We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sandals Royal Plantation is fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sandals Royal Plantation
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Sandals Royal Plantation Dec. 3-11, 2013

The service was fabulous. Special kudos for Sean the bartender, Oshane, and Romaine, as
well as butlers Ricardo and Aaron, and GM Mark. Everyone was extremely
friendly and helpful; the staff was a delight. Ricardo took care of a
somewhat unusually complex set of dining requirements with us and our
friends, and went out of his way to set up a ping pong table for
us. Aaron kindly agreed to play me for an hour, something I had
especially asked for.

The food: Papillon and the Royal Grill / dinner were fabulous. The
rotating menus at the Terrace were great. We especially appreciated
the fact that for breakfast and lunch at Terrace, we could order from
the menu and also use the buffet. The Palette of Small Plates was
great. The variety of choices on the beach grill menu was also
fabulous; we loved the lobster BLTs and the spare ribs.

Complaints about food/service: at Terrace, one night
(International night) the service was abysmal. It took us 1 hour 45
minutes just to get the soup course. It took over 3 hours to get
dessert and we gave up waiting for coffee.

Although it's not an RP issue, our appetizers at Soy at SGR were
fabulous but the food and ambiance at Kimonos were disappointing, and
the noise level was so high we were tempted to leave and go back to
Soy. If a butler is going to recommend Kimonos, it might be good to
give an accompanying warning about the din.

Entertainment: we loved the Jamaican night -- both the buffet and the
entertainment. We also loved the piano music at the Wobbly Peacock, but found
that when there was a DJ the music was a negative, not a positive --
too loud. Fortunately the games room was nearby because the DJ music
drove us from the bar.

We also loved the live entertainment during lunchtime -- both the
steel drum band at the beach grill, and the trio of guys with banjo
and bass box and guitar, at both the Grill and the Terrace. They were
wonderful and it was delightful being serenaded at lunch, with
acoustic music that didn't drown out conversations.

Mangos all the time was a wonderful touch -- fresh mangos at
breakfast, mango daiquiris, and mangosas were all very much
appreciated. Also we loved the fact that the Wobbly Peacock stocked
Glenlivet!

The special luncheon for diamond level guests was a great idea. And it
was especially classy that a group photo and copy of the menu appeared
in our room when we returned from lunch.

It was also delightful to have Mark give such excellent attention to
his guests, chatting with them on the beach or in the restaurant. He
was unusually approachable, which was a delightful surprise.

We really loved this resort and would happily return to it.

Also let me add that our Travel Agent, Ruth DeMuth of TripGuyTravel gave us absolutely outstanding service. We live in Boston and had to change flights in Miami. She kept track of our flights in case we had a problem and she had to help us change the connecting flight. Her attention to detail is way above the call of duty, and her knowledge of all Sandals resorts is unsurpassed!

Feel free to ask me any questions.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank strathspey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

We're so happy to hear that you absolutely loved your amazing stay at Sandals Royal Plantation. We do our best to offer the highest standard of luxury and service and I'm so glad that you enjoyed every moment of you stay. Thank you for your review!

We hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,627)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,451 - 1,457 of 2,628 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2013

I love Sandals Royal Plantation.

It's a small Boutique type hotel with an all Butler Service.

The ambiance of this hotel is quite different from all other Sandals Resorts I've visited. It's quaint, quiet and a perfect place for a couple to escape for either a short getaway or a week.

The Butlers are extremely professional and almost anticipate your every need before you've even thought of it.

The resort has wonderful Peacocks as residents and are amazing to experience their beauty.

I enjoyed every aspect of this resort.

The beach is small but given the small resort size it's great.

Sandals offers stay at one play at Grand Riviera and other resorts in Jamaica.

Room Tip: Since this hotel is an all butler resort, even the lead in and least expensive room allows you to ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

Thank you so much for your kind review! It was truly an honor hosting you at Sandals Royal Plantation and we're pleased to see that we were able to offer you an amazing stay. We pride ourselves on our top notch service and attention to detail.

We can't wait to welcome you back in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

This was our 2nd stay since our last stay in 2009. About the only thing that has changed is Sandals has it's name on it and all the rooms have butlers. The butler service was pretty neat. We really didn't use their services very much but when you needed something from the gift shop or reservations, they did it. Sheldon and Richard were great. The only thing that I missed was the floating platform you used to could swim up to. They said a hurricane washed it away. The food was amazing. Not a big buffet experience. Thank goodness. La Papilion was amazing. The dessert and French pressed blue mountain coffee was the best here. Also, this resort has quality drinks that aren't watered down like similar resorts. Charming and quaint and will come again soon.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Gamecocks_SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review of Sandals Royal Plantation. It sounds like you truly had an amazing stay with us. You enjoyed our great property and especially the genuine hospitality of our incredible staff.

We look forward to you visiting again with us in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Our butlers were fantastic, as were all of the staff really. They really take care and get to know your names etc. we are low key people so we didn't really ask for too much but whatever we did ask for was no problem. It was a quiet week we didn't do much off the beach. Wandered next door to the other resort and enjoyed meeting some people at the pool and swim up bar. Staff at our resort was a touch above those next door but we never had bad service. Beware of rum punch on the booze cruise - it's crazy strong! Other than that nothing bad to say about the resort or our stay. All of the food was too notch and we had no complaints!!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cutiepatootie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Thank you for your review. We're delighted to read that you had such an amazing vacation with us. We look forward to welcoming you back for another great experience very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

My husband and I spent the week of Thanksgiving, our first year anniversary at this resort from Sat through Sat. We had the best and most relaxing time aside from the 6 dives we did with the resort (that wasn't relaxing but was a blast!). We've been 'open water' certified for quite some time now and finally decided to do our Advanced certification with Mouse and James <backwards> at the resort next door...they were the most professional, fun and easy to work with instructors with the utmost sense of safety. I would recommend anyone do their certs with Mouse, he was amazing and I felt confident in what I was learning.

We spent some time on the near by resorts and they too were amazing but we definitely liked the quiet, peacefulness of Royal Plantation! Would recommend any of these resorts to all!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 54jenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Thank you so much for posting a review of Sandals Royal Plantation. We're so thrilled to read that you had such an amazing stay with us. Our goal is to always exceed the expectations of our guests and I'm happy we did that during your visit.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We stayed at Royal Plantation from Nov 12 to 19 2013. Transfer from the airport was good no problems and it took a little under 90 minutes.

The Beaches consisted of two areas the east and west beach. The west was no smoking and the east was smoking. Both beaches had enough loungers and although they were small the swimming and wading in the ocean was excellent. There is drink service on the beach and both beach butlers and the water sports guys were excellent providing great service we never waited on anything. We ate lunch at the royal grill a few times the food was excellent. The coconut shrimp, hamburgers and lobster blt all were top quality not your average sandals lunch fair.

They have a pool which was never busy and it got a lot of sun and was very warm and a real nice area with a very large hot tub. Again excellent drink service all day long.

The main courtyard where the nightly entertainment was was a large open area with nice seating and great drink service. This was also were the Terrace restaurant was.

There was a lot of seating outside the Wobbly Peacock and inside. The Wobbly peacock was a bunch of fun because of the bartenders who all were outstanding.

Above the bar was Papillon restaurant, the food here was like you would get at a very expensive fine dining restaurant, not like anything we have seen at any other sandals, not even close. The rack of lamb was top quality and the filet was a real thick cut like back at home. We had a filet at Sandals next door at Kelly's I'm not sure what cut it was but it was not at all like Papillon.

Our room was 302 in the east building it was very large clean and comfortable. The french doors open up to a railing to let the outside in but I really did miss a real balcony. The mini bar was well stocked daily with Champagne, wine and lots of drinks. It probably would have been stocked with what ever we asked for.

Our butlers were Chase and Donard. We didn't require or want much attention but they were out of this world as far a looking after us goes. These gentlemen really understand service.

Overall this place was amazing. The service is what makes this place special. The employees really get it. It is not like any other sandals we have been to. We were lucky to meet the GM Mark on our second last day, he was at away on business earlier . As a general manager in the service industry this is a man I would like to spend some time with, I know I could learn a lot from him. A very nice touch was his calling a few days after we got home to see how our visit was.

I could go on but I think you get the point. The bar staff really made a connection with us as with other guests great job Nesta, Garnett and Junior. We will definitely be back. Andre and Orane really helped with this decision to return, they seemed proud to be working there and showed genuine enthusiasm to doing what ever it took to make the guest happy.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank linnytoons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review of Sandals Royal Plantation. Our service and staff have been the highlight of many reviews and we're so thrilled to read that they all made such a great impression during your stay. It makes us all so proud to hear of your kind mention.

We are eager to welcome you back home very soon!

Happy Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I apologize for the late review. We went to the Sandals Royal Plantation in early October to celebrate our 10th annivesary, my birthday and a real Honeymoon. All I can say was that it was incredible and the resort pictures don't lie. The entire staff was welcoming and you never ever heard the word "NO" except when it was "NO Problem". From the morning breakfast on the Terrace where you have to have the largest assortment of fresh squeezed juices I have ever heard of. I loved the Royal Plantation and my wife liked all of them, especially the One Love. The food was absolutely delicious. I had read some reviews complaining about the food but we found ever meal wonderful. The staff from housekeeping, our buters (Jermaine and Shelly Ann) and especially O'Shane to be a real treat and everything you asked for, they did their best to fulfill. We only had one problem during the stay and it was addressed immediately and if it could not be resolved another comparable room would have been provided. Mark the GM is everywhere. Frankly I don't think he sleeps. The water is so warm and the colors are so relaxing. If you are looking for a place to relax, unwind and have some quality time together as a couple, then this is the place to come. Thanks again everyone for the great time.

Room Tip: We did not try the spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DCTraveler321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

We're so happy to read that you had such a wonderful anniversary with us at Sandals Royal Plantation. We strive to create romantic and memorable experiences for our guests and I'm so glad we were able to achieve that goal during your stay.

Thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back for another great stay in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
0.2 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,336 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
45.7 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
52.9 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
0.9 mi away
Couples Sans Souci
Couples Sans Souci
#3 of 35 in Ocho Rios
3,984 reviews
54.3 mi away
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Montego Bay
#8 of 63 in Montego Bay
5,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Royal Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Royal Plantation

Address: Main Street, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range: £422 - £1,248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Royal Plantation 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•All suite resort and all are serviced by butlers trained by the Guild of Professional English Butlers•2 private beaches with beach butler service•The Caribbean’s only Champagne and Caviar Bar•Exquisite International, Mediterranean, Caribbean and French cuisine•24 hour in suite dining•Complimentary transfers from this resort to all Sandals Resorts•Voted Sandals Resorts “World Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row•Five Star Diamond Award - American Academy of Hospitality Sciences ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelbag, Holiday Gems, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sandals Royal Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Royal Plantation Hotel Ocho Rios
Royal Plantation Ocho Rios
Royal Plantation Jamaica
Sandals Royal Plantation Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing