We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff & lovely resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios
Ranked #8 of 35 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great staff & lovely resort”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

First time to Jamaica! This place was nice. The staff was very friendly. The front desk was excellent. They asked why were visiting Jamaica & we told them for our 25 year anniversary. They upgraded our room to the adult only side. We will come back.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mammaclingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,655 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,085
    3,060
    1,435
    648
    427
See reviews for
2,509
3,320
113
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Caro, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We could not have been happier with our choice to stay at the Riu. The staff was as friendly as if we were family, from the front desk to the cleaning crew. The hotel was clean and classy, and the food was excellent. The selection of the buffet-style breakfasts and dinner made sure there was something for everyone. Their jerk chicken and curried goat was amazing! The beaches were clean and not overly crowded and we always had access to where we wanted to go. The servers in the dining hall were so incredibly friendly and courteous that we made sure we sat down in their section every meal. They treated us as if we were a long-time friend. They always had shuttles going into town, and the front desk was very helpful with all of our questions and requests. Overall we had no complaints whatsoever. Even the nighttime entertainment was top-notch!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Daniel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plantation, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Ok.. went last year had roaches in room and others wanted to go back this year. Well the roach problem was gone but the food was boring and typical American with little Jamaican food. My husband brought food from outside and only ate twice at the hotel. Beach was the best part. Not much for vegetarians. We had 30 or more in our group so we met everyday at the beach and ate mangoes we brought from off property. Not the most welcoming staff on both trips especially at front desk.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Front Desk: Arrived at the front desk and waited at the deluxe line to be checked but ignored until We complained to supervisor Ann Marie who seems to be the only front desk personnel that can get anything done. When Refrigerator and TV in the room did not work, nobody could get them working until we complained to Sup. Ann Marie who got them working within 30 minutes of complaint, then she called back to make sure we were happy . She need to be made a manager. Then there is Mr. Richard at the front desk who cater only to female guest at his leisure.
Rooms: The room was carefully cleaned by Mrs. Clark everyday to our delight, we have to find a way to bring her to the USA to work for us. The adult area of all inclusive side of the hotel was great. Restaurants: eat your breakfast at the lady making the omelet is fantastic. The Japanese restaurant chef was very exotic precise.
Entertainment: The nightly entertainment and band were very entertaining, but will prefer they play till midnight….ended too early..we wanted more.
Beach: need more jerk Chicken on the beach……but the Chicken were delicious. You can get the same chicken for lunch at the Mamme restaurant for lunch but you will have to leave the beach area. The WIFI needs attention but it works when it counts. The staff made the hotel and many were up to the task. If you ever have any issue talk to the front desk better yet ask for Sup. Ann Marie she has a professional and American work ethic.

Room Tip: Make sure you are in the adult section and your room face the pool area then you are assured you wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael15115x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I travelled from the uk with thomson and stayed at the riu from 24th-31st.
This was my second stay at this hotel the first being 8yrs ago. I would say it's better than I remembered. The resort is beautiful from reception to the pool to the beach. Everywhere is picture perfect.
The room was dated decor wise but it was big and everything was working.
We had room 3503 with a partial sea view the balcony was huge and we had amazing views of both pool and the sea.
The beach is lovely plenty of sun loungers, white sand and clear water.
I found every member of staff I came into contact with always went above and beyond to ensure we were happy. I really can't understand how people can complain about the staff. I received TWO calls from reception ensuring everything was ok with our room and that we had settled in ok. Also we stayed during my birthday so I received a bag of coffee and a card (a nice little touch).
The food was delicious...if you're going to jamaica to eat chicken nuggets and then complain the cuisine isn't up to standard then more fool you! You are in jamaica, eat the Jamaican food!
We only tried the steakhouse purely because the lady taking bookings was free. The steak was cooked perfectly. If you are looking to have a romantic meal it wouldn't be for you as we were seated at 9pm just when the entertainment started right next to the steakhouse.
The entertainment staff are brilliant and put on some decent shows in the evening.
We went to the nightclub once, it's dark and loud. The music was varied and commercial.
I never found the drinks to be watered down. The cocktail menu is very limited and most of the drinks are very sweet. Just ask for whatever drink you would like even if it's not on the menu.
The resort shops are expensive, to buy gifts we went to the local market which was much cheaper.
Dunns river via catamaran is a must.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nibbz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nj
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Just got back from a 7 day vacation at RIU Ocho Rios. Traveled with wife and 9 year old twins and also was joined by another family with a 6 and 11 year old.

The pro's definitely out weighed the cons. The beach, the pool, and the grounds were gorgeous.
We read some of the earlier reviews and made sure we got a room close enough to the lobby with a ocean front view and a partial pool view. The proximately to the restaurants, pool, beach and everything else was perfect.

In terms of the food, the buffet lunches and dinner got pretty tiresome after the first couple of days so do what you can to book the ala cart restaurants. The steak place was partially ala cart with the exception of salads and desert which was buffet style. The Asian place was a joke, all buffet so don't waste your time. The gourmet was the best for adults but they couldn't offer any modifications to the menu to accommodate the kids.

My biggest con about the place was that the swim up pool closes at 6pm and that you are limited to only 3 ala cart reservations for the week.
Another slight con is that the resort is about a 2 hour drive from the airport. This was still ok because we were right by Dolphin Cove that the kids loved.

The staff for the most part were very warm and nice with an occasional up tight person here or there. We brought $100 worth of singles to tip and everything was irie mon.

All in all, the value was great for we got vs what we paid. It makes me question ever doing another Jersey Shore or Ocean City Maryland vacation again!

Room Tip: close to lobby with oceanfront and possible corner pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ramak23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terre Haute, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My family and I spent 8 fun filled days in June at this well appointed resort. Although it is about 1.5 hrs from the airport it is well worth the logged miles. From the moment of our arrival we were greeted in a very caring manor and felt quite welcomed. We arrived a bit early to receive our room but our luggage was quickly attended to and lunch was offered during our wait. The room was very clean, the grounds were very well kept. There was always someone cleaning and taking care of things. All staff members were friendly and the resort offered something for everyone. We enjoyed the daily beach cookouts, free kayak, sail & paddle boat use and the nightly entertainment. Please do yourself a favor and wonder around get to know the place. We booked dinners at the specialty restaurants upon arrival which by the way are made available by the number of days you stay. We enjoyed the Tushima restaurant the most especially the desert. I read several reviews before selecting the property and would say it is hard to find something to complain about with this property. The food was plentiful with lot's of choices, the drinks were never ending, staff was great, the water was inviting. We felt very safe at all times. I would also recommend taking an excursion or two. Dunns' river falls was a great time!! So book this resort, pack your bags, relax and enjoy!! Ya Mon....

Room Tip: Suggest adult side if you are not traveling with children
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fred m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
5.9 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,294 reviews
4.2 mi away
Moon Palace Jamaica
Moon Palace Jamaica
#7 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,238 reviews
47.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
#1 of 1 in Ironshore
6,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
76.9 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Negril
ClubHotel Riu Negril
#27 of 81 in Negril
5,527 reviews
12.3 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
0.1 mi away
Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, Ocho Rios,Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios

Property: ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios
Address: | Mammee Bay - St.Ann, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#8 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios 3.5*
Number of rooms: 856
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in northern Jamaica, on the beachfront. Two 6-storey buildings and one 5-storey building. Surrounded by 90,000 m2 / 107,000 sq. Yards of lush gardens. Complimentary sun loungers on the beach. 10 Km / 6.2 Miles to Ocho Rios. 4 Km / 2.5 Miles from various shops. 105 Km / 65 miles to Montego Bay airport. 600 M / 1,970 ft. From a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with RIU Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Hotel Ocho Rios
Riu Ocho Rios Jamaica
Riu Ochos Rios
Rio Ocho Rios
Club Hotel Riu Ocho Rios
Rui Ocho Rios
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing