We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Jewell in Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sandals Royal Plantation
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A Jewell in Paradise”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We visited for the second time at the beginning of April 2014. Lovely resort, quiet and classy, great Butlers and very friendly staff. The food is 5 star in all restaurents. Butlers Shelly and Jermain are simply the best anticipating your every wish. Unfortunately I got ill the 3rd day and Sheena made an apointment for the Doctor and stayed with us until I reveived treatment. Beach Butlers Andrian and Cleon are personable very friendly and serve your every need. We ended the week with Caroline the acting GM at lunch and having met her I know why this resort is such a credit to the Sandals franchise. By the way this is our 45 trip away and our 16th to Sandals. We will be back next year. Treat yourself and try this resort you will not be dissapointed.

P.S tremendous service also provided by Tanquia, Sanjay, Stephen And Larkland.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Plantation, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We're thrilled to read that your second stay at Sandals Royal Plantation was nothing short of amazing. We look forward to welcoming you back for more wonderful experiences in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,035
    333
    109
    36
    16
See reviews for
57
2,090
15
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (650)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melita, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We just returned from a week at the Sandals Royal Plantation. It was our favourite holiday by far! The staff is fantastic and treated us like family. We also enjoyed the food and the rooms were very comfortable and spacious. Our Butlers Niel and Kenroy were excellent, ensuring all our needs were taken care of. Rhona and Aretha took excellent care of us at the Red Lane Spa and all the staff at the Peacock Pub ensured our glasses were never empty. We will never forget Q, Richard, Orlando, Allex, Stephen, and little Natalia who was always singing! The beach staff was also great, taking us sailing, snorkelling and touring on the glass bottom boat. They took precautions to ensure we had a safe and enjoyable experience on all our excursions. The beach butlers were great, ensuring we had whatever we needed to get through a hot sunny day. We enjoyed every meal, whether it was at the Terrace, Beach Grill (the coconut shrimp is particularly fabulous!) Peacock Pub or The Papillon. Osheane made sure there was music and entertainment in the evenings and got the group moving even though we were tired from the day. Afternoon tea on the Terrace was also a nice break from the sun and a great snack. The housekeeping staff were also very professional and attentive, our rooms were always clean and comfortable. The personalized service is second to none at this resort and the staff really have fun together, which enhances the experience.

We were also very impressed that majority if the guests were on their second or third visit to the resort. This says a lot about the staff and accommodations.

Room Tip: This is a small resort with only 74 rooms which allows you to get to know the other guests. Most ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Plantation, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at Sandals Royal Plantation. We always want to ensure that our guests have wonderful experiences with us and it seems during your stay we accomplished our goal. Thank you for your review.

We look forward to welcoming you all back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Troy, Wisconsin, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

My wife and I have been in Jamaica 18 times before but have never stayed at the Royal Plantation. What a mistake we made in the past. Our butlers Chadworth and Ashpole were extremely gracious and helpful. Chadworth even delivered hot juicy patties from town after hearing my wife say how much she liked them. Often there would and appetizer waiting for us when we returned to our room before dinner. They even decorated our room using robes, rolled up towels and freshly picked flowers. That picture got a lot of comment from friends after it was posted on face book. The food was very good at every restaurant and we enjoyed every meal. All of the staff from the grounds keepers to the General Manager were very friendly and most greeted us by name by the second day. Called our travel agent when we got home to book next year.

Room Tip: If there is a dish you would like that is not on the menu, talk to the chefs about making it for you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Plantation, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
It brings us great joy to know that you had an outstanding stay at Sandals Royal Plantation. We truly do our best to ensure that we meet the needs of each guest. We want to not only exceed expectations but also to create a lifetime of amazing memories. Thank you so much for your review.

We can't wait to welcome you back next year for another awesome stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
339 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We visited again in March and had a great vacation thanks to Orayne and Marvin, our Butlers ,
The wait staff, all are wonderful. Chef Peter, Chef Jeann and Lucien. Oshane and Jason are the best. I spent time with the new Food and Beverage Manager Marco, meet him, he is awesome.
Of course the boys on the beach , Cleon and Adrian , are great. Make sure you give them a tip for their great service.
The food was unbelievable , Thanks Chef Peter.
There is an issue getting beach chairs! Not sure why, but some chairs are already taken very, very early? The worst part is they aren't used all day. Management has to address this.
We met some great people , CHUB CHUBS, was one of them and our new friends from Texas!
This is a special place with a very special staff.
If you want the best food and a quiet resort, this is it.
If not, take a 30 second walk next door!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Plantation, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
We're so happy to hear that you absolutely loved your amazing stay at Sandals Royal Plantation. We do our best to offer the highest standard of luxury and service and I'm so glad that you enjoyed every moment of you stay. Thank you for your review!

We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Small, intimate, quiet and RELAXING. if you are looking for a total break from the everyday you will not be disappointed. The hardest part of your day is deciding to lounge on the beach or poolside. If you do decide to take the forty step journey to the east or "smokers" beach know that a very well appointed bathroom is at the bottom and wonderfully personable beach butlers are ready to take any requests for refreshments. Tip: I saw only one smoker on the beach, but the thought of smokers must scare people over to the west beach, making the east side that much more private feeling. Rooms are luxurious and all the food was great (The Papillon Restaurant is dining at it's finest with unbelievable food and sumptuous surroundings) Your trusty butler ensures you really have no worries, ready to take care of everything. We made a special request to have the games room TV tuned into a hockey game back home and have some pub snacks to treat the hubbies and our butler, Tafari, took care of everything. My friend forgot the memory card for her camera, no problem, Teddy took care of it! In all I found this resort to be elegant, dignified and wonderfully absent of the hard core party crowd.

Room Tip: Don't know if there actually is a bad choice of room, but when I mentioned my husband had broken...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Plantation, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
We're so delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay with us at Sandals Royal Plantation. It was a pleasure hosting you and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed our great property and the true hospitality of our friendly staff.

Thank you for your review. We can't wait to welcome you back for another relaxing experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Just recently back from our first time at Royal Plantation and hopefully it will not be our last. Everything about the resort was great. The staff is the best that I have experience in my 10 years of going to resorts. I would like to especially mention our 2 butlers, Richard and Sheldon....awesome!!! The food and the service was great at all the restaurants. The entertainment was good every evening at the terrace and the pub. The beach and water is very clean and safe even for a non-swimmer. Adrian and Cleon provided exception bar service to us on the loungers. The room was very clean and comfortable, we were in room 60 which overlooked the beach. The sound of the Ocean was terrific.

Room Tip: Room 60 on the corner had wonderful view of beach and resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Plantation, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Thank you so much for your review of Sandals Royal Plantation. We're so happy to have been able to create such a wonderful experience for you. Our team is committed to offering amazing vacations to our guests and I'm so glad your stay was indicative of the norm.

We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint John, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This is our second visit to the resort, and we were not disappointed. It's very quiet and relaxing, not for the party crowd. That's what we wanted, and what we got. I could poke at a bunch of little things, but overall, the service and the food was excellent. Went next door to Grande Riviera once to eat, the shuttles go back and forth about every 15-20 minutes. The returning guests dinner has gone from the Terrace Restaurant to the Conference Room - the numbers have increased about 50% in 3 years. What does that say about the resort?

The up side:
Upscale food and drinks. Friendly staff. The weather. Doing nothing but eat and sit in the sun.

The down-lo:
The lunch buffet at the Terrace is good but selection is weak, but you can order a la carte. The unlimited golf cost me over $100/round. They lost some of the beach during Hurricane Sandy (no pun intended), but we were able to get some chairs down by the water with no problems.

I would suggest Club Mobay for the Montego Bay airport. Waited 1 hour in long lineup arriving, but no more than 15 minutes departing. It's all in the timing.

A shout-out to Oratio (absolutely) & Sean, our butlers, Claudine, our housekeeping lady, Lorna at the Gift Shop (for all the dance moves), Rona (I think) at the Spa, Lenworth our personal chef, Ojay the pool guy, Lucien the grill master. Lively Up Yourself!

Room Tip: For the most quiet rooms, pick the East tower facing away from the resort, as the entertainment can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TansRFading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Plantation, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
We're so happy that you had another wonderful vacation with us. It seems like you enjoyed every minute of your stay at Sandal Royal Plantation and that is exactly the kind of excellent feedback we love to hear. Thank you for your review!

We look forward to another stellar experience with you in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
0.2 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,281 reviews
52.9 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
45.7 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
61.1 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
57.0 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Royal Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Royal Plantation

Property: Sandals Royal Plantation
Address: Main Street, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Royal Plantation 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•All suite resort and all are serviced by butlers trained by the Guild of Professional English Butlers•2 private beaches with beach butler service•The Caribbean’s only Champagne and Caviar Bar•Exquisite International, Mediterranean, Caribbean and French cuisine•24 hour in suite dining•Complimentary transfers from this resort to all Sandals Resorts•Voted Sandals Resorts “World Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row•Five Star Diamond Award - American Academy of Hospitality Sciences ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Holiday Gems, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sandals Royal Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Royal Plantation Hotel Ocho Rios
Royal Plantation Ocho Rios
Royal Plantation Jamaica
Sandals Royal Plantation Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing