We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Unexpected Stay! Sally V. July 2014”
Review of Couples Swept Away

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Couples Swept Away
Ranked #14 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This is our second trip to an all inclusive and last years stay was much more on the elegant side; but this had something the other place didn't. Friendly staff who cared when things didn't go right, entertainment staff such as Rosie, Camron and Andre' among others who made us feel at home!
The food was good, especially at Lemongrass and the breakfast at either Patois or the buffet. I was surprised at how helpful the woman was in the gift shop trying to find clothes for a hard to fit man, but she never rushed him.
We did go on two excursions from CSA; one to the Martha Brae river rafting which was very relaxing and on another day went up to an organic farm called Zimbali's and walked over the farm and then sat down to a 3 course meal prepared specifically for us. A must see for anyone who enjoys food!
We are already considering when to go back again- very relaxing!

Room Tip: We had a premier beachfront suite and although it had no t.v., we didn't really miss it. We hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank pilgrim1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,291)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,749 - 1,755 of 5,291 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed at CSA during the first week of July. Overall, we had a wonderful trip!
The food and drinks were great. Jonnoy at the swim-up bar was wonderful. He struck up a conversation with us immediately and it was great to learn a bit about Jamaican life. He made an effort to get to know us and what we like to drink. Dinner at Lemon Grass and Feathers were both good. We had reservations initially for dinners and the catamaran cruise. But, I don't like to over plan our week, so the concierge was great at shifting around our reservations throughout the week when things would pop up.
If you are beach people, you are in luck! The beach is amazing and you can walk/run for a good 2 miles in at least 1 direction. Security is great and always checks with guests coming and going on the beach. As a more "swim-up pool bar" person than a beach person, this resort falls a little short. The pool area is small and quiet. There are no pool activities in this area like at Couples TI or Negril. But if you are looking for a quiet, romantic spot, this is a good option.
The only 2 major issues we encountered were towels and staff. We did have some staff that went above and beyond, but in general, the staff was not overly friendly. Many seemed annoyed to be working or wanted to quickly be done with serving us. AND, towels were VERY scarce. At first this didn't bother me, but by the end of the week, I was very annoyed.
When staying at other Couples resorts, we always recommend the catamaran cruise. As expected since it rains daily, it was raining when we left for the catamaran. However, I wish the staff would have predicted the massive storm we were about to have prior to us sailing out. The rain was so hard, we couldn't see the land that was only approx. 200 ft away. It was a little scary, but luckily the rain stopped when we got to the caves and we could enjoy the remainder of the trip.
We also paid for the romantic dinner on the beach ($170). I would not recommend this for the price. The food was good and service was nice, but I would not say that it's a $170 meal.

Overall, I'd recommend this resort. It doesn't have the grand, new feel that many resorts have now a days. But the cozy feel is a great option. I would recommend the small upgrade from Garden view to Great House. The upgrade gets you away from the main road that runs through Negril and the Great House is a nice location if you plan to spend a lot of time at the swim-up bar.

Room Tip: The Great House is a wonderful location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
10  Thank Jessica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed here for 2 weeks in March 2013 (please note that trip advisor wouldn't let me select the correct month).

We made use of all the facilities on offer.

All the beach bars were great. They had loads of choice of soft and alcoholic drinks. All the bar staff were very friendly.

Food was AMAZING. We ate at all the restaurants. The only downside was the beach party. We didn't arrived in time to get a table so we took our food back to our room.

Take advantage of the free watersports. We didn't really use these until the last week.

Make sure you meet up with your rep to book your trips and do as many as you can. Seeing this wonderful country was really interesting.

Our room was just right. We were in perfect walking distance from everything on the complex.

We ordered a bottle of vodka and rum from the free room service not expecting it to be a full sized bottle! Safe to say we didn't drink it all.

The beach is gorgeous. Plenty of sunbeds as with the pools.

All in all we had a great stay. We will DEFINATELY be back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bex8721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Booked trip through Beach Bum Vacations with Beach Bum Lisa, which guaranteed a smooth trip there and back! We used the Club Mobay both ways this time, which is definitely going to be a standard travel package for us in the future. As always, we were welcomed by Colin and Marco upon arrival, which is my sign that all is right with the world. This time, we had a beach front room on the ground level and although we were concerned about noise...there were absolutely no issues and it was a great experience to be able to open the patio doors to a wonderful view of the ocean and beach literally feet away. The kettle drum band is an experience not to be missed. Sangaro, at the bamboo bar, greeted us daily with a smile and a cold drink. Looking forward to our return visit next year.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

My now husband and I had our destination wedding in Jamaica, but in Montego Bay, at another resort. We came here to get some time alone and we were extremely happy. I had booked in advance and scored an amazing deal for almost 50% off the normal cost of the room. Had we had more time they even offered the 7th night free if you paid for 6 nights. It was a breath of fresh air from the party resort we had our wedding at.

On arrival we were offered a free couples massage for being honeymooners, which we did take advantage of and upgraded to an hour from the 25 minutes. The spa was gorgeous and clean.

We had chosen an ocean front room which I would definitely suggest as I had seen some other reviews complain about traffic noise for the rooms that were closest to the road. The air conditioning was wonderful and the shades in the room that allowed us to hear the ocean were spectacular. We had a bar right outside our room also which was convenient for when my hubby wanted to grab a red stripe while I was finishing getting ready.

The entertainment was definitely available but it was not our style. A lot of organized couples events that seemed a little cheesy to us but we saw many enjoying them. I am 28 and my husband is 33, but we found a lot of the guests were in their early 20's and most of everyone their was honeymooning or there for an anniversary. We did run into an older couple who had been going to this resort for 10 years and they mentioned it was the youngest crowd with the most honeymooners they had ever seen. However they normally went in May and it was October so maybe that had something to do with it.

The staff was excellent, very accommodating, friendly, and refused to take tips. We tried to leave them at first and were told my staff members that it was against policy for them to except them and that they could even lose their jobs if caught. Coming from a resort that had made us feel tipping was a necessity before receiving service, we were happy not to feel so pressured into it. We are from NY and work in the service industry, so tipping well is something we do no matter what. It was nice however to not feel like we had to worry all the time about carrying excessive amounts of cash throughout the trip to get the experience we paid for.

The restaurants were wonderful. Everything we ate was delicious. I have heard that Jamaica is one of the best all inclusive areas for food. They have a lot of pride in their food and it showed. We booked a night of private dining on the beach, and although it was very nice, I would pass the next time around. We did get great pics from that night but all in all the food was just as great at the restaurants and we felt that personal service no matter where we were. We ate lunch every day at the little vegan hut by the pool. It had perfect portions of light healthy meals that kept us very happy until dinner. Even my steak eating husband loved it! We had fresh coconuts cut open here one morning, after we drank the water from them, we had our Pina Coladas poured in them and took them out to the ocean with us.

If you are a pool person, know that the two pools are small but are open until late in the evening, however don't bother with the pool. The beach is so breathtaking that I can not imagine spending one minute by the pool while we were here. The beach was gorgeous. They had bar service on the beach as well, set up with little flags you could grab from the beach bar and put up at your chairs when you required service. AMAZING touch that I loved, and they also had chair mats that turned into water floats as needed!

We noticed that there were ants in the room if you had left anything food related out, which we did not do but our neighbors had left a plate or two outside their room that had been infested with ants one day. But they were not a bother to us really. Every night you could request special beverages and breakfast in the room for the next day by filling out a sheet and leaving it at the door.

We had an outstanding time at this resort and would definitely recommend it to others and would return.

Room Tip: If you want to be close to the beach request that. some rooms also had hammocks which I wish we had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Christina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

My wife and I wanted to go back to Jamaica for our 5 year anniversary so we called our travel agent Lisa Zwissler with Beach Bum Vacation to book our trip. Lisa recommended Couples Swept Away in Negril and it was an amazing vacation for us. The food was awesome, the drinks were great (you have to try the "Dirty Banana"), and the ocean was amazing. One of my favorite things to do is get in the ocean and this was the prettiest ocean I have ever been in. The water was super clear and very warm. You could get in the water at any time of the day and it was warm and clear. Also, the staff every morning rake up all the seaweed on the beach so you are never bothered with stepping in it or seeing it. When we come back to Jamaica we will definitely be going back only here. This is now our spot in Jamaica. I can't wait to go back. Thank-you Lisa with Beach Bum Vacation for recommending us to go here on our anniversary trip.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
27  Thank Daniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed at this resort the first week in July. Robyn Ayers of Dream Makers Vacations was great in helping narrow our choices and planning our trip. She also helped us once we were at the resort in problem-solving an included package the resort didn't initially credit us.

Pros:
Beach: If you're a beach person, this is absolutely a beautiful beach. We're walkers and walked the entire beach both north and south multiple times and this was the very best resort. The beach is crystal smooth sand and continues that way into the ocean, no seaweed (tons North), clear water, and the ocean is a perfect temperature. No sand fleas and comfortable loungers you can use to float in the ocean. Durrant, the beach cleaner, lounge chair arranger, was amazing. He worked continually. We saw someone smoking drop their cigarette butt in the sand and within 5 minutes of the person leaving. Durrant had it picked up. We also saw him working throughout the rain deluge.

Food: We enjoyed all of the specialty restaurants. If you prefer beer that is not Red Stripe, Feathers offers some other choices. We also enjoyed the breakfast and lunch buffets. Service at these was fantastic. We've heard mixed things about the resort service, but we found if we made an effort to smile and engage the servers, they were warm and went out of their way to accommodate us. Special thanks to Annakay, Nicki, Staci-Ann, and Shimma (she was in training and I hope they hire her). She did a fabulous job. The food was great for an all inclusive. When we eat at the special restaurants, we let the servers select our food. We'll try anything, and they always go out of their way to select the best dishes possible.

Room: we had a premium beachfront room, 2136, best room on the resort, and we checked out some others. We had repeaters walk by one day and asked if we enjoyed the room. They'd been to this resort 12 times. We offered to show them the room since they had thought about booking the premium beachfront room but had never actually done so. They were blown away and commented that that's what they would book from now on. Compared to the other rooms we looked at, it was double the size. We were concerned about the privacy since the premium rooms that size are only on the first floor, but we found the porch sits so deeply that it wasn't a problem for us. We loved, loved, loved the porch. A few yards from the beach and yet our own world. To ceiling fans which kept mosquitoes away. It rained heavily only one day we were there in the afternoon, but our porch was deep enough that were able to sit in the porch during a deluge without getting a drop of rain on us and able to enjoy the beauty of the ocean during the storm.
Special shout outs to Adrian for going above and beyond in accommodating our minibar requests and DeAnn in housekeeping for doing a great job.

Management: as I mentioned earlier, there was a miscommunication between the travel agency and the hotel on an included package. Konrad Malcolm, the Operations Manager, went above and beyond to rectify the situation.

Extras: free wi-fi, no problem using from our room or porch; tons of included beach activities; great spa and fitness facility; good beach service

Security: very conscientious; whenever someone interacted with beach vendors, security would move to stand by them just to make sure all was ok; they checked when you left and returned to the property; some people commented they were concerned about walking North; no need for concern; Dr. Love and the vendor behind the beach inlet were funny and totally harmless; we only encountered one aggressive vendor during our walks and we noticed that about 10 minutes after we encountered him, the marine police had removed him and we never saw him again, and even the, he was not physically aggressive, just followed us for a few minutes. A polite no thank you or licklemore (later) is all you need.

Cons: no day or evening room service;

Suggestions: a little more communication between management and front desk; add possible surcharge for other beer choices and same with possible room service

Room Tip: Premium beachfront room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
8  Thank bookreaderKansasCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.7 mi away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#17 of 80 in Negril
664 reviews
2.1 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#8 of 80 in Negril
4,364 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#6 of 80 in Negril
2,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hedonism II
Hedonism II
#15 of 80 in Negril
2,399 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
2.0 mi away
Hideaway at Royalton Negril
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couples Swept Away? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Swept Away

Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#11 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#14 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range: £305 - £489 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Couples Swept Away 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immediately upon entering Couples Swept Away, you realize that you have arrived in paradise. Exotic flowers bloom amidst acres of green—on seven miles of the purest white sand beach in Negril, Jamaica. Dotted among the tropical gardens—open-air cafes, small pool enclaves and fresh fruit oases are yours to discover. Never crowded or hurried, the resort offers an intimate tranquility and when desired, total seclusion. All rooms embrace a quiet elegance with island cedar furnishings and pure white linens. Plantation shutters open onto private verandahs with views of gardens and azure sea. Breezy open-air restaurants engage candle-lit lanterns and billowing white curtains to strike a romantic note. While the pristine 10-acre sports complex encompasses every imaginable activity, the superb spa serves as a haven of relaxation. Couples Swept Away simply captures your heart and soothes your soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Holiday Gems, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Couples Swept Away reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Swept Away Negril
Couples Swept Away Hotel Negril
Jamaica Couples Swept Away
Swept Away Resort
Negril Couples Swept Away
Swept Away Negril
Couples Swept Away Jamaica
Couples Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing