We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above and beyond the best vacation!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sandals Royal Plantation
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We just returned from what has been the best vacation we've ever had! The first being our destination wedding but if we took the wedding out of the picture this by far would be the best :) The people that work at Sandals Plantation are what make it amazing. The hotel is small and intimate which makes it so special. You never have to wait in lines to eat, there's never a battle for a spot at the beach and the food is amazing.

Our butlers were outstanding. Big kudos to Kenroy and Neil who made us feel special every single day. Our every need was taken care of and you never felt like you were putting someone out of their way. They genuinely enjoy their jobs and making your experience outstanding. We hope to come back and can only hope that we have them again!

The wobbly peacock was our watering ground and Andre, Garnett, Junior and Akeem always made us feel like we were home. We really enjoyed hanging with these guys every day and they made our trip extra special.

The spa services were A+ in our book! big shout out to Martha (i think i might have screwed up her name) but she made every experience enjoyable and would certainly ask for her again!

A great example of how awesome this place is and how amazing the service is was our last night. We had been to the Pappion for dinner earlier in the week and they were out of lamb which is my husbands favorite meal. We let our butlers know and they worked with Caroline to make it happen. Our last dinner there we were surprised with an amazing rack of lamb for my husband which was a complete surprise. Caroline, Kenroy and Neil went out of their way to make sure this happened for my husband. Such amazing service.

we are sad to be home and wish we were still there!!! till next time - the Carters.

Room Tip: we stayed on the 2nd floor on the east wing. great ocean views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lynnbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

We're so happy to hear that you absolutely loved your amazing stay at Sandals Royal Plantation. We do our best to offer the highest standard of luxury and service and I'm so glad that you enjoyed every moment of you stay. Thank you for your review!

We hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,577)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,319 - 1,325 of 2,577 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014

Truly, that is how it felt! My husband and I returned home from our second trip to SRP on 10/18/13-10/28/13. We were there during Hurricane Sandy and are so glad we made the decision to revisit. It was great to see the property in full swing this year compared to last – being able to participate in water activities and boating and to be able to go next door to try different restaurants (though every time we went, we said ‘why did we do that?’ and were glad to be back “HOME”). This was our 1 year anniversary and boy, do the folks here know how to make you feel special! This is the epitome of pampering, being spoiled and truly having anything you could want. On top of that, the breathtaking views of the Sea and lush landscaping. It is the perfect combo!

Butlers – Shout out to Audell & Tafari!!! This was our second year with these two and I will ask for them every time I go back. These guys work CRAZY hard to make sure your stay is what you want it to be. They worked SO hard to ensure that everything that we wanted to do, see or get involved with was arranged, including special a top notch sushi night and a special going away lunch with friends. Audell even surprised us with our own chocolate night since we missed the chocolate buffet at SGR…but not only did he arrange this for us, but also for our friends that were on holiday with us. These guys are top-notch employees that deserve special recognition for the hard work that they provided to both the customers and the Sandals organization.

Beach Butlers - these guys are FANTASTIC at providing everything that you need 'down on the beach'. Adrian, Cleon and Fiona are the best at providing you with whatever you may need or want - this can include lunch on the beach, endless drinks, live entertainment (Adrian has a beautiful singing voice) and they are always ready to provide a friendly smile.

Watersports Guys - Jermaine, Chad & Kevin were always quick to provide us with a towel, set-up the beach chairs or even bring you drinks in the sea!

Chefs & Servers/Food - this is definitely an area that RP excells at. 5 star quality, plenty of choices. There really is no need to go next door as the food is sub-par compared to RP and the ambiance isn’t the same. If you really want something that’s not on the menu’s, just ask. Chef Peter will make it for you! Lucian is a fantastic chef and “grill master” as my husband nicknamed. Special shout out’s to: Taniqua (you are awesome and run a tight ship!), Natalia (her voice…amazing!), Nevardo (grow into that belt!), Lisa Gay (you are the kindest, most beautiful person I have ever met), Yanquie, Dowarge, Davian, Hushane, Sean, Romaine, Romane…. This list truly goes on and an. They were ALWAYS ready with a smile, fast, friendly service and it was an honor to get to know them better over this stay. This group of people provided excellent service and was always happy to see us no matter what time of day.

Rooms – We were in the 100 room level and really couldn’t have been more pleased. We had everything we would need or want and the room was plenty spacious enough. Our room was located closer to SGR and sometimes you could hear the music late at night walking back to our room, but as soon as you shut the door – not a sound (except for the lovely frogs). The vent in our bathroom did have some problems getting started when you turned it on, but it didn’t bother us. Mini bar always stocked with what we wanted or needed. Looking back, I realized how wonderful it is to be able to walk down a few steps and be on the beach! The free wi-fi is HUGE added bonus!
Entertainment - this group is made up of a dynamic duo - O'Shane & Jason. It was great to get to know these two on a more personal level this time around. O’Shane…can’t wait to see that new baby of yours! These two are always singing, dancing, MC'ing and just in general providing a fun, interactive source of entertainment for the guests! They want you be involved, but if you’d rather not, that’s ok too. They are just lovely and FUN!! Jason worked very hard at getting a boat for us to do a private tour of the area at sunset which was fantastic…We tried to get him to swim, but it didn’t work out this time.

Management - Mark was constantly wandering around asking how your day was, playing pool with the guests and 'just checking in'. Mark even called us they day after we left to make sure we made it home safely and to see if there were any concerns and of course asked when we would be back! Excellent customer service!
Areas of improvement:
I think there needs to be some dress code clarity for Le Papillon. It states long sleeves are required for men, but plenty of guests had short sleeves on. It didn’t bother us and I had my husband pack long sleeve shirts just in case, but there seems to be some debate on what is appropriate in some of the social media sites.
Saving beach chairs. This was really the only item that left a bad impression with me. There is supposed to be a 2 hour limit on saving beach chairs, however I think most people would not bother your spot no matter how long you have it saved out of general courtesy. Typically the chairs are paired back up at night and the beach is cleaned and then guests save their chairs once they start waking in the morning. There was a group of people that arrived during our stay that somehow was able to have 10 or 11 beds saved right up front on the beach throughout the whole weekend for them. It happened to rain a little Saturday morning but cleared up shortly after 10 and the beds sat there unused until later in the afternoon. If the people who were reserving the beds knew they weren’t going to be using them that day, they should’ve moved their belongings so the rest of the guests could have used them. It bothered me the most that they were saved the WHOLE weekend that way. I consider it fair game if you want to get up at 5.30 or 6 am to save your chairs, but it’s not fair to the rest of us if you somehow arranged them to be saved ahead of time. This was mentioned to Mark while we were on property.
Overall, the days couldn't have been better - lazy days at the beach, great food, romantic moments, couples massages at the spa, dancing, special touches from the staff...we also were very fortunate to meet another couple last year during the Hurricane (I'm sure you will read this review, you know who you are) and had a wonderful time sharing our holiday with them this year as well. Our time at SRP couldn’t have been more wonderful! We will be back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank littlejack2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Thank you so much for your kind review! It was truly an honor hosting you at Sandals Royal Plantation and we're pleased to see that we were able to offer you an amazing stay. We pride ourselves on our top notch service and attention to detail. Therefore, we appreciate the fact that you took notice.

We can't wait to welcome you back in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayed at RP in late Jan-early Feb,and did a vow renewal.
Our butlers were Jermaine and Shelly,both very competent and professional at their jobs.
As we hadn't been here for two years,a few observations on what has changed:
The beach is shrinking,Hurricane Sandy did some damage this far south,incredible.
Food actually got better since our last stay,which is really saying something.
House red wine selection needs improvement.
House Champagne is very good.
Super Bowl tailgate party was spot on,with all the right appetizers.
Jamaican night was great,Curried Goat was awesome.
Biggs and Cleon cover the beach expeditiously as always.
Just a word here on the clientele:
For anyone looking to book here,a fair cross section (75-80%),of the people staying here are:
American or Canadian(can now be group together since Bieber united us!)
Mid 40's to 70's
Either small business owners,professional blue collar,or white collar middle management
Married to same partner for many years
Drink,but aren't drunks
This resort comes HIGHLY recommended for anyone who enjoys peace and quiet,excellent food and a truly unique experience
It will take you several days back in the world to become a functional human being again after this vacation,which,to me,is the definition of a vacation
Holler to Caroline and Kev,Ron and Karen from Jersey,Scott and Karen from KC,and Bob and his wife from Wisconsin
Already booked for same time next year
Used Club Mobay on way out for the first time,will use it again,worth every penny

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nitroae23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Thank you so much for your great review! We're so happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at Sandals Royal Plantation. Your vow renewal seemed to be such an amazing experience and I'm glad we had the chance to share this special moment with you.

We can't wait to welcome you back in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

got back last night from a fabulous stay at royal plantation. what can I say that other people didn't say, just add more praises. the grounds, public area, restaurants and rooms are kept very clean. the staff couldn't be more gracious and helpful. the food was better then good. it was great. and if there was anything special that you wanted, it was brought to you with a smile. (my special ice coffee).highly recommend the special tasting lunch on Tuesday at the Terrace.!!!!!
we loved the food at the French restaurant and our server Orlando that popped up every morning and afternoon in different restaurants. he couldn't do enough for us. (loved that sandwich box he arranged for our trip back to the airport).
Our butlers Chad and Ashpool were very helpful and accommodating. Lets not forget the 2 wonderful guys at the beach-Adrian and Cleon (thanks for the yellow sunglasses) always making sure that we had everything, smiling and gracious Natalia and lastly' the crew at The Royal Grill on the beach that we met on our last night. sorry if I don't mention you by name but you know who you are. the server who recited the whole menu to me at lunch time' the bar tender who made us fabulous non-alcoholic and alcoholic cocktail and the chef that came to see how we liked our food. can't wait to go back (next year). as the title says' we are not honeymooners but we spent our 36 wedding anniversary . we met quite a few middle age and older people. so the place is for everybody.
thanks again, and will see you next year.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank princleah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Thank you so much for your review! We're ecstatic to know that you had an amazing vacation at Sandals Royal Plantation. We want nothing more than to offer stellar vacations to our guests and I'm so happy that we were able to do just that during your stay! We can't wait to welcome you back for another incredible stay in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We arrived at the RP to warm and friendly reception which was the perfect start to an exceptional vacation. All of the staff here are amazing and endeavour to make your stay an incredible experience.

Our butler's Shelly-Ann and Jermaine spoiled us and ensured that we had everything we could possibly want or need including making sure we had potato chips in our room. A surprise candlelight dinner and marriage proposal was made even more special with Shelly-Ann serenading us with "At Last" and Jermaine decorating our room and leaving chilled Champagne to continue the celebration.

Adrian and Cleon catered to us on the beach and kept us entertained. Delgardo, Romaine, Shamoy, Natalia, the bar staff, and everyone else at the RP were always smiling and the service was amazing.

Afternoon tea is a "must do". Best scones, lemon curd and clotted cream ever.

The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. The peacocks are lovely adding to the royal experience.

The RP is a smaller, quiet resort which is perfect for a relaxing vacation.

The food and the service is outstanding no matter where you choose to eat. Everything is top notch. We will absolutely return in the future.

The only minor complaint we would have is that the connectivity to internet is slow and intermittent.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Thank you for your review. We're happy that you had a great stay at Sandals Royal Plantation. We always strive to meet the needs of our guests by offering amazing experiences and I'm thrilled to know that your stay was indicative of the norm. We look forward to your return for an even better stay in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

My wife and I stayed at the hotel in Feb. 2014 for our honeymoon. The grounds were gorgeous. Staff and guests were all very friendly. The ratio of staff to guests is outstanding. We found the management very friendly and helpful. The food at the French restaurant was top-notch (much better than at the adjoining Sandals property). Our butler even arranged to have the chef prepare our favorite dish one evening. The beach butlers, waiters and bartenders are helpful and keep the drinks flowing.

Our butlers were just OK, although we witnessed some butlers that seemed to provide excellent service. I would recommend that you read the reviews and ask for a butler team that is praised often.

All-in-all, I would stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank greg h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review of Sandals Royal Plantation. We're so thrilled to read that you had a sensational honeymoon experience with us. It's great to know that you enjoyed our delicious food, gorgeous property and our friendly staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back for an even better stay in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Excellent all round - from rooms, fully stocked bar and comfortable beds to a wonderful variety of entertainment, thanks Oshane & Jason your fantastic, bar staff both inside and out couldnt do enough for you, Cleon and Adrian - brilliant, most thanks to our butlers Jermaine & Shelley-Anne, we love you guys, you made us feel so special. Excellent food, awesome job Peter and Lucien special thanks to you, we cant thank you enough for our last night there, and our meal on the jetty in the moonlight.
Everyone writes great reviews, and we are no exception, a fantastic place you feel like you never want to leave.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SueH61_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

We're so happy to hear that you absolutely loved your amazing stay at Sandals Royal Plantation. We do our best to offer the highest standard of luxury and service and I'm so glad that you enjoyed every moment of you stay. Thank you for your review!

We hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
0.2 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,310 reviews
52.9 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
45.7 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
61.1 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
49.9 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
#3 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Royal Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Royal Plantation

Address: Main Street, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range: £413 - £1,154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Royal Plantation 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•All suite resort and all are serviced by butlers trained by the Guild of Professional English Butlers•2 private beaches with beach butler service•The Caribbean’s only Champagne and Caviar Bar•Exquisite International, Mediterranean, Caribbean and French cuisine•24 hour in suite dining•Complimentary transfers from this resort to all Sandals Resorts•Voted Sandals Resorts “World Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row•Five Star Diamond Award - American Academy of Hospitality Sciences ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sandals Royal Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Royal Plantation Hotel Ocho Rios
Royal Plantation Ocho Rios
Royal Plantation Jamaica
Sandals Royal Plantation Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing