We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful people, breathe taking view & lots of Fun, relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sandals Royal Plantation
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2010

We stayed 5 days at this hotel - it was sad leaving...the staff were wonderful people....they made our stay very comfortable - my sister's wedding was held at the pier beautifully decorated and the reception was great....

Our stay will be remembered for years to come.....we can't wait to visit the Royal Plantation again!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabessar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,569)
There are newer reviews for Sandals Royal Plantation
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,025 - 2,031 of 2,569 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2010

This was our tenth trip to RP and it just keeps getting better and better. The new butler service puts RP in a class by itself. You will not find better service or food in Jamaica. Is it perfect, No but it's as close as anyone is going to get.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2010

Our first visit to the Royal Plantation was a wonderful experience. The resort envelops you allowing you to totally relax in a calm, peaceful and beautiful environment. The extremely helpful staff are at hand to ensure that your vacation is what you want it to be which in our case was to unwind enjoy good food and re-charge or batteries for the year ahead. Without doubt we will be returning to the Royal Plantation in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jen1ben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2010

We planned a trip to Royal Plantation for our 10th anniversary and we feel that after many hours of researching other locations we could not have made a better choice. From the moment we arrived we were greeted and everything was done by the book just like we had read about in our brochure. Our butlers Romaine and Jason catered to our every need and went all out to help us have one of our most memorable anniversaries to date!

Our room was perfect and we had a wonderful view of the ocean. The entire resort was very neat and clean. Our golf experience was super!

While you are there they have on site photographers who catch your memorable moments, you feel like you are on the red carpet. A special thank you to Shereen in the photo shop. She and the other two gentlemen went above and beyond to ensure we had great photographs from our week long vaction. Shaun M. in guest services seemed like an old friend and made the best Rum Punch we have ever tasted! We recommend you do the all-inclusive Royal Plan...you won't regret it. The Peacock gift shop is the best, everyone is so nice and helpful. Mr. Fraser you and your staff should be highly commended on a job well done!

J. & A. Davis

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caress3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2010

The staff is great and very discreet..Cleon, Tonya, Andre, Arnold,Cornell all very kind
The food the drinks, the wine..over my expectations
the snorkeling, windsurfing, catamaran, the beach etc...
The property is very clean and the gardening perfect... Vegetation is very beautifull
We will come back for sure it is the best place I ever experiment
Thank you for a week in paradise
Paule&Yves
Montreal, Canada

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cesamet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2010

This is quite a resort. If you do not like the service you are either British aristocracy or a toal snob. The resort staff is friendly, professional and welcoming. You could barely get up from your beach chair without a beach butler asking what he could do for you. We had a basic room on the 3rd floor with a very nice view of the beach. Our butlers were Rolston & Jermaine who were both very capable. The food was truly outstanding at lunch and dinner with Le Papillon fab-o. Breakfast was fine but not at the level of the lunches and dinners which were first rate. Gladstone in the Appleton Lounge (i.e. main bar in the resort) is big time and the drinks were always well made with top end liquors.

The beaches are small but very nice and well maintained. The sea is clean and felt great. We really enjoyed the Afternoon tea from 4 p.m. to 5 p.m. on the terrace. We travel fairly often in the caribbean and this was the best and ahead of Galley Bay in Antigua which is also big time but not at the level of service and professionalism as here. Whatever you want or need is done for you.

By the way, I read positive reviews of the Jamaica Inn on this website which is down the road approximately 1/4 mile from the Royal Plantation. I checked it out and the grounds were well maintained but it was very quiet and the rooms were spartan compared to the Royal Plantation. Do yourself a favor and go for the Royal Plantation. You will not be disappointed. Be sure to belly up to the bar with Peter Fraser, the GM who is very personable and interesting. Hope this helps.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NewJerseyButch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2010

We just returned from our second trip to RP.We had a really great ti
e, and many things were as we remembered, some were better, but a few things need improving.
We had a suite with a full balcony, and it was rather dark, being tucked in the corner, and on the first floor, so I would recommend asking in advance for second or third floor if you are paying so much extra for these rooms.
We ordered breakfast every day on our balcony, and that truly is a wonderful way to start the day.
Our first morning , we went to the restaurant for breakfast, and was shocked to see a buffet( this is new!) , but the selection was very poor .We were not told that a menu was still available, so I saw one of the chefs, and he cooked me up eggs Benedict.
We later saw that some people were given menus, but not all.
The buffet has changed the feel of the delightful breakfast experience, and Ordering in the room, was our preffered option after that.
We were also very excited to have afternoon tea as before.But we were ignored for 15 mins, so we left, went to our room, called our butler, and he delivered it all to your room- perfect!However, it is things like that which really seemed to stand out when other things were so great.
The huge Cat , sat in the bay is just nasty- and we were pleased to see it move after 3 days.
Food every where, and every night was fab- although we find Papillon really too stuffy, znd second visit as before, could never get a table outside, despite requesting this a week beforehand.
We were delivered a voucher from The Manager to enjoy a couples spa treatment, and a letter from the spa too, for our anniversary-when we asked our butler to book a treatment and what ones were coveted by the Voucher- we were told it was just an invitation, and no discount whatsoever was on offer.Very bizzarre marketing, and misleading to us and other couples that also received it.
These things, seem small I know, but when so many things are wonderful, including all the staff, it is clearly management that is leading these issues.
Our butler , and beach butlers made the stay for us- treats on our anniversary, and cadles and champagne in the room- thanks guys!
We love this place, but hope the management do take care with this special place

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Choosyct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
0.2 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,305 reviews
52.9 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
45.7 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
61.1 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
49.9 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
#3 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Royal Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Royal Plantation

Address: Main Street, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range: £410 - £1,083 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Royal Plantation 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•All suite resort and all are serviced by butlers trained by the Guild of Professional English Butlers•2 private beaches with beach butler service•The Caribbean’s only Champagne and Caviar Bar•Exquisite International, Mediterranean, Caribbean and French cuisine•24 hour in suite dining•Complimentary transfers from this resort to all Sandals Resorts•Voted Sandals Resorts “World Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row•Five Star Diamond Award - American Academy of Hospitality Sciences ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Sandals Royal Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Royal Plantation Hotel Ocho Rios
Royal Plantation Ocho Rios
Royal Plantation Jamaica
Sandals Royal Plantation Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing