We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,983)
Filter reviews
5,983 results
Traveller rating
3,819
1,429
438
198
99
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,819
1,429
438
198
99
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cabana grill sports complex atrium suite sea grapes patois patio martini bar catamaran cruise great house ultimate chocolate banana stuffed french toast aura lounge feathers restaurant patios patio lemongrass restaurant our honeymoon fish tacos swim up bar
Filter
Updating list...
217 - 222 of 5,983 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2018

I was fortunate enough to spend three days at this wonderful resort while on a travel agent's trip to Negril. I stayed in a Garden Verandah Suite n the original section of the resort. The lush vegetation that surrounded this area made it cozy and quiet, and quite peaceful in the evening or morning when I sat out on the patio. Room amenities included everything you could ask for and I loved the customized bar option. The property is large; however, it spreads everyone out, so you don't feel that you are crowded. The food in all the restaurants was wonderful, including the buffet (I only ate breakfast and lunch there) was surprisingly wonderful and fresh, as buffets can definitely be hit or miss. The staff was friendly and accommodating across the entire resort. If you are a fitness buff, you will definitely LOVE the enormous sports complex that is across the street from the resort. The resorts close proximity to off-property activities is perfect. Loved this resort and will definitely be back for a vacation stay and will recommend my Jamaica bound clients to this property.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trasformativa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018

We had heard prior to going to this resort that is was absolutely beautiful and amazing. Unfortunately, our experience was far different than friends who had not been there in a few years. Check-in process was not good. Our room was not ready upon a rainy arrival and long day of travel. We were told to leave our bags and directed to two different bars as a choice to wait. We met another couple and had a few drinks. We reached out to a staff member to contact the desk to see if our room was ready - first time, no. Second time, yes - approximately 6pm. We were informed to go get our bags from the front desk and take them to our room. (Still raining). We went and got our bags and we walked around trying to find our room. Stressed and drenched, a kind staff member Nazaree (spelling?) saw us. Kelia and Nazaree were a the people who called the desk about our rooms. She enlisted another staff member who also observed our stress and took our bags to our room. Next day was a new day. We went to the beach a bit and then decided to go to the concierge to book the sunset catamaran, a private boat cruise for two, a romantic breakfast , and reservations for Lemongrass. At first it felt like we were a bother to want to schedule activities. By the end of the conversation we had it all booked. That evening we went to the Catamaran and to find out we were not on the list about 10 minutes to sailing time. They sent us back to the front desk and told us we were not getting on without a boarding pass (never informed on this earlier when booking). Got on the catamaran and it was overcrowded - made the best of it with ocean and salt air. the next day spent time by the pool and were waiting for our private boat. When no one came to get us 15 minutes after time we booked, we spoke with Kelia again and she got it organized. Unfortunately, the catamaran (which we did not need for two people) were there and thought they were taking 8 people out. (Again - more confusion). The Captain and Mate were lovely and we told them we were as confused as them as we had paid $400 for a private boat tour for two. Again - made the best of it. Came back from this nice excursion and went to our room - only to find that housekeeping had come and opened all the shutters and turned our air off. Needless to say - it was hot and humid and not pleasant to get showers. Next day it was near 5pm when housekeeping came to clean our room (only after I called the desk). We also had to ask for shampoo and body wash as they were nearly empty. Lemongrass was nice. Romantic breakfast - after booking it to arrive at 8am, at 8:45 I received a call that they were running late and it would be there in a moment. At 9:36am it arrived. Fortunately, that was removed from our folio. The swim up pool bar and several of the bars left something to be desired for cleanliness of the glasses as they were dipped in a bucket and "rinsed" - never saw heated cleansing. At all the bars - some days they had grey goose, others they did not …. it was strange at all-inclusive to seemingly be rationing various liquors at the bars. We started using our own cups day two for the lack of cleanliness. The cabana grill had fresh food. Piano lounge was decent. Piano player was talented. By Wednesday our air was not working properly. Sometimes it worked and others - not at all. One of the days, the health inspector was on-site and not happy with several items she was picking up. Staff were overall not-caring about that fact. Overall staff was not happy in general. Apparently some terminations of staff had occurred a few weeks prior and people were not pleased. In the Palms, there were cats in the restaurant while guests were trying to dine - up on ledges, rubbing on people. (I am allergic to cats); but others who were not were grossed out while eating and had to swat them away. The naked boat sailed by our resort every day which was disgusting to look at . Not good. Other guests/friends we met during the course of the stay - one had no proper running water for a day after lathering up and trying to get a shower, another couple had no A/c either. We had no idea there would not be a tv in our room. Our room was beachfront as we booked. For the nearly $5K we spent to come to a supposed luxury all-inclusive …. we came away feeling like we never wanted to return to Jamaica; and especially never to Couples Swept Away. In nearly 26 years of marriage and lots of fun trips and adventures in the Caribbean and all-over ….. this was absolutely the VERY WORST trip we have ever taken. We came away feeling like we were taken and mislead. A full-refund would be appropriate!!! We felt like we needed a vacation from our vacation. HUGE DISAPPOINTMENT! With the exception of a very few individuals, this resort needs to re-group, make a significant strategic plan, and upgrade.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank Ksad929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abraham I, COO at Couples Swept Away, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Dear Ksad929,

Thank you for trying our resort. Sorry that some areas fell below your expectations. Our management team has read your review and will improve where possible. We also apologize for confusion where Guest Services was concerned.

Please feel free to email abe@couples.com to add any further comments if you wish.

Kind Regards,
Abe Issa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018

We chose Couples Swept Away because we were celebrating our honeymoon and wanted an adults only, all inclusive resort that offered not only a beautiful beach, but activities to keep us busy. At CSA you can choose to completely relax, or you can choose to participate in a variety of acrivities from scuba to snorkeling, paddle boarding and kayaking, to tennis or golf. There spa is amazing too!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank momof3carolinagirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

We keep coming back to this resort. We always stay in a Beachfront Verandah Suite. The food was even better than our past visits. I believe they have a new chef. We love the beds, very comfortable. One noticeable drawback this year, the low thumping bass from the Margaritaville down the beach every evening, which goes until late. If you've taken advantage of the all inclusive cocktails during the day and evening, you may not even notice the noise. Our friends take advantage of the free scuba diving. We just love spending time on 7-mile beach. The ocean was not as calm on this trip, but always enjoy floating and socializing with friends and meeting new people. We make new friends every time we visit Swept Away. We will be back again.

Room Tip: Beachfront Verandah Suite!
Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank stewartFX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

This was our second trip to CSA. We were there 4 years ago and the biggest difference my wife and I noticed was the staff did not seem to be as happy to be there or as friendly. I have read reviews of others stating the opposite, but I can tell you we saw the difference first hand. Staff were not rude or ugly, they just did not seem as attentive as they had in the past. I heard CSA had a management change in last couple years and that could be a reason why. Staff in Feather restaurant were the absolute best. Staff at beach bars not so much.
Pros for this place....the water, the beach, the resort layout and jungle feel. Feathers had the best food, Lemongrass had the worst this go round. Patios never disappoints, Palms is your standard buffet with good selection and great taste.
SPA..best massage ever at a resort, highly recommend it
Rooms were clean, plenty of clean towels etc. Resort ground crew/maintenance was on point. Those are some of the hardest working staff we saw. Always cleaning, trimming bushes, sweeping, raking, making sure everything was perfect.
Cons...beach peddlers. Again judging from our last trip, the beach vendors seemed to have a lot more latitude this year. Some guardsmen were better than others, but it got rather annoying at times having a shirtless old Jamaican man standing in front of your view to the beautiful water trying to sell you drugs. Again, some guardsmen were better than others at handling this.
This year we had a beachfront room near the Palms, bad idea if you are looking for a little peace and quiet in the evenings and mornings when people are bustling past your room to get breakfast.
This will probably be last time we stay at CSA. For $$ we spent, time to expand horizons and resorts.
None the less you can't go wrong with the beautiful beach and water.

Room Tip: Suites away from Palms restaurant area quieter
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank david e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abraham I, COO at Couples Swept Away, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Dear david e,

Thank you for staying with us for a second visit. Sorry that this stay did not measure up to the last. Management has read your review and will address all of your comments.

Please email abe@couples.com if you wish to discuss this stay further. We would be glad to make up for it in any way possible and keep you as a returning guest.

Warm Regards,
Abe Issa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews