We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A trip to Remember”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Blue House Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 20 Ocho Rios B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2013

I was really happy about my stay at the Blue House. The stuff was really nice and the owners made sure we were all happy with our stay. We visited as a group which made really nice. We booked the whole house so we had everything to ourselves. The food was soooo good. What was really nice of Elise was that she asked each one of us what we liked and what we didn't. Since we all arrived on different days, everyone got to enjoy their favorite meal the day they arrived. Those Cassava pancakes did it for me...I could fly back just for that. The weather was great...I really didn't feel the need to leave the house. With a nice pool and a balcony that overlooks the hills....all I wanted was my glass of wine and I was in heaven. We had such an awesome experience and would love to go back there soon. I also liked the location because it wasn't too far from the town, dunn's river and reggae beach. I would recommend this place to everyone.....

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (363)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 363 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2013

Just is just a little not to say thanks to Elsie, Daryl, Sonia, Patrick, Samantha, Orlando and the others whose names I have now forgotten.
My husband and I spent four days at Blue house and it was wonderful. I won’t say much about the food as everyone has already said it all. However, you should know that Daryl also makes some yummy deserts. It is not often you find one who can both bake and cook.
What we enjoyed about Blue House most was the relaxing feel of home that it offered. We also loved the morning breakfasts and dinners we shared with the other guests. These were times when we shared our day, had a few laughs, and got to know each other a bit. This kind of easy conversation is something you don’t often find at big hotels and definitely not at the all-inclusives that line the strip down the road from Blue House. We got to know some really nice people beyond the surface introductions of what do you do and where are you from. This is all to say that this is the kind of atmosphere the Blue House group creates while at the same time also proving lots of room for privacy, even outside the room. One night my husband and I took our rum punch and relaxed by the pool watching the starts. It was just the two of us and it was beautiful and intimate.
Because of where Blue House is, I can’t help but to make the comparison between it and the other hotels nearby. I was (I guess) fortunate enough to get a good look around San Susci (the large hotel at the bottom of the road – Blue House is on a residential street away from the traffic and strip of hotels) because my husband went diving there and I was able to get it only because of a lack of communication between the front gate and the dive shop. My look around there reconfirmed for me why Blue House is such a gem. Blue House has nothing of the artificiality that you find in those hotels that fall over you to cater to your every need, which is not to say that Elsie and Sonia won’t be there to help you with whatever you need. It is the manner in which they do it that makes all the difference for me. They love what they do and it shows in everything they do. There is nothing of that sterile atmosphere that you find at those all-inclusives. Blue House is your home for your stay where you can kick up your feet and watch the humming birds feed from sugar water on the porch.
By the way, if you don’t have a car, I highly recommend Patrick as a driver. He is great company, easy to talk to and was a real pleasure to have as a driver. In short, thanks everyone at Blue House. It was a wonderful trip and you made this possible.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzsuzfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We had two absolutely wonderful days in the Blue House. It was great to stay there and experience real Jamaican hospitality, family living, spending time chatting  with other guests. The room was comfortable, the food was beyond belief and expectations. The hosts and staff were extremely professional and friendly. Elise and Daryl have created a wonderful setting that you experience most of all at meals. They also shuttled us to Reggae beach, where we spent relaxing days by the ocean. We definitely hope to return!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

A true slice of heaven on earth. The exterior is a charming periwinkle and the colors that abound throughout the house reflect the rainbow along with the lucious gardens that encirlce the property.It is so peaceful and serene and we were so blessed by Elise's generous hospitality.The food is outstanding and plentiful, creativly prepared by her brother Daryl. It was my third visit and it's like coming home!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dede H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

"A piece of Heaven" is exactly what one of my friends said as he relaxed in the pool, surrounded by flowering shrubs and hummingbirds. This is my third trip to the Blue House and I absolutely love it more each time. Elise and Daryl are wonderful. The entire staff is warm and welcoming. The food is FANTASTIC! The curried goat and grilled shrimp are out of this world. The desserts; coconut cake, warm pineapple cake and chocolate hazelnut cake simply luscious! We are a large group and everything was handled with grace and ease. We especially enjoy the breakfast on the White River. What a refreshing way to start the day! Elise is an artist, as the house and grounds are beautiful. We will return again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

The accomodations are beautiful, the food is excellent, Elise and Daryl are such wonderful people on a personal level. Love coming back here with our group! I've been here 3 times and can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Elise hosts our mission team every year after a long week of running a sports camp in Kingston. Kids sleep everywhere around the house. Daryl makes the most amazingly yummy food for our group too. The Blue House is an incredibly beautiful place to stay when you're on the "pretty" side of the island. Elise's hospitality and everyone's desire to make you feel at home is like nowhere else you'll ever experience. Stay at the Blue House! It'll be the best stay you'll have anywhere!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
0.9 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,353 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hermosa Cove - Jamaica's Villa Hotel
2.3 mi away
Hibiscus Lodge Hotel
Hibiscus Lodge Hotel
#9 of 35 in Ocho Rios
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios
#8 of 35 in Ocho Rios
8,921 reviews
0.3 mi away
Couples Sans Souci
Couples Sans Souci
#3 of 35 in Ocho Rios
4,032 reviews
49.9 mi away
Great Huts
Great Huts
#1 of 30 in Port Antonio
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blue House Boutique Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue House Boutique Bed & Breakfast

Address: White River Estates, Ocho Rios Caribbean, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Ocho Rios
Price Range: £138 - £260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue House Boutique Bed and Breakfast in Ocho Rios Jamaica offers all the intimacy and charm of a small boutique hotel at an affordable cost. Here's your chance to experience REAL JAMAICA in a cozy, elegant guest house with mouth-watering cuisine and genial, hospitable hosts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Blue House Boutique Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blue House Hotel Ocho Rios
The Blue House Boutique Bed & Breakfast Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing