We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sandals Royal Plantation
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We just returned from a one week stay at the Royal Plantation, in celebration of our 25th Anniversary. (Although asked several times what we were celebrating, our anniversary was never acknowledged). This was our second time to Jamaica, First time at Sandals. Having said that, this was one of the best vacations we have ever had. It was due to the most amazing food and even more amazing staff!! They are the best! They are some of the most charming and accommodating people you will ever meet. Including Mark the GM, who was always visible and has all your best interests at heart. He is doing a GREAT job! They are why you want to return!

As for the hotel itself, it really needs attention in some areas. Upon check in we were brought to our Great House Ocean Suite on the west side. (which does have the best views) It was called beach level, to get there you can either take the elevator down or down a flight of stairs. Sandals really needs to do something about the ugly window that allows you to see some of the equipment through it. It is really unappealing as you are walking down the stairs, it makes you feel as if you are in the basement. Once you were in the room that feeling of being in the basement goes away. The room itself was nice and large enough. Good value. The bathrooms really need to be updated. The faucet on the tub was coming out of the holes and very badly tarnished.

It appears air conditioners were recently put in the game room. The area around them was never repaired. I am probably being nit picky, but for a place this amazing, I feel we shouldn't be seeing that.

This hotel has that old world charm and is really very lovely. It is in a beautiful location up on the bluff, the beaches are small but very well kept. We really liked east beach very quiet and relaxing. We had a chance to use the spa, and that was very nice. The fitness room is small but adequate if you want to squeeze in a workout, also could use some hand sanitizer in there.

We visited next door but didn't stay long. We like it better at our small oasis, where you felt you knew everyone. Its nice to go there if you want more going on. The entertainment at night at Royal Plantation was very good. It gets very quiet after 10PM.

Although I feel that Sandals really needs to go through and fix things that are tired within the resort, it really was an amazing visit. We are still wishing we were there. The amazing people that work so hard night and day are what makes you want to come back and never leave! I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Royal Plantation to anyone.

If Sandals would spend some money on updates, this resort would be 5 star!!!

Room Tip: West side for better ocean views. Quieter on the East side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LinR9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

We're elated to read about your truly indcredible 25th anniversary spent at Sandals Royal Plantation. On such a milestone in your lives, we're honored that we were able to share the moment with you. Thank you so much for your review.

We can't wait to welcome you back for another vacation filled with beautiful memories.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,577)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,427 - 1,433 of 2,577 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2013

Fabulous all inclusive resort. Loved the huge bedroom and bath set up, very
luxurious and spacious. Gardens and dining areas were wonderful. Excellent
menu selections for all meals. Our dinner in Le Papillon was truely wonderful. The appointments, service and food were all amazing.

The staff were all very attentive and friendly. We appreciated our butlers Sheldon and Richard, the helpful beach staff including boat captain Richard and Ojay, and all waiters and waitresses who work so hard.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

We're so delighted to read that you had such an amazing experience with us at Sandals Royal Plantation. We always want our guests to feel relaxed and worry-free in a comfortable, luxurious environment. I am happy that we were able to achieve that goal during your stay.

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We can't wait to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We just returned from an 8 day visit to Sandals Royal Plantation. Without a doubt, this was the best, most relaxing vacation we have ever had. First, the resort is beautiful. It sits on a bluff overlooking the ocean. The landscaping and architectural details are stunning. As some have pointed out, the beaches are small...but never crowded, and very secluded. The view from the pool and hot tub was wonderful. We booked the Honeymoon Oceanfront Verandah suite - it was a large room, with a very large verandah, and giant shower and whirlpool tub. The room was clean, nicely air conditioned, and was well stocked with champagne, beer, soft drinks, juices, scotch, and rum. I had mentioned to our butler that I like cognac - 10 minutes later a bottle of Courvoisier appeared in our room. Finally, the service, top to bottom, was outstanding. Mark Starkey, the GM, sets the tone - he is always present, checking on guests, with a clear attention to detail - and you can tell he loves his job, and his staff. The staff, from housekeeping, to servers, to butlers, etc - were extremely helpful and accommodating. A few people who stood out to us. - our butlers, Richard and Sheldon; the beach butlers, Adrian and Cleon; Davian at the Royal Grill; Yanquie, Sean, and young Richard at the Wobbly Peacock; Dowarge; Sonjay at the Grill; Hushane; O'Shane and Jason - awesome entertainment; Andre, fantastic piano,; and last, but not least, Delgardo, who made our trip magical with a candlelight dinner - he exemplifies the heart and soul of the Royal Plantation. The week couldn't have been better - lazy days at the beach, great food, romantic moments, couples massages at the spa, dancing every night...we also were very fortunate to meet another couple (Andy and Jayne, I'm sure you will read this review, you know who you are - and we will get Andy on the dance floor next year, Jayne!) early in our visit, and had a wonderful time sharing our holiday with them. We have already booked another visit for next year, and we hope this will be an annual event for us. If you are looking for swim-up bars, loud parties, lots of participatory games - this place isn't for you. If you want a relaxing, stress free vacation with all of the romantic touches, this is the place. It could not have been more wonderful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank GretschGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We have just returned from two weeks at this fabulous hotel.
Huge thanks to Mark Skarkey (gm), Caroline (hm), & Peter ( head Chef).
And all ALL the staff who work at the hotel front of house and back stage, you all do a amazing job.
Nothing is too much trouble for anybody, they all have a smile on they face. and find the time to talk to you,
Food is outstanding, presentation and quality perfect.
This is a small luxury hotel, which offers so much, Peace, Quiet, Relaxation. And also lots of FUN.
All Ready booked for next year. can't wait to go back,

Room Tip: high floor,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kizzy64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Spent 2 weeks at the Royal Plantation in October for our Honeymoon, All of the staff are amazing, Special thanks to Mark Starkey the GM and our butler Ricardo Smith who both went the extra mile. Adrian and Cleon also do an amazing job as beach butlers

Don't bother visiting the neighbouring Grande Riviera beach side or Ochi beach club as the quality of everything is sub standard (food, staff etc), If you want to venture off resort then the Island Routes trips are good as is the Riviera Great house, especially for the chocolate party

We will be sure to return although I am sure that Ricardo Smith will have been promoted from butler by then

Room Tip: High up in the west wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MAT167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Thank you for your great review of Sandals Royal Plantation. We're so happy to read that you had such an amazing experience with us. I will be sure to pass your review on to our General Manager and staff. They will be to proud to hear of your kind mention.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another wonderful experience in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

My wife and I spent our Honeymoon at the Royal Plantation in Ocho Rios and had a wonderful time. We booked with Amy McHugh of Dream Makers Vacation Services and she was great at answering all of our questions and making recommendations about the resort and things to do in Ocho Rios.

The resort was recommended by friends of ours, who have been there many times, and they always talked about the tremendous service and relaxing environment. I was most impressed by the personalities and friendliness of everyone on the resort, especially our butlers Donard and Adrian. Adrienne the beach butler was great and made relaxing in the sand, so easy. I was also pleasantly surprised to see the resort GM, Mark, every single day, engaging guests and helping his staff make unforgettable memories.

I would highly recommend this resort to anyone who wants to take a break from their everyday and doesn't want to left a finger. We will be returning next year!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lotothezo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

I'm so happy to know that the amazing staff at Sandals Royal Plantation was able to not only meet your expectations but also exceed them during your stay.

Thank you for your review. I will be sure to forward your comments to our managers and staff. They will be so glad to read your kind review.

We look forward to welcoming you back again for another truly amazing experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

This was our first visit to a Sandals resort, and we were a little unsure if we would like it as we usually stay in small, privately owned hotels.
We loved it!
The resort is very small and intimate with just 74 suites. The grounds are beautiful, the buildings very well maintained, and the beaches are small but delightful.
The thing that makes this resort so special, though is the staff, who are all just amazing. Very welcoming and friendly, and go that extra mile to make your holiday memorable for all the right reasons. I had broken a bone in my foot a few weeks before we travelled, and asked for a couple of extra beach towels so I could elevate it. I was given them, of course, but a few minutes later Sheldon arrived by my lounger with a cushion, which he thought would be more comfortable, and every day after that the guys brought me one without fail - priceless!
The watersports guys were great - thanks Chad, Richard and Sheldon, you got me snorkelling again after too many years. The beach butlers Cleon and Adrian, made sure we were always topped up and their cooling rosewater sprays were delightful. Adrian is a larger than life character in every way, although he needs to work on his cockney accent.
We usually had lunch at the beach grill, which has a good selection, although we hardly made it past the Jamaican beef patties as they were awesome. Thanks to Aleika, Davian, Hushane and co - lovely lovely people.
We were a little concerned about the Butler service in the resort, as we are quite independent, and value our privacy. However after travelling 18 hours to get to SRP, and with the time difference of 6 hours making arrival time 01.30 a.m. GMT, it was fabulous to go off to the bar for a pick me up, and dinner whilst Audell unpacked everything, so perfectly. Thanks Audell! We had two butlers and they were just brilliant, very discrete, and thoughtful, and very funny too. Thanks Tafari too!
I only wish I could have brought one back to the UK to tackle my cases on coming home.
There are three restaurants in the resort, all serving fabulous food. under the dine around plan , you can also take a shuttle next door to the Sandals Grande, where there are a further 10 or so, but we only did this on one occasion as there was sufficient variety and choice, and the resort next door was huge!!!
I could go on and on thanking everyone for making our stay so memorable, but suffice to say, everyone was lovely, and we we had such a great time we decided to return next year, and made the booking before we left!

Room Tip: Better views from the higher floors (obviously) We liked the East wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chipsmiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

We're so happy to read that you had such a wonderful stay with us at Sandals Royal Plantation. We strive to create amazing and memorable experiences for our guests and I'm so glad we were able to achieve that goal during your stay.

Thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back for another great stay next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
0.2 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,311 reviews
52.9 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
45.7 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
61.1 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
49.9 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
#3 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Royal Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Royal Plantation

Address: Main Street, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range: £415 - £1,167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Royal Plantation 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•All suite resort and all are serviced by butlers trained by the Guild of Professional English Butlers•2 private beaches with beach butler service•The Caribbean’s only Champagne and Caviar Bar•Exquisite International, Mediterranean, Caribbean and French cuisine•24 hour in suite dining•Complimentary transfers from this resort to all Sandals Resorts•Voted Sandals Resorts “World Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row•Five Star Diamond Award - American Academy of Hospitality Sciences ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Sandals Royal Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Royal Plantation Hotel Ocho Rios
Royal Plantation Ocho Rios
Royal Plantation Jamaica
Sandals Royal Plantation Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing