We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm going to be perfectly honest”
Review of Couples Swept Away

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Couples Swept Away
Ranked #14 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Houston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I'm going to be perfectly honest”
Reviewed 29 December 2009

This will be in your top 5 destination list once you've filled up your bucket list and laying in your hospital bed about ready to cash in. When memories start flashing swiftly before your eyes you're gonna come to a screeching hault and think...."Boy I had fun at Couples Swept Away in Negril, Jamaica"......and then.............fade to black. Don't miss out.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Slee357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,251
    1,259
    386
    185
    92
See reviews for
103
4,031
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,438)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2009

My husband and I went to Couples Swept Away (CSA) to get married on December 5th. While I was weary making wedding plans for a resort I had never been to, my worries were quickly dissolved when we arrived.

The staff was nothing short of amazing. The gentleman that brought our luggage to our room, Webba, called us the day after the wedding to congratulate us! The entertainment staff remembered us and used our names everytime we saw them. They made sure to get people in our party involved and even pulled us on the dance floor to make sure we were having fun.

The food and drinks were out of this world. Talk about gormet - I have NEVER had such a tasty Pina Colada in my life. The rooms, the gardens, the beach, the pool and activities were beyond spectacular.

The wedding coordinators made sure everything went smoothly and exceeded our expectations and made it just perfect. I know many brides say that their wedding was perfect, but what are the odds they said "I do" on the beach at sunset.

Lastly, the guests of this resort are friendly, fun and polite. We made many friends while there and many strangers celebrated out weddinng with us while we were there.

My husband and I like to see new places and travel to new destinations, but we will definately go back to Jamaica and CSA.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wanderlustfullife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2009

My husband and I have been to several All-inclusives in the Caribbean, but this one is the very best! The customer service is the best we have ever experienced. Everyone, from the wait staff, maid service, and maintainance staff was friendly and efficient. We choose to have a beach front room. It is a little more expensive, but it sure is nice to walk right from your room to the beach. We pulled the beach chairs right up on our porch. No more having to save beach chairs and drag everything down to the beach. It really is nice. The room is stocked with beer, wine, liquor, mixers, and non alcoholic beverages as well. Even though we were on the first floor near the main side walk, it was very quiet at night. The food was excellent. We ate mostly in the buffet, since, as vegetarians, we found the best selection there. Always plenty of choices, we especially loved the pasta bar for dinner. We did eat one night at the Thai restaurant and it was also excellent. For meat eaters, there are plenty of choices. I sometimes get grossed out at places, but never here. The restaurants, public bathrooms, our room , the grounds and beach were kept very clean. It is a public beach so if you choose to walk you may get approached by vendors, we just said no thanks and went on our way. There are security guards, so we never felt unsafe. We are not late night people, so we did not participate in any of the activities or saw any of the shows, but I can assure you, if was like any of the other features of the resort, it was probably very good. Check out the sports center across the street. We were surprised at how nice it was. Lap pool, very nice area with lots of treadmills, weights, lots of tennis courts, raquetball, exercise room, very nice spa, and juice bar. We just looked at everything. Unfortunately, we didn't partake! Once again, the best part of our experience was the customore service. Like I said, we have be to several resorts, but this is the ultimate experience and I would highly reccommend it. It's worth every penny!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lainaj7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frank1212dc
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2009

If there's one thing for sure, its that everyone has preferences that show up in the diverse reviews found here. Here is one man's opinion. BTW if background has anything to do with it we are late 40's, from DC area, professional with two teenagers-basically normal college educated couple.
It was our first getaway alone since bringing up our kids. We had such high hopes that we would have chosen a great place. If it had been disappointing, it would have been devestatating as it was our one shot to be alone for a week. The stars aligned and both kids were in camp together. I can say that CSA did not disappoint! My wife and I have very similar ideas of a vacation(thank god). We were looking for an all inclusive(to take the stress our of spending money, tipping, rationing our drinks). We wanted to be as close to the beach as possible with a beach view. We wanted to relax and be by ourselves but still be in an active place. We wanted a place to be romantic and a little naughty, sexy and adult with no kids around. We wanted the food to be good but didnt have to be high cuisine. We wanted good service, a/C, internet, etc. We wanted a beach to walk on, a sunset, and watersports. Basically, we wanted a relaxed, no hassle place to rest and recharge our batteries after 20 years of childrearing, career changes, and a recession. OK, now. pay attention. CSA fit the bill for all of the above. Review complete! Go if you want the same as we did.
As for special memories, the verandah in the morning was great. We'd wake up when room service knocked at 9am and we'd take it out to the verandah and watch the beach wake up. Towels already staked out on the best spots. One of life's mysteries as to how the always were there. Did people really wake up at dawn to put them down? Later, my darling, daring wife sunbathed topless a few times. Very memorable. Taking floaties out near the ropes and did same. Tame compared to C/O but just our speed for a few thrills. Next, the sunsets were great. We took the bottle of wine from the room with the icebucket and sat by the water till the sun went down. Finally, getting drink services at teh beach with the green flags was a treat. Oh yeah, there is a soft ice cream machine near the beach. For us, its these little things that made the difference for us, not the restaurantes, rooms or buildings. The key is, they were fine, didnt get in the way of our enjoyment of the intangibles that CSA offers.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank vagabond3025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2009

My husband and I spent our honeymoon at CSA last year, and couldn't wait to return for our first anniversary. My only fear was that my memories of this resort were too positively skewed because of it being our honeymoon and all, and that I would have too high expectations this year. I didn't want to be disappointed. My worries were totally unfounded. This year was just as fabulous! Okay, to be honest, the first day, I was a little let down because the room we got wasn't great. Last year we stayed in a beachfront veranda, and we loved hearing the ocean at night. This year, we tried to save a little money, and got an Atrium suite, and the room we got was very close to the road, and in need of some renovation. But I let the front desk know that I wasn't thrilled, and in true Couples style, they moved us into a much nicer room the next day. Still an Atrium, but closer to the beach, and in much better condition. Next year, we'll try to save up for a beachfront suite! Anyway, everything was fantastic-amazing food (I want a Seagrapes cookbook!), wonderful watersports (went diving everyday-the dive team is the best!), the most beautiful beach, sunsets to die for, the friendliest people...I don't have enough time to say how great this place is. But if you want more specifics, just send me an email-I promise to respond. Shout out to Clover - the nicest staff member ever! I'm homesick, and counting the days until next visit already. No place compares to CSA!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank tropiclover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2009

We just returned from vacation this past week. My husband and I can see why people go back year after year. We have stayed at several all inclusives in Mexico. We are already talking about our trip next year to CSA. This is one of the best places to stay for relaxing on the beach, enjoying the ocean, watersports, exercising, and going to the spa. We travel a lot and this place really held up to our standards, and the price was terrific. Well worth the distance traveled from LA. There was so much to do that we didn't have time to do it all.

Big pluses-No tipping and they are very clear about this right when you get there; almost all water sports including waterskiing, scuba diving (my husband had his PADI card already so this was free-they'll also certify you there as well), hydrobikes, Hobi-kat sail boats, snorkeling, kayaks, were included in the price (jet skiis not); 10 acre sports complex, working with a pro for tennis (my husband had 3 30 minute appts. times with one) and time with a personal trainer -all included. Great equipment-Cybex, classes every hour for exercise and for the mind; Swedish massage that was as good as any I've had; Great variety in food;transportation to places off of the resort; computer lab with about 10 computers though the rooms are wireless which was nice fo my netbook.

Room-Initially we were given a standard room which was fine, but it didn't have a TV and mini-bar. We would have survived without it because we were so busy, but it was nice to have when we got upgraded later in the week to a Garden Suite with a TV and mini-bar. If you want a TV in your room, check to make sure yours has one. Our second room was near the nightly entertainment (Palms) and this did not bother us in the least. Bring your iPod loaded with your favorite tunes because your will find an iPod clock radio in the room.

Service-We had terrific service. Everyone wanted to make sure we had everything we needed. If they didn't have it, the staff was going to make sure we got what we needed. The staff was all friendly and helpful. Jamiacans seem to be very happy people and it certainly rubs off on you. They are also very watchful of those staying there. We had gone too far from their view when we took the Hobi-Kat out sailing and they came out to get us when we disappeared from their site. All the service at the meals was great. The Cabana was a little slower than other places we ate--but hey--it's Jamica-no worries.

Food-We loved the food in the many restaurants. We ate at Lemongrass (Thai) twice-everything was terrific, Seagrass (next to the beach and healthy) with the best veggie burgers and fish tacos. We ate at the Cabana a couple of times for the jerk chicken which was excellent. Feathers was a beautiful restaurant with steaks, chops, fish more formal-delicious and excellent presentation (the dessert tree was a highlight-9 mini desserts for two people). Palms had the buffets for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Breakfast was good, but I'd skip it to feast on lunch and dinner specialties (churros, fried bananas-Yum..). On Friday, they had a Caribbean Beach Party next to the ocean which had all of the Jamaican specialties and Sat was Lobster Day. Soft ice cream right on the beach--hard to resist each day so I didn't. Make reservations for Feathers and Lemongrass when you get there-avoid Friday because they seem to have events happening. For a romantic evening you can have it by yourself on the beach.

Drinks-Many bars with a daily special drinks and one bar just for healthy smoothies with no alcoholand a daily special. You could have drinks delivered to you on the beach with the posting of a flag. Martini bar, rum bar and dacquiri bar at beach party.

Entertainment-Fun dancing in the Palms with excellent local entertainment. The show lasts 2 hours each night with dancing, singing and dancing lessons to continue at the club/bar lounge if you wanted to. Casino was not busy because of the other entertainment and because of that it didn't pay out.

Beach-beautiful with warm water and each person gets a flotation raft of their own to take out and relax in the water.

Excursions: A van takes you wherever you would like to go. We did not do any excursions except go to Rick's Cafe for the diving and sunset. There was a nominal $15 a person for the round trip.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ceisen1037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ogden, Utah
Level Contributor
64 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2009

This was our third trip to Couples Swept Away. We love the place so much we are booked for December of 2010 already! The service was great as always. Always a smile and a greeting from everyone. We stayed in a Beach Front Veranda for the second time. Our first visit was in a Garden Verandah. The rooms are the same except for location. This might seem petty, but the in room bars do not have whiskey. They do have Rum, Vodka,Scotch, Gin, beer, and wine, but some of us like whiskey. (All the alcohol in the room is 40 proof by the way) We spent nine fantastic days there this December and will be back in 2010 for eleven days.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZAZULibertyUtah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
2.8 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
2.2 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#8 of 80 in Negril
4,275 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#7 of 80 in Negril
2,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hedonism II
Hedonism II
#17 of 80 in Negril
2,221 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
83.7 mi away
Couples Sans Souci
Couples Sans Souci
#4 of 35 in Ocho Rios
3,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couples Swept Away? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Swept Away

Property: Couples Swept Away
Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#10 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#14 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Couples Swept Away 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immediately upon entering Couples Swept Away, you realize that you have arrived in paradise. Exotic flowers bloom amidst acres of green—on seven miles of the purest white sand beach in Negril, Jamaica. Dotted among the tropical gardens—open-air cafes, small pool enclaves and fresh fruit oases are yours to discover. Never crowded or hurried, the resort offers an intimate tranquility and when desired, total seclusion. All rooms embrace a quiet elegance with island cedar furnishings and pure white linens. Plantation shutters open onto private verandahs with views of gardens and azure sea. Breezy open-air restaurants engage candle-lit lanterns and billowing white curtains to strike a romantic note. While the pristine 10-acre sports complex encompasses every imaginable activity, the superb spa serves as a haven of relaxation. Couples Swept Away simply captures your heart and soothes your soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., Holiday Gems, Destinology, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Couples Swept Away reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Swept Away Negril
Couples Swept Away Hotel Negril
Jamaica Couples Swept Away
Swept Away Resort
Negril Couples Swept Away
Swept Away Negril
Couples Swept Away Jamaica
Couples Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing