We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2nd Time Around” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Negril Palms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Negril Palms Hotel
Ranked #42 of 84 Hotels in Negril
Palm Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
92 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“2nd Time Around”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

The Palms is wonderful for a budget friendly vacation. This was the second time I had stayed at The Palms. We came to get married (not at The Palms) and had 10 guests stay there as well. Most everything was ok, there were a few things that could of been better but all in all a good time for again, a budget friendly stay. I can't say that I would go back, just because I like to visit different resorts....The restaurant was good, some food items for breakfast they never had. Keep an eye on your bill as if you purchase a breakfast, coffee is free. Ramsey the security guard was awesome! Ann Marie was very helpful and always friendly! Great Mojito's at Krystals!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    166
    93
    50
    38
See reviews for
57
240
43
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
176 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

It was a torrential downpour when we arrived, and Margaret was a kind helper immediately. After that, however, there was a bit of a downward spiral. The regular room was okay, but minimal sheets and a broken A/C that we had to ask to get fixed three times. For this price, I was super-disappointed there was also NO hot water.

The beach is gorgeous, as most are, but a bit small compared to those nearby. Anne Marie was a bit standoffish when we needed to use the computers for business, and it was a pretty loud community as it seems, with a near empty hotel, they put everyone all next to each other and it gave off the same loud ambience you might find at an apartment complex in your hometown. After walking along the beach, you'll notice some great properties with comparable prices-- check those out!

Room Tip: Ask to be away from others-- super loud
See more room tips
Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank wandersmuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

spent long weekend at the palms..all service wonderful...ramsey as nice as always ....comin back in december..all staff great ..mojito bar lovely!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank purrfectgata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

I loved the palms hotel. The staff were really friendly, very easy to talk to and helpful. They would even go out of there way to arranged a personal driver to take us around Negril. The only disappointment that the food menu was very limited, and didn't have authentic Jamaican food a part from Ackee and Saltfish (for breakfast) which they didn't have enough to serve a table of four. Overall the hotel was good, and I would recommend it to anyone who is going to Negril for a few days particularly if all you want is easy access to the seven mile beach as you cannot really get much closer!

Room Tip: standard room is more than adequate
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KALoverz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Altos Hills, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

We loved staying at the Palms. It is right on the beach, about ten steps from the water--just enough room for beach chairs and colorful umbrellas. The rooms and public area are well-designed, with lots of mahogany. The staff makes sure you feel secure and happy.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pamwalatka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2011

The Palms markets itself as a "boutique" resort - which is exactly what it is. Small, intimate, friendly, upscale and just plain COOL. Lovely, engaging, intelligent and good-humoured staff, large, comfortable rooms and a beachfront layout (decks, pool, resto & bar) which is well-appointed and steps from the beach itself.

Went down with a friend to hang for his birthday and had an extremely enjoybale 5 days.

No complaints...noise non-existent, rooms spotless, resto meals very good and authentically Jamaican. A small but deep and very clean pool, right beside a fresh water shower to rinse off after the ocean.

Beachfront access to all the watersports - jet skis, para-gliding, glass bottom boats etc.

Would stay there in a heartbeat again.

Thanks Palms Staff, we had a BALL!

Justin Pold & David Anderson
Montreal, Canada

Room Tip: Rooms similar in size/layout - all near beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Broadback232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Jamaica
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2011

I am a Jamaican who responded to an advertisement of a 'special'.

On June 7, 2011 I made a reservation for the night of June 25, 2011. They immediately charged my c/card for two night. I pointed out that it was a single night, and one night was reversed.

Last Saturday [June 11, 2011] I found out that I had to attend a wedding in Florida. I immediately contacted The Palms, explained , cancelled the reservation, and request a refund. This is now Friday, June 17, 2011 and I cannot get back my money. Despite threats of legal action etc.

Very unethical, unprofessional behavour by the staff. The owners are off the Island [so I have been told].

The bottom line I cannot seem to get back my money. Customer service is non existent !!!!

Buyer be aware !!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jamaica07Kingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Negril hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
2.0 mi away
Zanzi Beach Resort
Zanzi Beach Resort
#55 of 84 in Negril
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.2 mi away
Country Country Beach Cottages
0.2 mi away
Beachcomber Club
Beachcomber Club
#48 of 84 in Negril
3.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rayon Hotel
Rayon Hotel
#41 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
1.6 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
White Sands Negril
White Sands Negril
#24 of 84 in Negril
4.0 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Negril Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Negril Palms Hotel

Property: Negril Palms Hotel
Address: Norman Manley Boulevard, Negril, Jamaica (Formerly The Palms Resort)
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Negril Palms Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Negril Palms Hotel is an intimate, tropical hideaway perfect for couples, families and singles, and centrally located on the world famous 7 mile beach in Negril. Negril Palms is just a short walking distance from all of Negril's well known beach attractions and entertainment hot-spots. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Negril Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palms Hotel Negril
Palms Hotel Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing