We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never disappoints!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sandals Royal Plantation
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Never disappoints!”
Reviewed 31 January 2013 via mobile

We arrived back this morning after a 10 day break. It was our second visit (we first came in February 2012) and it really is like "coming home". We had requested our previous butlers, Sheldon and Richard, and were really pleased that we were able to have them again. We were pleased to have a room on the East Side again as we prefer this side. We always used East Beach and the water sports guys are a really friendly bunch. Adrian and Cleon the beach waiters were as fully attentive as usual. We had breakfast on Terrace each morning. Eggs & omelettes are cooked in front of you - so if they're overcooked, as someone complained, you only have yourself to blame as you can tell how long they are cooking for! We have never met one member of staff who wasn't happy in their job, friendly or eager to please. We had a Le Papillon meal served in our room and it was wonderful. We met an array of diverse people and had some great evenings. Did notice that one or two guests were quite rude to staff and never appeared to say please or thank you - but the staff carried on smiling all the same. Manners never cost anything! All in all another great, relaxing holiday. We will be back (again!)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindie163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,528 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,034
    333
    109
    36
    16
See reviews for
57
2,089
15
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (649)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

This is a good hotel that tries hard to be a very good hotel. The staff is very accomodating. Our first room was located in a very busy area and was quite noisy. Our butler worked with the office to give us a choice of two other rooms. Although we had already unpacked, he transfered our belongings while we went to dinner. The pool is very small and usually crowded. There are two beaches, both very small but we were always able to find lounge chairs. The dining experience was spotty. The French restaurant food was disappointing. My wife's sole was overcooked while my mixed grill was cooked about five minutes too long (very well done). A small sorbet to clear the palate tasted bad (I never had a bad tasting sorbet before). At breakfast my eggs benedict were fine but my wife's omlet was so overcooked she only had one bite. No one asked if there was a problem. Our final evening meal at the Terrace was served so fast that the appetizer and entree had to have been precooked. The fish entree was not very good and we only ate a third of the dish. Our reason for going to Sandals was a wedding. The staff did a great job with the wedding and with the lunch afterward. The room was comfortable and very clean with a nice view of the beach. The only problem with the room was the shower water pressure. My wife had to wash her hair in the bathroom sink because there was not enough water pressure to rinse the shampoo from her hair. So, to summarize, some good, some bad, excellent wedding performance and a staff that tries very hard.

Room Tip: Stay away from the main building. Try to get a floor above the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank greatoakPennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Plantation, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
We regret to read that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We’re glad to know that our staff provided you with the excellent customer service for which we are known. However, any experience that is less than perfect calls for improvement on our part.

Regarding your concerns about the food and dining options, it is surprising to note that some of the food served was not to your expectations. This aspect of our operation is usually considered exceptional and very often received compliments from our guests. We are therefore sorry if you were not similarly impressed.

We want to make sure future guests do not have similar feedback and will take action by notifying our General Manager and the appropriate departments of your remarks. We do request that while on resort you notify us of anything that does not meet your standards. We are always eager to go above and beyond to ensure that every guest has a wonderful and memorable experience at our resort.


Kind Regards,
Cassie C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
369 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

I've been travelling for quite some time, and I have loved and enjoyed many spots, but as a Caribbean destination/beach holiday, Royal Plantation is the perfect spot - at least for my wife and I.

This is not a typical Sandals, it's not a party place, music is not pumping out at "11" all day and it is small. It has just 74 rooms and is an old plantation house, steeped in tradition, sitting atop a small cliff with two small, but scenic beaches. The service, from the top down is excellent. On our first night there, the manager, Mr. Peter Fraser saw that we had arrived late and were somewhat hungry. Without introducing himself, he sat us down, ran into the kitchen and came out with a wonderful plate of appetizers. That's service.

It is a full butler service property, but you can use your butler as much or as little as you like. Fiona and Donard were our butlers and they were excellent. We really didn't use them very much, they made themselves available when we needed them and worked on some nice "extra" touches like drawing baths, but they didn't go over the top. Others made more use of their butlers, others less.

One of the biggest selling points of this resort is the excellent food. From Le Papillon to the Terrace and the Royal Cafe, dinners were excellent, cooked to perfection. There was lots of choice and even 7 days was not enough to sample everything.

Every room has a view of the ocean, upper levels have clearer views. Rooms are very tastefully decorated, with ample storage and great french doors to open up the sitting area into a quasi patio. We had a balcony, but didn't use it as much as we thought we would.

It is a pricey resort, but in life you get what you pay for and we certainly got every penny out of our week. We have never returned to a resort in the past, preferring to seek out new places. However, we will be back next year, as I'm in the process of booking for an even longer trip.

A few musts; Lobster BLT's at the Royal Cafe for lunch, with the coconut shrimp, Surf and Turf at night, Jamaica night on Fridays. Get to know the staff, stop and talk. We learned a lot about the local community and Jamaica in general by just asking questions. A special shout out to Chase who seemed to be serving every possible meal, he always went that extra mile. Both beach butlers were excellent, friendly and accommodating. While you are there, I would suggest you walk over to the other Sandals property next door and spend some time walking around. It is a big property with nice restaurants and great aesthetics, but you couldn't possibly asked for a bigger contrast in resort personalities. Returning to Royal Plantation, my wife turned to me and said "it's good to get home", that sums up our stay at SRP - It's home.

Room Tip: East Wing for quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

I write this review with a bit of hesitation, only because I'm afraid it may lead too many people to this gem of a hotel, making it more difficult for me to book another trip there later. We found our vacation there perfect. True, the beach was small, but more than adequate to soak up the sun and enjoy cocktails delivered by Cleon and Adrian. The food was very good, the rooms all oceanfront and spacious, and the service impeccable. We left feeling like we had become members of a new family. We were amazed by the graciousness and verve the staff had not just to serve, but also to teach-- and all with gorgeous smiles and grace. I had read several reviews before choosing this property and didn't understand why people consistently referred to "Peter" the manager, or "Adrian" the beach butler, among others. That mystery is now solved. This place is gorgeous in and among itself. What makes it exceptional is its people, who sure are there to serve, but who also really love being there and enjoy sharing with you their island and culture if you take the time to ask. By the time you leave, with the staff waving goodbye, you look at each face, know each name, and know each person. That's rare in international travel.

I would say that the crowd you'll meet there is different from other Sandals properties. This crowd tends to be a little older (we met couples ranging from newlyweds to octo-genarians), and certainly wiser. It's a laid back atmosphere and we became friendly with many of the other couples on the beach- even joining one after an open beach invitation to their wedding. The frat party is next door at the Grande Riviera, which you can join at any time. Here, there's music, dancing and catamaran cruises. Conga lines and limbo are next door. We loved it so much we booked a longer trip next year.

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor of the east wing, and thought it was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank renelaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Plantation, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
Thank you for your review of Sandals Royal Plantation. We strive to offer a relaxing and enjoyable experience to all of our guests and I'm so glad we were able to live up to our high standard. Our property is indeed a gem and a favorite among many of our return guests.

We look forward to having you visit with us again in the near future.


Sincerely,
Cassie C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

I just got back from a couples trip that my work provides for all of its managers. We stayed here from Thursday Jan 17th thru Monday Jan 21st. The Royal Plantation is a very small hotel, only 74 suites. This hotel is for an older crowd, did not see many young couples at this resort. The rooms at this hotel all face the ocean with a view of the water and are very spacious. The bedroom portion of the hotel is very nice, the bathrooms are a little dated. Everything worked, but just looked like it could use a little update. The food was above average, with several selections at each restaurant that were unique. Make sure to get the Lobster BLT by the beach at the grill, it was fantastic. The staff is very attentive and will go out of their way to make your trip an enjoyable one. The beach and pool are small, so our larger group from work decided to walk to the Sandals property next door for a larger pool. I can't fault the hotel, especially if you are traveling as a couple, you will not need the space our large group did. If you are looking for complete relaxation, this resort is for you. If you are looking for nightlife, I would choose another property.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank debbiehughes702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 5 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

I have travelled to over 50 countries and regularly go to to 5 and 5 1/2 star resorts around the caribbean. I love the Sandals resorts and have been to all of them. In the last year I have stayed at all the Sandals again but Negril. In May I was married at the Royal Plantation. It is by far their best resort mostly because of the food. Their french restaurant is the best restaurant I have eaten at in an all-inclusive hotel. Very few people have been to more places than myself. My favorite dish was the smoked salmon fetuccine for lunch. Darren mrtrip@vmobile.blackberry.com

Room Tip: Most rooms only have a french balcony. Any room with a full balcony is much larger. However our room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MrFareconnect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Plantation, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Thank you, Darren, for your kind review of Sandals Royal Plantation and of our other Sandals properties. We're so happy to read that we are always able to offer you the best in luxury accommodations and fine dining during your time spent with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another amazing stay in the near future.


Sincerely,
Cassie C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livermore, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Celebrated our 35th wedding anniversary here Jan 3 - 10th, 2013. A smaller resort of 74 suites, with an older, quieter group (perfect for relaxing & romance). Superb room, gracious service, outstanding food, nice beach and beautiful setting. Stay here you will be impressed. Our butlers Germaine and Marvin continued to please us with their attentiveness to make sure we had the best time possible - even interesting animal towel creations in our room & a drawn hot bubble bath with flowers and candle light awaited us after an evening of entertainment. And they (like the rest of the staff) are really nice people too. Come here, have the best time, make some friends, and enjoy a bit of paradise. BTW, I am not a Sandals employee - they just have it dialed in!

Room Tip: Second and third floors with ocean views are the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank david f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
0.2 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,279 reviews
52.9 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
45.7 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
61.1 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
57.0 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Royal Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Royal Plantation

Property: Sandals Royal Plantation
Address: Main Street, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Royal Plantation 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•All suite resort and all are serviced by butlers trained by the Guild of Professional English Butlers•2 private beaches with beach butler service•The Caribbean’s only Champagne and Caviar Bar•Exquisite International, Mediterranean, Caribbean and French cuisine•24 hour in suite dining•Complimentary transfers from this resort to all Sandals Resorts•Voted Sandals Resorts “World Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row•Five Star Diamond Award - American Academy of Hospitality Sciences ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Holiday Gems, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sandals Royal Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Royal Plantation Hotel Ocho Rios
Royal Plantation Ocho Rios
Royal Plantation Jamaica
Sandals Royal Plantation Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing