We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Hotel that Met Our Needs, Not a Resort”
Review of Mariposa Hideaway

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mariposa Hideaway
Ranked #75 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed here again (second time) as we like many aspects of this small botique hotel. We love the location, the fact that it is literally 12 feet from the ocean, and the location on Seven Mile Beach itself. Compared to other hotels, the price is right, the rooms are spacious and the grounds are well kept. It is up for sale and reflects this as there is some need for updating and repairs. Over all, there are things that I would like to have such as; a coffee maker and coffee in the rooms, ice provided--hard to find in Negril, gates opened past 10pm and a better breakfast offered--or at least two cups of coffee instead of one small one....but the positives outweigh the negative--and you will find the location (once again) very hard to beat. We felt safe here, the staff was very polite and we will come back. Hopefully, the new owners will make the necessary changes to make the stay that much more appreciated. Our air worked fine, the fridge was a plus and the four rooms facing the ocean were beautiful. We met many people there that were staying for the same reasons. If you expect a pool, the frills, and food options then definitely consider one of the many resort options available. If you want something quiet, quaint and small, then look into this place.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelpapi153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2014

This February was our second visit to Negril (seven mile beach) in the past three years and our second stay at Mariposa. I would have to say that it met our expectations and the positives outweighed the negatives. The most important thing we needed was a safe place with a good location for a good price. If you compare prices on major sites, this always comes up on the lower end for price and many of its ratings.

Here are the negatives first--and negatives only if your expectations are for a resort--as this hotel is not.
*no coffee maker in rooms, you can ask as they may have one.
*no ice available at hotel, on on the beach or at the Hi Lo in town--just a small tray or two in your fridge.
*gate in front closes at 10, so you will have to shake it or ring buzzer until the guard comes.
*the breakfast provided consists of a small bowl of cherrios, wonder bread toasted and one cup of coffee. You are out of luck after 10:30 and will be asked to pay for the second cup.
*provided two towels a day, you will get the run around if you ask for more or replacement towels
*no pool, but right on the beach.

Positives: Location, Location, Location. Near many beach bars and restaurants.
*the property literally sits on the ocean-with lounge chairs to use.
*wall between the water and the restaurant area--provides a buffer from the continuous bombardment of hagglers selling anything under the sun.
*price: only 80 for a basic room which consists of two beds, large bathroom, AC and fridge
*tiled walkways, some garden areas and privacy-tables and chairs located outside each room.
*free wifi--usually have to go outside to receive--big deal, 80, sunny and you can listen to the ocean.

Overall, a moderately priced place with a great location. The grounds and buildings are attractive but in need of some updating/painting and modernizing...it is up for sale so the current owners may have lost some zest. If you want a resort, go find one. The Mariposa is unassuming, relatively clean and located right on the water. We'll go back, and maybe buy some coffee and ask for a coffee maker--no big deal. Breakfast can be bought on the beach for under 10USD with unlimited coffee. I would highly suggest to management to provide unliimited coffee to guests until 11:00. Small overhead for paying guests that may return year to year.

Room Tip: call ahead, leave a note on your booking for an ocean view or one of the 4 rooms facing the sea. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michaeldfran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

This COULD be a great place to stay on the beach. I've been coming to Negril for 23 years and this was the worst place I've stayed. It has some good aspects but the bad way over rule them. The rooms are very small, the beds are awful as are the pillows. But it is clean. They include "breakfast" but it's only cereal. Menu is small and they run out of food. Waitstaff is forgetful to say the least. Lucky you if you get served. Gates are locked at 10PM. I had to climb over to get in. Thankfully I could! Kitchenette was unfunctional. Bar has no ice. No washcloths, sometimes no hand towels. If you ask you have to wait until the next day. This could be a nice place. We are an older couple who like a quieter place. For the most part it is. We like it to be romantic, it's not. We like good food. Theirs suck. I am gluten and dairy intollerant. They would NOT substitute anything for me. I could only have a salad. When I asked them to put a crumbled piece of bacon on my so called chef's salad they wouldn't even do that. The staff is NOT allowed to do anything with out Vivians approval. And she's never around. The only good part of this hotel is that it is for the most part clean and has good beach access. Not much place for laying out. Maybe 6 chairs by the water was it.

Room Tip: IF you decide to stay here and I'd recommend you don't. Room 7 for budget rooms is a good l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sweets4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Paid 2000.00 US for ten week stay, asked for air and TV. No air, drinks were 16.20 / drink US. Vivianwas rude, yelled and staff and me constantly. Stayed 10 days and asked for return of my money 1700.00 US only gave me 950.00 US.
Vivian stold 700.00 US., hotel was not full but she would not give me another room with air-
It is my intention to expose this liar, thief, and prevent other vacationers from staying at this place and ruining their vacation

_-BEWARE OF THE SCAM ARTIST AND HER LIES.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Just what we were looking for on our arrival. We stayed for 3 nights before setting off to travel around the island and visiting family high up in the hills. The rooms were big and ok. Located on the beach which was great. One criticism would be the lack of enthusiasm by staff. Breakfast wasn't served till 9.30 if we were lucky and no chance of a second cup of coffee at breakfast unless you pay twice the price than other places around. Nice grounds, great start to our holiday.

Room Tip: As it was the low season, it was quiet allround.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Mariposa is a quiet, clean, relaxing spot. We met a local young man, Leon, who showed us beautiful reefs to snorkel around and took us on an adventure into the interior of the island. Beautiful and natural! The staff at the Mariposa were wonderful - they made us feel like family. Great restaurant there, and more along the beach. It was exactly what we were looking for.

Room Tip: Our room was upstairs overlooking the water. It had a large bedroom and small balcony. Very clean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

The hotel in itself is really nice. Very nice buildings, large and clean rooms. It was a little empty for guests, which obviously would have added more life.

Downside is that they don't have a beach area, since they use it for a beach restaurant, but you can always go down the beach and use some of the resorts.

The resturant serves quite nice italian food. Skip the breakfast though, it's pretty boring.

Good value for money

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MyFriendGoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
1.1 mi away
The Golden Sunset Hotel
The Golden Sunset Hotel
#72 of 80 in Negril
14 reviews
2.4 mi away
Villa La Cage
Villa La Cage
#77 of 80 in Negril
37 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bourbon Beach Hotel
Bourbon Beach Hotel
#47 of 80 in Negril
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rayon Hotel
Rayon Hotel
#44 of 80 in Negril
163 reviews
0.7 mi away
Negril Palms Hotel
Negril Palms Hotel
#42 of 80 in Negril
525 reviews
0.7 mi away
Foote Prints on the Sands Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariposa Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariposa Hideaway

Address: Norman Manley Blvd., Negril, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#43 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
Price Range: £48 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mariposa Hideaway 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mariposa Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariposa Hideaway Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing