We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No desire to ever go anywhere else!”
Review of Couples Swept Away

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Couples Swept Away
Ranked #14 of 81 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
NJ
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“No desire to ever go anywhere else!”
Reviewed 6 January 2010

My husband I just returned from our 2nd amazing trip to Couples Swept Away. We flew US Airways out of Philly which was our only negative; we will never fly them again. They do not let you choose your seats ahead of time so they had us sitting on separate ends of the plane coming and going. Luckily we found someone to switch with us going but coming back, no luck. They don’t even seat children with their parents!
Once we arrived in Jamaica to the Couples Lounge for a Red Stripe and off to Swept Away. Check in was a breeze since I had done the pre-check in for Romance Rewards repeat guests online our welcome gifts were waiting. Sipped some champagne and 15 minutes later we were in our 2nd story Garden Verandah room. We loved the location and could even partially see the ocean. Is there some road noise outside? Yes, but I could not hear it in the room. Our AC worked great, mini bar was stocked, and we had a nice flat screen TV. As with our last trip we heard many 1st time guests complaining they did not have a TV in their room. Do some research, Couple’s website clearly states which rooms do and don’t have what, if it is important to you book the right room! The property as a whole it is still breathtaking, clean huge beach, tropical gardens and spotless facilities.
After our trip last year I really did not think that the service in this resort could get better, but it did! You see every employee doing that little extra to make your trip fantastic. Several employees remembered us from last year and we really enjoyed seeing them again. Everything is still No Problem and with a smile. We got to eat at Feathers this year which was very nice but I must say a little cold for me. I prefer the open air tropical feel of the other restaurants but our meal was delicious and service impeccable. This trip we ate meals and snacks in every restaurant and again could not find anything we didn’t like. I encourage people to remember you are in Jamaica; drink Red Stripe and have a beef patty by the pool, yes they have burgers and fries but you are really losing out if you don’t experience the other food they offer, the choices are endless. Branch out and try the Thai at Lemongrass, the jerk chicken dishes at Patios or goat cheese appetizer at Feathers, you won’t be disappointed!
This trip we went on the Catarmeran Cruise and the snorkel trip. The “water sports bothers” are awesome and Rasta Ralphie was very entertaining. We got to use the gym facilities which were modern and clean. Go early b/c it is open air and it gets hot over there. We also did a tour through the excursions desk to YS Falls. We had a private driver and went on a boat tour of the Black River to see crocodiles first. YS is one of the best excursions ever. The ride is long and bumpy but the waterfalls are beautiful. We tipped one of the guys who worked there a few dollars to take our pictures swimming in the falls and they came great, what a great memory. We had a couple of Red Stripes and lunch there and then had our driver stop at Times Square for us back in Negril to do some shopping.
Our reason for coming to Swept Away this trip was for the New Years Eve celebration and we were not disappointed. Starting around 6:30pm there was a full cocktail party with food, drinks and music then onto our reserved table at the Palms for a Grand Gala Buffet and every food imaginable and 4 more musical acts all of which was fantastic. I cannot explain the amount of work that goes into this evening it was beyond impressive. At midnight they release hundreds of balloons from the ceiling and the entertainment continues until everyone moves to Aura Lounge for the DJ and more dancing. There are so many details about this celebration that I can’t explain them all except to say that I am sure it cannot be topped.
Once of the best things about this trip was being a repeat guest, you are treated extra special. We had registered for the resort’s Romance Rewards program after out 1st trip. On this trip it entitled us to pre check in, free repeat guest T-shirts, free couples massage, an invitation to the special repeaters dinner, and a cooler bag with water and snacks at check out.
One last note: While we recommend this resort to everyone I strongly encourage people to research a destination or resort before they choose to go. We met many couples who paid a lot of money to go to CSA but only wanted to party all day and night and this just isn’t that atmosphere. I can’t understand how people go on vacation to a place like this especially for NYE and not bring any shoes other than sneakers or flip flops and only shorts to wear? There is a dress code for the restaurants and we saw several people get turned away each meal for not adhering to it. Again do your research and pick a place that offers your speed vacation.
We can’t wait to go back!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ItsAlwaysSunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,275
    1,263
    388
    187
    92
See reviews for
103
4,059
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,447)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2010

Once again, we have just returned from Couples Swept Away (CSA). This was our 5th visit to CSA, and our sixth is already booked for 2010. Ricardo and the staff at CSA never disappoint us. The food just gets better and better, the entertainment staff kept us laughing, and very much entertained. (Aikem, you and Jody ROCK!!) The morning cello and guitar at breakfast was such a treat. Simple, yet elegant, and absolutely beautiful to listen to. Not only do we recommend this resort, or any of the Couples Resorts to strangers, we have turned on many friends, and friends of friends, who have now become regulars. Do yourselves a favor, go to the website and take a good look. BOOK if you can; you won't be disappointed!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarmichaelJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2010

Wow, we have stayed in many all-inclusive resorts, been on cruises, nothing compares to the great stay we had at Couples Swept Away. We have been home for one week and I am missing CSA so much. Our room was in the greatest location (beachfront veranda suite). Located between the tiki bar and swim up bar. Right outside our room was the hammock, horseshoe pit, volleyball area.

Float cushions were provided on all lounge seats which was great to use in the ocean or pool, and there were plenty of them. There were plenty of restaurants to chose from and breakfast room service was also included. The food was incredible!!! All staff member were incredible, really liked Oral (bartender's name) at the swim up bar.

The room was very comfortable. Very clean. .... Just disappointed in myself for not doing more at the resort as they offered so much. I was too busy relaxing. Next year will make a point to take advantage of all offerings.

Ok, I can go on and on, a photo of a sunset (also great) is nothing like the real thing, so my review is nothing like the real thing. I say "just do it, book it, we were not dissappointed"!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BoatingVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2010

Couples Swept Away was AMAZING. Service was the best, food was delicious, beach was perfect, everything was irie mon.

Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank billykeyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zionsville IN
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2010

My wife and I traveled to Swept Away for our honeymoon and could not have been happier. We stayed in a garden veranda suite and though the room was a bit sparse having a couch and chair on the veranda more than made up for it.
The food was wonderful and the grounds are amazing.
The best part of the resort is the staff. They make a genuine effort to remember your name and go out of their way to be curtius and helpful.
We can't wait to go back next year to celebrate our anniversary.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jack0771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2010

We just came back from a week in paradise that is Couples Swept Away! When they say, this is the best all-inclusive it is TRUE!!!

We had great arrival on a Sunday with a prompt pickup from the Mo'bay airport...The ride is a little under two hours from Mo'bay to Negril due to traffic and road construction. They are in the process of expanding the highway which will take a good deal of time. Please remember to tip the driver and porter as they are living off the tips.

We reached the resort around 1:30 pm and they immediately had chilled champagne ready for us. We were escorted to our beach front room which was simply spectacular. Full view of the ocean, stocked mini-bar. Our porter gave us a good tour of the room. Be sure to know how to work the air-conditioner as it was hot right away. :-)

The rest of the vacation was just AWESOME!!!! Read for tips!

First tips, immediately book dinner at the Lotus Cafe and Feather right away as they fill up quickly. Also, book your snorkeling and catamaran in advance as they fill up quickly.

Other Notations:
1. Concierge is fantastic!!! They booked us a private car to the YS Falls which was much cheaper than the tour. $50 per person vs. $80 per person. Concierge also rescheduled our dinner on the beach at a last minute's notice. Ask for Andre Whyte, he is superb!
2. Food is out of this world. The dinner at Feathers is the best! Eat there at least twice.
3. Put a towel on beach chairs by at least 8 am to get the best spot or they are gone quickly.
4. Don't waste your time at Margaritaville. Too pricy and overhyped. You can walk there on the beach but not worth it.
5. Check out the cliff diving at Nic's cafe. Take a taxi from the resort.
6. On the catamaran cruise, you are allowed to swim right by the cliffs. It is spectacular so bring your trunks on this.
7. Try the Hobie Cat as it is really cool to sail on this.
8. Jet skis are not included so you will need to bring cash.

Some things that were wishful:
1. Toilet didn't work for about one day but they fixed that ASAP!
2. Snorkeling is only for about 30 minutes each trip but there are three different areas they can take you.
3. Scuba Lessons begin quite too early in the morning (8 am) but are started in the main pool.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank moha0018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kansas city
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2009

This hotel had positive and negative aspects -- it just depends on what you're looking for. I've been all over the Carribean and stayed at a ton of all-inclusives.

BEACH
The beach is one of the prettiest I have ever seen. The sand is white and seaweed-free. The water was warm and bright blue. They also have great seating and floats available and the bar service is outstanding. However, there is limited shade as there are not many grass huts/umbrellas. It's a public beach, but there are tons of security guards and we felt very safe, even at night.

ROOMS
We upgraded to a Garden Veranda Suite so we could have a mini bar and a larger balcony. The rooms are a little worn, and I had them replace the lamp shades upon arrival (they were stained and disgusting). Our room was by the road so there was a ton of noise. If you want peace and quiet and a nicer room, upgrade to a second-floor beach suite. It was like $300 more, and we should have done it. We asked to upgrade when we arrived, but the resort was full.

FOOD/RESTAURANTS
The food was just ok. It was pretty bland. You have to make reservations at the two "gourmet" restaurants as soon as you arrive or else you either won't get in or will have to eat at 9:00 every night. Feathers was the best. Lemongrass was supposed to be Thai food, but it was the blandest Thai food I have ever tasted. The poolside grill was probably the best restaurant. If you are an epicurean, this hotel is not for you.

DRINKS
The coffee was outstanding. OUTSTANDING! And they pour a great drink. "Top shelf" as they advertise is more middle shelf.

SERVICE
The people for the most part are very friendly. The service is not a 5-star hotel. More 3 1/2. But we had no complaints with the staff. The entertainment staff basically only talks to people who have been to the resort more than once. There is also a special dinner or drinks for repeat customers.

ATMOSPHERE
Most of the people at the resort are on their honeymoons. So, if you are an "established" couple who travels extensively (like us), just know that there are a lot of younger couples there who may not have been to a beach resort before.

All-in-all, it was an ok trip. We wouldn't return to the resort as we've been to other ones in the Carribean that were nicer and the same amount. I would return to 7 mile beach. The beach was very, very nice.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Catherine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
2.2 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#8 of 81 in Negril
4,300 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#7 of 81 in Negril
2,562 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hedonism II
Hedonism II
#17 of 81 in Negril
2,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
27.4 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
0.7 mi away
CocoLaPalm Resort
CocoLaPalm Resort
#11 of 81 in Negril
1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couples Swept Away? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Swept Away

Property: Couples Swept Away
Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#11 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#14 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Couples Swept Away 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immediately upon entering Couples Swept Away, you realize that you have arrived in paradise. Exotic flowers bloom amidst acres of green—on seven miles of the purest white sand beach in Negril, Jamaica. Dotted among the tropical gardens—open-air cafes, small pool enclaves and fresh fruit oases are yours to discover. Never crowded or hurried, the resort offers an intimate tranquility and when desired, total seclusion. All rooms embrace a quiet elegance with island cedar furnishings and pure white linens. Plantation shutters open onto private verandahs with views of gardens and azure sea. Breezy open-air restaurants engage candle-lit lanterns and billowing white curtains to strike a romantic note. While the pristine 10-acre sports complex encompasses every imaginable activity, the superb spa serves as a haven of relaxation. Couples Swept Away simply captures your heart and soothes your soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Holiday Gems, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Destinology, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Couples Swept Away reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Swept Away Negril
Couples Swept Away Hotel Negril
Jamaica Couples Swept Away
Swept Away Resort
Negril Couples Swept Away
Swept Away Negril
Couples Swept Away Jamaica
Couples Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing