We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“third time at riu ocho rios and still amazing.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“third time at riu ocho rios and still amazing.”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

stayed here from 18th may till the 1st June arrived to find a few things had changed but that did not bother us .we meet some of the staff from the last time we were here and welcomed back with open arms our room was very clean. food was as good as ever, we were looked after at night by Fernando and Franklyn,; and in the day time by Marvin,, the evening entertainment was fantastic ,some of the shows have changed from the last time we were here which was 2012, which we enjoyed, our rep Pauline was still there and we was pleased to see each other ,she is worth her weight in gold and her welcome meeting are always good and funny, we will be returning next year to see all our friends.

Room Tip: we stopped in room 3303 it was nice and quiet witch is what we asked for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamela s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,039
    3,008
    1,393
    631
    410
See reviews for
2,431
3,261
109
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This was probably the best holiday I have ever been on. The staff were friendly, the food was incredible (and sooo much of it) and every aspect was well organised and stress free. My partner and I stayed for 2 weeks in January 2013 and couldn't fault it. It really was the ultimate Caribbean dream. It was our first holiday together and we definitely plan on going back. The rooms were clean and fridge topped up regularly and although it did rain for a couple of days the weather the rest of the time was fab! We went on 3 trips organised by the hotel, the Bob Marley Tour, Dunns River Falls and Swimming with Dolphins. Would highly recommend all 3. Love love love!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank NatalieT89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My family and I stayed on the family side from June 4th-June 7th. The hotel was fabulous!!!! Entertainment crew rocked!!! Staff was accommodating and friendly. All in all... Great experience! Beach was clear and always found empty loungers, pool was a little harder to find seats, but not impossible. We took the catamaran boat out to dunns falls and snorkeling. Boat was fantastic, we weren't too thrilled about the actual falls, although it was beautiful. We were with our 9yr old & 13yr old. It was hard to trek up the actual falls, it was slippery & having to hold hands on both sides of you made it difficult to climb. We witnessed an older gentleman fall from the very top & we witnessed the entire thing from the bottom. He was ok after he gained consciousness but it was the worst thing we'd ever seen. So if you are unsure, don't do it!!! The hotel is far from the airport, our only draw back. It took about 2hours to get there & we were exhausted. But in the end a great place!!! It was my sons 9th bday & they made it special! We had an entire cake in our mini fridge when we returned from the beach & that was awesome!!!! Recommend this hotel if you can get past the drive & I wouldn't recommend the falls, but that's a personal choice & had nothing to do with the hotel itself as it's extra.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Watsfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This was our first trip to Jamaica,so me and my wife was very excided when arriving in Montego Bay airport. If you can, fly with Sunwing airlines! Best company ever!Nice aircrafts, customer service, food and champagne- perfect kit to start vacations!
RIU Ocho Rios is about 1,5 hrs drive from airport, sins roads are not that wides,specialy in the villages.So lets start with hotel good and "less good" sides.I will use my own view on this,sins we was staying allready in 5* hotels in Punta Cana and Riviera Maya (both with VIP inclutions).
We stay this time in Deluxe, Adults only,Ocean front room on 4-th floor,room 1462 (1463 it's the same).Hotel is huge!Many people's checking in and out several times of day. Even with this , all hotel instalations are super clean and this from lobby to the beach.Staff is very helpful, friendly,ready to resolve any situation. hotel is located directly on the beach, so any place you go you see magnificent view of azur ocean and white sand beach! Food service it's very good,you will never be hungry, from 6:30 am to 11:30 pm always have some places open. In buffet and a la carte restaurants service is fast, always with smile (with or without tips). Same in all bars. From morning to the night is plenty of activites and shows.Live music going on from 8 pm. So all that makes this ressort attractive.
lets now talk about "less good" sides. Don't forget we talking about 5* hotel and deluxe upgrade.Check-in was in separated line and fast, but no one offered us welcome drink (was part of package),room was not ready up to 3 pm.,(arrived 2 pm.) In the room: if you expect, like us, get ocean front room and enjoy sunset sitting on balcony--DO NOT get this room(1462 or 1463)! When you sitting on balcony, only thing you see is wall!!For see ocean you have to stand up.Bathroom don't have separated shower cabin, water pressure is low,lot of temp. flucturation. A/C gives enough cold,but room stays humid (bed and clothing too).Also that generating specific smell. Beds are OK.(Not 5*) Room bar stocked every 2-nd day(water to),no turndown service, no coffe maker,no robes. Finally last night we get "party neighborhood",so we could not sleep to 3 am. So if you looking for relaxing or romantic vacation, this hotel is not the place! Here happening lots of weddings and groups comming for few nights to make party (specially from US.) I think , hotel security should limit partys in rooms. In room safety box still key tipe and hard to operate.TV have only one or two canadian channels (more then 20 US).
Hotel have two sections, family and delux,adults only. There is no control between two , so any one with kids can comme over.(don't forget that you paying much more for stay in adults section. Adult section have realy nice pool,his own beach section, bar and two a la carte restaurants, one of them serving food "buffet" style from 12 pm to 4 pm. But for breakfast you have to go in familly section! And let me tell you too,this hotel have no A\C in any public area, including food places.
So after all that,we can rate this hotel 4*(but strong 4*),sins not many 5* inclusions like we get in other hotels,but paying extra for deluxe,adult section---commes to a big question.For more details feel free to contact me. Thank you for reading.

Room Tip: Do not get ocean front rooms 1462 and 1463 (4-th floor in adults section),sins ciment wall cover ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrei E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Great time, but rained a lot. We stayed on the adult side but other side was very nice also. Go to the Dunes river falls, you can just take a quick taxi ride from this hotel and then pay once there. Always discuss cab fee before getting in car. Go early, before the cruise ships unload. No need to book something in advance. Market had some good shopping, but I think the coffee was outdated/dried out. Buy the vacuumed sealed.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stacey2012_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 June 2014

My mum and I stayed at this hotel for two weeks last month we both thoroughly enjoyed our stay with the hotel food being continental and superb service from the staff, the activities for holidaymakers were superb with sports activities, reggae dance class, aqua aerobics, drinking games, a kids club. The entertainment team at the hotel were excellent with fantastically rehearsed performances to keep everyone entertained, they made all guests feel very welcome and for me that is what made our holiday more special. The days trips arranged through Thomsons Tour Rep were excellent too which left us with a great lasting impression of the culture Jamaica has to offer. I would definitely recommended this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sabrins2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Was not impressed when I landed as my coach I was meant to be on was full. Back to the hotel, the receptionist Amoy made my holiday a lovely start her customer service was 5stars.
The rooms was ok may need redecorating soon in the bathroom.
All inclusive food yummy (the food was a little salty on occasions) 5stars to Brittany, Keisha and Kamilah customers service 10/10 they treated us as equals unlike the others who were more interested on getting tips very fake.
The entertainment crew was fab.
The jerk hut guy 10/10
I came to this hotel for a wedding and the whole experience was beautiful I recommend it and I have signed up to a riu club card.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VenusChrome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
4.2 mi away
Moon Palace Jamaica Grande
47.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
#1 of 1 in Ironshore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,916 reviews
12.3 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, Ocho Rios,Curio Collection by Hilton
64.7 mi away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
76.9 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Negril
ClubHotel Riu Negril
#26 of 85 in Negril
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios

Property: ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios
Address: | Mammee Bay - St.Ann, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#8 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios 3.5*
Number of rooms: 856
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in northern Jamaica, on the beachfront. Two 6-storey buildings and one 5-storey building. Surrounded by 90,000 m2 / 107,000 sq. Yards of lush gardens. Complimentary sun loungers on the beach. 10 Km / 6.2 Miles to Ocho Rios. 4 Km / 2.5 Miles from various shops. 105 Km / 65 miles to Montego Bay airport. 600 M / 1,970 ft. From a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, TripOnline SA, RIU Hotels and Resorts, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Hotel Ocho Rios
Riu Ocho Rios Jamaica
Riu Ochos Rios
Rio Ocho Rios
Club Hotel Riu Ocho Rios
Rui Ocho Rios
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing