We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The honeymoon of our dreams!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sandals Royal Plantation
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Cleveland, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The honeymoon of our dreams!!!”
Reviewed 7 December 2012

Looking for the perfect honeymoon location was a bit overwhelming. We knew that we wanted luxury, all inclusive, and adults only; we couldn't have made a better choice. Royal Plantation is the perfect place for a couple wanting to escape the hustle and bustle and just unwind. What if you get bored? There's another Sandals resort next door that you can walk to with all sorts of activity (however we never had any desire to leave). The great part is that you can go to their resort, but they can't come to RP.
I am convinced we had the best butlers there.....ask for Garey and Kenton....they are amazing! Once we came back from the beach, and Kenton had surprised us by drawing a bubble bath adorned with fresh flowers. Another night, Garey and Kenton surprised us with swans made out of towels, fresh flowers, hearts made of towels, and candles. It was surreal. We were unsure of the whole "butler" thing before we went because we didn't understand it fully. Basically, you've got these super friendly people who are there when you need them (they give you a cell phone to call them) and who will check on you throughout your stay to make sure you are having the time of your lives.
Our favorite part of every day was waking up to breakfast being delivered to our room. We would open the french doors to our amazing ocean view (all suites there are ocean view btw) and sit there in our pj's with our fresh squeezed oj, Jamaican coffee, and food that was out of this world.
We had such an amazing time on our "once in a lifetime" trip that we booked to go back next year. I'm already counting down the days :)

Room Tip: All rooms are oceanfront, so you really can't go wrong. Just don't get Suite 57....stairs to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tiffwill82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,000
    328
    108
    35
    16
See reviews for
53
2,054
15
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (638)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2012

Went to Sandal's Royal Plantation for my honeymoon and me and my wife loved it. We were there on Monday and hurricane Sandy brought us rain and wind Monday night and Tuesday and then made landfall Wednesday! This is only the second time a hurricane has made landfall in Jamaica in 22 years! So you can imagine we felt lucky! The staff is so courteous and caring and took care of us even in the midst of a hurricane. They showed how great their service is during the worst storm they have had in decades. Even though there was a lot of damage from the storm the Staff was very quick to get things cleaned back up and as "normal" as they could. The charm of the employees and their fun loving nature made the trip a lot of fun after the storm that actually completely shut down many resorts. We were not able to go on any excursions until the last day but still had a blast! Our butlers Dacia and Derron were awesome and took great care of us eventhough they were so busy helping with clean up and other guests. They made the trip memorable and when we go back we will definitely request them! The resort is smaller and secluded which is nice but there is another large Sandal's right next door that we had full access too (Grand Riviera, storm shut it down unfortunately). The food is amazing, the views are unreal! You have to stay here if you go to Jamaica you will not regret it! Really close to some great excursions as well (including Dunn's River falls, which is a must do for first timers). Oh, and I forgot to mention that Sandal's comped our trip do to the inconvenince of the storm!!!! I will always stay at Sandal's resorts whenever I can. THEY CAN NOT BE BEAT! Can't wait to get back! If Derron, Dacia, and O'Shane get to read this we miss you and will be back soon!

The Rohlck's (Nick and Bryn aka boss lady)

PS Talk to Adrian at the bar and order a rum punch EXTRA VITAMINS!! In fact all of the bartenders are FANTASTIC!!!!!

Room Tip: All rooms come with butlers but the ocean view rooms on the third floor are worth the little extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RohlckN06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Euclid, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

This all inclusive resort is the ultimate luxury. The staff knows your name within 1 to 2 days. They are always helpful with whatever need may arise.
Mr. Peter Fraser, the General manager, is one of the most genuinely nice people I have ever met. He always strives to do the very best. He expects the most from his staff and receives it.
The rooms all have ocean views. the food and beverage selection are top notch.
You will never go hungry or thirsty.
If you had one choice in a Sandals Resort, this would be the one.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kimmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

High quality food and booze. Lots of seafood selection.
Rooms we're amazing, all of them seem to have a good view.
Service was excellent. Everyone gets a butler. Expected to tip the butlers: Average seems to be about $10 per day. That is per butler, so bring anywhere from $100-$140 US (you don't see each of your two butlers every day).
Small pool, but doesn't matter, beach is beautiful. Nice hot tub as well.
Worth the money, though it is not a cheap resort.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank dgrayzweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAnchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012 via mobile

We have just arrived back from this fabulous resort. We have to say that the service provided by Peter and his team was exemplary and the best service we have enciountered at any resort we have stayed in around the world. From the moment we arrived at the resort to the moment we left we were treated like visiting royalty. The first of our two Butlers Marvin treated us and explained that he and Jemaine would be looking after us for the duration of our stay and that anything we wanted all we needed to do was ask. He explained how the resort worked and took us to our room. This set the tone for every day of ur stay. From Jason , Sean in the bar ( You have to ask Sean to do his tricks) to the servers and beach staff everyone made that role to make you happy.

The food is great far better than any other Sandals we have Stayed at before

There are three restaurants on site .

The main one is the terrace which has a different menu virtually every night. The Jamaican BBQ was fantastic with lobster and ribs as is the tapas style lunch.

Breakfast is best taken in your room as the service was very slow we think because they are preparing the breakfast for people in their rooms.

The French restaurant is great with a real top restaurant feel . We had a slight problem with some wine we ordered from the manages list but even this small hiccup was dealt with very professionally thanks to Frederico.

The other restaurant is on the beach and is open from lunch and also at dinner. Both are a step up from other sandals restaurants.

You can get a tea in the afternoon and basically have anything you want delivered to you at your room or anywhere on the report if you want it.

When you head to the beach you will be welcomed by a watersports team member who will take you to a sun bed move it wherever you want it and get you a towel. You will then be asked by Adrian if you want a drink which he will bring to you and top you up as often as you want it.

The spa was better than the other sandals spas with again great service.

The returning guest dinner was a highlight with a fabulous menu and good company.

Whilst Sandals proclaim 5 Star luxury in all their resorts this is the one that truly delivers on that promise

We had a wonderful time and we will be back!

Stayed November 2012
Helpful?
10 Thank nas105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arkansas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012

I booked our trip to SRP over a year before it finally arrived. I read about it daily and dreamed about it nightly. Our trip was truly a dream come true. If you're interested in relaxing, being pampered, and feeling like you're a part of the family, this is the place for you. The small size allows you to get to know the staff and the guests. The beach size is perfect. Adrian and Cleo work hard to make sure your favorite drink is ready before you even ask for it. Our butlers Marvin and Jermaine were wonderful with no request being too much. They surprised us with flowers on the bed, towel animals, and bubble baths. We had the best food. Allow for time for room service. It typically took 40 to 50 minutes. The bar was a blast. Sean and G-stone kept our drinks full and the laughs coming.
I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lindsay805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012

The Royal Plantation was more than I had expected! This was our third Sandals resort and the most luxurious. (Visited Negril several times & The Royal Bahamian). There is no entertainment staff at this resort so it is very relaxed and quiet as opposed to the other Sandals properties.

The room we had was beautiful (Royal Orchid) however the absolute best part was the food & service. The resort is small, intimate and romantic - the ideal place to relax! The beach is nice although small but the beach butlers make sure they accommodate your wishes and find you a perfect spot for the day.
The food was the best we have ever had in an all-inclusive by far. We went next door to the Sandals Grande one night and immediately left and returned to the RP. There is no comparison in the quality of food and service - don't waste your time going next door.
Service is fantastic, each staff member goes out of their way to make sure you are happy. Our butlers were amazing and accommodated any of our requests with a smile and even called ahead to our butler at Sandals Negril before we left to make sure everything that we wanted was taken care of. They would find us on property throughout the day to make sure we were happy or to bring us anything we needed. Oraine spotted us going to breakfast one morning so he walked us over got us settled when I realized I forgot my sunglasses. He wouldn't let me leave because I was pregnant and went to grab them for me. Its these little touches that make a vacation so special.
Mr Fraser, the GM, met us at the entrance as we were returning from SGR and we told him how much we disliked the resort next door and how happy we were to be back at the plantation (not knowing he was the GM at the time). He immediately contacted our butlers and told them he had sent a special request to the head chef to prepare sushi for us one night as that was what we went next door for. We also had the pleasure of meeting him at the 'Welcome back" dinner. We saw him working along all staff members and chatting with guests.
You will not regret staying at this resort! We look forward to seeing everyone again soon!

Room Tip: All rooms have an amazing ocean view! If you tend to spend time in your room go for the balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Its_Tina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
0.3 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 36 in Ocho Rios
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hermosa Cove - Jamaica's Villa Hotel
45.7 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
52.9 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
61.1 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Royal Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Royal Plantation

Property: Sandals Royal Plantation
Address: Main Street, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Royal Plantation 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•All suite resort and all are serviced by butlers trained by the Guild of Professional English Butlers•2 private beaches with beach butler service•The Caribbean’s only Champagne and Caviar Bar•Exquisite International, Mediterranean, Caribbean and French cuisine•24 hour in suite dining•Complimentary transfers from this resort to all Sandals Resorts•Voted Sandals Resorts “World Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row•Five Star Diamond Award - American Academy of Hospitality Sciences ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Destinology, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Holiday Gems, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandals Royal Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Royal Plantation Hotel Ocho Rios
Royal Plantation Ocho Rios
Royal Plantation Jamaica
Sandals Royal Plantation Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing