We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A no-brainer!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Judy House Cottages and Rooms
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We heard about Judy House online and looking at the pictures it intrigued us. We went not knowing much about it, other than it being very reasonably priced. When we got there we were blown away by how beautiful it was: the whole place is a garden with small rooms, cottages and hammocks dotted throughout. It is a little oasis of calm in the hustle and bustle of Negril! It's wonderful to wake up to the sounds of nature instead of cars. Sue, who owns and runs the hostel, is very accommodating and welcoming. This is by far the best place to stay in Negril if you want a more real, less touristy, atmosphere. We cannot wait to go back again, and next time we will rent out one of the cottages which have a small kitchen etc; we looked around one of them and they were super cute! Thank you Sue!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judyhousesue, Owner at Judy House Cottages and Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

So looking forward to you coming back and enjoying one of the cottages. Glad you enjoyed your stay here away from the tourist hustle and waking up to the beautiful nature here. Thanks so much for taking the time to write your review, see you both again! One Love x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (448)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 448 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2014

I stayed at Judy's house for 5 days in April. It was a fantastic experience for what I wanted!
The property is safe, friendly and has lush gardens. Sue has created a very unique and beauotful home to share with others. It was easy to meet fellow backpackers and find stuff to do.
The people of Negril were so friendly and outgoing so it is easy to meet locals and be inlcuded in some of the local celebrations and festivities.
Sue and Ms.H were very hospitable and friendly. I would definitely recommend this place for the solo traveller or for friends/couples travelling and want an adventure. It has very basic accomodations and is very environemntally friendly so as long as you aren't looking for a resort type vacation, you will be very pleased here and will learn a lot.

Thanks sue and ms.H!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bellacott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judyhousesue, Owner at Judy House Cottages and Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

So glad you had a fantastic experience here. I love the comments you made. It is just what I set out to do when I began the Judy House Cottages & Backpacker Hostel. Feedback that the 'local' feel to the place works is just great. Jamaica is without doubt a beautiful country where I plan to spend the rest of my life. The mixture of living in a wonderful, friendly community, plus have visitors from all over the world here is fantastic. As you learn about Jamaica, I learn lots about other places in the world through stories that you all tell and looking at your photos.
Yes the Judy House is a very unique and beautiful 'home' to share with others, plus easy to meet other travelers and find stuff to do together. Local people love it when you join is with their stuff, or go to the church on the hill. Miss H and all my staff very much contribute to the uniqueness here there own personalities and the excellent way they deliver their responsibilities. Thanks for taking the time to write this for us. One Love x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I really loved Judy House from the very first moment! It's like a wonderful garden with a lot of little different rooms. It looks just beautiful and Zue the owner is lovely! She has trust in every person and is really friendly and helpful. Next time I will be in Negril I will definitely stay there again. Thanks Zue for the great time! One Love <3 Christina

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina9590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judyhousesue, Owner at Judy House Cottages and Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thanks so much for your lively review and taking the time to write it. Very please your time here so much, hope to see you back again one day. One Love x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We decided to stay in Judy-House (Cottage) because we saw it in www.taucher.net by a dive operator.
He recommended to stay there. So we did (11 nights end of April in 2014).
Sue is a very nice Lady, the atmosphere there is great, the garden is a paradise for colibris (hummingbird)and us.
OK, there are a lot of noises (all natural treefrogs and birds), but thats nature.
We had contact to the neighbours as well, so friendly and nice people. No criminals at all. Its a very friendly area, close to the church and a little shop.
We enjoyed every day and we truly like this place and more of that, Sue.
She made an uprade and gave us the KIMS-Place, a huge cottage for 2.
We hadnt any probs during this stay. Breakfast between the green, wonderfull.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mirango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judyhousesue, Owner at Judy House Cottages and Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Great you got the Marine Life Diver's School recommendation and you stayed here. Its a great location for the Negril Dive schools and we do get divers staying here a lot. I love that you enjoyed the place so much, especially the little things, like the tree frogs and the many birds we have here, including lots of Humming birds. I very much enjoyed meeting you both and spending time with you. Garth, our driver also had fun showing around this beautiful island paradise. Thanks for taking the time to review me, means a lot. Hope to see you both back again one day. One Love xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I stayed one night at Judy's House and 2 days in Negril. It's a bit off the road but still in a walking distance from all the major attractions in Negril (beach, Rick's Café). Really good setting and nice atmosphere. The room has a fan but has no plugs so the electronics have to be charged on the common area witch can be a little inconvenient. As a solo traveler it was great because there's other people on the same situation and it's easy to find company to talk to and even to go out - hostel like atmosphere. The owner is ready to help and give indications. I definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adecoroso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judyhousesue, Owner at Judy House Cottages and Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thanks for taking the time to review me, even after such a short stay, that is wonderful. "Off the road" is what the Judy House does best, so people get to experience the 'real' Jamaica in a cultural, Jamaican, local community. Everything is a beautiful walk or a short, local route taxi ride away. We provide a very good wireless service which is not everywhere as we provide a natural experience where there are some spaces you can't invade with technology! If you find the communal charging point inconvenient I always offer my house too. Hope to see you back again one day for a longer stay. One Love x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Me and my 17 year old daughter stayed at Judy House, in the 2 bed hostel for 11 nights. We loved the whole atmosphere at the property. The gardens are beautiful and well thought out, The grounds are secure, with night security, and a locked front gate. Because we were travelling with just us girls, the security of the property was of utmost importance. The shared bathrooms and the outdoor kitchens were clean, and everything was there that you may need(dishes, pots, pans, tea kettle, ect). The hostel was very comfortable, and was perfect for what you will need in a space, comfortable beds, a safe, and space to store your luggage. Sue and her staff are very friendly, and are available for anything you might need. This beautiful property is just a short walk to the public beach and the main road in Negril. The setting of the property is in a neighborhood, thus giving you feel of being with family and friends. We could not have chosen a better place to spend our time in Negril. Sue is a wonderful host and takes much pride in her place, and it shows in the way the property is kept up. Would recommend to anyone who is looking for a safe, beautiful, affordable spot in Negril.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judyhousesue, Owner at Judy House Cottages and Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thanks for your fantastic, descriptive review and for being such wonderful guests. Having you and your beautiful daughter around was so much fun. Your recommendations throughout the review are just great and correct too. Makes all the work we do worthwhile when the place works for people from all walks of life, including mums & daughters! One Love xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I stayed at the Judy House for 3 nights in the hammock huts. They had a locker with key to store my belongings and I made full use of the communal kitchen equipped with stove, tea kettle, toaster, blender, and fridge with some free condiments. The bathrooms were quite clean and so was the kitchen and lounge areas. Suz was very helpful and even gave me a lift to a few places I wanted to go to. The other women working there were also very friendly and helpful. The hostel is just a few minutes walk away from the 7 mile beach and the main road with the supermarket and restaurants. Its very safe. Gate is always locked so you get your own key. Its the most affordable place to stay in the area as well and i recommend it to anyone traveling on a budget, its a great value!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SativaStudioCafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judyhousesue, Owner at Judy House Cottages and Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

It was great to have you here from Ecuador, to learn about the country and your business there, which sounds wonderful. So happy that you enjoyed your stay here and took the time to write your really comprehensive review. I think you were one of the first guests to use the hammock cabanas, so good to hear you enjoyed the experience. Hope to see you back again one day. Good luck with your business too. Thanks again. One Love x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.8 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
2.2 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#1 of 80 in Negril
243 reviews
1.1 mi away
Samsara Cliffs Resort
Samsara Cliffs Resort
#30 of 80 in Negril
1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Tensing Pen Resort
Tensing Pen Resort
#4 of 80 in Negril
860 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#17 of 80 in Negril
663 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Judy House Cottages and Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Judy House Cottages and Rooms

Address: Westland Mountain Road, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 51 Speciality Lodging in Negril
Price Range: £21 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Judy House Cottages and Rooms 1.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Judy House Cottages property began life in December 2008 and finished construction in 2012. At the front of property 2 pretty, cosy, private, self-catering cottages are surrounded by the most beautiful tropical garden, with flowers, fruits & vegetables in abundance. The cosy, wooden cottages have verandas, private patios, hammocks, safes, cable TV, wifi, kitchen equipment and everything you should need to make your cottage your home whilst in Jamaica! Property is kept in pristine condition, including the communal patio, dip pool, bar-b-que, sun deck, rock garden, outdoor baths & shower. Nestling at the back of the secure property is my Backpacker Hostel, 8 bed, 5 basic rooms sharing kitchens, bathrooms & communal areas for world travelers and cottage guests alike. Added recently is a double private room with ensuite and private garden, plus 2 hammock cabanas where you can rent hammocks to sleep in. There is free WiFi for all too. A small, well stocked 'Honesty' bar/shop is provided for guests 24/7's to enjoy drinks & snacks for when you just want to hang out on property which has lots spaces designed for just that. Set in a real local, friendly community giving you the chance to experience the real Jamaica, with shops & bar close by and Mary's Bay Beach on the One Love Drive right at the end of my road. Quiet, with a real country feel, but with all the beach, restaurants, bars and other tourist facilities just a walk away. Sue can also organize airport shuttles, tours, scooter rentals and is a very valuable tourist information resource herself too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Judy House Cottages and Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Judy House Cottages Hotel Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing