We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfied with our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Negril Tree House Resort
Ranked #12 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2011

We spent a week at Negril Tree House and this was our first visit to Jamaica. We had a a great time, the location on the beach is wonderful, have no idea why anyone would complain that the beach near the hotel is narrow or whatever as you can walk along the beach and find another spot. The beach is lined with other hotels and bars so you can move about as you wish and always be near to amenities.

The breakfast was really great, there was callaloo and fried dumplings served with a different meat dish every day eg ackee and saltfish, brown chicken stew, porridge type dish flavoured with cinnamon & sugar, banana bread, fruits, cereals, egg station, toast, very good strong coffee and orange juice, They refilled the juice and coffee regularly. The view from the breakfast restaurant was lovely first thing in the morning when the sea was very calm. We didn't eat any other meals at the hotel as it was quite expensive.

We booked a garden view room and had expected some noise based on other reviews,and true enough some evenings it was rather noisy but mostly from loud speaking guests from North America & road noise. One night guests left early so the luggage cart woke us up and another night people came back in the early hours but at the end of the day it was a minor annoyance. Negril is not exactly a quiet place anyway. The housekeeper Joy was a lovely lady and kept our room clean every day, with fresh towels daily and change of bed linen every other day. the bathroom was clean and hot water was plentiful, the shower and wc worked, there was a safe and a nice bed (although the bed linen was a little thin and the pillows lumpy) & TV.

It is true that some of the beach chairs are broken and that people reserve the chairs and vanish for the rest of the day but that happens all over. We'd recommend Negril Tree house for a budget holiday.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fru_sorteravn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,384)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,212 - 1,218 of 1,384 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2011

My husband and I spent a month at the Negril Treehouse from mid January to mid February. We love this ocean front hotel with it's local flavor and being right in the middle of everything!! The hotel staff is wonderful and it's like coming home each time we come back!! If you have any problems, just gobtalkbto Charmaine and she will take care of it!! We love all the staff and the grounds peoe, Hilgon and Molley. And Zaffire is so nice and great to go snorkeling with. Can't wait to go back to Treehouse!

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ormangoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2011

From the moment of arrival where the attentive porter took my bag at transport and guided me to the front desk, to the time of checking in with the engaging and more than efficient clerk, a miraculous week begins. Walking through beautiful flowered gardens, one recognizes a certain quaintness at seeing two-story cottages sprinkled throughout a carefully manicured landscape. Peering above the graceful greenery are conical imbrex-tile rooftops that compliment quiet natural surroundings. Wrap-around porches furnished with table and chairs provide a private setting, great for sitting out in quiet moments while reading the paper and drinking a beverage. Or, would you like to take a restful swing on an authentic rope hammock which is also there for relaxation? Stepping into the room, there is a moment of assurance in seeing the immaculate setting. Inside brings further awe when stepping upon the highly polished ceramic tiled flooring. One feels special noting the nice central room furnishings. Interestingly, even the bathroom proves to be an attraction with its sparkling clean caretaking. Did I mention the spacious showers with endless hot water? Of course, the air conditioned room is fitted with cable television that has free movie channels. Beyond the more than suitable accommodations, we find so much to do. A pristine shoreline - midway along Seven Mile Beach - features water sports of every type. Friendly capable young lifeguards will assist in the adventure of jet skiing, glass bottom boat tours and even para-sailing. Additionally, there are snorkeling and scuba diving at the one-mile coral reef to choose from. Oh, let’s not forget swimming in water so clear that one can see to the sandy bottom at all times. A dutiful beachcomber sweeps and grooms the white sands each morning, and a full-time seasoned security watches over the beachfront from dawn until night. There are free chaise lounges, chairs and complimentary beach towels in abundance. If salt water is not for you, then the elevated swimming pool with circular Jacuzzi should satisfy completely. Also on the waterfront is the carousel shaped bar and restaurant. Here, one may order a beverage, lunch or dinner while viewing the marvelous blue Caribbean Sea. The covered, open-air facility plays an intriguing blend of reggae, r&b soul, and dance-hall via FX satellite radio. And, for the more exotic diners, there is an interesting charcoal fire center where jerk chicken is prepared daily by a welcoming and entertaining Jamaican chef. The premises include a gift shop and boutique with wonderfully friendly salespersons where items unique to the island can be procured. The central lobby is incredibly spacious and outfitted with comfortable couches and little round tables to place laptops on. There is free high-speed wireless internet both here and on the upper deck. One will encounter guests from every continent in an environment especially conducive to meeting others. On the level above, full breakfast is served each morning. The range of cuisine covers traditional American to authentic Jamaican. You will be more than pleased with the panoramic ocean view from the breakfast deck. When thinking about venturing outside the well appointed complex, a knowledgeable and reliable on-site taxi service is always available. The transportation – suitable to each specific need - includes cab, van, truck and even golf cart if desired. Every destination – local, downtown, tour spots and airport - is offered at a reasonable fare. More than any characteristic at the hotel is the staff of Negril Tree House Resort. Truly, each individual - from the gardeners, kitchen workers and housekeepers, to the desk attendants, restaurant waiters, busing persons and bar tenders - proves to be equally friendly, open, welcoming and helpful. My one-week stay at the hotel is the best of my entire year. I recommend the Negril Tree House Resort totally and enthusiastically.
Detroit Visitor

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DetroitGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2011

Stayed in room # 2 ,it's the hallway for employees to hangout and a walk thur. always nisise going on can't sleep . The food is terrible ,mostly the morning ,but the evening mean really is not any better and it's very over priced . The Jerk chicken shack is descent and should be given the chance if , it's your first trip to Jamaica .

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Kim37625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gailnegril, Manager at Negril Tree House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2011

Thank you for your time to comments. I would have moved your room if you requested your dissatisfaction with the unit that you were in. Many guests have loved the location. My sincere apologies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2011

OK my girlfriend and I stayed 3 nights at the Tree house in Negril. As some others have said the front desk staff can seem very unfriendly at times, I don't know if it's a Jamaican thing. We were shown our room after waiting about half an hour for its preparation. I do like the fact that there are swings outside the rooms along with deck chairs and a small table. The room was somewhat small and TV was just not playing correctly, I'm a patient person as long as things are not really bad and we didn't make a big deal of it since we hardly planned on staying in the room.

The sheets on the bed appeared to be really old and had holes in it also after a day we realized the toilet would not flush properly. The front desk decided to move us into another room which was much better and larger . The food at their beach restaurant and bar is good and the jerk chicken is awesome even though it is only on the lunch menu. The drinks were good but as another poster said beach chairs leave alot to be desired and are hard to come by if your not quick. After staying in Rooms on the Beach for 2 nights I had another hotel to compare this one to so i can say it may not be the best in its class but it does make up with things such as the breakfast that's served until about 10 am. Another great thing is that they have a cab service right in the lobby with prices on display to various areas, the prices are only about $1 higher than the cabs on the street.

I must say to all those traveling to get shuttle service before you even get to the island, I paid $60 for a roundtrip service to the airport and on the way to the hotel we were the only ones in the van and shared a ride with 1 family on the way home.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B1ggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2011

As a travel professional and avid leisure traveler, I have stayed in (no) to four star properties and having stayed multiple times at Negril Tree House it has always been a delight from: the food, to the rooms, to the beach (appropriately relative to the size of the establishment), to the staff.

I am particularly impressed with the recognition as a returning guest and how I am greeted upon check in. I have arrived early and on occasion when my flight has been delayed, late. Always a smile and, "...we've been waiting for you"! Such a nice feeling to know that I made as good of an impression on the staff as they did on me.

My room has always been in order, and if something was not (not usual), it was promptly attended to without delay or question.

Negril Tree House is a "hidden gem" which through word of mouth has made it a "gotta come back" for many and for those who will share it with only their best of friends to keep it amongst those who can really appreciate it's charm and value, on multiple levels.

The worst thing I can say about, Negril Tree House is that when it comes time to leave, I never want to go home.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lovetotravelanddo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2011

What a fantastic place to stay. Everyone on staff is friendly and helpful. We had a "garden view" room but it was steps away from the beach so it didn't matter much. Restaurant/bar is about as close to the ocean as you can get, and if you want to branch out there are a number of other good restaurants within walking distance on the beach. Not that you'll need to, because the food was pretty spectacular. Breakfast every morning was also pretty great - and they serve that famous Blue Mountain coffee (which you will need to bring at least 2 pounds of back with you, since it runs $50-$60 a pound in the US).

Jerk pit on the premises was probably one of the best meals we had while staying in Negril.

Be sure to check out the water sports - the guys are pretty cool and we had a great time snorkeling!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeNYC13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
2.5 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#18 of 80 in Negril
669 reviews
2.9 mi away
Samsara Cliffs Resort
Samsara Cliffs Resort
#31 of 80 in Negril
1,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
CocoLaPalm Resort
CocoLaPalm Resort
#9 of 80 in Negril
1,165 reviews
1.4 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
3.9 mi away
Catcha Falling Star
Catcha Falling Star
#5 of 80 in Negril
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Negril Tree House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Negril Tree House Resort

Address: Norman Manley Boulevard | PO Box 29, Negril, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Negril
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#17 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range: £104 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Negril Tree House Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Laid-back family friendly property. Fabulous breakfast is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Negril Tree House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Negril Tree House Hotel Negril
Negril Tree Hotel
Negril Tree Resort
Negril Tree House Resort Jamaica
Jamaica Tree House Resort
Negril Tree House Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing