We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“outstanding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jamaica Xplored

Jamaica Xplored
Ranked #6 of 16 Transportation in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: If you are looking for a Private Transportation and Tour operator specializing in Jamaica's rich culture, history and natural attractions. I operate from the Ocho Rios/Runaway Bay area and do customized tours throughout my island. If you are not sure of what you would like to see, I will create something suitable for you. Come experience the "real" Jamaica. I also do pickups and drop offs (Airport Transfers) to both international airports on the island.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

We used Glen on 2 vacations, first in 2013 when he took us and our friends to the Plantation Tour and the Firefly .
This year we booked him again he took us to the James bond beach and to Rose Hall and at the End of the Tour we stopped at Scotchie's for Jerk Chicken.
Glen is very funny and knowledgeable, he surprised us with Chicken patties (the best we've eaten).
We will definitely use him again next February to take us to the Martha Brae rafting. Thank you very much Glen we will contact you from Couples Sans Souci see you then :)

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank KeaG_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    6
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sauk Village, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The best private tour guide”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Glen Garwood, Jamaica Xplored picked my family and I up rom the airport to take us to the SJG in Ochi, he was on time as promised, on the ride he had cool drinks for us and nice music for the ride,
He is the greatest !

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank travelingmspat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Made our trip amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

We recently stayed in Ocho Rios to celebrate a birthday. I emailed Glen Garwood to arrange private tours. He was AMAZING! He took excellent care of us. We started with airport transfers. He was waiting when we arrived with his air conditioned vehicle and a cooler full of beverages. The next day he took us on a tour of the south side of Jamaica. It's literally an all day tour because the drive is so long but it was well worth it. We visited YS Falls, Black River Boatride and the Appleton Estate Rum Tour. Next came the Ocho Rios abilities tour where we visited Dunn's River Falls, Fern Gully, Coyaba Gardens and shopping. We also went to lunch at Scotchies. They have the most amazing jerk chicken there. And finally back to the airport with Glen. He was always on time and a font of information about everything Jamaica. I would definitely recommend him to anyone looking for an excellent private tour. Thank you so much Glen for taking care of us.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cinn124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caterham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Kingston & Port Royal in comfort and safety”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

We've been to Jamaica eight times over the past 15 years, and have always fancied visiting Kingston, but have been apprehensive because of the shortage of reputable tours, and stories of trouble.
However, when we asked Glen if he did tours there, we were delighted to hear "No problem, Mon". And that is exactly what happened.
A fine day trip, from Ocho Rios, up over the mountain via Fern Gulley, then down to Spanish Town. Past Spanish Town to Kingston, then on to a tour of Fort Royal, and back to Kingston for a city tour, including both old and new Kingston, and lunch in the old town.
Back over the mountains, and home in time to change for dinner. A most interesting day.
Thank you, Glen!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The only way to go!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Having done resort booked tours before, Glen was a welcome change to the usual bus load of strangers and canned tour info. Our group of 6 booked with Glen prior to our Jamaica stay via email. As our private guide, Glen took us on the Port Antonio tour, visiting Sommerset Falls, Frenchmans Cove, the Blue Lagoon, and finished with a bamboo river raft tour down the Rio Grande. We enjoyed local flavors along the way, including a great stop for lunch at a local restaurant. Glen is so personable yet professional; he gave us so much local info along the way. He is clearly very proud of his beautiful island, (rightly so!) and it was so enjoyable to have him share it with us. For our group of six, the price was extremely reasonable, especially given it was a private/customized tour with lunch and refreshments included. I would book with Glen again in a heartbeat, if I'm lucky enough to return to Jamaica again.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joanna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jamaica Xplored also viewed

 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to Jamaica Xplored? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing