We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must Try”
Review of Under the Stairs - CLOSED

Under the Stairs
Cuisines: Jamaican
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Must Try”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I discovered this place by chance when vacationing last March. It was so good I visited 'Under the Stairs' three times while in Ocho Rios. Not only is the Jerk Pretzel incredible the beer is cheap and cold. It is the perfect spot to stop and chill for a little. And if Brian and Donna are not too busy serving customers they will make it a point to chat with you for awhile. We are returning again in October and this will be one of my first stops!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KoSkiVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    3
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Pretzel Jerk Chicken”
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We stopped here while shopping in Ocho Rios. The owner and her husband attended/cooked in this small outdoor area. It was the best jerk chicken we had while on vacation. I ordered the pretzel jerk chicken (for only $1.50US each). They served up some ice cold Red Stripes to go with it (only $2US). At one point, the owner politely asked a street vendor to leave so we could eat. Needless to say, we went back again a few days later and took more people with us. You have to stop by and try it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Owner/operators Brian and Donna have a awesome little spot under the stairs (hence the name of their business) They were friendly and very welcoming, down to earth people. We enjoyed sitting under the stairs at our little table watching people travel up and down the street. It is for sure a great place to rest and have a cold drink and a meal to energize you from the heat and sun. If I ever get back to Ocho Rios, I would definitely stop in to chat with our friends Donna & Brian again. thanks from Joan And Kate (Canada)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

This place is awesome. It's a hidden gem. The jerk pretzels are delicious and the couple that own the place were awesome as well. I definitely recommend checking this place out when you visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Jerk Pretzels are to die for!”
Reviewed 14 June 2013

This is a must have to go to in Ochos Rios! I went when we were checking out the town and they are so friendly and the pretzels are out of this world and are so cheap. They don't have a ton of options but there soup and there Jerk pretzels are all they need. The owners are very sweet and friendly people. I would love to go back soon to Ochos Rios just to go to Under the Stairs. Tiny little eatery but best food!!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JennaRae222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Under the Stairs also viewed

Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing