We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Time At the Royal Plantation!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sandals Royal Plantation
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Chino Hills, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Time At the Royal Plantation!”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

My wife and I were at the Royal Plantation from 3 May until 10 May. We had a magnificent time! We have stayed at four different Sandals, all in Jamaica, and as far as I am concerned this resort is the "crown jewel" of the Sandals chain. It uniquely combines the charm and grace of old Jamaica with all of the amenities and conveniences of the new Jamaica. The resort is quiet and low key which is something that we really appreciated. The Staff Team is extraordinary. We had no issues whatsoever. They are always available - never intrusive and always pleasant. Our butlers, Orayne and Marvin, were just exceptional. We never lacked a thing.

The food is great at all of the restaurants but our favorite was the French. It's a wonderful dining experience and they definitely do not rush you. We also enjoyed the tea and scones in the late afternoon. A very nice touch. We had a second floor room on the east wing which gave us a superb view of the ocean and the grounds. The room was very pleasant, clean and functional. The beaches, while not very long, are extremely clean. You do need to stake out your beach lounges but we didn't have a problem. Your butlers will assist you. The gentlemen in the Water Sports area do a great job of keeping an eye on everything. Drinks are regularly served on the beach which of course is a big plus. The snorkeling was average, but the water was very clear. The Returning Guest dinner was enjoyable, very well done and not overly long. One of the best we have been to. Great job!

Again, just an excellent vacation. The Royal Plantation is a great place if you enjoy peace and tranquility and just need to "log-off" for a while. You will lack for nothing.

Best of everything to ALL of the Staff. God bless and hope to see you all again soon!

James and Mary

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,000
    327
    108
    35
    16
See reviews for
53
2,053
15
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (638)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We have been to several Sandals resorts and if you are looking for a more romantic, intimate location as a couple this is it. The staff are all amazing and the service impeccable. It was so good we went back the following year!

Room Tip: All Rooms have Ocean Views so no bad rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinkelephantman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This was our first time at a Sandals resort, and was for our honeymoon.

We had just had our wedding at a much larger mega-resort on the other side of the island, so we were pleasantly surprised by how small and quaint this resort was. The grounds are absolutely stunning.

We did, however, receive a terrible room when we first arrived. It was very small, and felt a bit like a cave. It was also on the first floor and the sliding door opened directly onto a very busy pathway with guests and staff walking by constantly.

Thankfully, our butler was able to arrange a new room for us the next day. All we had to do was pack up our suitcases, and he moved them all while we were on the beach.

Our butlers overall were very good. You generally get one for half the day, then another takes the late shift. One of our butlers was much better than the other. Perhaps he was more experienced. The first was very good, and fulfilled all our requests, but the second was better at anticipating and offering.

All of the restaurants and food were amazing. I cannot think of a single detail that was missed.

The beaches were small, but not overly crowded despite the resort being at capacity.

The watersports were limited, and the staff was often not at their post, and seemed to be wandering around the resort quite a bit. We did go on two snorkel boat trips, and that was fun. However, since you have access to the larger Sandals next door, you might be better off going there for watersports. Also, if you want to take advantage of the inclusive diving, you need to go next door.

I really enjoyed the "tips included" no-tipping policy. At other all-inclusives, it can be a real hassle having to carry around the correct change and think about how much to tip the different employees. I would much rather pay more upfront, know that the employees are being paid well, and receive good, consistent service all the time.

This is not a cheap resort, but was well worth it to experience on our honeymoon. I would highly recommend this resort for a couple having a special event like honeymoon or anniversary.

Room Tip: Avoid the first floor near the walking path.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jasonhanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Sandals Royal Plantation is a fabulous resort. My wife and I got married there and we continue to go back every year for vacation. The staff is the most courteous and professional we've ever experienced. They truly cater to your every need there. The beach butlers literally bring to you whatever you want from food to drinks. The rooms are nice and comfortable, although with such a beautiful beach and pool, we never spend much time in the room.

For anyone considering visiting Royal Plantation, it's a small resort with only 74 rooms, all ocean views, so they specialize in catered service to each of their guest. The food and drinks are phenomenal and with 24 hr room service, no one ever goes hungry there. We've been there 5 times, and we keep returning annually so they must be doing something right.

To anyone thinking about going I say this, go ahead and go. You won't be disappointed. It's a great quiet retreat. If you want a loud crowded party atmosphere reminiscent of MTV spring break, you can go next door to Sandals Grande visit and eat and then return to RP. But trust me, after you visit Royal Plantation, you won't want to visit any other resort.

Mike & Nicole M.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank mmainor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Giles and I stayed for our honeymoon from 14th April - 21st April 2014 before moving onto Negril.
We had the most fabulous time, the staff wonderful made us feel so special, jermaine, Shelly, omar, dauage, many more - the GM Carolyn sensational person, we will be visiting again.
Fabulous food, fabulous staff, fabulous place.
Thank you Carolyn - Giles & Francine Lightfoot

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Francine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clarita, California, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

My husband and I are VERY loyal Sandals guests (11 stays in 8 years). We wanted to feel special for our 10th wedding anniversary, and this resort fit the bill. We had other Sandals properties to compare it to, and we consider this one of the top resorts we have been to. It is a smaller property, and that makes it very intimate. The service was excellent thanks to our butlers, Fiona and Sean - We were never lacking for anything. The room we had was very nice, only lacking a balcony (all of the balcony rooms were booked quickly). The food was of gourmet quality, and by far, the best restaurants we have had at any Sandals resort. My only concern was the massage we received. We booked a session and were escorted to a suite that had been converted into a temporary massage room. We were situated on the balcony, and then another couple was set up in the main area. We never got a reason for this situation, and kinda felt cheated that we couldn't utilize the sauna/steam room after the massage. Other than this, we LOVED the resort and are contemplating coming back.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have a beautiful view of the ocean, but the upper floors obviously have the best v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

My wife and I visited this resort for the first time for our 15th Anniversary. It was after much deliberation as I have typically tried to avoid the typical all-inclusive resort due to lack of class and quality. This place is entirely different! Top notch! Excellent service! Wonderful staff! Some of the best food we have ever eaten! Fascinating guests that we have enjoyed talking to and hanging out with for the week. There is no reason to go anywhere else. If the peace and quiet and class of this resort becomes a bit too much to take, you can always take a short walk next door to the neighboring Sandals. Other than missing a year due to a hectic work schedule, we have been every June and are heading back in a couple of weeks for our fourth visit. We can't wait! Looking forward to seeing Mark and the rest of the wonderful staff!

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Plantation, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Hello Scott,

We are truly honored to hear that you had such incredible experiences at Sandals Royal Plantation that you look forward to returning each June to make more! We're excited to welcome you back for your fourth visit with us and to making many more wonderful memories with you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
0.3 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 36 in Ocho Rios
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hermosa Cove - Jamaica's Villa Hotel
45.7 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
52.9 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
61.1 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Royal Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Royal Plantation

Property: Sandals Royal Plantation
Address: Main Street, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Royal Plantation 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•All suite resort and all are serviced by butlers trained by the Guild of Professional English Butlers•2 private beaches with beach butler service•The Caribbean’s only Champagne and Caviar Bar•Exquisite International, Mediterranean, Caribbean and French cuisine•24 hour in suite dining•Complimentary transfers from this resort to all Sandals Resorts•Voted Sandals Resorts “World Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row•Five Star Diamond Award - American Academy of Hospitality Sciences ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Destinology, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandals Royal Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Royal Plantation Hotel Ocho Rios
Royal Plantation Ocho Rios
Royal Plantation Jamaica
Sandals Royal Plantation Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing