We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Time of our lives.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sandals Royal Plantation
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Norman, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Time of our lives.”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My husband and I got marred at the Royal Plantation on July 18 this year and our stay was from July 16-23. It was amazing. Everyone was super nice and gave us great service. The food was out of this world. Naomi the wedding coordinator was amazing and made our special day go smoothly and everything was perfect. We did just the beautiful beginning but for us it was all we need plus some. OJay one of the beach attendants was so attentive. He helped us get back and forth for scuba diving and made sure we weren't late for other appointments. He was a big help to us with all water sports we participated in. Damian is the most amazing server of all time, everytime we turned around he was serving us food or a drink, it seemed like he never went home, however he always had a smile on his face and was happy to serve. Our butlers were Kenroy and Neil. Both were great and made our wedding night special with fancy decorations in the room. We did find out that another couple that joined us with different butlers got room decorations almost nightly and candy and a bookmark and a little more then we did which made us jealous. But it was a great experience either way. Kim-Loi the travel girl made all excursions we wanted to do easy and organized she's a great girl. The peacocks were also realy cool just wandering around and adding to the scene. Overall it was just a perfect trip, with a perfect wedding, and we couldn't be happier. We will go back someday and I have been recommending it to everyone. Thanks Sandals for making our wedding and honeymoon so amazing.

Room Tip: We had the lowest level room and it was still a great room for us with plenty of space and kept clea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank April G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,967
    322
    107
    34
    16
See reviews for
52
2,015
15
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (629)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Falls Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

From exquisite dining to excellent spa treatments to absolutely fantastic beverages, this quaint but exclusive resort is for anyone who has worked hard both mentally or physically and wants a well earned rest with a touch of elegance.
We stayed here in April-May of this year, but have been so busy since our return I simply did not have time to write this review earlier.
Royal Plantation is small by most resort standards, but this is what makes it so special. It is one of the most relaxing resorts we have ever enjoyed. The staff there are superb and make you feel like family. The Butlers are there for you whenever you need them , and do those little extras that make you feel so special.
I admit it costs a little more to stay here, but it is worth every penny. Meticulously clean, delicious and extra special dining, and virtually perfect spa treatments make it the perfect getaway.
We intend to go back, but only after we have tried other Sandals for more adventures.
Thank you, everyone!

Room Tip: This hotel is located next door to the Grand Riviera. We recommend doing the Grand Riviera first, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TGS2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Delightful location. Treated as extra special by all the most friendly and cheerful staff. I would name them but I notice that on all the recent reviews this has already been done. Butlers Sean and Fiona looked after us amazingly, nothing was too much trouble. Louis Grant the General Manager was most helpful, available and friendly. Would love to return again sometime soon.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ANNE T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

From the moment my wife and I entered this resort we had nothing but good things occur. We splurged and took the Governors Suite and it was fabulous. Roomy, clean and with two spacious rooms and porches. The two beaches are small but very private and the water is wonderful. If you want to chill out, this is a great resort. If you want to dance the night away, you can spend time at the piano bar or go to the Sandals resort next door (Grande Riviera) which is much bigger and busier and has a busier night life. Our week went by fast but we will be back next year to enjoy another wonderful week in Jamaica!

Room Tip: All rooms are butler rooms and face the ocean. The Governors Suite is wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hal W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We just returned from our trip to Sandals Royal Plantation. This was my husband and my first true Sandals experience (we went to Sandals Royal Hiccacos in Cuba but it is not the same calibre). Our overall experience was fantastic. There were a couple of issues: the biggest was that you could not go anywhere in the resort without running into stairs... Stairs to your room, stairs to the beach, stairs to the restaurants, etc. The hotel is built on a cliff so it is understandable that there would be many levels. However, even though there is an elevator, you can't get to most places without encountering quite a few stairs. The other issue, a small one, is that you had different waiters for breakfast and lunch all the time. There was no one who took 'ownership' of you. Those were the take-always. However, there were lots of exceptional things the hotel offers that make up for these small issues. The food is extraordinary! Everything from the coconut shrimp on the beach to the afternoon tea on the terrace, the lobster and scallops at the Papillon, everything was fresh and authentic. The scenery is stunning. All rooms have ocean views. The rooms are small by today's standard and the bathrooms are a bit dated but they were very clean and nicely appointed. The hotel offered a number of free activities including the glass bottom boat trip, snorkelling, tie-dying, etc. Evening entertainment was very good. We particularly enjoyed the Sandals Dancers. One of the nicest touches of the Royal Plantation is the butler service. Our two butlers, Chadworth and Ashpole, were very sweet. Both were very polite, attentive, and pleasant. They addressed their women customers by 'my lady'. I could get used to that! They would make our dinner reservations and escort us to dinner in the evenings. The resort was a really great place to relax, quiet and calm -- not a big party scene. But if that is what you want you can go next door to the Riviera. All in all, we had an amazing time. We met a lot of nice people, many of whom were returning guests. That speaks volumes about the resort! The Royal Plantation chocks up to be one of my favourite destinations and I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dlba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My wife and I spent the week of July 13-20 at Sandals Royal Plantation for a nice relaxing week following the wedding of our oldest daughter on July 11. This was our third trip to Royal Planation and we have also travelled to 6 other Sandals properties. Mr. Louis Grant and his staff did an excellent job of entertaining us during our week at SRP. Thank you to Mike McHugh at Dream Makers Vacation Services for ensuring our trip was flawless.

We had a nice private transfer from the airport to the resort. The driver put on the Argentina-Germany game on the radio to listen to on our ride. It was amazing how the streets were empty as everyone was enjoying the game.

We arrived with approximately 5 minutes left in the game and we hurried to watch the final minutes in the billiard room where they had a big screen set up. Upon our entry Chase, one of our butlers, greeted us with a glass of cold champagne.

Chase then took us to our room. We had booked a Great House room which was on the West Wing facing the beach. Personally I prefer the East Wing but my wife was happy with the room.

Our other butler was Donard but he was on the injury reserve list with a sprained ankle until the second last day of our vacation. Poor Chase had to work 4 full days!!!

We ate extremely well during our vacation. We had 3 great dinners at La Papillion (love the Molten Chocolate Cake)!!! Chase was able to arrange for a couple of special luncheons for us with Oxtail and Curry Chicken. We also had a wonderful Diamond Level lunch with Mr. Grant and two other couples. Chef Peter and his staff put on a great spread!!

We enjoyed the entertainment each night. Great job Jason and Oshayne keeping us smiling and laughing. Special shout out to the Andre Campbell who puts on a great show.

We enjoyed our days sunning on the West Beach. Thanks to Adrian and Cleon for keeping our glasses filled with refreshments. There was a constant breeze coming off the sea that kept us cool. There was no problem getting our favourite spot each day.

The fitness center is small but served its purpose. I utilized the elliptical and free weights each morning.

We took advantage of the free couples massage and my wife had a hot stone massage with Marva the Magnificent. I went over for a steam bath and shave a couple of times.

We also popped over to the Grande to use the Riveria pool and enjoy the great Bella Napoli pizza.

Special Thanks--A lot of people to thank and I hope I do not miss anyone...

Louis Grant, Kelly-Ann, Jhevere, Dacia, the lovely Natalia Wisdom, Chase, Donard, Adrian (beach butler), Cleon, Marva (Red Lane Spa), Sean, Romaine, Andre (bartender), Damion, Junior, Garnett, Yanquie, Romain, Shanneil, Chef Peter, Chef Daron, and Taniquia,

We look forward to coming back HOME again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank googaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Having visited a number of All-Inclusive vacations spots we can say without hesitation that Royal Plantation is FABULOUS! We were looking for a more intimate place to relax, with great food, and charming people. That is exactly what we found. We must give a shout out to our butlers Sheldon and Richard who booked our reservations, personally escorted us nightly to the restaurants, checked in on us, and arranged a special lunch with a Jamaican menu item we were looking forward to trying. We were unsure about having a butler service, however, you really can choose to use them as much or as little as you want. Tipping your butlers at the end of your stay is what was advised. There is no set amount so we did what we thought was fair. You are also permitted to tip the beach servers Cleon and Biggs (Adrian) and again that is totally up to you. They are so friendly and helpful that just them being there adds to your enjoyment. Speaking of enjoyment, Oshane, went out of his way to bring entertainment to the guests each night. Other people who should be recognized were Dowarge (one of the nicest waiters in the French restaurant), Damion, Andre, and Q from the Wobbly Peacock, Daron the omelet maker, and Dacia who worked at the Soon Come Back Office. Last but not least another server who went above and beyond was Shanneil who left and bought us Juicy Patties when they ran out and made sure we always had extra crunchies on our daily ice cream treat. He was extremely polite and friendly too. Finally, Andre the pianist was amazing! He played any and all requests without any sheet music effortlessly! It was like having a private concert each night. Next, my husband and I brought our own golf clubs and the butlers made sure we had tee times and transportation set up for each day we played. Our caddy, Bryan, was outstanding! He really knew his stuff and basically instructed me each day. He took a number of strokes off of my game which was greatly appreciated. Gifford did the same thing for my sister-in-law. Overall, the course was nice and we were able to play early enough to be back relaxing for the entire afternoon. Oh and you could request to have the same caddy each time you returned. Don't forget to tip your caddies as they work very hard to make sure you enjoy your golfing experience. Another feature that is worth mentioning is that you have complete access to the property next to Royal Plantation which is much larger. There are more restaurants to choose from and a more active night life. There is a shuttle that runs back and forth at no extra charge which makes visiting the other side easy to do. The people at the other resort, however, are not permitted to come over to Royal Plantation. Some people may find the small pool unappealing at RP but since we were beach people anyway that was not an issue for us. Also keep in mind that there is NO swim up bar, loud music, or wild daily activities unless you go to the other property. I think we loved our Sandals property so much because we wanted the peaceful, serene atmosphere and always knew that Sandals Grande Riviera was close by if we desired more activity.
So if you want delicious, authentic food, a clean room with a beautiful ocean view, and a week of being pampered then Royal Plantation is for you!

Room Tip: All rooms seem to have an ocean view and there is no reason to upgrade unless you are looking for so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dmcsoccer6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
0.3 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 36 in Ocho Rios
1,215 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hermosa Cove - Jamaica's Villa Hotel
45.7 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
52.9 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
61.1 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Royal Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Royal Plantation

Property: Sandals Royal Plantation
Address: Main Street, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Royal Plantation 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•All suite resort and all are serviced by butlers trained by the Guild of Professional English Butlers•2 private beaches with beach butler service•The Caribbean’s only Champagne and Caviar Bar•Exquisite International, Mediterranean, Caribbean and French cuisine•24 hour in suite dining•Complimentary transfers from this resort to all Sandals Resorts•Voted Sandals Resorts “World Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row•Five Star Diamond Award - American Academy of Hospitality Sciences ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, TravelUp, Destinology, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sandals Royal Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Royal Plantation Hotel Ocho Rios
Royal Plantation Ocho Rios
Royal Plantation Jamaica
Sandals Royal Plantation Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing