We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful trip!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sandals Royal Plantation
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2011

Wow is all I can say when it comes to Royal Plantation!! Spending a week with my husband at this spectacular hotel was amazing. It was just so peaceful and relaxing. We loved going to the 5 Star Diamond European Spa everyday to get facials and massages done. If you are a lover of golf this is also a place for you. We would play golf at the Sandals Golf and Country Club every morning as there were complimentary green fees. The course was beautiful and the sunny days just made it perfect to be outside golfing. Our favorite place to eat was Le Papillion which is the French cuisine at the resort. The food was so scrumptious. We also had dinner a few times at the near by Sandals Ocho Rios resort which has 11 venues you can chose from to eat at. This was a week my husband and I needed just to relax and unwind from all the stress we have had in our lives the past couple of months. We will be back soon!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ismartina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,628)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,957 - 1,963 of 2,628 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2011

Having read most of the reviews our travel agent kind of convinced us to stay here. Honestly, this was the best ever choice made when it comes to a relaxed, private beach holiday!

From the point of arrival and spending a few minutes in the Sandals lounge to the point of reaching the airport again everything was just PERFECT.
Upon arrival to the hacienda one of our Butlers, Derron greeted us and took care of the first night's in-room dinner. He has also made a quick tour of the property the following morning and made sure that we feel comfortable and relaxed. Together with the other butler Orayne they made our vacation memorable! From small things like a tube of aloe vera gel when my missus was burnt to decorating our room for our anniversary... they just gave us exceptional service.

The beach butlers, Adrian and Andre are doing their best to keep you relaxed and hydrated through the day. Great job guys, you made us smile a lot!

The restaurants on site are great, we preferred the Terrace Bar for its relaxed atmosphere over Le Papillion, which is more elegant. There was one thing great : you can order ANY restaurant's course irrelevant where you are sitting. Even in the pub we could order the Papillion's magnificent Chocolate Pudding and got served within 10 minutes. Pub Fare is usual British comfort food. Nothing fancy but honestly good fish & chips and a lovely bread & butter pudding.
You can always go to the next property (for 3 more restaurants) which is the Sandals Grande Ocho Rios but we turned our back on it after 20 minutes as it was noisy and without any charm. Nevertheless, it is worth a glimpse why you chose the Plantation over that :)

Peter Fraser, the General Manager always smiles, has a good word or two to say and helps out where he can. Seemingly the whole staff behaves like a big jolly family, making the atmosphere like nothing we have ever seen.

We hope to come back one day - hopefully soon - and spend more time here. If you opt for a bit of luxury, privacy with exceptional service and honest smiles, THIS IS the place to go for!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ka0z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2011

Not a bad word to be said about this wonderful piece of paradise.........

A full review will be posted later but I thought a few pictures may help.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tom279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

This was just what we needed for a most relaxing and enjoyable vacation! Our Son got married in Negril and after they left for the honeymoon. We went to Royal Plantation.

From the moment we got into the transport vehicle to the resort until the moment we had to say good-bye, we loved it and most definely will return!!!

Our Butlers - Kevin and Richard - were accommodating, thoughtful, and thorough.
Bartenders - Gladstone and Cydella - not only mixed the cocktails perfectly and kept them coming, but were the perfect mix in conversation!
Hostess of the gift shop - Lorna - Helpful in all ways and much appreciated - great sense of humor!
Captians and First Mates -Clayton, Jermaine, and Mikel - Awesome and fun to be around!!
Le Papillon waiter - Kenneth - very warm and friendly. Perfect!
Red Lane Spa therapist - Rhona - just wonderful!
Housekeeper - Shorna did a great job at keeping our room spotless!
The Mento Band - very very nice. We loved them!

High Tea was a special treat every afternoon at 4pm.

Staff had big smiles and kind words, towards us, and fellow employees. The Resort was spotless and very very well maintained.

Our needs and comfort was top priority.

With Respect, Irie, and Blessed up !!

Room Tip: Third floor rooms definietly have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank crissycraft1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2011

this is an amended review from a review i posted back in july 2010 after immediately coming back from our honeymoon. we actually had a great time at this resort, enjoyed our stay and immediately had great memories of our time there upon getting back home. then, we looked at my wife's credit card bill and realized that someone had stolen her credit card, made about $5k worth of charges and put the credit card back in her purse. we never left the resort and her purse was in our room the entire time so clearly it was a member of the hotel staff. upon complaining to the hotel and Sandals Corporate, they said that there was nothing that they could do and that we should have used the safe (which is absolutely true). even though they are legally not liable as you are told to use the safe, they gave absolutely zero effort to try to get to the bottom of the theft even though one of the charges was a direct transfer to someone's bank account.

in summary, this has certainly damaged our memories of this place as you think back on all the service staff that was nice was really looking to steal from you. pretty crappy.

if you do go here, definitely make sure that you lock your stuff up

Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
34  Thank detchevers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
operabuffOchoRios, General Manager at Sandals Royal Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2011

Dear Guest,

We are pleased to hear that you had enjoyed your vacation with us. We are however, disappointed to know that you feel our employees’ genuine interest to excel in the level of service provided was powered by ulterior motives. Our investigations on the matter of the alleged credit card fraud did not find the Hotel or its employees being involved in any way. We assure you that the Hotel maintains a 100% safety record.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2011

We stayed at this resort a few years ago and have been wanting to go back. It is a bit of a ride from the airport (1.5 hours). We decided for our 30th anniversary we would make the trip. It is well worth the 1.5 hour ride from the airport.

We were upgraded to a beautiful suite with a jacuzzi and a rain shower that overlooked the ocean and a large balcony.

Our private butler, Fiona, was exceptional! There was not a thing she wouldn't do for us. From unpacking, to filling up our jacuzzi, to making our reservations for dinner and tours, to getting our ipod from our room when we forgot to bring it to the beach to bringing us fresh fruit after we got back from the beach everyday.

The spa is great. We each went 2 times. The beach is a little small, but great service and there is always a butler or beach boy waiting to get you a chair. We also had a private dinner on the beach for our anniversary. It was perfet.

The restaurants for dinner are both fabulous. One restaurant sits overlooking the ocean with great entertainment every night. The other restaurant is a little more dressy ( no shorts or sandals for guys) and a bit more upscale menu. Service and food are great at both. When the entertainment outdoor ends, the piano at the pub starts. It is great having a little entertainment at night. We have been all over the caribbean, and not many places have anthing to do after dinner.

The day we were leaving, we booked again for next year. That should say enough right there.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank morkScotchPlains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2011

We spent a wonderful weeklong Honeymoon at Royal Plantation. We arrived into Jamaica into the busy Montego Bay Airport. Once we arrived we were greeted by a wonderful sales agent from Sandals who welcomed us into their luxury waiting room in the luggage area of the MoBay Airport. You had your choice of Coffee & Teas and On-Tap Beers.

After a short wait in the room they announced that our bellhop had our bags and we were escorted to the Royal Plantation (RP) Van. It was a regular 12 passenger van and luckily we were the only ones on the 2 hour ride to the resort.

Once we arrived to the resort we were welcomed with open arms to the lobby with bubbly champagne waiting for us. After a short wait, Jermaine (our incredible Butler) said his hello and took us on a grand, private tour of the grounds. Jermaine then escorted us to our room where he offered to unpack our bags and press our clothes. The view from our Coconut Plantation Suite was breathtaking. Sounds & Views of the ocean less than 200 feet away and we were excited that we could leave the doors open at night to hear the amazing sounds of the waves crashing near our room.

Here's a recap of some of the other things we LOVED!

Activities in Jamaica:
We went on some wonderful activities during our stay. The "must do's" are:
- Chucka Chuka Zipline
- Dunn's River Falls
- Snorkel at Royal Plantation

A few pieces of advice with the activities:
- The Zipline adventure is about 1.5 hr total. The slow, long drive to & from the adventure is 2.5 hr total and we wish we paid extra for a private cab to the adventure so we could have had more beach time during that day.
- Be ready to tip the tour guides with cash as they'll mention that they want to be tipped with US Dollars during the adventure. They don't ever let that down.
- Do take the private transfer to Dunn's River Falls.
- Royal Plantation snorkeling is so-so. We saw few fish and 1 sting ray which made the trip worth it. They do charge extra for a snorkel trip to a sunken ship. We didn't have time for that but want to next time.

How the hotel went Above & Beyond for us:
- Our butlers (Jermaine & Sheldon) catered to every request we had. You are also given a private cell phone that calls directly to your butler. We really miss Jermaine. He was so incredible and the best part of the trip we rave to everyone about.
- If you want your butler to unpack your bags, escort you to dinner, grab things for you, etc.. You need to mention these to them as they'll not offer to do it.
- Food is incredible. We had Jermaine deliver fresh breakfast to our room every morning. You must get the waffles, french toast & omelet! Food on the terrace & french restaurant was wonderful every night.

The Butlers went Above & Beyond and delivered "Special Touches" without us asking:
- Every night, we returned to our room to be decorated with candles, towel animals, candy and music playing from the radio.
- Jermaine surprised us with fresh coconuts one afternoon! These are a MUST


A few extra things & tips:
- The manager, always found a moment to say hello and Thank us both for being at Royal Plantation. We thought that was a great personal touch!
- The pool is small and hot tub was fun but the beach is better than both combined. For traveling to paradise, we wanted to be by the beach, not the pool anyways.
- The two beaches are very small but have an intimate feel. You won't be walking on these beaches at night.. not enough room for that, but they are great to lounge by and relax.
- Bring long pants & closed toed shoes. You'll be expected to dress up a few nights out of the week while you eat dinner.
- When we left, the entire staff stood outside and shook our hands and waved goodbye to us as the van left for the airport. That was an extremely special touch.

If you're looking for an intimate & relaxing resort, RP is for you. If you want to party and dance all night, go to Ocho Rios Grand which is next door. We took a walk over there one afternoon and ran back to RP right away. Sandals Ocho Rios is very dirty and messy looking and we felt like we were in Spring Break central as we passed college aged kids taking shots. Not to mention, the quality of the staff, no one who worked there that we passed even said hello, vs. at RP, everyone greets you so friendly.

Another MUST during you stay. Book the private 5 course meal on the pier. You get to choose your full menu, get to eat privately on the pier under the bright sky and be entertained by your own private dinner butler Ray.

In addition to the things we loved, we wanted to make aware of a few let downs at the resort. We chose to give RP a 5/5 star rating but we do have a few things that others coming here need to know of.

- When arriving to MoBay, you have the option to purchase a "Private Luxury Transfer". As we found out, it isn't in a luxury car and you don't get wine & cheese upon arrival like we read in another Trip Advisor review.
- Advertised is "Once you exit the ocean, you're greeted by a body mist & foot massage." We had to ask 3 times for a Body Mist before it happened and never got a foot massage and were told you must pay separate for it.
- Don't book the activity "Champagne at Sea". It's advertised as a very luxury style adventure and with its high cost, you'd believe you get your own catamaran. We were even told by a hotel employee that you get to be on a large sailing boat. The "day of" the event, Sheldon (the other butler) told us we were wrong and the trip is not at sunset and will be on a dinky 3 person boat we used for snorkeling with water flying in your face. If we wanted to get a big sailing boat for the two of us, they'd charge us $1900!! We cancelled the activity immediately.
- Seaweed wrap was relaxing but not worth it. It is advertised as "the perfect detox". We didn't feel any different afterwards and suggest you invest your money into a regular massage. Its not even a "true seaweed wrap". They put some weird green stuff on you and wrap you in a foil layer, it's not seaweed being wrapped on you.
- The spa employees try to up-sell you on every item so be ready for that
- Wifi costs way too much and should be free with the cost of the resort that we paid
- The "Scents of Love" couples massage was nice. The website sells it as "on the beach". When we arrived to the massage I was asked to sign an additional invoice on the spot that paid an extra $80 to have the massage on the beach. Not included in the price?? Also, in an ad in a book we showed them with a picture next to Royal Plantation, the massage on the beach is under a luxurious canopy, and when we asked about the picture, they responded "Oh that's at another resort". We were bummed at their false advertising.

It seems as Royal Plantation needs to meet with their marketing staff and make sure what their marketing matches what they sell to their guests and make their resort better at how they explain things.

Other than the things we didn't like here, we got a wonderful and perfect memorable Honeymoon from our stay and wish that you have a wonderful time while here. We will definitely be returning to Royal Plantation and hope they'll fix the few things we listed within the next year.

Room Tip: Book through a travel agent!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank ScarlettAndStephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
0.2 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,337 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
45.7 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
52.9 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
0.9 mi away
Couples Sans Souci
Couples Sans Souci
#3 of 35 in Ocho Rios
3,987 reviews
54.3 mi away
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Montego Bay
#8 of 63 in Montego Bay
5,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Royal Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Royal Plantation

Address: Main Street, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range: £424 - £1,253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Royal Plantation 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•All suite resort and all are serviced by butlers trained by the Guild of Professional English Butlers•2 private beaches with beach butler service•The Caribbean’s only Champagne and Caviar Bar•Exquisite International, Mediterranean, Caribbean and French cuisine•24 hour in suite dining•Complimentary transfers from this resort to all Sandals Resorts•Voted Sandals Resorts “World Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row•Five Star Diamond Award - American Academy of Hospitality Sciences ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelbag, Holiday Gems, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sandals Royal Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Royal Plantation Hotel Ocho Rios
Royal Plantation Ocho Rios
Royal Plantation Jamaica
Sandals Royal Plantation Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing