We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Saturday Spot”

Mongoose Jamaica Restaurant and Lounge
Ranked #17 of 112 Restaurants in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Jamaican, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Mongoose Jamaica is more than a Restaurant, it's an experience.This Restaurant is "something different," We did something 'different' with the name as well, when we choose the "Mongoose" which has a rich history in Jamaica. Breakfast ranges from typical Jamaican fare of ackee and salt fish to pancakes and French toast. For dinner, there's chicken southern fried, curried, grilled lobster, grilled or curried, pork or steak. If you prefer, grab a sandwich, a pizza, some Jamaican jerk, or something from the grill, or maybe a cocktail from the bar. Black forest cakes and cheesecakes are our specialty desserts.
Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice Saturday Spot”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I have been to Mongoose a few Saturdays and find it to be a nice atmosphere. The food there has not been bad and the live band is great. The only down side is we have to wait a while for drinks sometimes, since they are normally very busy on a Saturday. Trisan the waitress was great...best personality!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lazoog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    79
    43
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Hairy food”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I ordered the curry goat witch i recieved after my drink was already gone.The taste was good but add I ate I found three hairs in my plate, about 6 small bones and also had to ask for napkins.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Saudia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Friendly service and good food”
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

We randomly selected this place on the main strip in Ochi. We were surprised by he good food at good prices. Server was prompt and seemed to enjoy her job. We sat outside in the back which seemed more romantic than the slightly overly bright inside dinning area. Overall a nice spot, nothing fancy but the staff and food make this a 5 out of 5 in its price range.

Helpful?
1 Thank Simone01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bad Choice”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

The one night we decided to eat out instead of the villa, we chose MONGOOSE in Ocho Rios. We should have known that it was a bad decision when at 7:00pm there was only 2 other tables filled when we arrived. They were out of all hamburgers, all pizzas, no catch of the day & wings. And no apology. The fish & chips were greasy, & the veg. rolls were so so spicy, I couldn't eat them. Had to look for the waitress who was talking at the bar. When we were ready to leave, Jerry the manager came to our table & when I told him, he said that he was sorry, & sent over 2 deserts on the house. Food prepared at the villa we were staying at, was 5 stars in comparison to Mongoose, & way less expensive.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JOV_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moose Jaw, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful service!”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We found this little treasure as soon as we stepped out of the resort Sunset Jamaica grande. Free wifi works better than the hotel. Service was phenomenal, food was excellent! A must stop on the way back from shopping!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Candace H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mongoose Jamaica Restaurant and Lounge also viewed

Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to Mongoose Jamaica Restaurant and Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing