We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on the Cliffs!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moon Dance Cliffs

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Moon Dance Cliffs
Ranked #43 of 84 Hotels in Negril
Bel Air, MD
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Heaven on the Cliffs!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

Moon Dance Cliffs, is Magnificant! Beautiful resort, Amazing food & the rooms are to die for! If you want to feel like a superstar than stay here! They won't let you down!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    35
    8
    7
    5
See reviews for
78
114
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

My husband and I had the most perfect wedding and honeymoon at Moon Dance Cliffs! The staff went above and beyond to make everything a success. Our butler, Tatanya was top notch. Ralston, the bartender kept the drinks flowing and was a crowd favorite of our guests and Rayon was always there with a smiling face delivering excellent service. Kerry, our wedding planner, did a fantastic job pulling together all of our requests and anticipating our needs. Richard Gordon, the Assistant Manager, always greeted us with a smile and was willing to help in any way. There are many more to mention because so many of the staff members were so wonderful!

We had a group of about 60 people (we took up the entire resort) and the hotel staff had buffets for us breakfast, lunch, and dinner. This was fabulous as people could eat throughout the day when they were hungry and never had to spend much time away from the pool or cliffs waiting for food.

As for the poor review below (one of the few it seems), we were alerted from the very beginning that our booking would include a $15 resort fee. Agree with it or not, many hotels charge such fees. I am especially shocked to hear about the poor massage mentioned. Many people including myself had a massage with Kourtney and could not stop raving about him. My spa service was probably the best I have ever had!

If you are looking for a destination wedding with a mix of fun, beautiful scenery, and top notch service, I HIGHLY recommend Moon Dance Cliffs!

Room Tip: If they are available, you must get a Villa! They come with a fully stocked bar, amazing balconies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

We booked a stay here for a family wedding that was being held at another hotel. After reading all the glowing reviews on Tripadvisor we thought staying here would be a no-brainer. We were so disappointed with our stay. We were greeted graciously with a delicious welcome drink, and shown to our room to shower and get ready to hit the pool. Within a few seconds of turning the shower on, an awful, disgusting smell began seeping up from the shower pipes. We literally couldn't even be in the bathroom for more than 30 seconds at a time, the smell was so bad. We immediately alerted the front desk, who assured us they would take care of the situation. The next morning when we got up to shower, the same thing happened. It was clear that no one had even attempted to fix the drain. We complained to the front desk again, and asked if we could switch rooms (surely there was a surplus of rooms, as there were literally three other people at the pool the previous two days, and it was very clear that the hotel was empty). We were told first that there were no other rooms, and then, with much attitude, that the lady at the front desk "couldn't make that call" to move us anyway. She insisted on calling a plumber again. We asked to speak to the manager and were told he was not on the premises. The third day started off with the same problem. No plumber was called, and at this point, it was ruining our vacation. We went to the front desk again, and were told there was no manager available to talk to us, they would try again with the plumber, but this time my husband threw a fit, and insisted on not leaving the lobby until someone with the authority to move us was called. Unsurprisingly, a manager appeared within 5 minutes, and offered to move us right away. The remainder of our trip was mediocre aside from the fact that our shampoo and soap was not replaced daily, which us typically standard at a "resort," and we found the waitresses and front desk people rude and unhelpful.

On our last day at the hotel, we ordered lunch from the Sports Bar by the pool, and my husband ordered a cheeseburger, as he did every day we were there. This time, instead of receiving the generously-portioned 6oz burger, they presented him with a single slider. He called the waitress over and asked if this was a different burger, and said that it must have been the wrong order. She told him that they were "out" of the 6oz burgers, and they had to give him a 2oz slider instead. My husband very politely asked if they were going to charge him the same price for this burger, as it was less than half the size of what he thought he was ordering. She shrugged and told him she would "only charge him $5 for it, and he could order another if he wanted to." She made no mention of an apology, or an offer to swap it out for something else, let alone tell him when he ordered that this is what he would be getting. This time we were able to flag the manager down, who apologized for her lack of reactiveness, and didn’t charge us for the burger.

The final straw was upon checking out of the hotel. We had pre-paid two weeks before we arrived, and were surprised to see a rather large bill waiting for us when we left. Upon closer inspection, we saw that they tried to charge us an extra $80 for a taxi ride we never took (honest mistake maybe? After all this, we were still trying to be forgiving), but they also tried to charge us $15 per day in "resort fees." When we asked what this was, the lady said it was for the "wireless and cell phone" use. When we told her that 1) we never asked for or used wireless internet (we didnt even bring our iphones, let alone laptops) and 2) were never given a resort cell phone to use, and 3) even if we DID use those things, the hotel website advertises those two amenities as "complimentary" for all hotel guests...so in NO WAY should we have been charged, even if we HAD used them. When we mentioned this to the lady at the front desk, she first said we would have to pay and then call the manager when he arrived later in the morning (no way), but finally, with a deep sigh, removed the charges.

Be advsied that there is a drought in Jamaica, so all the grass at the resort is dead, all the pretty fountains on the website have been turned off, and one of the jaccuzzis is drained. This wouldnt have been a dealbreaker, but it looked so lush and pretty and peaceful on the website, and this was not the case.

The spa was lame as well. My husband opted to get a massage while we were there, and for $110 he was lightly massaged, and she spent the majority of her time massaging his hands and feet. He said it was a "bizarre experience." For the price, it was really not worth the money.

All in all, we had a wonderful time with our family celebrating a wedding, and hanging out at the beach at the Charela Inn up the road, but I am positive we will not be staying at this hotel if we return to Jamaica. We will try Rock House up the road instead.

Room Tip: If they put you in room 104 ask to change rooms IMMEDIATELY.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Danielle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz R, Manager at Moon Dance Cliffs, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
I'm sorry to learn of the issues Danielle A. and her husband experienced at Moon Dance Cliffs. It is certainly outside the norm at Moon Dance and not what we want for our guests. Our policy dictates moving guests whenever possible if maintenance issues arise; it appears that this was not the case because of a miscommunication at the front desk. Regardless, the front desk should have been more proactive in assisting Danielle A. and her husband. I'm glad to know Danielle A. was able to deal with their ordering issues directly with the manager while still in the restaurant. As for the billing issues, I apologize for the confusion regarding the airport transfers and resort fees. Action has been taken to ensure that these are more clearly defined on our website.

I appreciate this feedback from Danielle A. We have already taken several steps to ensure future guests do not have similar experiences, starting with additional trainings for front desk, restaurant, and maintenance staff. Guests planning on staying Moon Dance Cliffs can be assured that they will only receive the friendliest, most solicitous service from our staff.

Thank you,
Liz Ryan
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Moon Dance Cliffs is absolutely amazing! Beautiful, quiet, romantic... The resort, the service, the quality, and even the food-was perfect. My fiance and I were warmly greeted with cocktails by Richard, the manager, and Clyde the butler, and escorted to our two story villa. The grounds are well maintained and covered in bright flowers so everywhere you look is beautiful. Our villa, Crystal Dawn, had all the amenities you could imagine, two floors, huge bathroom, private outdoor hot tub, and about 10 15 steps from the resort's pool. The decor was lovely. The staff was so kind and even in cleaning our rooms, left flowers, and Christine even put petals around the bath tub the day morning after we got engaged! We didn't do all inclusive; however, since the food was so good we ate mostly at the resort. The food was fresh and very well made. I'm a picky eater and every meal I had was delish!!

Clyde was awesome! He checked on us, got us a cell phone, brought us food, took us shopping, set up cars, and most of all planning the most amazing private dinner in the gazebo on the cliffs looking over the ocean at sunset. He put down flower petals, candles, and tiki torches leading the way from our villa to the gazebo. He made us personalized menus, set up music, and dimmed the lights during dinner making the proposal perfect! It was the best time of my life! The entire staff here is just so nice and cater to the guests. Everyone knew my fiance and I by name and were so kind.

The grounds are beyond heaven, the view from the villa bedroom was the ocean, the staff was kind, attentive, and personable. All in all this place was FANTASTIC!! It was so perfect We can't wait to go back! You really leave this place feeling like you're part of it.

Room Tip: Crystal Dawn Villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alex198468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hinsdale il.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Richard Warren and his staff made us feel like we were the only people there.
My whole family had a great time. The pool was great. The pool bar custom made virgin drinks to my kid's taste.
Rayan ,Randean and Trevor interacted with our children continuously. Playing pool connects, chess and draft. We quickly became family.
We could take a ride to the beach or just enjoy the cliffs.

Room Tip: for three kids get the suite with a connection. Plenty big
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank g b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

We had a great experience at MDC. We started working with Kerry months before to organize the wedding. I had no idea what sorts of details I needed, and she was really helpful- she organized an outline for the stay, questions about how the wedding/reception should flow, and recommendations around timing so we could get wedding photos at sunset. The staff was great- Titanya helped us organize excursions and made everything run so smoothly, and Douglas taught us a dance at the reception! The food was really good too- our family enjoyed the variety of choices and tried something different each time. The cliffs were awesome- we had fun jumping off different points and listening to the waves crash at night. I had my hair done for the wedding, and Ross did it so well that it stood up against a really windy day. When you go, make sure that Johnny Walker makes you a Moon Dance punch!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

My fiance and I just returned from a 7-night all-inclusive stay at the beautiful Moon Dance Cliffs. We stayed in a second floor, non-jacuzzi room in the main hotel. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable, with a king bed. The view of the resort and ocean from our room was breathtaking, and we spent many wonderful hours enjoying it from the comforts of our spacious terrace. The resort was very quiet and calm, with a few people around the pool and a few dining at the outdoor restaurant at any time. The photos on the website are very accurate - we clocked dozens of hours just gazing at the sea from the cliffs and we watched the sunset every night. We enjoyed the all-inclusive food menu at all meals almost every day. The options for the meals were very good, not haute cuisine by any means, but filling and nutritious, more like home. There was a large variety of tropical drinks to choose from and the bartenders mix them well. The staff is excellent. They are attentive, plentiful and easy-going. No matter what our request was (breakfast poolside? midnight snack? cab to the beach?) it was their pleasure to help. The pace is slow of course, but this is what we crave on vacation and enjoyed the easy atmosphere immensely. We felt indeed very much at home at Moon Dance, especially towards the end and we were sad to leave.

Room Tip: We enjoyed second floor terrace of the hotel for the view. ALL rooms face the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lzhlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
0.0 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#2 of 84 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
10.1 mi away
Rhodes Beach Resort Negril
Rhodes Beach Resort Negril
#1 of 1 in Green Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tensing Pen Resort
Tensing Pen Resort
#5 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
1.8 mi away
Westender Inn
Westender Inn
#27 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villas Sur Mer
Villas Sur Mer
#5 of 47 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moon Dance Cliffs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon Dance Cliffs

Property: Moon Dance Cliffs
Address: West End Road, Negril, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Negril
#20 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the dramatic cliffs of Negril, Moon Dance Cliffs is a luxury resort and spa. Room choices include Caribbean View Hotel Rooms, Deluxe Jacuzzi Rooms, Executive One-Bedroom Suites, Prime Minister Two-Bedroom Suites, and 4 Royal Villas. Moon Dance Cliffs has 2 restaurants, 3 bars, the world class Kamala spa, a 5,000+ square foot pool complex, and a plethora of other activities. Our friendly staff is available to you throughout your stay; from the concierge and the manager to the lifeguards and bartenders. With a 1:2 staff to guest ratio, the service at Moon Dance Cliffs is unmatched.Situated on the dramatic cliffs of Negril, Jamaica Moon Dance Cliffs is a luxury boutique resort and spa. Room choices include Caribbean View Hotel Rooms, Deluxe Jacuzzi Rooms, Executive One-Bedroom Suites, Prime Minister Two-Bedroom Suites, and 4 Royal Villas. All rooms are air-conditioned, with verandahs, spectacular views of the Caribbean and many have private, outdoor Jacuzzis. The Royal Villas at Moon Dance Cliffs are located throughout the grounds of the resort. Ranging from one to five bedrooms, all the villas offer dramatic views of the Caribbean Sea from atop the cliffs. Each villa has the option of being staffed with a butler, who acts as a personal concierge. With full access to all the resort has to offer, the Royal Villas at Moon Dance Cliffs offer an unbeatable experience. With two restaurants and three bars to choose from, Moon Dance Cliffs offers dining options for whatever you’re in the mood for. Annie’s Restaurant is fine dining in a relaxed atmosphere; an open air restaurant set at the very edge of the ocean, the sunset view from Annie’s is unmatched. A menu of fresh seafood, traditional Jamaican dishes, pastas, steaks, and homemade desserts is complimented by an extensive array of fine wines and cocktails. The Sports Bar offers casual dining with a full menu and an exciting array of cocktails and beverages. With satellite TVs, darts, a pool table, Nintendo Wii®, and other games, The Sports Bar will entertain you day or night. The Pool Bar offers snacks, our signature Moon Dance cocktails, and other beverages whether you’re in the pool or just lounging by it. With beautiful views wherever you look and the friendliest staff in the Caribbean, Moon Dance Cliffs offers a relaxing, indulgent getaway. All-Inclusive and Accommodations Only rates are both available. Please inquire for nightly rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays so you can book your Moon Dance Cliffs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moon Dance Cliffs Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing