We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You've saved the best till last man!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios
Ranked #8 of 35 Hotels in Ocho Rios
West Bromwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“You've saved the best till last man!”
Reviewed 22 September 2012

OK,where do I start.Good check in at Birmingham,Thomson flight on time,arrived in Montego Bay raring to go after a decent flight.After collecting our bags we took a taxi with Omar Davis down to Riu Hotel down in Ochi as they say.We were the only people to check in as we were ahead of the coach.Our two rooms were upgrades in the deluxe area to include a suite with a jacuzzi overlooking the pool and the beach.Thank you very much Riu hotels.What a great place this was, no sign of ants, a slight musty smell upon entering although the A/c soon got rid.Pools were fab and the beach superb,plenty of beds to be had anytime.We stuck to eating in the main buffet restaurant and the food was OK,even better if you're adventurous.We never had to wait long at the bar for drinks and the beer plus the spirits and cocktails were decent.Entertainment goes on all day long on the beach ending with a show in the evening on the main stage.The thing that really makes this place tick are the people who run it, yes from the gardeners,the cleaners ,the maids ,restaurant and bar staff in fact everyone plays their part.Tipping is very much appreciated but not expected,a little goes a long way folks.Finally Pauline the Thomson rep, do not miss her presentation,yes she will try to sell you trips but the laughs you get along the way make you realise what a great lady she is.I could go on forever but as Omar the taxi driver said after asking us where we had been to previous holidays."YOUV'E SAVED THE BEST TILL LAST MAN!"

Room Tip: All rooms seem to have a decent position
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ken R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,664 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,086
    3,062
    1,438
    650
    428
See reviews for
2,514
3,323
113
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Jamaica is the most fun, enjoyable, amazing place i have ever been to!
First Ill start of by saying the hotel was by far, hands down AMAZING!!

PROPERTY
The uptake of the property was amazing, everything looked so perfect!!!!
Its such a nice hotel!

BEACH
Beautiful beaches, the beach is exclusive to RIU guests, and there are a few locals trying to sell things, but it is such a nice beach!
There is a jerk chicken hut on the beach you HAVE TO TRY!
Its the best jerk chicken i have ever eaten, so delicious!!!!!!!!!!
The beach is a little small, but there is tons of room for everyone!

ROOMS
Rooms were really nice, nothing out of the ordinary but still vey clean and nice!

TRIPS
- Tubing trip: We went on a tubing trip, sort of like a lazy river which was SUPER fun, there a few parts where it gets rough, but there are A TON of guides on the water with everyone, and if you are more adventurous and like the bumpy spots they let you go there, but if you are just there to relax the workers will steer you clear of the rough spots. Honestly, the people that work tehre are AMAZING, some of the nicest & most funny people you will ever meet, its crazy because they know your name and don't forget it! On this trip you tube, than you make a stop where they have jerk chicken... mmmm.... and you can buy things (they will send it on land so you dont have to carry it & it doesn't get wet, or they will put it in a bag.. depending on what you buy).. overall this was an amazing trip and would be a GREAT family trip.., it caters to the kids who want to be more adventurous & parents who just want to relax... also there are NO BUGS!!!!!!!
- Safari to Dunns Falls: Im sure you have read in every single review to hit up Dunn's falls, and you should! Its awesome, its so fun! This excursion also caters to many because if you dont want to walk the falls there is a walkway beside it so you dont get wet, and if you do want to walk the falls but don't want to waves hitting your body and want more of an easier walk they have that also. Than they also have the one, where most teens and kids take where you climb the falls, this is soooooo fun, and exhausting.. WARNING.. LADIES.... IF YOU ARE GOING TO CLIMB THE FALLS, WEAR A T-SHIRT, DO NOT WEAR A STRAPLESS SWIMSUIT, IT WILL FALL OFF AND EVERYONE WILL SEE YOU NAKED! ... I know from experience.. you want to wear a shirt and maybe even shorts when climbing the falls... also they recommend that you wear water shoes also! The safari part is really cool, you get to see the real side of jamaica and witness beautiful scenery, visit a coffee plantation, snacks and drnks are provided :)
- PIRATE PLACE WITH DOLPHINS: Now this is a true dolphin experience place, there is a ton of things to do here! You can go on a motor boat ride, they have a mini zoo with birds and lizards, and sheep.. random but fun! They also let you swim, snorkel, touch and hold stingrays! It is very fun, they also have a pirate show where they swim with sharks, and than let you swim with them as well! But of course... the main attraction is the dolphins.. depending on the package you buy lets you have different experiences with the dolphins!

honestly this is the best hotel i have ever stayed at by far, everything is amazing!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank sunkissedslu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

My family and I attended our Family Reunion at this property...very nice hotel, the staff was very helpful and friendly, the hotel was full however they seem to have everything under control...Good location just a short car ride outside of the town of Ocho Rios.You could choose to stay at the resort your entire trip or go into town to shops, tours sightseeing adventures etc. Beautiful beach and lots of dining venues.. Great for Multi-generational travel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goingplacestc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

It has been 5yrs since I've visited this hotel and I must say I am still very impressed & pleased with the overall service. I went with my BFF & the trip was from 9/12 thru 9/16/12. I would recommend this Riu to anyone.

I was very skeptical with reading the reviews about lack of hot water, bad food and most importantly ROACHES. But I can honestly confirm that was NOT my experience. I did stay in a suite in the deluxe wing on the 3rd floor (room 1358) and the room was perfect!!! We had a balcony and a great view of the beach. The resort is open to the outdoors so I would suggest getting a room on a high floor to prevent the normal outside bugs from coming into your room. The food was not spectacular but the variety was plentiful and breakfast was consistently good. Definitely make dinner reservations for Sir Richard..it was the best!

The resort is very clean and the service from the employees was fair. The property is simply amazing to look at and compared to other resorts its pretty close to the excursions they offer like Dunn Falls and the Chukka ATV Ride.

I think the swim up pool bar was my favorite place to be. The bartenders are friendly and have no problems making you a special drink. TIP TIP TIP people!!!! Its not required but it's the fair thing to do to show your appreciation and it wont cost you much ($1). Since the trip was off season time I really enjoyed not dealing with lines and crowds. My only negative experience is with taxi fare and souvenir cost. They are very much overpriced and there's not much you can do to avoid it so bargain the hell out of everything.

Room Tip: Any suite in the deluxe wing. Mine was on the 3rd floor (room 1358)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank kcwNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cold Lake, Alberta, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

we had such a great stay at the resort..

Rooms-Average but clean

Beds-Hard but ok if you dont mind a sleeping on a firm mattress

Key Lock safe-they worked fine but we would have rathered a digital password safe

MiniBar-only restocked every second day..but sometimes they wouldnt restock it unless you called the front desk..roomservice was pretty slow so make sure if you want something delivered you have the time to wait at least 45 mins to an hour. the service was pretty friendly tho..i think the reason for the slowness was because the resort was soooo HUGE..

Grounds- beautiful CLEAN..pools were always a blast and the beach was beautiful and also CLEAN..

Food- AMAZING and lots of it..we only did one specialty restaurant because the buffet was so goooood...

BUS RIDE FROM AIRPORT- This was the only downfall really..our ride from the airport in montego bay to ocho rios was the worst..it was alomst a two hour ride on a hot bus with no AC..would stay in at a closer resort if we ever return to Jamaica..which i believe we will for sure at some point..

Staff & Entertainment- WOW is all i have to say...unreal entertainment every single night non stop laughs and fun..if you go..look for a very tall man who looks like will smith lol he calls himself 007 and he is the MC the hole time you are there..prob one of the most entertaining guys i have ever met..lol..unreal personality..the Jamaican people really have a special way of making you feel at home..the bartenders and drinks were awesome as well...not a single compliant..they also have wifi in the lobby area if you need it..

Over all we had an excellent time here..the only thing we didnt like was the long drive from the airport..and the weather was great the whole time..everyday there were clouds but mainly sunny...and if it did cloud over a few times it didnt last long at al..it rained for 5 mins once and then cleared right away..it was an awesome vaca i would highly sujest going there if you dont mind the travel fromt he airport..

Room Tip: we had a garden view room on the main level ground floor and it was very secure..it was convenient f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nataliefwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

After staying in this hotel I cannot believe people can find fault in anything to do with it. The service is the best I have ever recieved and the hotel is amazing. Staff are so friendly, always happy and smiling and nothing is too much trouble. I travelled with a friend and when we arrived we had a double bed, I rang reception and they called back within 10 minutes saying they had found another suite with 2 beds. Then when we got into that room the fan didn't work so we called reception again and they said it's not a problem we will send someone up. A man came up within 10 minutes to fix it. Then reception called our room later that evening to check it was working and to make sure we were happy with the room and everything so far.

The evening entertainment was brilliant, different shows each night and the entertainers work really hard. They mingle with the crowd and always say hello and chat when they see you. Entertainment varies from getting the crowd involved on stage, singers, west-end style shows, dancing, beach parties etc. There is also a pacha nightclub which isn't that big but considering its in a hotel it was good for what it was. they also have a sports bar but we didnt really go in there.

the food was amazing, so much choice in the buffet and they vary it every night. there are a few different speciality restauraunts aswell, we only ate in the steak one but that was really nice. You have to make reservations for these so I would advise doing this when you arrive to make sure you get a table. They have 2 seatings in the evening so if you don't get one time there is always another one to try for spaces. The waiters were so friendly, always saying hello and remembering you. They will get drinks for you and bring them over, and remember what you have to drink and bring them over without you asking. There is also a jerk chicken hut on the beach which is open every lunchtime.

The pools are amazing, we spent most time in the pool where the Suite rooms are, its a bit less crowded, They always have reggae music playing in the pool bar and the athmosphere is really good, the pool bar waiters are a good laugh. The other pool was where they do games in the pool and aerobics etc so its a bit more liveley. There were loads of pedalos, canoes, kayaks etc on the beach which you can use for free.

All in all the service was beyond excellent, really friendly staff that cant do enough for you. The food was really good, entertainment was brilliant, pools were clean and hotel grounds were kept spotless, beach was clean and full of sunbeds so always had plenty of choice. Rooms were clean and beds made up with clean sheets every day. Minibar re-stocked every 2 days. The day after we arrived we mentioned to one of the maids we didn't think we had any towels in the room and 5 minutes later she came straight up with a massive bundle of towels! Couldn't fault a single thing and am going back next year again.

ps..... I've heard a lot of conflicting advice on whether it's safe to go out jamaica on your own. We are 2 youg girls staying there on our own and we went out to different clubs on 2 nights and were fine. The locals ARE pushy as they can tell you're tourists and therefore have money, but you just have to be firm and say no and they leave you alone. Especially if you go to the markets in town, after a couple of times of being hassled you get the idea of how to reply to get them off your back. The hotel does a free shuttle bus to a bar called Margaritaville in town on a wednesday night and then brings you back again about 2am so this is a safe and cheap way to do it. Its a really good night out and free drinks once you're in there.

Weather amazing, didn't have one day of rain. Anyone who books this will not be dissapointed unless they are the type of people that go out of their way to look for things to pick holes in.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank xlucy_loox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Very good resort! The food was very good and had a lot to choose from. The rooms were big, neat and well-kept. The entertainment staff were very good, funny and professional. I was impressed with the mentality of maintenance: always cleaning up, taking care of the gardens, searching empty glasses... This hotel was a perfect choice.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
5.9 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,296 reviews
4.2 mi away
Moon Palace Jamaica
Moon Palace Jamaica
#7 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,246 reviews
47.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
#1 of 1 in Ironshore
6,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
76.9 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Negril
ClubHotel Riu Negril
#27 of 81 in Negril
5,530 reviews
12.3 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
0.1 mi away
Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, Ocho Rios,Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios

Property: ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios
Address: | Mammee Bay - St.Ann, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#8 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios 3.5*
Number of rooms: 856
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in northern Jamaica, on the beachfront. Two 6-storey buildings and one 5-storey building. Surrounded by 90,000 m2 / 107,000 sq. Yards of lush gardens. Complimentary sun loungers on the beach. 10 Km / 6.2 Miles to Ocho Rios. 4 Km / 2.5 Miles from various shops. 105 Km / 65 miles to Montego Bay airport. 600 M / 1,970 ft. From a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with RIU Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Hotel Ocho Rios
Riu Ocho Rios Jamaica
Riu Ochos Rios
Rio Ocho Rios
Club Hotel Riu Ocho Rios
Rui Ocho Rios
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing