We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fifth Time in Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sandals Royal Plantation
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayed at RP in late Jan-early Feb,and did a vow renewal.
Our butlers were Jermaine and Shelly,both very competent and professional at their jobs.
As we hadn't been here for two years,a few observations on what has changed:
The beach is shrinking,Hurricane Sandy did some damage this far south,incredible.
Food actually got better since our last stay,which is really saying something.
House red wine selection needs improvement.
House Champagne is very good.
Super Bowl tailgate party was spot on,with all the right appetizers.
Jamaican night was great,Curried Goat was awesome.
Biggs and Cleon cover the beach expeditiously as always.
Just a word here on the clientele:
For anyone looking to book here,a fair cross section (75-80%),of the people staying here are:
American or Canadian(can now be group together since Bieber united us!)
Mid 40's to 70's
Either small business owners,professional blue collar,or white collar middle management
Married to same partner for many years
Drink,but aren't drunks
This resort comes HIGHLY recommended for anyone who enjoys peace and quiet,excellent food and a truly unique experience
It will take you several days back in the world to become a functional human being again after this vacation,which,to me,is the definition of a vacation
Holler to Caroline and Kev,Ron and Karen from Jersey,Scott and Karen from KC,and Bob and his wife from Wisconsin
Already booked for same time next year
Used Club Mobay on way out for the first time,will use it again,worth every penny

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nitroae23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Thank you so much for your great review! We're so happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at Sandals Royal Plantation. Your vow renewal seemed to be such an amazing experience and I'm glad we had the chance to share this special moment with you.

We can't wait to welcome you back in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,612)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,355 - 1,361 of 2,612 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2014

got back last night from a fabulous stay at royal plantation. what can I say that other people didn't say, just add more praises. the grounds, public area, restaurants and rooms are kept very clean. the staff couldn't be more gracious and helpful. the food was better then good. it was great. and if there was anything special that you wanted, it was brought to you with a smile. (my special ice coffee).highly recommend the special tasting lunch on Tuesday at the Terrace.!!!!!
we loved the food at the French restaurant and our server Orlando that popped up every morning and afternoon in different restaurants. he couldn't do enough for us. (loved that sandwich box he arranged for our trip back to the airport).
Our butlers Chad and Ashpool were very helpful and accommodating. Lets not forget the 2 wonderful guys at the beach-Adrian and Cleon (thanks for the yellow sunglasses) always making sure that we had everything, smiling and gracious Natalia and lastly' the crew at The Royal Grill on the beach that we met on our last night. sorry if I don't mention you by name but you know who you are. the server who recited the whole menu to me at lunch time' the bar tender who made us fabulous non-alcoholic and alcoholic cocktail and the chef that came to see how we liked our food. can't wait to go back (next year). as the title says' we are not honeymooners but we spent our 36 wedding anniversary . we met quite a few middle age and older people. so the place is for everybody.
thanks again, and will see you next year.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank princleah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Thank you so much for your review! We're ecstatic to know that you had an amazing vacation at Sandals Royal Plantation. We want nothing more than to offer stellar vacations to our guests and I'm so happy that we were able to do just that during your stay! We can't wait to welcome you back for another incredible stay in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We arrived at the RP to warm and friendly reception which was the perfect start to an exceptional vacation. All of the staff here are amazing and endeavour to make your stay an incredible experience.

Our butler's Shelly-Ann and Jermaine spoiled us and ensured that we had everything we could possibly want or need including making sure we had potato chips in our room. A surprise candlelight dinner and marriage proposal was made even more special with Shelly-Ann serenading us with "At Last" and Jermaine decorating our room and leaving chilled Champagne to continue the celebration.

Adrian and Cleon catered to us on the beach and kept us entertained. Delgardo, Romaine, Shamoy, Natalia, the bar staff, and everyone else at the RP were always smiling and the service was amazing.

Afternoon tea is a "must do". Best scones, lemon curd and clotted cream ever.

The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. The peacocks are lovely adding to the royal experience.

The RP is a smaller, quiet resort which is perfect for a relaxing vacation.

The food and the service is outstanding no matter where you choose to eat. Everything is top notch. We will absolutely return in the future.

The only minor complaint we would have is that the connectivity to internet is slow and intermittent.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Thank you for your review. We're happy that you had a great stay at Sandals Royal Plantation. We always strive to meet the needs of our guests by offering amazing experiences and I'm thrilled to know that your stay was indicative of the norm. We look forward to your return for an even better stay in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

My wife and I stayed at the hotel in Feb. 2014 for our honeymoon. The grounds were gorgeous. Staff and guests were all very friendly. The ratio of staff to guests is outstanding. We found the management very friendly and helpful. The food at the French restaurant was top-notch (much better than at the adjoining Sandals property). Our butler even arranged to have the chef prepare our favorite dish one evening. The beach butlers, waiters and bartenders are helpful and keep the drinks flowing.

Our butlers were just OK, although we witnessed some butlers that seemed to provide excellent service. I would recommend that you read the reviews and ask for a butler team that is praised often.

All-in-all, I would stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank greg h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review of Sandals Royal Plantation. We're so thrilled to read that you had a sensational honeymoon experience with us. It's great to know that you enjoyed our delicious food, gorgeous property and our friendly staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back for an even better stay in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Excellent all round - from rooms, fully stocked bar and comfortable beds to a wonderful variety of entertainment, thanks Oshane & Jason your fantastic, bar staff both inside and out couldnt do enough for you, Cleon and Adrian - brilliant, most thanks to our butlers Jermaine & Shelley-Anne, we love you guys, you made us feel so special. Excellent food, awesome job Peter and Lucien special thanks to you, we cant thank you enough for our last night there, and our meal on the jetty in the moonlight.
Everyone writes great reviews, and we are no exception, a fantastic place you feel like you never want to leave.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SueH61_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

We're so happy to hear that you absolutely loved your amazing stay at Sandals Royal Plantation. We do our best to offer the highest standard of luxury and service and I'm so glad that you enjoyed every moment of you stay. Thank you for your review!

We hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We visited this resort in May 2013, from the second we stepped foot in this resort we were nothing but "Wow"ed. The butler service, the bar staff, the entertainment staff and even the resort managers, go out of their way in every little way they can for you. The grounds are well kept and incredible, the rooms are just amazing. We actually toured the governor generals suite, and hope that one day we will be able to stay there! Was it ever gorgeous! We stayed in the Royal Great House, and these rooms were just beautiful too. We thought that the Juliette balcony would have been an issue, but not at all! you still felt like you were outside sitting in the little sun room off the room. The food at all the restaurants was incredible! and it was nice to have the opportunity to go next door to hang out with a younger crowd! Sometimes it was hard to leave our side though as it we were just in love with itl! Hope to return soon so see Andre and Sean "SEANDRE" (Sean may have been leaving for Turks & Caicos) But would love to see these two again! what a great team they made! Hard to ever want to go to another resort after this experience! Can't wait to go back :)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natyoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Thank you so much for your kind review! It was truly an honor hosting you at Sandals Royal Plantation and we're pleased to see that we were able to offer you an amazing stay. We pride ourselves on our top notch service and attention to detail. Therefore, we appreciate the fact that you took notice.

We can't wait to welcome you back in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Just returned from our Honeymoon at Sandals Royal Plantation and figured I'd take a break from researching when we can pull off our next visit and write a review. From when got off the plane in Jamaica to the time we left, Sandals service was impressive.

We arrived in Montego Bay Airport, and after doing the whole immigration/customs thing, we went right into the Sandals airport suite where a Butler greeted us and served us some Champagne, which really hit the spot. We hung out there for about a half hour or so, before our transportation was ready to take us to Ocho Rios, which wasn't a bad ride at all. A little over an hour, but it was interesting to take everything in along the way. Driver was very nice. Once we arrived at the resort, we were greeted by a friendly staff and 2 more glasses of champagne. We hung out for a few minutes and our butler came to bring our luggage to our room.

Once in our room, he offered to unpack for us, which we declined, but was a very cool gesture. He could tell we had had a pretty long day already, so he gave us a quick rundown of the nights activities, and said he'd give us the full tour the next day, which we appreciated. I'll admit, I didn't know what to expect from having a Butler, but it was a really great experience. Our Butler's Neil & Kenroy were perfect. Never pushy or intrusive, always answering our calls, very informative and professional.

I won't go into a daily rundown of our entire trip, but each day seemed to get better & better. We were impressed when we arrived, and impressed when we left (Maybe a little depressed too, having to return to freezing cold NY). The food was excellent. They have a little bit of everything - Jamaican, American, From Surf & Turf to wraps & burgers - all of which hit the spot. Portion sizes were perfect. Always cleared my plate, but never left feeling hungry.

The staff was very friendly. That might be the biggest thing I took away from the trip, just how incredibly nice & genuine everyone was. The maids, the maintenance, the hostesses & servers, the butlers, the bartenders, and the managers & staff, always were pleasant.

Our room was very nice. Comfortable bedding, Amazing views of the beach/ocean. Included iPod/iPhone docks for charging our phones. Bathroom had a tile shower and Jacuzzi tub as well. Ample closet size. More than enough room for a couple to enjoy. Mini bar was always stocked with Soda, Water, Juices, ice. We only used Room Service once, but it was very nice. Feeling like breakfast in bed or a late night snack? Just pick up the phone.

I could go on and on. Perfect place for whatever excuse you can use to get away. For us, it made for an amazing honeymoon. Romantic, Relaxing, Enjoyable. If you want to be a beach bum and relax for a week, or if you want to throw in some adventure and check out the area, this is an ideal spot. We always felt safe, never a concern in that aspect. This was our first trip internationally, as well as our first the Jamaica, and we have no desire to look into trying another resort. We're sold on the Royal Plantation. It's not huge, which we loved. You get to know people, and it's a very relaxed atmosphere.

A few tips that we have to offer:

-Get up fairly early if you want to reserve your spot on the beaches. There is an East & West beach. Both are very nice, but the chairs to people ratio is not 1:1 - Therefore, normally before 8AM, you should head down to the beach and put something on the chairs you want. If you see chairs with a towel, a water bottle, a magazine, pretty much anything on them already, that means they're reserved. We never had our butler's reserve chairs for us, but I've read that you can. But to assure you get the chairs you want, get your butt out of bed and scope it out yourself. :)

-Make reservations (at least 1 night) for Le Papillon restaurant, which is located upstairs at the resort. Beautiful room, wonderful food. Piano player was there during our dinner and it was a really nice touch. He played the song my wife walked down the aisle to during our wedding (A thousand Years) and it was just awesome. We only ate their once, but next time we will get their at least twice. I've also heard great things about the hot pudding dessert, but we ordered the Mousse and crème brulee which were very yummy.

-If you like a little adventure, check out the Blue Hole while you're in Ocho Rios. Just an incredible place. Some hiking & swimming is involved, but it's well worth the trip.

Do yourself a favor and put it on your bucket list. Treat yourself to a week (or more) of tranquility. You won't regret it. We just got back and we're already trying to figure out when we can return.

Before I sign off, I have to give a few shout outs to some staff members :)

Neil & Kenroy, our butlers. Truly made us feel special during our entire stay. Genuinely pleasant people, who know how to impress. And if you want to feel good about yourself, play Neil in billiards :)

Andre (Franky) & Garnet (Papa Smurf), Bartenders. Always on their game. Knew what we wanted before we did. And kept the drinks coming. Great guys, who know how to have fun & make some great drinks.

Romaine, one of our servers. From the first time I had met him, I could just tell he was a good dude. He Hustled, he smiled, he was funny. Something about him just stood out about him. He is a really talented dude with a great personality. One night we had planned a candlelight dinner on the pier and when I realized he was our server, it made our night just that much more special.

Honestly, everyone that works there deserves a shout out. They all were just a delight to encounter. After only being there for a week, you feel like you've gained a bunch of friends. We miss them all already, and we look forward to seeing them all again soon!

NO WORRIES MON!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lee2340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

We're so excited to hear that we had the chance to make your honeymoon the perfect experience. At Sandals Royal Plantation, creating luxurious experiences for Two People in Love is our top priority. I'm so glad our staff made sure you enjoyed your stay in paradise.

We can't wait to 'wow' you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
0.2 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,322 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
45.7 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
52.9 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
0.9 mi away
Couples Sans Souci
Couples Sans Souci
#3 of 35 in Ocho Rios
3,971 reviews
54.3 mi away
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Montego Bay
#8 of 63 in Montego Bay
5,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Royal Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Royal Plantation

Address: Main Street, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range: £429 - £1,265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Royal Plantation 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•All suite resort and all are serviced by butlers trained by the Guild of Professional English Butlers•2 private beaches with beach butler service•The Caribbean’s only Champagne and Caviar Bar•Exquisite International, Mediterranean, Caribbean and French cuisine•24 hour in suite dining•Complimentary transfers from this resort to all Sandals Resorts•Voted Sandals Resorts “World Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row•Five Star Diamond Award - American Academy of Hospitality Sciences ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Travelbag, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sandals Royal Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Royal Plantation Hotel Ocho Rios
Royal Plantation Ocho Rios
Royal Plantation Jamaica
Sandals Royal Plantation Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing