We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value for the Best Little Hotel”
Review of Rooms Ocho Rios

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rooms Ocho Rios
Ranked #18 of 35 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Florida
1 review
“Great Value for the Best Little Hotel”
Reviewed 29 May 2009

Rooms ocho rios is everything you need in a small hotel, location great, if you want great restaurants to fast food it's there, great staff very helpful, rooms spacious and clean, the room attendants always there to clean your room and offer clean towels we spent a part of the vacation going to the various tours and seeing the different areas of ocho rios. They do have a restaurant that offers continental breakfast not bad.
I like the idea of free internet in the rooms and wireless service in dining area and pool deck so you can keep in touch. There is a gift shop if you need snacks and lots of juices.
This you all get at a terrific value, definetly if you need a cozy place to chill and have some fun at the same time i would highly recommend rooms ocho rios, i am already planning my next vacation there.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank north91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    282
    217
    119
    93
See reviews for
200
262
63
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
biswajitghosal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 May 2009

It was really nice once again to stay in Rooms in Ocho Rios..its really nice to be there the service provided to me was really good and I am so glad be their guest and the Receptionist on the desk are so good and helpful that they make me feel so special.
I will surely recommend my friends to visit Rooms when ever they visit Ocho Rios if they go for business or vacation. I hope they keep their service improving day by day. I wish them all the best.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biswajitghosal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina,Sask
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2009

For what you pay for, Rooms is worth it. The location is perfect and the beach super.Breakfast was a bit of a gong show but bearable.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2009

I have stayed here a few times and it's alot more expensive than it used to be. But that is probably due to current financial climate.

If you want a nice secure room, and a good location then this would be a good pick.

Breakfast (included) Is not particually good.

The hotel resurant and bar are pricey, but there are lots of local bars and resturants that are lovely. If you stay here, obviously be prepared to eat out alot! Or get takeaways.

Best bar: Ocean eleven- very hidden. Pretty bar by the sea, nice coctails, sometimes live music.
Turn right from main street like you are going into Margaritaville, but keep walking down long road right to the end. Ocean eleven is on your left.

Best resturant: Moms, up by market. Ask a local for directions. lovely little resturant serving jamaican food... delicious... very good value... eat in or take away!

I Don't tend to use the hotel apart from the room. But there is a gym, small pool, internet access, washing rooms (work sometimes) lots of sunbeds.

Cleaning staff are nice and do a v.good job.

The hotel really is exactly what it says "Room on the beach" Beach is beautiful... there is a cruise ship nearly every day, sometimes 2. But I quite like watching them come and go. Beautiful beautiful sunsets!

There is lots to do in and around the town, And lots of trips easily available.

Outside hotel people approach you lots, sometimes just for a chat and often to sell you something. A good firm "no thank you" should do the trick. I feel happy to go out on my own in Ocho Rios and in other parts of Jamaica. People are generally very friendly. Speaking from personal experience only I see more trouble on a single night out in my hometown, than I have ever seen in Jamaica!

One other tip... make sure you buy a brolly and stick it in your room. When it rains... it really rains and you could end up being stuck in your room... unless you like getting wet that is!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank truepurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2009

The hotel is located exactly as described, on the beach front and with easy acess to all local amenities. All the shops are within easy walking distance. The hotel room had a fantastic ocean view and on the day we arrived a cruise ship was in the bay and the view was great. The room itself was clean and quiet, we were never woken by noise. The bathroom was clean and the towels were replaced daily. The shower had good pressure and was as hot as you wanted with plenty of hot water. We ordered a traditional Jamaican breakfast in the resturant and it was perfect. The pool was quiet and clean and the beach had plenty of sun loungers. The hotel staff were friendly and greeted you everytime you passed them. The hotel was quiet, no loud bar, or noisey late night entertainment. It is perfect for a relaxing break. I would most definately stay there again and bring our children next time.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank burda22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2009

What can I say... I LOVE Rooms!

Trip from the airport:

Our plane was an hour late due to mechanical issues. Once there, we went straight to the the JT desk and were directed straight to the bus.

The Hotel:

Rooms is our secret party spot! This hotel is central to EVERYTHING! If you turn right from the main entrance, you will find mainly the touristy section which includes:

Margaritaville, various grocery stores, crafts market, eyc..

But... if you turn left, you will be entering the locals section, the BEST section. If you plan on coming to Ocho Rios to experience the culture of the people, this is the side to be on! Food is great and cheap (US $3) for a meal of curried chicken, peas and rice, salad, and a drink. People are great as well.

So, if you plan on experiencing the true culture of Jamaica, Rooms is the place for you!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vascience_teacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2009

It was a moderate,ok hotel for the price,considering that Sunset Grande was double the price and right next door.

It was close to the beaches,town and local stores.
Rooms were fairly spacious and comfortable.
Cons: was that it was fairly dead in the evenings,not much to do.
Fortunately,had some friends to go out with..
Free breakfast was disappointing...with just a bagel,toast and drink..Walked to the nearby restaurant and ordered my meals,since it was $20 for a plate of food at the hotel.

On the whole..not a bad experience,just not that exciting staying here.

  • Liked — Closeness to the beach and amenities
  • Disliked — Breakfast and long walk to my room
  • Stayed March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ladybCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
81.2 mi away
Foote Prints on the Sands Hotel
2.1 mi away
Shaw Park Beach Hotel & Spa
Shaw Park Beach Hotel & Spa
#30 of 35 in Ocho Rios
522 reviews
49.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
81.3 mi away
Fun Holiday Beach Resort
81.3 mi away
SuperClubs Rooms on the Beach Negril
13.6 mi away
Royal Decameron Club Caribbean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rooms Ocho Rios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rooms Ocho Rios

Property: Rooms Ocho Rios
Address: Ocho Rios Beach | Main st., Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#10 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rooms Ocho Rios 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the beach in Ocho Rios on Jamaica's North Coast. Just 5 minutes from the world's famous Dunn's River Falls and within walking distance of best shopping and night life in Ocho Rios. Singles, Couples and Families are welcome at Rooms. All rooms are air conditioned, equipped with cable tv, safety deposit boxes, hair dryers,coffee makers and most have a VIEW of the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, Southall Travel, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rooms Ocho Rios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rooms Ocho Rios Hotel Ocho Rios
Rooms Hotel Ocho Rios
Ocho Rios Rooms Hotel
Rooms Beach Ocho Rios
Rooms Beach Jamaica
Rooms Ocho Rios Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing