We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Blue House Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
Moon Palace Jamaica(Ocho Rios)
US$528
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hibiscus Lodge Hotel(Ocho Rios)(Great Value!)
US$139
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$83
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jamaica Inn(Ocho Rios)
US$461
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$424
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chrisanns Beach Resort(Ocho Rios)(Great Value!)
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Sands(Ocho Rios)
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kaz Kreol Beach Lodge(Ocho Rios)(Great Value!)
US$96
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$75
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (382)
Filter reviews
382 results
Traveller rating
356
22
2
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
356
22
2
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsreggae beachbarefoot chefcassavawhite riverhumming birdsother guestsbreakfast and dinnerlocal beachespumpkin ricethe main househome away from homeamazing hospitalitymeals preparedauthentic jamaican experiencelikes and dislikesmajor attractionstrue jamaica
Filter
Updating list...
180 - 185 of 382 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Excellent, excellent and most excellent trip, get away I have had in a long time. The Blue house is private, comfortable, cozy, spacious, air conditioned, safe well stocked with a huge selection of books, bar (free access at all times), pool that is clean, food that is amazing, service that is above and beyond...I can't express myself just how much I loved it there. The hummingbirds would greet you all day while having coffee each morning or a glass of wine at night. I felt like I belonged at the end of the trip. A HUGE thank you to Elise (your love for people only Jesus could give), Darryl top chef (to bad you couldn't fit in my suitcase), Servers Marlin and Orlando thank you for your hard work, Carlien you are a wonderful cook and cared for our bedrooms especially me and all my crazy clothes!!! Sonjia for organizing our day and making all our arrangements whatever we asked, Patrick (our taxi guide and information guide), the gardener with the machete and of coarse sweet Gloria, Elise's mom. My dad sent me and my three sisters for my 40th birthday and now I will make this a tradition. A true cultural experience

Room Tip: The rooms are huge. I took the master suite with my cousin and honestly three people could sleep there.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cimbalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Traveled with 3 cousins and we had the most wonderful time. Darryl made us 5 star meals every day, and we were introduced to many new fruits and dishes. Elise and her mom Gloria spent time in the evenings with us and we enjoyed their stories and learning about Jamaica. The staff is amazing as well. We felt like we were at home there. The location is great too. It is close to the town, attractions like Dunn's Falls and also beaches such as Reggae Beach, which was our favorite. As well you can walk down the road 5 minutes and bathe in the White River which is refreshing anytime of the day. We loved to watch the hummingbirds every day and hear the sound of the parrots. Thank you to the Yap family for your amazing hospitality!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annabelle467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Yes, all inclusives can offer "unlimited everything", but you can get that pretty much anywhere. I'm not knocking all inclusives as they are often my go to place when booking vacations. However, Blue House is a very personal Jamaican experience. If you want to touch the soul of Jamaica, then stay here. Very personalized and personable service by the staff. Food is well... let's just say I'd recommend making a dinner reservation if that were even possible. You walk in as a guest and leave as a friend. Great things happen here. Would go back here anytime!

Room Tip: Honey moon suite and cottage are the best rooms if you can get them, get them.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TDotNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

My husband and I spent 6 nights in the Upper Room in July. Wow..where to start?
First off, everything you've read about the incredible cuisine is true..a Veritable Feast every day!
I was secretly apprehensive about things like oxtail, curry goat, saltfish..how glad I am Darryl gave us the complete authentic Jamaican experience! Being a chocolate aficianado, I am still puzzled as to why my dreams include rum raisin bread pudding instead of the delectable chocolate cake..a mystery!.. As for Elise,..a consummate hostess who we loved sharing our dinners with! The conversations alone around that dinner table with other guests are something $$ can't buy. We ended up loving the dinner company and were quite sad to see some guests go!. The Blue House is so beautifully decorated, ditto for the well kept gardens. Great special touches such as: various travel books lying about and towels/sunscreen set out for you. The whole team puts you at ease and you are free to do as much, or little, whilst on your stay. We highly recommend the private airport transfer & our driver "Patrick" who also drove us around downtown Ochie one day. Very dependable, trustworthy, and a natural educator. We learned alot about Jamaica just chatting on our drives. We spent a few days at Reggae Beach and were quite happy about practically having a whole carribean beach to ourselves! Beautiful, great reggae atmosphere, and outstanding lunches! Order before you get hungry, as everything is made fresh and takes a bit to prepare. Being a private owned beach, no worries of pushy tourist targeters. If you love falls, visit Turtle River Park for a day of hiking up, down, and all around the beautiful falls! No picture can capture the beauty of these falls- Be smart and take your lunch along. We left earlier than we wanted because we were hungry. Just ask your driver and he'll help you figure out where to get lunch before you go. Our trip highlight was visiting our sponsored couple of Elise's "Breadbasket Ministries" followed by a lunch/swim at the BlueHole. (This is a patch of Heaven itself hidden in rural Jamaica!). If you are unfamiliar with BreadBasket Ministries, take a moment to read up. It is very different from a 'handout' charity mentality. Elise's very life is integrated with many rural Jamaicans as she strives to not only feed and clothe, but also educate, provide life skills, and mentoring. This is a personal spiritual call of hers, and so it is difficult to speak of the Blue House without mentioning it, as they really co-exist for a greater purpose. My husband and I left Jamaica feeling so well treated, so spiritually rejuvenated and renewed. It is exactly the kind of trip we needed. Thankyou all at the Blue House. Jason misses his "Mavis Bank coffee," morning bird watching and dips in the river. As for me, I miss relaxing poolside at night listening to the sounds of 'nine-night' and the symphony of nature with a little rum cream mixed in :) What a great way to celebrate our 15th Anniversary. A genuine blessing.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 667JanMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We had a wonderful, relaxing stay at The Blue House. Exceptional culinary experience and the staff takes care of your every need without being overbearing. Got to experience and learn about real Jamaican culture which you will not get at an all inclusive resort. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Recommend the upper room. Very spacious and huge open shower.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews