We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome resort!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandals Royal Plantation

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sandals Royal Plantation
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Awesome resort!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

This property is really a great place in Ocho Rios. It is an all around beautiful spot with incredible amenities. The population is a bit older than the other Sandals but that may be due to the higher rate. If you want more activity they are happy to shuttle you to another property. I highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank AvFlyer172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,949
    314
    105
    34
    16
See reviews for
50
1,991
15
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (625)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
128 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

We have traveled all over the Caribbean and this is now our second home. The atmosphere, amenities and the food and drink are superb, but it is the staff that makes this place a must visit. We have never encountered staff like this anywhere in all of our travels. No matter who it is or what they do they are great. We have been there twice in the last 8 months, we are returning this December and have already booked two more visits for next year. All ocean view suites, all butler suites, only 74 rooms, perfect for us. You have to visit here just once and you will fall in love with this resort and most importantly the staff.

Room Tip: all ocean view, all butler so no real bad room, but you for best view look for third (top) floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank foodandwifelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, AR
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

If this is in your budget range and you have not visited, you are missing out of a wonderful vacation.

This is not a high energy resort, you can always take excursion packages or visit another Sandals property. Hotel is small enough to make friends and discrete enough if you want privacy. This should be the #1 hotel in Ochos Rios, if not Jamaica. This is my opinion and others may look for different criteria for excellence.

I have been here three times before, the last time was three years ago. Everytime it is better than the time before. Stayed for nine days during first of August 2014.

1) Service is #1, from your Butler, waiter staff, Chef, or any employees on the property. Example, I mentioned I had never had "jelly" coconut at the Manager's get together. Frank, Security Manager, made sure I had some delivered via my butler for lunch the next day. If your are not having a good time, it is your own fault.
2) Service, i just thoght I would mention it again. Everyone is there for you.
3) Friendly. This is it not the canned, pre-packaged friendliness, but a genuine graciousness. Take a moment to talk to the staff, they are warm and friendly. i call them my "jamaican cousins". They treated me as a good friend and I learned alot about jamaica.
4) Facility. It is a beautiful, one of a kind hotel. The decor is from a more gracious and elegant time. It is not a cookie cutter resort. The paintings, sculptures, landscaping and furniture are the real deal, not reproductions. And everything is maintained by a caring staff.
5) Food. Overall the food is great. i felt better and healthier after eating the food. i am not kidding, fresh, fresh, fresh vegatables, fruits, the food put a cure on me.

A few staff shout outs, but everyone was great. Butlers, Orayne and Marvin they did everything to make the experience great. Lorna, gift shop (great little gift shop), so helpful and friendly, like your favorite aunt. Marco, sommelier, invited us to a wine tasting. It was fun and educational, As I have said and repeat, everyone from the General Manager to the beach staff are there for you. The GM, staff, our Butler and others were at the entry, when we left to see us off and wave to us as we drove away.

We had the couples massage, my has massages back home, but not as good as these.

All three restaurants are great. Royal Grill on the beach at night, very romantic. Le Pappalion (sp) is classic french with Jamaican flair and the Terrace is the best place for the evening music and programs. The soups are to die for, do not knock them til you try them.

This is a great place to relax and unwind. From the number of young couples to honeymoom or get married, as well. I just can not say enough good things about our vacation.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, face the ocean. West wing has elevator for the four floors, East wing does...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank smithtrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

I have traveled to most of the Sandals Resorts with my husband and this offers the most privacy and excellent service. Not too much going on at this resort but relaxing. We really enjoyed doing absolutely nothing but being pampered by our butlers. Breakfast in bed everyday if you wish. Room decorated with rose petals after dinner. We enjoyed eating dinner at the resort next door Sandals Grande Riviera our butler took us to dine next door and we took a free shuttle back to our resort when we were done eating. For lunch we would walk on the beach to the resort next door Sandals Grande Riviera. If you want to do any tours highly recommend the Dunn's River Falls tour which is like 5 minutes from this resort. If you want something special during your stay I would pay for the romantic candlelight dinner they really make it special for the two of you. We also enjoyed couples massage. Food and service was superb at this resort. Booked our trip with 2 Travel Anywhere, llc

Room Tip: Not all the rooms have balconies to sit outside you have to upgrade your room if that is important t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank 2travelanywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, Delaware
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed from 8/9-15. Our bus ride was smooth and we were with another couple that was coming back for their 7th time. (The were like little kids on Christmas morning). On first glance the resort is classy, charming and spotless. We stayed in the Plantation Oceanfront Butler suite (room 205). Despite not having a roman tub(which doesn't really matter) the room was amazing. We had a great view, huge closet and stocked bar as we requested from our pre visit butler request.
Our butlers were Audell and Tafari. These gentlemen treated us like royalty. From prompt breakfast in our room each morning to snacks on the beach and daily snacks before dinner, in addition to towel art, notes, candies and a lovely hot bath. I loved how Audell would find us at dinner and pour our wine and make sure we didn't need anything. Tafari gave us a great tour and met us when we arrived.
The beach is small but there are plenty of chairs and we always found one no matter what time of day.
The water sports are included, definitely take advantage! We did paddle boarding and kayaking and a glass bottom boat tour. Some people did the snorkeling tour and went out on a little sailboat. The catamaran was extra and it wasn't worth it to us.
We went to the manager's cocktail and met the staff. We enjoyed a long conversation with Caroline, who is simply delightful.
We also attended the welcome back dinner, which was a specially prepared meal with the staff and other returning guests.
The food was amazing. Do not miss dinner at the French restaurant. We ate at the royal grille on the beach for lunch a few times, always good.
We spent half a day at the Sandals Grande Riveria, the shuttle driver was kind enough to give us a tour of the hillside and the beachside. We found the staff there just as nice and even though the resort is huge, it has an intimate feel. We had dinner at the Italian restaurant one night and it was great.
I can not say how wonderful everyone is. From the beach butlers to the bartenders, we did not meet one single person who was not truly delightful. I have never felt so welcome at a resort. They staff seems to truly love their jobs, as we caught many of them singing!
Adrian, the beach butler and quite a singer himself, sternly told my husband to " sit yourself down, you are on vacation" when he tried to get a burger ( once you meet Adrian you will know he is not a small man) and he brought lunch over to us in our loungers. Cleon will spray you with scented water and give you cucumbers for your eyes while always keeping your cup full.
When Audell put us in the van to leave ( after a huge bear hug) I cried halfway to Montego Bay.
A huge thank you to everyone at the Sandals Royal Planation who made our vacation the best we have ever had. See you again!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank drmeese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

We went to Sandals Royal Plantation last October, 2013. A gift from my wonderful father, after the loss of our youngest son. We were shell shocked and needed time away. The staff and property are exceptional. Out butlers were outstanding and all of the staff took time with us and helped us move on in our journey. This September marks his one year anniversary, out 22 years wedding anniversary is 4 days later. My father passed away 4 months after losing my son so we will be thinking of him during our up and coming visit. If you need a place to get away and feel like you are with family who really care - this is the place for you.

Room Tip: We had a balcony the first time and loved it but my father's pockets are much deeper than mine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Camer0n21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Unfortunately you cannot photograph service, because if you could the picture would be breathtaking. The Sandals Royal Plantation surpasses every expectation in service and cuisine. The only disappointment is that unless we visit again (which we will) all other vacations will be subpar. Understand that this write-up will not do diligence to how the staff can impact your vacation. Ranked the second best resort in Jamaica, I’m surprised it doesn’t top the chart.

Food
Not being one to photograph food and bore people with them later, I couldn’t help but fill a camera roll with the meals. Presentation was creative, selection was outstanding, and the flavours were complimentary. Being fortunate enough to have eaten at some of the world’s finest restaurants, I can safely say that the Royal Plantation can play with the best of them. You must eat there to know what I am talking about. When you’re having trouble deciding between the rack of lamb or the steak and lobster, they’ll happily offer you both.

Service
Pampered and spoiled. From the moment we arrived to the Sandals Lounge at Montego Bay airport, to the final goodbye delivered by the manager and our new friends (staff of the resort), Royal Plantation staff were but a request away to serve our every need. My wife and I were fortunate enough to receive Sean and Fiona as our butlers for our 9-day stay. Courtesy calls, surprises in our rooms, arranging dinners, local advice, and friendly chats were just the beginning of what they provided. I cannot express my gratitude for the relaxation and romantic touches they accented our honeymoon with. Their passion for service coupled with their genuine kindness, made saying goodbye to paradise and new friends that much more difficult.
Shout outs for service that went above and beyond are also owed to: Adrian, Larkland, Andre, Dowarge, Natalia, Jason, Oshane, Orane, Romane, Sheldon, Delgaurdo, and Dennis (from Sandals Grand Riviera).


Beach/Pool
Having visited some of the world’s best beaches in the South Pacific, I can safely say The Royal Plantation beach rivals some of the finest. While it is somewhat small, the water is an exotic turquoise and the sand is pure and fine. The staff maintain it hourly by sweeping away anything washed up by the sea and scan the area with snorkels for anything prickly. If you find you are getting a little too warm from the Jamaican sun, the staff are there to cool you off with cucumbers for the eyes and a rose water mist at the snap of a finger.
The pool is somewhat disappointing as it doesn’t offer much of a view and is clearly quite dated. However, they are currently building a beachside coldcuzzi, which will be a nice improvement.

Atmosphere/Entertainment
The nightly performances were great. Jason and Oshane do an excellent job of picking up the energy in what could otherwise be a little too quiet at times. If you want complete relaxation this is the place, but if you are looking for a little more nightlife you will want to take the 24-hour free courtesy shuttle to any of the other sandals resorts just a two-minute drive away. Personally, I like the option of partying somewhere else and returning to peace and quiet at your own little piece of paradise.

Grounds/Facilities
Roaming Peacocks, extravagant fountains, and immaculate gardens are only a few of the small touches that make this classically rich architecture pop in what is already a naturally beautiful location. Workers are constantly maintaining and improving the resort.

Tips:
Stay at the Plantation and visit the nearby sandals resorts for entertainment and meal alternatives. You have access to all of the Sandals grounds, while no other guests have access to the Royal Plantation.

Tip your driver to and from the airport ($20-$30)

Tip your butlers according to their service, but do remember their earnings are dependent on your tips as they are paid differently than the rest of the staff.

Do the wreck dive. Having dove some amazing locations like the Great Barrier Reef and Whitsundays, this dive is still of interest.

Visit Scotchies (off the resort) for some of the best jerk chicken and pork.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Steve_Lobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
0.3 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 36 in Ocho Rios
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
45.5 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
0.2 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
52.9 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
61.1 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
63.1 mi away
Sandals South Coast
Sandals South Coast
#1 of 1 in White House
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Royal Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Royal Plantation

Property: Sandals Royal Plantation
Address: Main Street, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Royal Plantation 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•All suite resort and all are serviced by butlers trained by the Guild of Professional English Butlers•2 private beaches with beach butler service•The Caribbean’s only Champagne and Caviar Bar•Exquisite International, Mediterranean, Caribbean and French cuisine•24 hour in suite dining•Complimentary transfers from this resort to all Sandals Resorts•Voted Sandals Resorts “World Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row•Five Star Diamond Award - American Academy of Hospitality Sciences ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelbag, TravelUp, Holiday Gems and Destinology so you can book your Sandals Royal Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Royal Plantation Hotel Ocho Rios
Royal Plantation Ocho Rios
Royal Plantation Jamaica
Sandals Royal Plantation Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing