We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best holiday ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sandals Royal Plantation
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best holiday ever!”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We arrived at the RP to warm and friendly reception which was the perfect start to an exceptional vacation. All of the staff here are amazing and endeavour to make your stay an incredible experience.

Our butler's Shelly-Ann and Jermaine spoiled us and ensured that we had everything we could possibly want or need including making sure we had potato chips in our room. A surprise candlelight dinner and marriage proposal was made even more special with Shelly-Ann serenading us with "At Last" and Jermaine decorating our room and leaving chilled Champagne to continue the celebration.

Adrian and Cleon catered to us on the beach and kept us entertained. Delgardo, Romaine, Shamoy, Natalia, the bar staff, and everyone else at the RP were always smiling and the service was amazing.

Afternoon tea is a "must do". Best scones, lemon curd and clotted cream ever.

The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. The peacocks are lovely adding to the royal experience.

The RP is a smaller, quiet resort which is perfect for a relaxing vacation.

The food and the service is outstanding no matter where you choose to eat. Everything is top notch. We will absolutely return in the future.

The only minor complaint we would have is that the connectivity to internet is slow and intermittent.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Plantation, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Thank you for your review. We're happy that you had a great stay at Sandals Royal Plantation. We always strive to meet the needs of our guests by offering amazing experiences and I'm thrilled to know that your stay was indicative of the norm. We look forward to your return for an even better stay in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,000
    327
    108
    35
    16
See reviews for
53
2,053
15
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (638)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

My wife and I stayed at the hotel in Feb. 2014 for our honeymoon. The grounds were gorgeous. Staff and guests were all very friendly. The ratio of staff to guests is outstanding. We found the management very friendly and helpful. The food at the French restaurant was top-notch (much better than at the adjoining Sandals property). Our butler even arranged to have the chef prepare our favorite dish one evening. The beach butlers, waiters and bartenders are helpful and keep the drinks flowing.

Our butlers were just OK, although we witnessed some butlers that seemed to provide excellent service. I would recommend that you read the reviews and ask for a butler team that is praised often.

All-in-all, I would stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greg h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Plantation, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review of Sandals Royal Plantation. We're so thrilled to read that you had a sensational honeymoon experience with us. It's great to know that you enjoyed our delicious food, gorgeous property and our friendly staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back for an even better stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiverton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Excellent all round - from rooms, fully stocked bar and comfortable beds to a wonderful variety of entertainment, thanks Oshane & Jason your fantastic, bar staff both inside and out couldnt do enough for you, Cleon and Adrian - brilliant, most thanks to our butlers Jermaine & Shelley-Anne, we love you guys, you made us feel so special. Excellent food, awesome job Peter and Lucien special thanks to you, we cant thank you enough for our last night there, and our meal on the jetty in the moonlight.
Everyone writes great reviews, and we are no exception, a fantastic place you feel like you never want to leave.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SueH61_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Plantation, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
We're so happy to hear that you absolutely loved your amazing stay at Sandals Royal Plantation. We do our best to offer the highest standard of luxury and service and I'm so glad that you enjoyed every moment of you stay. Thank you for your review!

We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We visited this resort in May 2013, from the second we stepped foot in this resort we were nothing but "Wow"ed. The butler service, the bar staff, the entertainment staff and even the resort managers, go out of their way in every little way they can for you. The grounds are well kept and incredible, the rooms are just amazing. We actually toured the governor generals suite, and hope that one day we will be able to stay there! Was it ever gorgeous! We stayed in the Royal Great House, and these rooms were just beautiful too. We thought that the Juliette balcony would have been an issue, but not at all! you still felt like you were outside sitting in the little sun room off the room. The food at all the restaurants was incredible! and it was nice to have the opportunity to go next door to hang out with a younger crowd! Sometimes it was hard to leave our side though as it we were just in love with itl! Hope to return soon so see Andre and Sean "SEANDRE" (Sean may have been leaving for Turks & Caicos) But would love to see these two again! what a great team they made! Hard to ever want to go to another resort after this experience! Can't wait to go back :)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natyoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Plantation, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review! It was truly an honor hosting you at Sandals Royal Plantation and we're pleased to see that we were able to offer you an amazing stay. We pride ourselves on our top notch service and attention to detail. Therefore, we appreciate the fact that you took notice.

We can't wait to welcome you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Just returned from our Honeymoon at Sandals Royal Plantation and figured I'd take a break from researching when we can pull off our next visit and write a review. From when got off the plane in Jamaica to the time we left, Sandals service was impressive.

We arrived in Montego Bay Airport, and after doing the whole immigration/customs thing, we went right into the Sandals airport suite where a Butler greeted us and served us some Champagne, which really hit the spot. We hung out there for about a half hour or so, before our transportation was ready to take us to Ocho Rios, which wasn't a bad ride at all. A little over an hour, but it was interesting to take everything in along the way. Driver was very nice. Once we arrived at the resort, we were greeted by a friendly staff and 2 more glasses of champagne. We hung out for a few minutes and our butler came to bring our luggage to our room.

Once in our room, he offered to unpack for us, which we declined, but was a very cool gesture. He could tell we had had a pretty long day already, so he gave us a quick rundown of the nights activities, and said he'd give us the full tour the next day, which we appreciated. I'll admit, I didn't know what to expect from having a Butler, but it was a really great experience. Our Butler's Neil & Kenroy were perfect. Never pushy or intrusive, always answering our calls, very informative and professional.

I won't go into a daily rundown of our entire trip, but each day seemed to get better & better. We were impressed when we arrived, and impressed when we left (Maybe a little depressed too, having to return to freezing cold NY). The food was excellent. They have a little bit of everything - Jamaican, American, From Surf & Turf to wraps & burgers - all of which hit the spot. Portion sizes were perfect. Always cleared my plate, but never left feeling hungry.

The staff was very friendly. That might be the biggest thing I took away from the trip, just how incredibly nice & genuine everyone was. The maids, the maintenance, the hostesses & servers, the butlers, the bartenders, and the managers & staff, always were pleasant.

Our room was very nice. Comfortable bedding, Amazing views of the beach/ocean. Included iPod/iPhone docks for charging our phones. Bathroom had a tile shower and Jacuzzi tub as well. Ample closet size. More than enough room for a couple to enjoy. Mini bar was always stocked with Soda, Water, Juices, ice. We only used Room Service once, but it was very nice. Feeling like breakfast in bed or a late night snack? Just pick up the phone.

I could go on and on. Perfect place for whatever excuse you can use to get away. For us, it made for an amazing honeymoon. Romantic, Relaxing, Enjoyable. If you want to be a beach bum and relax for a week, or if you want to throw in some adventure and check out the area, this is an ideal spot. We always felt safe, never a concern in that aspect. This was our first trip internationally, as well as our first the Jamaica, and we have no desire to look into trying another resort. We're sold on the Royal Plantation. It's not huge, which we loved. You get to know people, and it's a very relaxed atmosphere.

A few tips that we have to offer:

-Get up fairly early if you want to reserve your spot on the beaches. There is an East & West beach. Both are very nice, but the chairs to people ratio is not 1:1 - Therefore, normally before 8AM, you should head down to the beach and put something on the chairs you want. If you see chairs with a towel, a water bottle, a magazine, pretty much anything on them already, that means they're reserved. We never had our butler's reserve chairs for us, but I've read that you can. But to assure you get the chairs you want, get your butt out of bed and scope it out yourself. :)

-Make reservations (at least 1 night) for Le Papillon restaurant, which is located upstairs at the resort. Beautiful room, wonderful food. Piano player was there during our dinner and it was a really nice touch. He played the song my wife walked down the aisle to during our wedding (A thousand Years) and it was just awesome. We only ate their once, but next time we will get their at least twice. I've also heard great things about the hot pudding dessert, but we ordered the Mousse and crème brulee which were very yummy.

-If you like a little adventure, check out the Blue Hole while you're in Ocho Rios. Just an incredible place. Some hiking & swimming is involved, but it's well worth the trip.

Do yourself a favor and put it on your bucket list. Treat yourself to a week (or more) of tranquility. You won't regret it. We just got back and we're already trying to figure out when we can return.

Before I sign off, I have to give a few shout outs to some staff members :)

Neil & Kenroy, our butlers. Truly made us feel special during our entire stay. Genuinely pleasant people, who know how to impress. And if you want to feel good about yourself, play Neil in billiards :)

Andre (Franky) & Garnet (Papa Smurf), Bartenders. Always on their game. Knew what we wanted before we did. And kept the drinks coming. Great guys, who know how to have fun & make some great drinks.

Romaine, one of our servers. From the first time I had met him, I could just tell he was a good dude. He Hustled, he smiled, he was funny. Something about him just stood out about him. He is a really talented dude with a great personality. One night we had planned a candlelight dinner on the pier and when I realized he was our server, it made our night just that much more special.

Honestly, everyone that works there deserves a shout out. They all were just a delight to encounter. After only being there for a week, you feel like you've gained a bunch of friends. We miss them all already, and we look forward to seeing them all again soon!

NO WORRIES MON!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lee2340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Plantation, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
We're so excited to hear that we had the chance to make your honeymoon the perfect experience. At Sandals Royal Plantation, creating luxurious experiences for Two People in Love is our top priority. I'm so glad our staff made sure you enjoyed your stay in paradise.

We can't wait to 'wow' you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Just returned from our vacation 2/16/14 - 2/22/14. You forget just how beautiful and elegant this resort is. Fabulous food and service. Our Butlers Sean and Fiona were great - Beach Butler Adrian as fabulous, as usual. The Captain and Crew on the Island Routes "Red Locks" Catamaran remembered us from 2 yeas ago. The Duns River boat tour is a must. This is our third trip to Royal and will not be our last. There is no reason to go anywhere else in Jamaica - the Sandals beach club is next door if you want more excitement, but the food and service is not up to the Royal Plantation standard. Purchased the Mobay Club passes both ways for the airport and would highly recommend being expedited thru customs and security. Well worth the cost.
This resort is as beautiful as their web photos!! The staff is happy and helpful - and they remember you from year to year.
MK Travel out of Irving, Texas always does a wonderful job with great attention to detail.

Room Tip: Be ready for a 90 minute ride from the airport in Montego Bay to Ocho Rios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Feline2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Plantation, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
We're so happy that you had such an amazing vacation with us. It seems like you enjoyed every minute of your stay at Sandal Royal Plantation and that is exactly the kind of excellent feedback we love to hear. Thank you for your review!

We look forward to another stellar experience with you in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

My wife and I just returned home yesterday from our 2nd stay at SRP. We were there last year at this same time.

There really isn't any need to look at other resorts. This place exceeded our expectations, yet again. Much of the same staff are still there - Cleon and Adrian on the beach, Jason and O'Shane as the entertainment and the usual butlers you see around the resort. We had Hector and Sherrill this year as our butlers and they were outstanding. On our second night, my wife was sick and they tended to her until she was better the next day, bringing her Pepto Bismol and ginger tea.

The bar staff was new to us but were just as great as Sean was last year (who is now a Butler). By day two they remembered our names and what we liked to drink.

I mentioned this in my first review last year, and I'll say it again - this is a small, quiet and intimate resort. We saw many of the same faces as last year. It really does fell like you are coming home.

If you are looking this resort for the first time and aren't sure what to think about the butler service, remember that no request is too big or small. During our last day, my wife asked our butler for some lobster for lunch.. He indicated it would be difficult given that they don't normally have lobster tail until dinner. I wish I had taken a picture of what she got because it was one of the biggest lobster tails I have seen.

Needless to say we have already booked to go back next February, and we can't wait.

If quality of service and food and a quiet vacation is what you are after, this is the place for you. If you want more of a party, swim up bars and large buffets, go somewhere else. Although you will have access to the much larger and louder Sandals Grande Riviera next door, you will find yourself wanting to get back to your own piece of paradise at the Royal Plantation very quickly.

Notes: We stayed in the west wing again - room 359 (top floor). We find this side has a more unobstructed view of the water.

Adrian and Cleon are amazing on the beach. Always happy!

Don't be afraid to ask for your lunch on the beach. Your butler or the beach butlers will bring it to you.

We tipped our butlers about $20 each per day (7days). I add this into my review because the most common question I received this time from newcomers was "how much should I tip them." This can be dependent on how much you use them our on your own financial means.

While this is typically an "older crowd" resort, I found there were many more couples under 40 this year. Having said that, everyone is very friendly and easy to talk to regardless of age.

Room Tip: West wing has best views. Ask for the 2nd or 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Plantation, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
We're so thrilled to hear of your wonderful return visit spent with us at Sandal Royal Plantation. We always want our guests to have stellar experiences at our resorts and it's great to know that your stay was nothing short of amazing! Thank you for your review.

We can't wait to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
0.3 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 36 in Ocho Rios
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hermosa Cove - Jamaica's Villa Hotel
45.7 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
52.9 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
61.1 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Royal Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Royal Plantation

Property: Sandals Royal Plantation
Address: Main Street, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Royal Plantation 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•All suite resort and all are serviced by butlers trained by the Guild of Professional English Butlers•2 private beaches with beach butler service•The Caribbean’s only Champagne and Caviar Bar•Exquisite International, Mediterranean, Caribbean and French cuisine•24 hour in suite dining•Complimentary transfers from this resort to all Sandals Resorts•Voted Sandals Resorts “World Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row•Five Star Diamond Award - American Academy of Hospitality Sciences ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Destinology, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Holiday Gems, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandals Royal Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Royal Plantation Hotel Ocho Rios
Royal Plantation Ocho Rios
Royal Plantation Jamaica
Sandals Royal Plantation Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing