We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool Place Bad Service”

Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville
Ranked #41 of 194 Restaurants in Negril
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Bar, Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Drinks, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
North Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
168 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Cool Place Bad Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

The setting was awesome, they have blow up trampolines in the water which are so fun to play on.
They had a DJ who was giving away prizes and doing fun games which was so fun.
The only bad part was the service.
We waited 30 minites for someone to even ask what we wanted to drink.
They brought the wrong drinks which we didn't want and still had us pay for them.
When we finally got our food a few things were wrong with that as well.
Go for the experience and the beach which is beautiful not the food.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MvilleCarib, Social Media Coordinator at Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for visiting and also for taking the time to write this review. Margaritaville places extra emphasis on ensuring that a customer is happy and has a wonderful experience. Your review shows us that we have fallen short on that aspect and hope you will accept our sincerest apologies. We have passed on these comments to management to ensure that the staff is brief on proper customer care. Thank you again for visiting and we hope this experience will not deter you too much and you will come back again so that we can make it right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    581
    732
    594
    245
    163
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A great bar with an awesome beach!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

We went to Margaritaville in May as part of a trip to take a boat on a sunset cruise. We didnt have a lot of time here but enough time for a couple of drinks and enjoy the scenery. The beach connected to it has super nice sand and they have this cool bounce thing out in the middle of the water.The drinks were amazing and the service was great. I cant say anything about the food as we did not eat here. If going to Negril I would definitely recommend going here as its just one of those things you have to see when your there.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dina426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MvilleCarib, Social Media Coordinator at Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for stopping by! Great drinks and awesome vibes are just two of the things that make us the choice chill out spot in Negril. It’s also good to hear that you chose to come and have a great time with us as well as enjoy our beverage offerings. Please do not hesitate to stop by again when next you’re in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Homosassa Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“overpriced tourist trap”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Ordered two fish sandwiches and two margaritas $52.00. Left still hungry .
IT WAS A TOTAL WASTE OF MONEY

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lonnie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We went there for the margaritas...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

My husband and I went to Margaritaville in Negril for the margaritas. The service was ok, not super-friendly, but ok. Disappointed in the margaritas. Obviously from a mix, but too sweet and definately for the masses. We have travelled to many caribbean islands and this was by far the worst margarita we have had. We get better ones a our local mexican restaurant in the states.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tunkylala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston, ma.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“tourist trap”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

i stayed on negril beach for 3 weeks and walked by this tourist trap many times. always loads of people there because they are bused in from mo bay and ochi. i actually went to the souvenir shop to buy a flag, but it was way overpriced. i saw the same flag on amazon for short change. i was dying for a cheeseburger in paradise, so i went for it. just ok.
the waitresses are not friendly and look overworked. i would suggest whoever takes a day trip there, they should walk right through the open air restaurant, and onto the beach and walk to the right or left, where there is a much better vibe of what negril is all about. also they have indoor/outdoor seating, but i am not crazy about sitting in the sand.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EKFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MvilleCarib, Social Media Coordinator at Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
We apologize for the sub-par service you experienced when you came to visit us. Your comments make it apparent that we failed to deliver on our promise of great food and great service to each and every patron that visits us. We have taken your comments very seriously, and will revisit our training methods to ensure that there is not a repeat of this ill experience. Thank you for visiting, and we hope that you will consider us as a dining option whenever you’re in Jamaica again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville also viewed

Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 

Been to Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing