We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Honeymoon Trip!”
Review of Moon Dance Cliffs

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Moon Dance Cliffs
Ranked #48 of 81 Hotels in Negril
Irving, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Honeymoon Trip!”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We stayed 3 nights at Moondance Cliffs (because we also stayed 4 nights over on the beach side of the island to get a full experience in Jamaica, the best of both worlds, beach and cliffs!)

I would have stayed longer had I been given the choice! The cliffs side is amazing! Moondance Cliffs is a wonderful small resort with a relaxing, clean, homey feel. The room was spacious as we got a deluxe with a private hot tub on the balcony which was so relaxing to sit in and enjoy the sunset or the beautiful night-scape. The grounds are wonderfully immaculate with lawn games like croquet and bag toss which we played tournament style with new friends from Chicago (Shout-out to y'all!! Thanks for making our trip more special!) we made at the resort! They were among the only other people at the resort so it felt like a tiny community and it was fun to have someone to hang out with around the pool bar who remember your names and were familiar faces, something you don't usually get at large resorts!

The staff made this place wonderful, particularly both managers (both named Richard) which I didn't even realize they were the managers at first very warm and friendly! Hassan, Rayon, and Trevor were at the pool bar a lot and kept things entertaining and interesting! There were many more but names are not my strong point! They were all friendly warm and genuine, making us feel honored to be there.

Some amazing Jerk chicken!! The food at Moondance was excellent and we ate here most of the time! What a breakfast! We also went off resort to Ricks and Ivan's. Ricks was fun to be at, but the food at Ivans was incredible and way better than Ricks! Reservation only so make sure you call and reserve ahead of time.

The cliffs at Moondance were so peaceful and they have their own carved out tub so you can enjoy the sea even on the rougher days when its too dangerous to enter the ocean! So cool, and a great hang out place! The sunsets on the West side of the island were amazing and much more romantic than in Montego bay. They have plenty of chairs and lay-down loungers which have great views...

The snorkeling on the calm days is incredible right off the edge of the cliffs! I can't say enough good things about this place! A wonderful resort! I would highly recommend this place and their customer service!

PS. I posted a picture of Hassan, please pass it on to him! :)

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    35
    8
    8
    5
See reviews for
80
114
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I can not rave more about this small resort. The resort is on the edge of a small cliff that goes straight into an amazing reef for swimming and snorkeling. No need for a boat to see all the fish you could want. The sunsets are amazing. The food is fine, the drinks are free-flowing, and the staff is amazing. They really know how to take care of a person and make you feel like a friend.

My wife and I went for a small wedding, and since Moon Dance Cliffs is so small, we almost filled the resort, which was so fun, knowing that everyone there was for the wedding. (It would still be nice even if you were not there with a large party.) I can't imagine going there and not doing the all-inclusive option. It was kind of expensive, but the food and drinks were endless, and that is what vacation spots like this are supposed to be. I have never been anywhere with on sight snorkeling as good as here. (Do bring your own snorkel though.)

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bennett A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Our daughter and her fiancée chose Moon Dance Cliffs for their wedding this past Novemeber. They did a lot of research and visited the finalists in their search and chose MDC. I have to say that the accommodations were top notch and the staff...well there are not enough adjectives to describe how fantastic the staff was to all the guests. I've never been to a hotel where the staff can a call you buy name and remember your favorite selections. Our daughters wedding party filled the resort so there were 75 other people there so this wasn't a case of a small function. The grounds are stunning and the rooms spacious, clean and comfortable. Annie's Resurant...GREAT food and of course the service is off the charts. As if sitting under a veranda looking at the Caribean Sea wasn't relaxing enough. We didn't just go down for our daughters wedding weekend, we went down a week early to celebrate our anniversary so the staff wasn't just "on" for the wedding, they were fantastic for the entire trip start to finish. We will definitely be making another trip to Moon Dance!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Jim_and_Sue_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

My husband & I just returned from our wedding, which was at Moon Dance Cliffs on 11/23/13. We booked out the entire resort while we were there, which I would highly recommend if you have enough guests who will travel; coming out of your villa each morning and seeing only your friends and family there is such a cool experience. I cannot possibly say enough kind things about Kerry-Ann Parkinson, the hotel's wedding planner. Kerry never took more than a few days to get back to any emails I sent and was so incredibly helpful. Given how much she has to coordinate on the wedding day, everything was perfect - not one thing went awry (even when it rained during our cocktail hour - the staff had the tables pulled inside and then put back out within 30 minutes - it was like the rain had never happened) and I never for one second stressed about anything. What makes your experience at Moon Dance Cliffs especially great is the awesome staff. From the servers & bartenders to the housekeeping staff to the front office staff, these are some of the kindest, most personable people you'll ever hope to meet. The staff there definitely gives this place its personality and that says a lot - you can't possibly have anything but a great time with this staff - particularly both managers (both named Richard), Hassan, Rayon, Titanya, and Trevor (aka Johnnie Walker). This was our second time staying at Moon Dance Cliffs and I cannot wait to go back. The food is absolutely incredible (get the Jamaican Special for breakfast at Annie's - you won't regret it!) and the drinks are great. The spa is a great value too; I've had massages on both trips and both were top-notch. The location is gorgeous - the cliffs side is definitely the best part of Negril!

Room Tip: All rooms face the Caribbean - you can't go wrong with any room choice. The Caribbean View rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nikki F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

We were staying at a neighboring resort and decided to stop and check out Moon Dance Annie's. We've been there twice now and had 2 great meals. The service was very friendly and helpful. I had the curry shrimp and it was delicious. Definitely worth stopping for a meal, the view is amazing. Best view of the sunset!

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Vsloniker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We chose Jamaica as a honeymoon destination because Mr husband is huge fan of reggae and Bob Marley. So he wanted to visit the hometown of the legend. And I agreed after learning how beautiful Jamaica is. Getting to Jamaica was a very long process for us. More than 25hours flight time. But it was all worth it, special thanks to Moon Dance.

It was great even before we got there. Communicating with Miriam via email was a breeze and she was very fast in replying and very patient in answering just about anything. Upon reaching the resort, we were greated with smiles and drinks. The whole resort was clean and beautiful All the rooms are facing the Carribean sea, where we can just watch sunset the whole evening. We took the executive suite and it was huge and very clean.

There's really too many people to mention. The servers at Annie's area friendly and fun bunch. We especially remember Hasan. Hi Hasan! And then there's Clyde, who go all means to find us a set of toothbrush as we misplaced ours. I am not sure if we were being annoying by keep asking the staff for iphone charger. But again, they find all means and ways to get us a charger even if it means lending us theirs. Theres Scandal the cool driver. He don't talk much, but when he did, we had great time chatting. Lastly theres Richard. There's 2 Richards! they are both managers and they must be the most down to earth hotel managers ever. Richard Warren (i hope I got the last name right) actually drove us to a German bar just to watch a Bob Marley documentary after learning that we went to the Bob Marley Museum the day before. Apparantly not many people staying at this hotel actually have the interest to go there. My husband didn't know that Richard is actually the manager until I showed him a welcome note at the hotel room, signed by Mr Richard Warren... Husband was of course very impressed.

This is a place to be really. We don't have to go out if we don't want to. You can swim, snorkel, play pool, whatever. Its all here.

Just one advice. Please book the hotel transfer. It might seem expensive, but it really is cheaper than the taxis at the airport because Moon Dance is at the very far end. Therefore they cannot charge any cheaper than USD100 to get there.

Room Tip: All rooms are facing the sunset! Just a matter of whether you want the villa, the suite, or just a n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lina Liyana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

With a group of approximately 80 people, the wedding I attended literally took over the resort. The staff was incredibly helpful, knowledgeable, and always willing to go above and beyond the call of duty to make sure that we all had a great time. Our butler was simply superb and was up for any challenge (including repairing a flip flop that had somehow melted). The food far exceeded my expectations and the prices for everything on the resort were perfectly reasonable. The location itself cannot be beat. You are a quick cab ride away from the 7 mile beach but get to avoid all of the madness and enjoy the seclusion of the cliff side of Negril. Now if I can only convince another friend to get married there so we can return!.

Room Tip: If you go with a group, book a villa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.0 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#2 of 81 in Negril
221 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tensing Pen Resort
Tensing Pen Resort
#4 of 81 in Negril
848 reviews
1.6 mi away
Coral Seas Cliff
Coral Seas Cliff
#60 of 81 in Negril
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Westender Inn
Westender Inn
#31 of 81 in Negril
393 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villas Sur Mer
Villas Sur Mer
#4 of 48 in Negril
157 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lighthouse Inn 2
Lighthouse Inn 2
#8 of 42 in Negril
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moon Dance Cliffs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon Dance Cliffs

Property: Moon Dance Cliffs
Address: West End Road, Negril, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Negril
#20 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the dramatic cliffs of Negril, Moon Dance Cliffs is a luxury resort and spa. Room choices include Caribbean View Hotel Rooms, Deluxe Jacuzzi Rooms, Executive One-Bedroom Suites, Prime Minister Two-Bedroom Suites, and 4 Royal Villas. Moon Dance Cliffs has 2 restaurants, 3 bars, the world class Kamala spa, a 5,000+ square foot pool complex, and a plethora of other activities. Our friendly staff is available to you throughout your stay; from the concierge and the manager to the lifeguards and bartenders. With a 1:2 staff to guest ratio, the service at Moon Dance Cliffs is unmatched.Situated on the dramatic cliffs of Negril, Jamaica Moon Dance Cliffs is a luxury boutique resort and spa. Room choices include Caribbean View Hotel Rooms, Deluxe Jacuzzi Rooms, Executive One-Bedroom Suites, Prime Minister Two-Bedroom Suites, and 4 Royal Villas. All rooms are air-conditioned, with verandahs, spectacular views of the Caribbean and many have private, outdoor Jacuzzis. The Royal Villas at Moon Dance Cliffs are located throughout the grounds of the resort. Ranging from one to five bedrooms, all the villas offer dramatic views of the Caribbean Sea from atop the cliffs. Each villa has the option of being staffed with a butler, who acts as a personal concierge. With full access to all the resort has to offer, the Royal Villas at Moon Dance Cliffs offer an unbeatable experience. With two restaurants and three bars to choose from, Moon Dance Cliffs offers dining options for whatever you’re in the mood for. Annie’s Restaurant is fine dining in a relaxed atmosphere; an open air restaurant set at the very edge of the ocean, the sunset view from Annie’s is unmatched. A menu of fresh seafood, traditional Jamaican dishes, pastas, steaks, and homemade desserts is complimented by an extensive array of fine wines and cocktails. The Sports Bar offers casual dining with a full menu and an exciting array of cocktails and beverages. With satellite TVs, darts, a pool table, Nintendo Wii®, and other games, The Sports Bar will entertain you day or night. The Pool Bar offers snacks, our signature Moon Dance cocktails, and other beverages whether you’re in the pool or just lounging by it. With beautiful views wherever you look and the friendliest staff in the Caribbean, Moon Dance Cliffs offers a relaxing, indulgent getaway. All-Inclusive and Accommodations Only rates are both available. Please inquire for nightly rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and LoveHolidays so you can book your Moon Dance Cliffs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moon Dance Cliffs Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing