very peaceful - Tower Isle..near Ocho Rios. The property is gated with 24/7 security, has gorgeous views and well-maintained grounds (swimming pool, private beach, etc.). My room was clean and convenient. I didn't have the amenities noted online (DVD player, radio..) as my unit was not privately owned. I didn't like the bed which was supposed to be a king-size and resulted in two twin beds being pushed together...but overall, I enjoyed my stay. I would recommend this location to anyone looking for a quiet place without the touristy-feel. The staff (Claudia and Andrea) were very helpful and nice. I will stay at this hotel again on my next visit to the Ocho Rios area.

You can buy groceries and request a cook (for a minimal daily charge)... or prepare your own as the rooms are equipped with fridge, stove and microwave. I didn't rent a car as I was not sure of the parking resources.. but I will on my next visit as they have their own private parking lot.

No complaints... very nice place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    49
    19
    6
    4
See reviews for
31
79
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2010

We stayed in apt 9 for 2 weeks and it was more than expected. From the first contact with miriam and dulcea it was a smooth and pleasant transaction. The apt was well equiped and nicely decorated. The staff were kind and helpful. the room service was excellent. The view is breath taking and grounds well maintained. Loved the pool and private beach front incredible. It was away from ochie but close enough to shop and go to market. I would reccommend to any one as I come to jamaica frequently this was by far one of the best i have stayed and cant wait to return. Dulcea thank you for this incredible place felt like home. bless

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kaya_704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2010

The service was excellent, the staff were on hand ready to help and very friendly. One of the main things we look for is cleanliness and Apt 9 was spotless, with the room being cleaned every day by the maids. It was a home from home, the Apt was very comfortable, had everything we needed and the bedroom in the loft was a extra special touch. Anything you need is available from the shop just a short stroll away, with a bar/jerk centre next door. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel epecially Apt 9 and can't wait to visit there again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FrenchieNorthWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2010

This was the perfect place to stay,lovely clean and inviting swimming pool and nice maintained gardens.The staff here are fantastic,so friendly and always seeing if we are ok, we made good friends with Audrey the Manager.The apartments are well eqipped and have everything you need,the kitchen are slighty small but we managed fine, the lounge is bright and airy and the apartment has 2 bathrooms,the beds are big to, both rooms have a safe and air conditioning and we also have a lovely little balcony.
We went into Ocho Rios town alot but its so cheap in one of the local taxis, we ate alot at the jerk chicken centre accross the road, soooo lovely!! and good choice of food to.Chrisanns is a laidback quiet resort, but its perfect for doing your own thing and you can come and go as you please but there is a security guard at the entrance to make you feel at ease.overall this is the best value resort, so clean and friendly with amazing sea views.Cant wait to go back!!! and thanks Audrey for making us feel so welcome, feel like we've known you ages.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charlotte25england
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2010

This was our first trip to Jamaica and we were looking to explore as much as we could on our own. This is the perfect resort and location to do just that. Chrisanns is a small scale home-style resort, not an over the top all-inclusive, ideally located outside the rush and in the heart of some of the best tourist adventures Jamaica has to offer. If you want quiet, laid-back, and the opportunity to do your own thing, this is the place to stay.

Unit #9 was the ultimate home-base. It is ideal for 2 people, complete with full cooking facilities, nicely decorated, all the daily amenities you will need for an extended stay, right on the water, with your own small private beach. The unit is kept exceptionally clean, on a daily basis, and the staff very pleasant to deal with. Questions about touring in the area were answered with knowledge, with additional suggestions on things to do, how to get there and phone calls made on our behalf to confirm details.
Swimming and snorkelling are at hand. When you are not interested in preparing your own meal there are three good restaurants just across the road that will satisfy any appetite.

The owner of this unit was a delight to deal with; and no request too big or too small to deal with quickly and efficiently. Along with the charming Jamaican décor, Dulcia has equipped her unit with excellent reading material and brochures about Jamaica and the many attractions one could seek out, which facilitated our adventuring. A great experience all ‘round and we would not hesitate to recommend this resort and specifically this particular unit.

One recommendation, if you are planning an extended stay beyond 1 or 2 weeks, a car rental is well worth the expense. There is so much to see beyond the main roads, and if you are the least bit adventuresome this is the way to go.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IrieOntario_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2010

Chrisanns was just what we were looking for and more. Very relaxing. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and well maintained.

We never got to the Tower Jerk center but thoroughly enjoyed Glenn's restaurant right across the street. Amazing meals and very reasonably priced. We had planned on eating more in our room but Glenn's was so good, we just ate there most of the time. We did try the jerk at Scotchies one night while at the west side of Ocho Rios. It was amazing.

Claudia at the front desk was very helpful in assisting us in lining up any tours we wanted to go on. Can't wait to go back again.

Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DWBSask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2010

Chrisanns was perfect for us. We don't do all inclusive - why go all that way & see nothing but your hotel and go on top security trips then herded on & off coaches.?We arrived to a warm welcome from Dulcia who'd sorted out the air con & filled the fridge & fruitbowl for us. Great balcony view over pool & sea. Very clean. Cleaned & freh linen every day - and they did our dishes! We were our own bosses and did tons of stuff - mostly Bob Marley related. We hired a lovely local taxi driver - went to Nine Mile/Trench Town/ Kingston/ Strawberry Hill as well as unrelated-to-Bob trip to Prospect Plantation. In between running around & seeing the beautiful countryside & mountains - so beautiful - we chilled out 10 mins walk away from Chrisanns on Reggae Beach - the best beach!! Kinda wanted to keep it a secret really!Most nights we ate out at Ocho - highly recommend best Chana Masala @ A Passage to India. The Ruins was a fab location.And Evitas was fun.Good place opposite Chrisanns - Glenns - good food & very friendly people. Local rum bars were great fun too. Go go go there .........but get out and about & contact Dulcia. One Love - Yeah Mon!!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonCat100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocho Rios hotels
1.7 mi away
Kaz Kreol Beach Lodge
Kaz Kreol Beach Lodge
#10 of 36 in Ocho Rios
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
2.1 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 36 in Ocho Rios
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
3.6 mi away
Silver Seas Resort Hotel
Silver Seas Resort Hotel
#16 of 36 in Ocho Rios
3.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Pineapple Court Hotel
Pineapple Court Hotel
#13 of 36 in Ocho Rios
3.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hermosa Cove - Jamaica's Villa Hotel
3.9 mi away
Rooms Ocho Rios
Rooms Ocho Rios
#14 of 36 in Ocho Rios
3.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chrisanns Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chrisanns Beach Resort

Property: Chrisanns Beach Resort
Address: P.O. Box 104, Tower Isle | St. Mary, Ocho Rios 00876, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ocho Rios
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chrisanns Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chrisanns Beach Resort is a complex of beachfront vacation apartments located four miles east of Ocho Rios that offers any holidaymaker an experience of Jamaca they could never forget. This enchanting property has its own private pool and beach with a gazebo that overlooks the ocean. Facilities include: air conditioning, cable television, housekeeping, fully equipped kitchen, 24 hours security and safety deposit box. Each apartment is privately owned and therefore has something different to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Hotels.com so you can book your Chrisanns Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chrisanns Beach Hotel Ocho Rios
Chrisanns Beach Resort Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing