We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DON'T BELIEVE THE REVIEWS "IT'S AMAZING"”
Review of Negril Palms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Negril Palms Hotel
Ranked #42 of 80 Hotels in Negril
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“DON'T BELIEVE THE REVIEWS "IT'S AMAZING"”
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

I stayed for 10 days with the family and was very sceptical due to the reviews...

HOWEVER it was great...

All the staff spoke to my kids everyday and knew there names, took time out and made them feel welcome...
If you are a reasonable person with human values this place is great.
Everyone body was helpful even down to night security who even sorted out a baby bottle at 4am for me when the kitchen was closed.

I had my anniversary with them and the bar manager made it very special with a dinner on the beach (banners, candles in the sand etc) and a beautiful arrangement in the room. (Please see pictures)

The room was amazing with A/C and a ceiling fan and very clean.

This hotel and the staff was so great that I had a terrible time in Miami. I spent 12 days in Jamaica and then went to Miami for 6 days, the different in service was shocking, the Miami hotel only cared about getting my money where the Negril Palm actually cared about my family's happiness

I will be back

Thank you to all the staff.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pennipen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    174
    95
    51
    38
See reviews for
59
248
44
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Do not stay here! There are nothing but thieves that work here. The bathrooms are disgusting! The manager of the property Joseph Smith is a crook!!!!! We had many of our items stolen. Lap top, cell phone and jewelry. There was no sign of forced entry. We filed a police report and still to this day we haven't received any type of conversation of apology or compensation. We own a house in the hills but it was being renovated at the time. Do not stay here unless you want to take the chance of being violated and have an experience that we did. This place is on the outs just read the other reviews.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank krystalina218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Negril hotels

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

The staff was great!!!! The hotel itself not so GOOD. This place NEEDS to be renovated(desperately). The drape was filthy...I asked for it to be changed which they did, the staff was very accommodating, which made it bearable. Leaky faucet, the toilet felt as if I was about to break it each time I sat down (I weigh 98 lbs). Broken bedside lamps, nail protruding from closet door. Overall this place needs a 2 - 2.5 rating instead of the 3.5 rating that it's given.

Room Tip: I wouldn't recommend this hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank triciapom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleburne, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This Hotel is on the best part of the 7 mile beach. The Hotel is out of date, and the showers are nasty. Would not stay again here, unless it was free. Water Pressure would just stop, then come back on

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2013

I have been going to Jamaica for many years and have seen some places improve and others take a catastrophic plunge downward. Unfortunately this one is not good, not good at all. Its dirty, the room on the first night was so bad the bugs and things that kept appearing were extremely sleep preventing. I changed into a room that resembled a prison cell at best. No tubs, just concrete bunker like showers, very primitive in every aspect even down to having mo electricity most afternoons. Having enquired about this electricity situation a member of staff told me it was the city and they did it to preserve power, the real story was they switched it off themselves to save money as they are low on funds. The food is actually not bad, but how bad can chicken rice and peas be ????

I travelled alone and can deal with a little of this and that but here the this and that got simply to much to bare. A little attitude is normal in Jamaica but here the people are just rude, unhelpful and seemingly bothered by genuine requests for help.

I hope they pull it together, they need to spend some money, change the team, and maybe market the place from scratch and see were it goes but i wont be staying there again until they do something.

travel safe,

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Rooms were neat and tidy and cleanup was very thorough. The only issue I had was the hotel being under renovations so there was a lot of "soon to be beautiful work" going on throughout the resort. The hotel staff, bartenders, were all very friendsly and warming. I would advise in getting a room closer to the beach side and not the street side as you may hear traffic almost all night...sits really close to Norman Manley Boulevard. This was my my 2nd stay on 7 mile beach and would definitely come back to Palms, once the work is done. But again, who really stays in the hotel, it's Jamaica!!

http://asouldrivenmind.wordpress.com/2013/06/04/7-seven-mile-beach-follow-the-sun/




http://asouldrivenmind.wordpress.com/2013/06/04/7-seven-mile-beach-follow-the-sun/

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMansWell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We been there in january. first I want to say that its not 3*. In bathroom nothing... except soap. bedroom ... hmmm. NO fridge. doors not closing (fix) from inside. moscito.
And... its not safe:
1) do not leave your money in safe. almost all our group lose it from safe.
2) more for men!!! do not leave your jeans out from baggage - they can gone! AND WE SURE FOR 100% THAT IT WAS MADE SOMEONE FROM STUFF!!!!!!
3) sleep here can be dangerous. one night , some woman go into the 3 rooms with machete and stole the phones, Ipad, money. She was catched by one our guy. and, thanks God that his money was back. but stuff from others room was still in police.
So the plus is - SEA, SUN, BEACH.

Room Tip: If you want to be far from road choose rooms in second floor and from 406/7/8 It was nice rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FunnyTheBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.4 mi away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#18 of 80 in Negril
626 reviews
2.0 mi away
Zanzi Beach Resort
Zanzi Beach Resort
#56 of 80 in Negril
50 reviews
0.1 mi away
Country Country Beach Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Firefly Beach Cottages
Firefly Beach Cottages
#36 of 80 in Negril
226 reviews
1.6 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
White Sands Negril
White Sands Negril
#21 of 80 in Negril
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Negril Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Negril Palms Hotel

Property: Negril Palms Hotel
Address: Norman Manley Boulevard, Negril, Jamaica (Formerly The Palms Resort)
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Negril Palms Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Negril Palms Hotel is an intimate, tropical hideaway perfect for couples, families and singles, and centrally located on the world famous 7 mile beach in Negril. Negril Palms is just a short walking distance from all of Negril's well known beach attractions and entertainment hot-spots. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Negril Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palms Hotel Negril
Palms Hotel Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing