We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Swept away”
Review of Couples Swept Away

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Couples Swept Away
Ranked #14 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Spotsylvania, Virginia
Level Contributor
175 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Swept away”
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I decided to get away from the snow. What a great escape it was. This is a great resort, no need to leave the resort. Dive staff are AWESOME, the restaurant staff however need to learn a tip from them. There attitude had a lot to be desired. One particular night I had to ask every time I needed my water glass refilled. Not acceptable . Food was great, drinks however also good, but each bar served the same cocktail differently. Overall however a very nice get away, well worth it. Also shop girls very cheerful.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GlbalTrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,252
    1,259
    387
    185
    92
See reviews for
103
4,033
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,439)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Catharines, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

The physical landscape of Negril - the crystal clear blue waters, sandy beaches, incredible sunset - is the perfect setting for this escape. My partner and I enjoyed this holiday destination. Our room had a beautiful view of the ocean, the food in superb, there were an abundance of water sports available, staff was very friendly, and we met many other vacationers from around the globe.

If I were to have a negative comment, it would be that our room was too close to the Psalms Restaurant, so there was always noise from music, restaurant goers and staff preparation 24-7, etc. I would book here again, but now that we have been to this resort I would request an oceanfront room further along the beach away from the restaurant.

Room Tip: If you are interested in an ocean front room, ensure that is is not beside one of the restaurants an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton, California
Level Contributor
142 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We returned on Sunday and let me tell you… This was our best vacation ever! We had an oceanfront veranda room and we were steps away from the beach. Beautiful sunsets from our patio on a daily basis. The rooms have a rustic Jamaican beachy feel that is perfect for this beach experience. The view from the room was amazing! We had room 3122 and it is right off the beach near the beach wedding gazebo. Great location in the center of the resort. Breakfast of rolls and fruit delivered every morning was awesome.

The food: We didn’t have a bad meal the entire week. Our favorite place ended up being Patois and we would always end up there. We went to Feathers one night and had an amazing meal but we loved the atmosphere at Patois. Lemongrass was decent but we had a late meal and the evening entertainment was too loud for us to have a conversation. Seagrapes is great and the grilled fish is great on their sandwiches and tacos. The grill has awesome Jerk!

The people: Everyone was fantastic! Everyone we ran into offered a smile and a Yamon when we asked for anything. The staff at this resort is amazing and make it such a relaxing vacation. Housekeeping was great and the room was cleaned twice a day! Turn down service was nice to come back to every evening!

Must: You must sign up for snorkeling and the catamaran trips! You just need to sign up one day in advance and can go as many times as you want. The experience is great and the people that run these are awesome. The spa offers amazing services!!!

This vacation lived up to every expectation we had! I was afraid by some of the reviews I saw before I went but this place was awesome! I am so jealous of those with visits in their future! Enjoy your trip! I can't wait to go back!!!

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms are great! wonderful sunsets every night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jennifer k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bismarck, North Dakota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This is our second vacation to a Couples property, but the first to this side of the island. Were at CSA March 22-29th. The beach is perfect, rooms were comfortable, service is excellent, and food was superb. We met David at the Mgrs Party, which was great to get a little history lesson on Couples as well as Jamacia. It was also nice to see Sharon (GM) walking about the property as well as Brian (Water Sports Mgr).

I am also a new diver and found the staff (Anthony and Craig) great to work with on completing some of my certifications.

We will be going back !!!

Room Tip: Beachfront Verandah is the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NDYaMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falls Church, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2014

My husband and I stayed at CSA for our honeymoon in Sept. 2013. We absolutely loved every minute of it. We researched for hours and hours and finally decided that Couples would be the best, and boy were we right. The food is absolutely delicious, and we never had something we didn't enjoy. The buffet breakfast was probably our favorite meal of the day. My husband isn't a morning person, but we'd wake up with the sun in our tropical Atrium Suite and head to breakfast for fresh fruit, mimosas, and so much more. We think the Atrium Suites are the way to go if you love the outdoors. It feels like you are in the rainforest, and afternoon naps on the hammocks were the BEST.

The drinks were on point too. Whether you wanted a sweet cocktail, a beer, shots (yes, even at 11am - try a "Bob Marley") or just a fresh smoothie, everything was amazing and the staff was excellent, as well. They made us laugh all the time and were just so pleasant to be around. Everyone from the waiters/waitresses, bartenders, and housekeeping treated us like good friends. We went to the piano bar almost every night for Karaoke and had a blast. It's a really great activity to meet others in the resort. Our favorite activity, by far, was the Catamaran cruise. It's a MUST! The cruise travels along the coast of Jamaica, while playing fun music and serving drinks. It's a really fun way to see more of the island.

My husband and i just booked another all-inclusive vacation in Mexico for our 1-year anniversary. Honestly, we are concerned that Couples set the bar WAY too high. I really don't think anything can compare. We'll definitely be back to Couples soon!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephcasass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Md
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This was our second visit at a Couples Resort, having visited Couples Negril last year. We had high expectations coming in due to our visit at Couples Negril and for sure Couples Swept Away did not disappoint!
Food was EXCELLENT, Beach was beautiful, and our room was great. You just need to throw away your preconceived notions about buffets as Couples does buffets RIGHT!

We did something a bit different than a standard excursion, we hired a vehicle and a driver for 2 hours and was the BEST idea! Mr. Steve drove us all around the Negril and surrounding area and showed us a great time. Just go to the Excursion Desk and ask for this!

Only "down" side to our trip was that the cardio equipment in the gym was in rough (but still working) shape. We found the same thing last year at the Couples Negril location. We did report this to Couples managment and we hope they will improve things as they advised.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 5209 in the Great House and had a SPECTACULAR view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hydruland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Location for the price cannot be beat. Has to be one of the best beaches in the world. Resort staff mix off very exceptional and run of the mill. Food among the best in the Caribbean. The 2 main dinner areas available for open dining were both great, although the menus didn't change all week. The restaurants that take reservations were both good too, but I felt the Feathers Restaurant was not as good as the Thai restaurant. Tip for first timers take the early seating at the Thai restaurant (6:30) and show up early. First come, first serve and there are only about 8 tables with views of the water. Nice way to eat dinner and watch the sun set.

We stayed in the garden/atrium suite this time. They did not have TV's and are advertised as more quiet/romantic. Surprisingly happy not to have a TV, but our "quiet" suite was about 75 feet from the main dining area where there was loud entertainment each night from 9:15 till about 10:30. Not happy when we requested a quiet room, especially because we were returning guests and we always hear that returning clients were treated well.

Lots of fun, free water sports, with several lessons each day. Learned how to sail a Hobie Cat sailboat and we used the ocean kayaks for a fun trip.

Overall extremely pleased with the trip. Not happy with the room assignment.

Room Tip: Get at least a garden atrium suite. The extra money for this level or the beach level is well worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
2.8 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
2.2 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#8 of 80 in Negril
4,277 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#7 of 80 in Negril
2,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
1.9 mi away
Hedonism II
Hedonism II
#17 of 80 in Negril
2,222 reviews
0.7 mi away
CocoLaPalm Resort
CocoLaPalm Resort
#12 of 80 in Negril
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couples Swept Away? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Swept Away

Property: Couples Swept Away
Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#10 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#14 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Couples Swept Away 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immediately upon entering Couples Swept Away, you realize that you have arrived in paradise. Exotic flowers bloom amidst acres of green—on seven miles of the purest white sand beach in Negril, Jamaica. Dotted among the tropical gardens—open-air cafes, small pool enclaves and fresh fruit oases are yours to discover. Never crowded or hurried, the resort offers an intimate tranquility and when desired, total seclusion. All rooms embrace a quiet elegance with island cedar furnishings and pure white linens. Plantation shutters open onto private verandahs with views of gardens and azure sea. Breezy open-air restaurants engage candle-lit lanterns and billowing white curtains to strike a romantic note. While the pristine 10-acre sports complex encompasses every imaginable activity, the superb spa serves as a haven of relaxation. Couples Swept Away simply captures your heart and soothes your soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, Destinology, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Couples Swept Away reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Swept Away Negril
Couples Swept Away Hotel Negril
Jamaica Couples Swept Away
Swept Away Resort
Negril Couples Swept Away
Swept Away Negril
Couples Swept Away Jamaica
Couples Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing