We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Paradise 5 Year Anniversary Trip”
Review of Couples Swept Away

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Couples Swept Away
Ranked #13 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2014

My wife and I wanted to go back to Jamaica for our 5 year anniversary so we called our travel agent Lisa Zwissler with Beach Bum Vacation to book our trip. Lisa recommended Couples Swept Away in Negril and it was an amazing vacation for us. The food was awesome, the drinks were great (you have to try the "Dirty Banana"), and the ocean was amazing. One of my favorite things to do is get in the ocean and this was the prettiest ocean I have ever been in. The water was super clear and very warm. You could get in the water at any time of the day and it was warm and clear. Also, the staff every morning rake up all the seaweed on the beach so you are never bothered with stepping in it or seeing it. When we come back to Jamaica we will definitely be going back only here. This is now our spot in Jamaica. I can't wait to go back. Thank-you Lisa with Beach Bum Vacation for recommending us to go here on our anniversary trip.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
27  Thank Daniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,347)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,809 - 1,815 of 5,347 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed at this resort the first week in July. Robyn Ayers of Dream Makers Vacations was great in helping narrow our choices and planning our trip. She also helped us once we were at the resort in problem-solving an included package the resort didn't initially credit us.

Pros:
Beach: If you're a beach person, this is absolutely a beautiful beach. We're walkers and walked the entire beach both north and south multiple times and this was the very best resort. The beach is crystal smooth sand and continues that way into the ocean, no seaweed (tons North), clear water, and the ocean is a perfect temperature. No sand fleas and comfortable loungers you can use to float in the ocean. Durrant, the beach cleaner, lounge chair arranger, was amazing. He worked continually. We saw someone smoking drop their cigarette butt in the sand and within 5 minutes of the person leaving. Durrant had it picked up. We also saw him working throughout the rain deluge.

Food: We enjoyed all of the specialty restaurants. If you prefer beer that is not Red Stripe, Feathers offers some other choices. We also enjoyed the breakfast and lunch buffets. Service at these was fantastic. We've heard mixed things about the resort service, but we found if we made an effort to smile and engage the servers, they were warm and went out of their way to accommodate us. Special thanks to Annakay, Nicki, Staci-Ann, and Shimma (she was in training and I hope they hire her). She did a fabulous job. The food was great for an all inclusive. When we eat at the special restaurants, we let the servers select our food. We'll try anything, and they always go out of their way to select the best dishes possible.

Room: we had a premium beachfront room, 2136, best room on the resort, and we checked out some others. We had repeaters walk by one day and asked if we enjoyed the room. They'd been to this resort 12 times. We offered to show them the room since they had thought about booking the premium beachfront room but had never actually done so. They were blown away and commented that that's what they would book from now on. Compared to the other rooms we looked at, it was double the size. We were concerned about the privacy since the premium rooms that size are only on the first floor, but we found the porch sits so deeply that it wasn't a problem for us. We loved, loved, loved the porch. A few yards from the beach and yet our own world. To ceiling fans which kept mosquitoes away. It rained heavily only one day we were there in the afternoon, but our porch was deep enough that were able to sit in the porch during a deluge without getting a drop of rain on us and able to enjoy the beauty of the ocean during the storm.
Special shout outs to Adrian for going above and beyond in accommodating our minibar requests and DeAnn in housekeeping for doing a great job.

Management: as I mentioned earlier, there was a miscommunication between the travel agency and the hotel on an included package. Konrad Malcolm, the Operations Manager, went above and beyond to rectify the situation.

Extras: free wi-fi, no problem using from our room or porch; tons of included beach activities; great spa and fitness facility; good beach service

Security: very conscientious; whenever someone interacted with beach vendors, security would move to stand by them just to make sure all was ok; they checked when you left and returned to the property; some people commented they were concerned about walking North; no need for concern; Dr. Love and the vendor behind the beach inlet were funny and totally harmless; we only encountered one aggressive vendor during our walks and we noticed that about 10 minutes after we encountered him, the marine police had removed him and we never saw him again, and even the, he was not physically aggressive, just followed us for a few minutes. A polite no thank you or licklemore (later) is all you need.

Cons: no day or evening room service;

Suggestions: a little more communication between management and front desk; add possible surcharge for other beer choices and same with possible room service

Room Tip: Premium beachfront room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
8  Thank bookreaderKansasCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This was my first time at CSA. Couples did nice job of handling all aspects. They put you up in a small waiting area when you arrive at the airport and give you a free red stripe. That's when you know the vacation for adults is on!

Hour+ later you arrive at the resort and check-in. They take your credit card for incidentals - which could include wine at dinner, spa, night snorkeling, shirt tye dye and an "optional" donation to their charity.

When we got to the room it was nice and clean but the mini-bar wasn't fully stocked. Seems they come once a day. Since we were hungry, we immediately headed for food.

Food at this place is just as you would expect at an all-inclusive - mediocre with a captive audience. The buffet has some good local fruit but it's more like Hometown than Vegas. Coconut water - sorry sold-out. Crab omelette - sorry sold-out (which isn't real crab btw).
There are two restaurants where you need to make reservations - be at the concierge at 8am or expect to eat at some bizarre time. The Feathers restaurant is actually pretty good, but the menu is small, so one night of dining and you have done it all there. Lemongrass is some fake Thai place - with the kind of food one expects at a mall food court. The grill has some good patties that you can take to the beach.

Once you get over the let down of the food, you can be amazed by the beach. Nice and clean, calm waters and plenty of chairs. There is limited shade so get there early if you want a spot.
Beach towels always seemed to be in short supply. I never really minded but the ladies in our group didn't seem impressed.

The bars are nicely scattered and have some decent choices: Appleton Estate, Smirnoff, and Crown Royal, The only thing is you have to ask for them specifically or you get the rail crap.

The swim up pool bar is a bit of misnomer. It's half a bar in a shallow short pool with stools. The view is nice but you can get bar service from you beach chair which has an even nicer view. The pool bar is covered so it's a good place sit out any rain.

The water sports are iffy. The snorkeling is fun but the groups are big and they make you wear a life jacket and stay in a small area. Expect to get kicked in the face. The paddle boards are some giant plastic things and the kayaks are the same. 5 of us wanted to go in the Hobie sailboat. Seems they will sink with more than 4 - unless you tip $5 then it's fine. Our sail took a bit longer than we expected as the rudder kept falling off.

The catamaran had to be the lamest catamaran sail ever. It didn't actually have a mainsail so it was more of a motor boat that putted along the shore. Some people thought it was great but they have obviously never been on a cat that was full sail. Maybe it was booze-cruise aspect as they pour you some rum punch to start the voyage.

They advertise no tipping but that's complete baloney. The server delivering drinks at the beach said "all the good guests tip her $5 when she brings drinks". Bring some small bills to get the best service.

I thought most of the place was clean. The gym was clean, the pools were clean, and the washrooms were clean. The restaurants do leave the bused dishes sitting in a pile right in the middle, but that keeps the birds happy.

The one aspect of the trip I thought was great was the Security. I never thought anyone was going to steal anything, there is a safe in each room, and there are security guards everywhere. One of them said there were 15 during each shift.

All in all, I spent more time on this beach than any other beach. The water was beautiful. Couple that with fact I could walk around at night without a worry and I was able to have a thoroughly relaxing vacation. That in itself makes this a good place to stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms are close to the beach. End to end walking of the resort takes less than 10mins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank bradphx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Everything about this place was awesome. The service, food, room, people, wedding ceremony, photography etc. .. It was my first time going anywhere that was all inclusive. It felt great not having to pull out the wallet for every little thing. Everyone there was so helpful and nice. We spent most of the honeymoon on the beach so we didn't go on the excursions (glass bottom boat tour, trip to margaritaville, shopping tour and sunset catamaran cruise). There are quite a few restaurants to choose from along with a grill and a Cafe and Tiki bars along the beach. We ate at all of them (including the Lemongrass which is a Thai restaurant that you need reservations for) and the food is delicious! Whether you want buffet style or a la carte, it's all wonderful. And because we were getting married there on the beach (so beautiful) we had a complimentary bottle of champagne and couples massages.
The only things that took me by surprise is that the room is not air conditioned (but has one in there) so when we got into our room after waiting for a half hour for it to be ready we were extremely hot and sweaty (you're in tropical weather obviously) and were looking forward in crashing in our no humidity cool room which wasn't happening. BUT you close the slatted windows (which aren't a tight close so there will always be some sort of hot humid air seeping in) and put on the air conditioner and turn on the ceiling fan and you'll be just fine! All the restaurants (with the exception of 2 I believe) are wide opened (no air conditioning). I have to tell you that you get conditioned to the weather and humidity after being exposed to it for a couple of days.
Also be wary of the people walking the beach trying to sell you something. Your Money can be gone within 2 days! They call to you specifically and try to get your attention, especially when you're getting out of the water and walking to your stuff on the beach.
Overall I give this resort an excellent rating and definitely would recommend it to any couple that is looking for a romantic getaway (without having children around or the annoyance of singles hitting on you or your significant other)

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RachRolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The place was beautiful, lots of free excursions. However, the staff was not very friendly. Loved that the place was adults only. Food and beverages were great. Had issues with internet not working and bugs in the rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My husband & I stayed at Couples Swept Away for our honeymoon July 6-14, 2014! I would love to tell you about our experience because I know I researched a lot before choosing this resort.

We are both 25 years old. I would say the resort has all mixed ages from many young honeymoonrs to couples a lot older enjoying their anniversaries! Everyone gets along great and you meet great people there!

BEACH:
OMG! Not one bad thing to say! Crystal clear teal water and beautiful white sand and no seaweed!! Plenty of shade by palm trees! We are beach bums so we are there from morning until sunset!
Only thing is the resort shoud supply more towels, they are not out until lunch time and gone too quick ...

FOOD:
Food was very very good here! Not one bad meal. Usually on islands my stomach is messed up but it was not here for either one of us. Every restraunt was great! Except Palms did not always have great service... The dinner staff there was pretty slow on refilling drinks or even getting our drinks ordered, not as friendly there... Our favorite restraunt was PATIOS! Awesome every time and great staff!

BARS/BARTENDERS:
Good alcohol here, if you want the top shelf such as Goose go to the Martini bar. Beach bars are fun and pool bar was the best because of the staff at that one! Jvanne, Yvade, Johnoy, and Nivina worked there and so energentic and fun every single day! We loved ending our beach day there since we are beach people allllllll day long! Gorgette and Ruel were awesome at the beach bar!! The woman taught me to dance, really fun! All this staff really made the days more fun when you want drinks! Try snake eyes, hummingbird, and dirty bannana drinks! And bob marley shots are sooo strong beware!

There is a bar and nightclub open every night but we are young and even passed out every night around 10 because of being in the sun all day so the beach and day was way more important to us!

ROOMS:
Rooms were tropical feeling which was nice to keep your doors open! We did think they were outdated a little and needed new tiles though. Clean room though! We stayed in the Greathouse which was a good location for us!
Rooms only provided 4 little waterbottles in them each day which was not enough for us so recommend providing more..

WATERSPORTS:
LOTS of watersports included!! Really a plus..makes sure to take advatage of the free stuf including all watersports and glass bottom boat, snorkerling, and cateraman cruise... all were amazing and free! Julian was awesome, he took care of us!
We had one dissappointing experience though... we signed up for night snorkeling and showed up that night to go and was not told until we waited there for 20 min that is was canceled... we were never notified of this and it was a huge let down especially not to let us know..

Also, tell vendors "no thank you" and should leave you alone if you want them to

"YA MON" GO TO COUPLES SWEPT AWAY!
It is a little slow pace in Jamaica but everything is worth the wait.

We will be back again for sure!

Room Tip: Great house was a great location! Beachfront suites were right on beach and they looked nice too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
11  Thank Samantha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed at Couples Swept Away for our first trip to the Caribbean and Jamaica. First of all Negril, if you are trying to decide where to stay in Jamaica Negril is the place to go if you are looking for one of the most beautiful beaches in the world - it was a real trip to paradise...My husband and I have been to Thailand, Bali, Malaysia etc and have to say Negril's beach is up there with one of the best beaches we have ever visited!

Couples Swept Away (CSA) is situated in the centre of the 7 mile strip and has one of the cleanest and well maintained sections we felt. I mean they have staff dig holes and push in the seaweed from the morning tide every day, that is how clean it is! Also a good location if you wish to go for a walk or to the cliffs as its a short taxi journey. You do get some local vendors selling their wares on the beach, but you will soon notice its the same people every day and once you have said no one (politely) they basically leave you alone the rest of the trip...some great bands played and are worth tipping if you remember to carry cash with you...

The hotel, the staff were amazing I have to say we were absolutely delighted and taken aback by how friendly, professional and just warm the staff were some of the best customer service experiences we have had on a holiday. We received great service in all the restaurants, beach bars and even from the lovely man who collected the glasses on the beach and offered out cold towels! My husband is very sporty and got on really well with the sports co-ordinators and played beach volleyball every day with guests and staff alike.

Food and Drink - what can I say except simply WOW! I am a real foody and have to say that the quality of food and choices available were amazing! We ate at all the restaurants except Feathers and loved each one for different reasons. Also the cocktails - OMG brilliant! They have all the premium brands available for example Grey Goose Vodka, Top Shelf Whiskeys (Jack/Crown Royale) and the best Martini Bar! There are three bars based on the beach (bar huts) which offer great cocktails and drinks all days and it was touches like this that made it a wonderful holiday.

The room - we had a Garden Veranda room as it was the only one available when we booked via Virgin. It was fine, quite basic but clean and fulfilled our needs. I think if I return (which is quite likely) we will probably go for something a bit more superior next time. The mini bar is topped up with your choice of drinks and full size bottles rather than mini bar sizes of wine and sprits - nice touch!

On the downside we were also near the road and this was quite noisy...and also near a staff entrance of sorts so in the mornings it was noisy when they were collecting their supplies etc.

Best Bits:
-Food and Drink (Loved Patois, Lemon Grass and the Beach Restaurant/Café)
-The beach - a slice of paradise- we had a serious case of sand gravity which meant we spent 7 days simply enjoying the amazing beach
-Cocktails - especially the Martini Bar in the evening
-Some great entertainment (brilliant bands/bar tenders/sports coordinators)
-Floaties - you can use the sun loungers as floaties
-Friendly staff - YEAH MAN!
-Beach BBQ yup more food!

Tips:
-Book into Feathers/Lemongrass as soon as you arrive once you have used up your first booking you can then re-book again
-Book your catamaran trip as soon as you arrive with concierge
-Make sure you visit the Martini Bar
-Try the French Toast in Patois - to die for!
-Be aware that a lot of the water sports involve paying more...!

Though this is the bigger hotel I have to say we found the resort to be just the right size and we still received really personal service, got to know some of the staff well and had as good as a break as we have had in some boutique style hotels. There were a lot of American holiday makers as its so close to the US and lots of people who have been there time and time again but this was no bad thing but did sometimes make you feel you were in Miami rather than Jamaica....however have to say guests were really friendly and polite! We did find that there were a few big groups staying at the resort especially leading up to the weekend and this was a little noisy and distracting but not enough to take away from the overall experience. The beach was never crowded and there were always plenty of sun loungers and we never had to wait for a table in any of the restaurants etc...

I would have to say it is perfect if you are looking for a week or 10 days in the sun, relaxing, drinking cocktails, eating tasty food and siting on a white sandy beach swimming in the azure blue seas with bath warm water...!

Room Tip: Make sure its not facing the road as this can get quite noisy - we were in 4308 and thought it was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
9  Thank Worlds_myOysterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
2.7 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
2.3 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#8 of 80 in Negril
4,397 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#7 of 80 in Negril
2,678 reviews
1.3 mi away
Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Jamaica by Karisma
2 mi away
Hedonism II
Hedonism II
#15 of 80 in Negril
2,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couples Swept Away? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Swept Away

Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#10 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#14 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range: £307 - £1,002 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Couples Swept Away 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immediately upon entering Couples Swept Away, you realize that you have arrived in paradise. Exotic flowers bloom amidst acres of green—on seven miles of the purest white sand beach in Negril, Jamaica. Dotted among the tropical gardens—open-air cafes, small pool enclaves and fresh fruit oases are yours to discover. Never crowded or hurried, the resort offers an intimate tranquility and when desired, total seclusion. All rooms embrace a quiet elegance with island cedar furnishings and pure white linens. Plantation shutters open onto private verandahs with views of gardens and azure sea. Breezy open-air restaurants engage candle-lit lanterns and billowing white curtains to strike a romantic note. While the pristine 10-acre sports complex encompasses every imaginable activity, the superb spa serves as a haven of relaxation. Couples Swept Away simply captures your heart and soothes your soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Couples Swept Away reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Swept Away Negril
Couples Swept Away Hotel Negril
Jamaica Couples Swept Away
Swept Away Resort
Negril Couples Swept Away
Swept Away Negril
Couples Swept Away Jamaica
Couples Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing