We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“what is going on?” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Vendome

Le Vendome
Ranked #69 of 195 Restaurants in Negril
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
northbrook il
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“what is going on?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

how can this place be so low on the list? Its a great place, with a well trained staff fresh food jazz on thurs nite folk on sat nite take my word for it I have been there 6 times over the last 2 stays in Negril its worth a stop for a great meal

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank elliot m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    28
    6
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ventnor City
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Our favorite place to eat on our trip.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

The food was always fresh and prepared with a French/Jamaican flair. We like the appetizers served at the bar too. Breakfast was always good and hot, even with room service. They have an onsite bakery that makes fresh croissants in the morning. Excellent!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A gem on the beach. Views, warm staff,and great food you won't forget. ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

We come back to the Charela year after year for over 20 years and it never amazes us how wonderful the restaurant is. Food. Always fresh and always full of layers of flavors and aromas. The chef expertly mixes french with Jamaican and I am never disappointed. The first night it was pork Caribbean which has so many delicious flavors I was in love.

Other nights we had a simple grilled fish which was perfectly prepared. The shrimp in garlic sauce was sublime. Not very hungry I tried the chicken. Everyone in Jamaica cooks a mean chicken but theirs was juicy and delicious.

And don't start me on desserts. I have been in love with their chocolate cake forever. You won't find better anywhere. Top it off with homemade caramel or rum raisin or chocolate ice cream and you will never go to another restaurant.

And if you are lucky enough to be here for an entertainment night the beautiful, warm, professional waitresses are great dancers as well.

For those who say the service is slow. Bah! Do you want institutional buffets in the all inclusive hotels or food cooked just for you? I know what I always pick. Le Vendome.

Helpful?
1 Thank Crestgang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
144 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Great food, patience required”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

The food at Le Vendome is some of the best on the beach. The restaurant is located in the Charela Inn located in the middle of 7 Mile Beach. It is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner and is mainly frequented by hotel guests on an all inclusive meal plan. These guests have reserved tables in the best areas of the restaurant, but if you call ahead and ask, the waitstaff will do what they can to get you a nice table. Dinner is really where the team of Chef Dennis and his crew excel. There is a 4-course prix fixe every night which ranges in price from $32 - $60 and includes a soup, appetizer, main course and dessert. There are always 2 options for the entrée. The restaurant does most of their baking onsite and is both French and Jamaican-inspired. Particularly good are all the seafood options as well as cheese soufflés! This is a great place for a romantic meal, but it is not a place if you are in a hurry. Service is friendly and leisurely. Make sure to have a good conversation partner, a good bottle of wine and an appetite and you'll leave happy!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank sailorgirlmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great French inspired restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

We've been dining at Le Vendome (Charela Inn) for many, many years and always end up there 3 or more times during each of our stays. This restaurant has a French inspired menu and wine list and is the only place I will order beef in Negril. The staff is absolutely amazing! If you're lucky enough to get Nicola as your waitress you will have an experience 2nd to none. She is simply a riot but also very good at her job. All the ladies have become our friends and greet us like we're family. Love Le Vendome for quality, taste, selection and price.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank SweetJamaicaTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Vendome also viewed

Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 

Been to Le Vendome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing