We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third time visit”
Review of Couples Swept Away

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Couples Swept Away
Ranked #14 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Third time visit”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Our third visit to this wonderful resort from Dec 8-18th , in three years.

I will keep my review as brief as possible, if you need more information don't hesitate to call.

Upon arrival we went to the Couple's holding tank, LOL and enjoyed a couple of Red Stripe. Staff was very friendly there. The wait for transfer to the hotel was much to long, an hour wait. There were plenty of people and eventually sent two buses because of the numbers. We should have left within the half hour.

Check in was the usual experience, maybe improved somewhat. Room was ready for us. However, we were put on the second floor of the beachfront suites. We had requested a ground floor room. We decided to just go with the flow and accept the room. We will not do this next time, we booked this room over a year ago and there is no reason for t his to happen. Couples, you need to fix this!.
The room itself was the usual except they had redone the bathroom. Which was done nicely, they replaced the tub/shower unit with a large shower. While the shower looked great and operated fine the drainage of water was a disaster. The drain could not handle the flow of water and thus the water would flow all over the bathroom! We got several towels to keep the water contained , it became a little joke for us. Talking to others , the same problem was occurring in the other rooms so obviously whoever built this new shower screwed up. This needs to be fixed Couples.

Food was fantastic as always. We commented everyday how wonderful it was. I do not know how some people can come on trip advisor and complain about it. We have travelled to numerous islands and resorts , no one has come close to Couples.

Beach was again fantastic, we love the sand and water! No where better have we been. It is quite a game we witnessed while people try to get the huts on the beach, unless you want to get up at 5 am and sit out there forget getting one. However, there are plenty of chairs and places to have shade if needed.

Staff - Everyone in this resort, EXCEPT FOR THE BEACH BAR , were so friendly and willing to do whatever it took to welcome us and help us with anything.
THREE STAFF WERE EXCEPTIONAL - A trainee named Richard ALSO had a huge smile on his face, talked with us, and served us like we were royalty! He is a keeper Couples management. Shawayne Grant was also excellent. Fraser in the Patios Bar was hilarious, friendly and makes great drinks. The Beach Bar staff could learn a lot from him! The Beach bar very rarely had a smile on their face, one girl there gave the impression she did not want to be there, she should be relieved of her duties there.

Overall, except of the above listed issues our visit was excellent and we will go back. This shows you how even with the items I brought out the place is lovely.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Couples Swept A... M, Manager at Couples Swept Away, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Ian, thank you for your candid comments and for your repeat business which is due in large part to the exceptional service of our staff exemplified by Shawayne, Fraser and Richard. Our Managers in Food and Beverage have been made aware of your experience overall and with the Beach Bar in particular so deficiencies can be addressed. We are sorry that you had challenges with the drain however our engineering team is presently correcting this problem and this should be completed any time now.
Finally I must point out that in any resort rooms are not allocated when booked but actually closer to the time of arrival and in properties like ours that have varying room types and several buildings our first priority is to keep you within your room type and then see what is available as per your request. Looking forward to welcoming you again next year.
David Ebanks
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,249
    1,259
    386
    185
    92
See reviews for
103
4,029
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,438)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Stayed Nov. 30 - Dec. 7. Got married there, had a couple (newbies) travel with us and our sons stayed at another nearby resort that was more age appropriate for them.

What can I say, it was everything we could have hoped and dreamed of! The resort room, food, entertainment and setting were all fantastic.

Had a couple of issues with our friends room at check-in and our bathroom backing up (3x) especially on our wedding night which wasn't fun - but David Ebanks the Operation Manager was right on top of things to make sure that we were satisfied.

Priscilla the wedding coordinator did a wonderful job, and Carlene in the salon did a fantastic job on my hair - she paid attention to the details, which I appreciated.

We did the pub crawl, catamaran ride, trading places and our own trip to the west end to visit some favorite spots (this is my 10th trip to Jamaica).

We held our wedding reception at Lemongrass, even though Feathers had been pre-booked for us, but I wanted to be in an outdoor type feeling (after all I am in Jamaica). Feathers food is better, but I didn't care for the no atmosphere of a closed in room. All went well with our wedding/reception, everything we dreamed of.

This was a bit of a splurge for us, but was definitely money well spent. Hope to be back to CSA again!

Room Tip: The premium beach front rooms looked awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank obayb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We traveled this past summer to a friend's wedding and stayed at this resort. I have always been skeptical of all-inclusive anything, but I really enjoyed my stay here. Great beach location. We utilized the resort dive boat to go scuba diving on three of the days we were there - the staff went above and beyond to make sure everything was great. I would say that the only negative thing is that it's a decent shuttle ride from the airport & it felt somewhat sketch once you left the beach part of the resort.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gte071u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaconsfield, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Just came back last night from an amazing week at Couples Swept Away. The beach is by far the best; the food is very good; the intertainment is excellent, not cheezy at all. The service and friendlyness of the staff is of high standard. There is no pretention at this resort. It is very lush and although the resort is a little older it is well kept and clean and still very beautiful... The beds were very comfortable. It's true that the rooms near the road are a little noisier but the positives outway the negatives by far. We are looking forward to going back next year.

Room Tip: If you can, get a room closer to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michelle f f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

This resort is wonderful! Everyone is really relaxed and friendly. We stayed 10 days in an Oceanview Veranda Suite on the 3rd floor, which was excellent. I think our room had recently been renovated, as our bathroom was exquisite with new tile and a big glass shower. There were french doors leading out to a huge veranda and beautiful ocean view - it was to die for!! Also it felt very private which was excellent. I would recommend the Oceanview suites, as these are close to the beach at the south end of the resort close to the Great House where some of the bars and restaurants are, including our favortie restaurant - Patois.

Negril was amazing, I would highly recommend coming to this end of the island. It is a short 15 minute ride into Negril proper and the famous cliffs. There are lots of bars and restaurants along the cliffs which are so cool to explore. A great way to see everything is to go on the 'One Love Pub Crawl' which we did and it was the highlight of our trip!

We also hired a driver from the resort one day to take us shopping in Negril and to see a few attractions. His name was Happy and we would highly recommend his services. Just ask for him at the front gate or accross the street in the parking lot by the gym.

Speaking of gym, the fitness facility was amazing! You should definitely check out the spa, pool, and gym which are just across the street from the resort. The security guard (probably Rolston) will see you safely accross the road. The grounds are beautiful and the gym looks to be well equiped. We didn't workout but we had massages at the spa which was wonderful! Ask for Cherry, she was so nice.

So all in all this was a wonderful honeymoon, I'm so glad we picked CSA!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeachSmilesForAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollis, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We recently stayed at Couples Swept Away at the end of November beginning of December for our wedding and honeymoon. I can not begin to say how much we enjoyed our time there. From the time you check in and get some champagne and a cold towel from the time we checked out everything was great! We stayed in the Atrium Suite and we loved it! I loved waking up and laying on the hammock every morning. The lighting at night is a bit dim but it really didn't bother us much. We stayed on the second floor which we liked but as a heads up the bathroom is rather open and not fully enclosed so if you are in need of a bit more privacy I wouldn't suggest it. Our fridge was always stocked with drinks both alcohol and not and everything was kept clean. My parents stayed in the beachfront verandah suites and they offered fantastic views since they were on the third floor if your a view type of person.
The beach was great one of the nicest!
The food was really good. I loved Lemongrass. The ambiance was very romantic and the food was very good! Feathers was nice and the food again good! Our server Orrin was an absolute delight! Patois was good for breakfast, lunch and dinner! Pizzas there were very tasty. Seagrapes I loved for lunch! The Palms was the buffet and was good as we ate breakfast, lunch and dinner there. The Cabana grill was good for late night snacks or lunch. Overall there were plenty of options for us and we could not complain.
The drinks were good and the bartenders were always trying to make you happy and find something you would like! The guys at the Martini Bar were great and I don't even like Martinis and I had a few they were so good! Have to try the juices and smoothies over at the sports complex as they area nice break from alcoholic drinks!
For the entertainment you have to catch the Silver Birds on Wednesday at the Palms, what a show that is!! We also enjoyed the late night music at Aura and we never made it to see the piano playing unfortunately. The catamaran is a must do. Nice ride and it's nice to see all the hotels and spots along the beach and cliffs. Sunset is gorgeous and it's a good time with drinks and music! We did a sailing lesson which was nice even though not a great day for sailing.
Since it was our honeymoon we did the 25 minute massage which was great and I wish we would have upgraded for longer! Georgette at the salon did my hair and makeup for the wedding and she really took her time and everything came out great! Priscilla was our wedding coordinator and she took care of everything for the ceremony. It was so easy and laid back I highly suggest it! We did not have our reception there because our 2 sons were with us staying close by with family, but they were allowed at the ceremony with no problem.
The staff were truly amazing and everyone was great that we encountered!! Security, housekeeping, front desk, servers, bartenders, watersports...everyone!! They truly made the trip what it was and make Couples Swept Away the magical place it is. We loved the laid back, beachy and romantic feel of the resort. It is spread out which was nice because it never felt crowded once. There's plenty to do, see, eat and drink that we will have to return for more.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

This was our second visit... unbelievable staff and service, beautiful location, top not beach, unbelievable activities...you can't even begin to take in everything. The food is five star, and served beautifully, great variety of restaurants, the bar service and drinks are super. We are already planning for the next trip... thanks for another wonderful vacation. Sue and Pete Robertson

Room Tip: Apparently Trans At now has direct service... Air Canada and West Jet usually have you go thru Toron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grizwold12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
2.8 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
2.2 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#8 of 80 in Negril
4,274 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#7 of 80 in Negril
2,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hedonism II
Hedonism II
#16 of 80 in Negril
2,220 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
83.7 mi away
Couples Sans Souci
Couples Sans Souci
#4 of 35 in Ocho Rios
3,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couples Swept Away? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Swept Away

Property: Couples Swept Away
Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#10 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#14 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Couples Swept Away 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immediately upon entering Couples Swept Away, you realize that you have arrived in paradise. Exotic flowers bloom amidst acres of green—on seven miles of the purest white sand beach in Negril, Jamaica. Dotted among the tropical gardens—open-air cafes, small pool enclaves and fresh fruit oases are yours to discover. Never crowded or hurried, the resort offers an intimate tranquility and when desired, total seclusion. All rooms embrace a quiet elegance with island cedar furnishings and pure white linens. Plantation shutters open onto private verandahs with views of gardens and azure sea. Breezy open-air restaurants engage candle-lit lanterns and billowing white curtains to strike a romantic note. While the pristine 10-acre sports complex encompasses every imaginable activity, the superb spa serves as a haven of relaxation. Couples Swept Away simply captures your heart and soothes your soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Destinology, Holiday Gems, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Couples Swept Away reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Swept Away Negril
Couples Swept Away Hotel Negril
Jamaica Couples Swept Away
Swept Away Resort
Negril Couples Swept Away
Swept Away Negril
Couples Swept Away Jamaica
Couples Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing