We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had A Blast..... Again!”
Review of Rooms Ocho Rios

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rooms Ocho Rios
Ranked #21 of 35 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Reviewed 13 April 2009

What can I say... I LOVE Rooms!

Trip from the airport:

Our plane was an hour late due to mechanical issues. Once there, we went straight to the the JT desk and were directed straight to the bus.

The Hotel:

Rooms is our secret party spot! This hotel is central to EVERYTHING! If you turn right from the main entrance, you will find mainly the touristy section which includes:

Margaritaville, various grocery stores, crafts market, eyc..

But... if you turn left, you will be entering the locals section, the BEST section. If you plan on coming to Ocho Rios to experience the culture of the people, this is the side to be on! Food is great and cheap (US $3) for a meal of curried chicken, peas and rice, salad, and a drink. People are great as well.

So, if you plan on experiencing the true culture of Jamaica, Rooms is the place for you!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vascience_teacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (870)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

610 - 616 of 870 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2009

It was a moderate,ok hotel for the price,considering that Sunset Grande was double the price and right next door.

It was close to the beaches,town and local stores.
Rooms were fairly spacious and comfortable.
Cons: was that it was fairly dead in the evenings,not much to do.
Fortunately,had some friends to go out with..
Free breakfast was disappointing...with just a bagel,toast and drink..Walked to the nearby restaurant and ordered my meals,since it was $20 for a plate of food at the hotel.

On the whole..not a bad experience,just not that exciting staying here.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ladybCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2009

Pros: walking distance to all amenities. Met great people. Close to the beach. Rooms were very spacious - had the family suite with 3 double beds. Pleasant hotel manager.
Had a great time snorkeling with Bala from down the beach - he runs a glass bottomed boat and is the sweetest man you could meet!
Cons: rooms were not clean - bathtub had been painted and the paint was peeling off everytime we showered. Maids cleaned around things - never behind doors or moving toiletries to clean. They never did a good job. The hotel needs a vacuum cleaner - must be very hard to constantly sweep sand off the tiles. Towels were usually not replaced. We started off with about 6 towels at the beginning of the week and were left with 3 by the end of the week - 1 which looked like it had been recycled - dirty.
Furniture was old and chipped, leaving a bad impression - easy to touch up. Unfortunately, the family suites face a parking lot which is quite noisy with car alarms every morning. Noise from the hall, such as slamming doors woke us up every morning at about 6 if not earlier. The pool closes between 5 and 6 for no apparent reason. They say it's undergoing chemical treatment, but I think it's just because the lifeguard is not on duty. I say let the kids swim and have the parents watch their own kids! Duh! The pool staff play music only for them - which is usually quite awful and very loud. A constant stream of Bob Marley songs would be much better than the music they played.
There is nothing to do in the evenings - no entertainment, no swimming in the pool. We still had a good time because we were never in our rooms except to sleep, but when you dread nighttime because you'll have to go to your room, something's not right.
The breakfast is terrible - just bagels, toast, and danishes - no fresh fruit! - Why not support the vendors on the street and buy fruit from them to give the guests for breakfast?

These are all things that could be fixed quite easily. They should really consider these comments to attract more guests. This hotel has the potential to be very awesome with some minor changes.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamaicanforeigner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2009

Stayed for 6 days over Thanksgiving and hotel was as advertised - beachfront, and right in the middle of Ochi so could walk to alot of places without taxi. Not 5-star, but that's not what I wanted to pay for - and was good value for the price. If you want the perfect place to base your Ochi adventures from - highly recommend.
Had a beachfront room on 2nd floor and it was definitely clean, secure, and comfortable - the things that matter to me. Bathroom was clean, shower had good pressure and plenty of warm water. On first morning, talked to the maid and asked her to leave extra towels each day - no problem - and they were there each time. They also provide beach towels.
The rest of the staff was friendly, too. Only bar is at the pool - fine for me - they let us run a tab each time and sign it to the room. Only downside was they played US music, not reggae - and that's what I'm in Jamaica for. Bartender would play some when asked, but always switched back. - said other guests requested it. But everyone I talked to had same opinion as me. I don't think it was hotel policy - because other staff said that was just the music he liked.
Deserving special mention was Bryan - the lifeguard - great guy. I wanted to go to the Sunday night beach party about 1/2-hr away and he offered to accompany me. Any time you go out of main tourist areas - especially at night - always travel with a trusted local. Had a great time. While at the party, a local lady passed out in the bar area - Bryan was first one to jump in and provide first aid. Turned out nothing serious - just too much to drink.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ohio_Buckeye_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2009

The rooms on The Beach Hotel (Super Clubs) Is the ultimate experience for comfort and pleasure.The appreciation of being a welcomed guest is second to none.
Everyone from the management to the staff and including Exmil Security is what enables the success of this fine operation.
Comfort is quite important in many ways and Rooms Ocho Rios has enabled such.
Local people are great with phenominal local food all with in a short walking distance.
Be sure visit this place and tell them Paul Said hello.

P.Graham
Niagara Falls Ontario

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulgraham_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2009

My wife and stayed for two days. We found Rooms to be okay for the money. I guess you get what you pay for. The desk people were friendly and professional, the breakfast was toast, coffee and juice.
When we were there it struck us as more of a local spot; there were more locals than tourists. The beach is public so there is a certain amount of "do you want to go diving, do you want to go....?
A bigger problem for me was Ocho. I found it had the most agressive taxis drivers, salespeople and beggars. We visited Montego Bay, Negril and Port Anotonio; Ocho was our least favorite place.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luxhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2009

We got a last minute deal for 2 weeks in Jamaica at Rooms. If you want 5 star accomodation, this is not the place for you. Rooms is like being with family without the headaches of family. Our room had a balcony facing the bay, kingsize bed (very comfy), coffeemaker, in room safe (no surcharge) on the third floor (walk up). I saw that there was a wheelchair available on the first floor for guests.The rooms were clean and we were able to have an extra pillow and towels. We did not tip until the end of our stay and the service was excellent from day one. The continental breakfast was adequate to start off your day ( although fresh fruit would be a nice addition). The toaster has seen better days but you are on vacation, relax, you are not supposed to be in a rush. There is music by the pool until 11 p.m. and if you want it quieter, ask for a room further from the pool.
I too heard the "frisky cats" on 2 occasions, no worse than my neighborhood. Meals are available at the hotel and we had jerk chicken (very tasty if you like spicy) one evening. The price was higher than the local restaurants but comparable to the fancier ones. There were comfy lounge chairs by the pool and at the beach for your use. Taxi service and tours are available right from the hotel although we chose to embark on our travels alone. When the cruise ships are not in port, taxi rates can be quite low and of course always negotiate a price down from what they quote. We like the idea that the hotel is right on the beach and also right in town. We met local people and were invited to their homes. Found some great prices (after negotiation) on pottery, carvings etc. Big thanks to the staff Jackie, Frederick, Coutney, Bryan, Suzette, Marcus and the rest whose names I have forgotten. If you get a cheap flight to Jamaica, check with Suzette about prices if it is off season or an extended stay. We met a couple who were staying there for 6 weeks. We definitely plan to return when we can get a cheap flight.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjandbuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocho Rios hotels
0.4 mi away
Silver Seas Resort Hotel
Silver Seas Resort Hotel
#23 of 35 in Ocho Rios
278 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hibiscus Lodge Hotel
Hibiscus Lodge Hotel
#9 of 35 in Ocho Rios
254 reviews
1.8 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sand Castles Resort
Sand Castles Resort
#14 of 35 in Ocho Rios
325 reviews
2.2 mi away
Kaz Kreol Beach Lodge
Kaz Kreol Beach Lodge
#10 of 35 in Ocho Rios
181 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rooms Ocho Rios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rooms Ocho Rios

Address: Ocho Rios Beach | Main st., Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#10 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range: £83 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rooms Ocho Rios 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the beach in Ocho Rios on Jamaica's North Coast. Just 5 minutes from the world's famous Dunn's River Falls and within walking distance of best shopping and night life in Ocho Rios. Singles, Couples and Families are welcome at Rooms. All rooms are air conditioned, equipped with cable tv, safety deposit boxes, hair dryers,coffee makers and most have a VIEW of the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Holiday Gems, Southall Travel, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Rooms Ocho Rios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rooms Ocho Rios Hotel Ocho Rios
Rooms Hotel Ocho Rios
Ocho Rios Rooms Hotel
Rooms Beach Ocho Rios
Rooms Beach Jamaica
Rooms Ocho Rios Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing