We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I miss Ochi!!!”
Review of Casa De Shalom

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa De Shalom
Ranked #9 of 19 Ocho Rios B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I miss Ochi!!!”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I felt straight away from the very first email I received from Mr Oliver that my family/friends and I were going to be looked after at Casa De Shalom; I was not wrong! We were more than happy with the service and attention we received on arrival right through to check out. I cannot thank Mr Oliver, Ms Campbell, Ms June and Mr Davion enough. All are genuinely lovely, friendly and professional people who manage this lovely guest house and their lucky guests.

It's very affordable, and well suited to groups as their have massive family rooms. We were originally supposed to stay for 2 nights but we stayed for 5 nights checking in earlier at short notice. This was no problem and all our last minute change of plans and requests were handled with the utmost courtesy. I never felt I was inconveniencing them.

A big thank you to Ms June who cooked our breakfast every morning; dumplings, ackee and saltfish... mmm my mouth is watering just thinking about it. It all went down a treat!! Set us right up for our days of relaxing on the beach and nights of partying! You can go in and out at all hours - just let them know. (I hope Davion is getting enough sleep these days) :-)

As it’s further away from the town centre and Main Street a car is advisable but don't let that put you off if you’re on foot! It's about 5mins drive from Mahogany Beach, which is private and free (there is a charge for the loungers though), there's a bar and restaurant, the staff there are wonderful too. The beach is lovely and doesn’t get too busy. They play music, which really makes you feel like you're on holiday in the Caribbean!

We stayed in a family room upstairs - really good size and there were 5 of us at one point, but could easily accommodate more. Mr Oliver brought us up a fridge for us to keep food and drinks cold as my 1yr old nephew was with the group. Cleaned for us daily to a good standard; comfortable beds; some pillows are softer than others but Ms Campbell changed those for us when we asked. It really is the little things that make you fall in love with a place.

I would recommend Casa De Shalom to anyone looking for a place to stay in Ocho Rios. They will make you feel at home!

Thank you for making my stay in Ochi a highlight of my holiday in Jamaica. Miss you all.

Ms Ruth

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RuthyBaby83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    5
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
7
5
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I would firstly like to thank Mr Oliver, Ms June and Ms Campbell for their hospitality. Originally I was a little apprehensive due to the location as it wasn't directly in the town centre which I am familiar with the most but learnt I was only a 5 minute drive away, close to Mahogany Beach which I really enjoyed and some fabulous restaurants.

I will be coming again and have already recommended this hotel to friends and family.

It's very clean, great breakfast, location is quite quiet not that far from the town and great for group or family bookings.

Thank You very much

Charlene

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CharCharNew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GemforTravellers, Manager at Casa De Shalom, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Carlene,
Thanks so much for the visit over the Easter Period and we were quite happy to have you as guest.
Your comments were all positive and it was a honor to have accommodated you and family. Our Notice Board is looking really nice with these wonderful reviews and it has motivated all my Staff and you can see the change in their work attitude. One Employee came to me and stated that she feels great taking care of all guests and wants to do much more. We appreciate your comments and happy that you have recommended our Property to the wider public. We fervently hope this will reach many more persons and hence enable us to provide 'world class service' to all our patrons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I was browsing through the website for places to stay during my Easter weekend in Ocho Rios, Jamaica and I stumbled upon Casa De Shalom and decided to call and e-mail the owner and staff for this place. Firstly, let me just note that the customer service is exceptional from the e-mails I had with Mr. Oliver Ramdeen to the personal and welcoming greeting I got from his staff when I came to this place. The rooms are very clean and the staff is friendly. I don't have any complaints for this place as I was treated with the utmost respect. The complimentary breakfast that they offer is also a plus. I would recommend this place for anybody to stay in because they know how to treat their customers.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GemforTravellers, Manager at Casa De Shalom, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear John D,
We were delighted to have you as our guest over th Easter Period and indeed we are truly grateful for this visit. All my Staff have sent their "thank you" and hope to see you very soon !!!.
We must say thanks for your positive comments, as it relates to Customer Service, cleanliness of the Property and Staff Friendliness . We are indebted to persons like yourself and could not survive without your contributions. Hoping that whenever you visit Jamaica again, you will remember us as 'your home' and will recommend all your friends to our House.
I am also using this medium to say "thanks" to Trip Advisor for having this window for guest reviews and this is so very important for a Small Hotel like ours, to continue to exist and make our own contribution to the Hotel Industry .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We only stayed 1 night at Casa Shalom but the service and friendlyness you recieve as you walk in is overwhelming. They really made us feel at home. I would recommend this place to stay for anyone hands down. Thank you Casa Shalom, we will be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oandy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Casa De Shalom provides a relaxing atmosphere and is very clean and enjoyable. Walking distance to most attractions. The staff is also helpful in providing accommodations to various venues. Our stay there was indeed delightful!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Casa is the place to be if you are looking for a place to relax, having a conference, or meeting with friends while visiting JA. My stay was very relaxing, great food, rooms were clean and staff very helpful. The town is in close proximity and very close the amazing Dunns River falls. If you are planning to visit Jamaica and looking for an affordable place to stay, make it Casa de Shalom...I do recommend this beautiful B&B.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carmen j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Wesley E.

Casa de Shalom is an absolutely wonderful place to stay. With ample accommodations including master bedrooms, group rooms, a conference room which can be used for meetings or a wedding, it still maintains a cozy at home feel but with all he trimmings. Room rates are very affordable for the many services that are offered. It was one of the most immaculate hotels I have been to in the Caribbean. The staff was extremely friendly and helped with all of my needs.
It is located in a quiet, serene area, but still close enough to town where all the attractions are just minutes away. I have already recommended this spot to all of my friends planning on a Caribbean vacation, and I also plan on booking there again the next time I am in town.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wesley E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver R, Manager at Casa De Shalom, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Mr. Westley,
Thanks for your lovely review of our Guesthouse and for telling everyone about your wonderful experience here recently. Indeed, we are grateful to you for recommending our property to your friends and will endeavor to improve on all aspects of our services whenever patrons visit our House . We strive to ensure that our friendliness,service and smiles remain our greatest asset .
There is always a room here for you at Casa de Shalom and ask that you contact us by email when next you are returning, so we can extend the usual courtesies to you and family.
Your friendship is highly appreciated .
Kind regards,
Oliver Ramdeen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocho Rios hotels
0.1 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 36 in Ocho Rios
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kaz Kreol Beach Lodge
Kaz Kreol Beach Lodge
#10 of 36 in Ocho Rios
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pineapple Court Hotel
Pineapple Court Hotel
#14 of 36 in Ocho Rios
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hermosa Cove - Jamaica's Villa Hotel
1.5 mi away
Silver Seas Resort Hotel
Silver Seas Resort Hotel
#19 of 36 in Ocho Rios
3.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
2.1 mi away
Chrisanns Beach Resort
Chrisanns Beach Resort
#12 of 36 in Ocho Rios
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa De Shalom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa De Shalom

Property: Casa De Shalom
Address: Brownie Street, Content Gardens, Ocho Rios 1234, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa De Shalom 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Warm welcome awaits you at Casa De Shalom "House of Peace, completeness and Well Being." At Casa De Shalom every effort is made to ensure a memorable stay whether you're young at heart or in your golden years with special needs. We also cater to Group travelers, Business Execs or a secret getaway from the demands of life with that special someone. We will accommodate your every needs. See You soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Casa De Shalom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Shalom Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing