We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Practically perfect in every way!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sandals Royal Plantation
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Practically perfect in every way!”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

My wife and I travelled to Ocho Rios October 16 to 23 specifically for the wedding of my son. He and his wife were to marry at the Sandals Grande Riviera on the 22nd and my wife and I wanted a buffer from the wedding crowd and had the mindset that this was to be an R and R week, attend the wedding and return home.

Boy, did we have a surprise in store!

Virtually every part of this resort was a 10 in our scale. The room was incredibly spacious (it seemed bigger than the other Sandals resorts we have experienced) and the butler service, though a first for us, was surprisingly non invasive for us. The two man system they use is a refreshing way of providing a good service and they manage to stay out of your hair until needed. The crafty telephone system to seek them out is also a nice touch.

What was the biggest and most pleasant surprise was the quality of the food. The restaurants provided the utmost of quality and choice. Chef Peter Hamill was a craftsman at putting together both local and international dishes and everyone we had was superb. The facilities are also a pleasant surprise. The gym, spa, gift shop and conference centre are all finely appointed and clean. Even the public washrooms are clean and tidy.

The pool, though small, is plenty big enough as not many people use it. At least during our stay, most people used the beaches as their location for Sunbathing, particularly on the non smoking side. The Caribbean was as calm as a lake.

Many thanks to our butlers, Marvin (Gaye) and Orayne, they were an excellent team. Thanks as well to the excellent bar staff... Sean and his Seantastic drink, Garnet and Danello at the Royal Grill were top notch. Adrian (ABomb) and Cleon (Dr. C) were fantastic Beach Butlers.

Special thanks to Oshane and his partner for being quiet yet enthusiastic activity hosts. They provided just enough entertainment choice for the week.

And a special thanks to Andre for his tickling of the ivories in the Wobbly Peacock on those occasions when we got the sing-alongs going.

Mark the GM, you have a fantastic staff and a fantastic property. Keep doing what you are doing to make it one of the best stops we have made on our holiday journeys!

Room Tip: We had a main floor room near the spa, but all rooms are centrally located and face the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sarge23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Plantation, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
We love to hear our guests describe their stay as perfect! That means we showcased the true luxury of our resort during your stay. Thank you so much for your review. We can't wait to see you back for another stellar vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,053
    337
    109
    36
    16
See reviews for
57
2,111
15
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (654)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort McMurray, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Although this was my first Sandals vacation I cannot stop raving about the astounding service and friendly staff.

We had two different butlers during our stay. Romaine would surprise us with our favorite desert, or be waiting for us after scuba diving at the other resort with pizza afterwards all without us asking. During our stay I acquired problems with my ears, Donard our other butler was so attentive. He went to the doctor with me and made sure I had everything to be comfortable the entire day.The rest of the staff was just as helpful and attentive.

The resort itself is beautiful, not as commercialized as the others it has a comfty charm surrounded by well kept gardens. Every room is oceanfront and we found it very quiet and relaxing in the evening.

What can I say about the food and drink? Best food I have ever had! I have never eaten that much in my life!

We have already booked our next vacation at the Royal Plantation for next year.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Melissa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Plantation, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Thank you so much for posting about your amazing stay at Sandals Royal Plantation. I'm so glad that we were able to make your stay so wonderful, from beginning to end. It´s great to know that we were able to meet your expectations and make this an incredible experience for you!

We can't wait to see you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This is an all butler Sandals with only 74 rooms. When you stay here you can access the other local Sandals locations, two of which are in walking distance. We walked across the beach to use the Sandals dive shop next door, but a shuttle is always easily arranged.

Everything about the location is intimate and relaxing with a Royal feel. With isolated beaches, there isn't a chance for a crowd. The outdoor entertainment fits the location. If you want loud dance music, you can wander next door. It seems like every room has a ocean view, or a patio with one.

The dive team was top notch and made sure we had access to a great variety of sites. They have one of the best dive schedules we have seen at Sandals. Advanced and Master divers get to do advanced dives twice a day. Resort divers get one separate dive per day. Perfect. The staff are great educators if you want to take a course or two. We didn't take a course, but observed them in action.

Room Tip: Higher floors will have better views due to the lush vegetation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank stuartb561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Plantation, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
It's so good to hear that you had such a great vacation at Sandals Royal Plantation. Our intimate resort is perfect for a relaxing getaway with no worries as everything is taken care of. Our dive staff will be so happy to hear your kind comments. Next time we hope you will dive with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We just returned from a one week stay at the Royal Plantation, in celebration of our 25th Anniversary. (Although asked several times what we were celebrating, our anniversary was never acknowledged). This was our second time to Jamaica, First time at Sandals. Having said that, this was one of the best vacations we have ever had. It was due to the most amazing food and even more amazing staff!! They are the best! They are some of the most charming and accommodating people you will ever meet. Including Mark the GM, who was always visible and has all your best interests at heart. He is doing a GREAT job! They are why you want to return!

As for the hotel itself, it really needs attention in some areas. Upon check in we were brought to our Great House Ocean Suite on the west side. (which does have the best views) It was called beach level, to get there you can either take the elevator down or down a flight of stairs. Sandals really needs to do something about the ugly window that allows you to see some of the equipment through it. It is really unappealing as you are walking down the stairs, it makes you feel as if you are in the basement. Once you were in the room that feeling of being in the basement goes away. The room itself was nice and large enough. Good value. The bathrooms really need to be updated. The faucet on the tub was coming out of the holes and very badly tarnished.

It appears air conditioners were recently put in the game room. The area around them was never repaired. I am probably being nit picky, but for a place this amazing, I feel we shouldn't be seeing that.

This hotel has that old world charm and is really very lovely. It is in a beautiful location up on the bluff, the beaches are small but very well kept. We really liked east beach very quiet and relaxing. We had a chance to use the spa, and that was very nice. The fitness room is small but adequate if you want to squeeze in a workout, also could use some hand sanitizer in there.

We visited next door but didn't stay long. We like it better at our small oasis, where you felt you knew everyone. Its nice to go there if you want more going on. The entertainment at night at Royal Plantation was very good. It gets very quiet after 10PM.

Although I feel that Sandals really needs to go through and fix things that are tired within the resort, it really was an amazing visit. We are still wishing we were there. The amazing people that work so hard night and day are what makes you want to come back and never leave! I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Royal Plantation to anyone.

If Sandals would spend some money on updates, this resort would be 5 star!!!

Room Tip: West side for better ocean views. Quieter on the East side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LinR9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Plantation, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
We're elated to read about your truly indcredible 25th anniversary spent at Sandals Royal Plantation. On such a milestone in your lives, we're honored that we were able to share the moment with you. Thank you so much for your review.

We can't wait to welcome you back for another vacation filled with beautiful memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westbrook, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Fabulous all inclusive resort. Loved the huge bedroom and bath set up, very
luxurious and spacious. Gardens and dining areas were wonderful. Excellent
menu selections for all meals. Our dinner in Le Papillon was truely wonderful. The appointments, service and food were all amazing.

The staff were all very attentive and friendly. We appreciated our butlers Sheldon and Richard, the helpful beach staff including boat captain Richard and Ojay, and all waiters and waitresses who work so hard.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Plantation, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
We're so delighted to read that you had such an amazing experience with us at Sandals Royal Plantation. We always want our guests to feel relaxed and worry-free in a comfortable, luxurious environment. I am happy that we were able to achieve that goal during your stay.

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We can't wait to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We just returned from an 8 day visit to Sandals Royal Plantation. Without a doubt, this was the best, most relaxing vacation we have ever had. First, the resort is beautiful. It sits on a bluff overlooking the ocean. The landscaping and architectural details are stunning. As some have pointed out, the beaches are small...but never crowded, and very secluded. The view from the pool and hot tub was wonderful. We booked the Honeymoon Oceanfront Verandah suite - it was a large room, with a very large verandah, and giant shower and whirlpool tub. The room was clean, nicely air conditioned, and was well stocked with champagne, beer, soft drinks, juices, scotch, and rum. I had mentioned to our butler that I like cognac - 10 minutes later a bottle of Courvoisier appeared in our room. Finally, the service, top to bottom, was outstanding. Mark Starkey, the GM, sets the tone - he is always present, checking on guests, with a clear attention to detail - and you can tell he loves his job, and his staff. The staff, from housekeeping, to servers, to butlers, etc - were extremely helpful and accommodating. A few people who stood out to us. - our butlers, Richard and Sheldon; the beach butlers, Adrian and Cleon; Davian at the Royal Grill; Yanquie, Sean, and young Richard at the Wobbly Peacock; Dowarge; Sonjay at the Grill; Hushane; O'Shane and Jason - awesome entertainment; Andre, fantastic piano,; and last, but not least, Delgardo, who made our trip magical with a candlelight dinner - he exemplifies the heart and soul of the Royal Plantation. The week couldn't have been better - lazy days at the beach, great food, romantic moments, couples massages at the spa, dancing every night...we also were very fortunate to meet another couple (Andy and Jayne, I'm sure you will read this review, you know who you are - and we will get Andy on the dance floor next year, Jayne!) early in our visit, and had a wonderful time sharing our holiday with them. We have already booked another visit for next year, and we hope this will be an annual event for us. If you are looking for swim-up bars, loud parties, lots of participatory games - this place isn't for you. If you want a relaxing, stress free vacation with all of the romantic touches, this is the place. It could not have been more wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GretschGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We have just returned from two weeks at this fabulous hotel.
Huge thanks to Mark Skarkey (gm), Caroline (hm), & Peter ( head Chef).
And all ALL the staff who work at the hotel front of house and back stage, you all do a amazing job.
Nothing is too much trouble for anybody, they all have a smile on they face. and find the time to talk to you,
Food is outstanding, presentation and quality perfect.
This is a small luxury hotel, which offers so much, Peace, Quiet, Relaxation. And also lots of FUN.
All Ready booked for next year. can't wait to go back,

Room Tip: high floor,
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kizzy64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
0.2 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,296 reviews
52.9 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
45.7 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
61.1 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
57.0 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Royal Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Royal Plantation

Property: Sandals Royal Plantation
Address: Main Street, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Royal Plantation 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•All suite resort and all are serviced by butlers trained by the Guild of Professional English Butlers•2 private beaches with beach butler service•The Caribbean’s only Champagne and Caviar Bar•Exquisite International, Mediterranean, Caribbean and French cuisine•24 hour in suite dining•Complimentary transfers from this resort to all Sandals Resorts•Voted Sandals Resorts “World Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row•Five Star Diamond Award - American Academy of Hospitality Sciences ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Expedia, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sandals Royal Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Royal Plantation Hotel Ocho Rios
Royal Plantation Ocho Rios
Royal Plantation Jamaica
Sandals Royal Plantation Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing