We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Columbus Heights
Reviewed 9 May 2012

I have stayed here over four times and each time i have had a good expereince. The condition of the rooms are well kept and i do praise the high level of security at the bottom of the hill. The pools are kept clean most of the time and the maintenace staff are friendly. However if you don't like walking up hills this is not the place for you as the villas are built on hills. The staff in the office are generally friendly and offer you information and advice. The complex is beautifull will lots of flowers and fruit on the tree which you can help yourself too, the best thing about columbus heights is the view you will never find a view like that throughout the wholw of ocho rios

Room Tip: The higher your room the better your view, the lower your room the more noise you will get during t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Remi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2012

The two of us stayed here for 10 days. We read previous reviews and knew that there was a hill from the main road to our apartment but we didn't realise how steep it was. As a consequence of that we walked down and got Mr Crawford of Auntie Mama's Taxi Tours (Tel 845 3875 or 345 9597) to bring us home. We did not go out in the evening because we could not face the steep climb home.

The gardens are kept very neat and tidy and our pool area was also kept tidy. New ballustrades were being fitted a couple of days before we left.

One thing though, we felt like we were being asked for money all the time. A telephone message was left for me ..... it cost me. One of the gardeners cut some aloe vera which was growing in the gardens ...... it cost me.

Our 1 bedroom apartment was spacious, the bed was comfortable but the kitchen and bathroom were dirty and are both in desperate need of refurbishing. Our housekeeper, Bridgitte, was so very very nice.

I've read the other reviews and all I can say with regard to the one that says "Stay if you don't value your life" AS and "Greatful (sic) to be Alive, worst place to stay in Jamaica" MEL0412 ..... you couldn't possibly have been staying at Columbus Heights. We felt completely safe.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lisajs62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

its a long walk to get up there.. no air conditioning in the apartment i was in, staff was very helpful though, nice size pools, 2 in close proximity to my room, the view is amazing from this resort and the flowers around the complex were just beautiful. I will definitely be back.. I loved it there!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank babytishana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

My family and I stayed in phase 5 for a week. We were enjoying our time together until our last night. We awoke on our last morning to find the door to our unit open and some of my personal belongings scattered in the garden. It turned out that we were robbed while we were asleep. They took our cameras, phone, diaper bag, beach bag, epi-pen, the babys asthma meds (air chamber and puffers) and all the money. My wallet was cleaned out of all the cash but was left behind with my ID and cards. The police was called 3 times, we waited for hours and they did not show up. We went into town to file a report, police still did not turn up (the housekeeper called us after we left to tell us the police did turn up and would call us-been home a few days, yet to hear from police). The owner of the unit was not very helpful and left a lot to be desired. We left with a sour taste in our mouths. We are born bred Jamaicans who took our children there to show them a bit of their heritage and this is what they came home with, a land of beauty that is also neglectful of it's citizens and visitors. Imagine, the only thing we can say is that we are blessed to have our lives.

Room Tip: Good luck, it's all a gamble.
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
8  Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

I travel to Jamaica about four times a year. I usually stay with friends while there, this time I brought a friend with me and we stayed here. The first day we checked in we were robbed at knife point by two men who had entered our room. We had returned to our room from Margarita Ville and were rushed by two men who had been in our room for some time. They had already taken all of our belongings and threatened to kill and rape us if we were not quiet. These men did not know that we had been accompanied by two of my male friends who were parking the car. When my friends came to the door the men were startled and ran off jumping from the balcony. I am so grateful my friends were with me this night. Had they just dropped us off, I am certain these robbers would have raped and killed my friend and I. After reporting to the police and them doing an investigation we came to learn that this was set up though security.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank MEL0412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2011

A hellish Experience, myself and my brother take our other half for the easter party weekend. My brother was shocked at the appalling standards and left within 30 hours of arrival.
The beds were used and cheap and the pillows where painfully uncomfortable.
We had the worst equipped kitchen I have ever came across and it was also infested with cockroaches among other things.
I got locked into the down stairs bathroom for one hour until my friend came down and helped me pick the lock.
The outside areas were filthy
The pools where appeared unclean and very uninviting
The maid spent longer in our room then we did....
The Admin Staff like to shout and seem shocked when you make a complaint.
If you want my advise stay away from Columbus heights....over priced, unclean, uncomfortable otherwise a great way to ruin your vacation!

Room Tip: Book into the lodge on the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MichealMcGrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2011

I rented a studio apartment for a week in Columbus Heights, and it was perfect for what i wanted and needed. my apartment is privately owned, so I had no cleaning lady or cook or stuff like that, but I was fine on my own. my landlady did come one day and bring me clean sheets and more towels. I was 5 min walk from Margarittaville, and Oceans 11 and Baywatch and all the wonderful shops in downtown Ocho Rios. I LOVED going for daily walks down the street and meeting the locals. the only hard part was the walk back UP the hill to my apartment. small price to pay to have the BEST view of the ocean and the cruise ships that would dock. I loved hearing the crickets at night and the beautiful music that would drift into the apartment. I would happily stay here again and again, In fact, if the landlady for F3 ever wants to sell this place I hope she contacts me first , cuz i would buy it in a heartbeat! ONE LOVE!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank emdKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocho Rios hotels
0.2 mi away
Hibiscus Lodge Hotel
Hibiscus Lodge Hotel
#10 of 35 in Ocho Rios
251 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,334 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pineapple Court Hotel
Pineapple Court Hotel
#13 of 35 in Ocho Rios
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sand Castles Resort
Sand Castles Resort
#17 of 35 in Ocho Rios
324 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
Mystic Ridge Resort
Mystic Ridge Resort
#8 of 20 in Ocho Rios
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbus Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbus Heights

Address: Main Street | PO Box 383, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Ocho Rios
Price Range: £90 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Columbus Heights 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury hillside condominiums offering a panoramic view of the Ocho Rios Bay. Services include Daily Housekeeper/Cook, free daily shuttle to town for shopping, complimentary starter package. Cable TV, hot and cold water and air-conditioned bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Columbus Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbus Heights Hotel Ocho Rios
Columbus Heights Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing