We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tired Resort, but......”
Review of Hedonism II

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hedonism II
Ranked #16 of 85 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Tired Resort, but......”
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We stayed at the resort from April 14 to April 28 2013. This was not our first visit here.
The resort is currently under going renovations, but is still functioning, so I'll comment on the two weeks we were there, and not (much) on what the future holds.
The ride from MoBay (provided by the TA through the resort) was about 1 hour 20 minutes, and we arrived about 2:00Pm
We were welcomed on arrival by Charlene from the front desk, and offered a glass of Champagne. Checkin was quick, and we were in the room in no time. Our luggage arrived quickly, and the wife began nesting.

Room;, basic, functional, but the bathroom is small, and the door jam needs replacing. No hot water(only in the shower, the sink was fine) till we complained, then it was fixed almost Immediately, with a visit to the roof by the service guy, to adjust something. The mirror on the ceiling is nice, I wonder how many people take pictures of themselves on the bed, using the mirror. The AC worked like a charm (once we figured out what setting worked best for us). We had two large safes, that could hold just about any laptop, but one had been cannibalized for parts. The room also came equipped with an ironing board and iron. The TV had about 100 channels, including CNN, FOX, CBC, and three porn channels. Also in the room was a CD/Clock radio (unplugged), but be careful where you plug it in as some outlets are controlled by the switch by the door. The phone messaging service never worked for us, and we could never check for messages. We just put up with the red light flashing, even after we commented about it to the front desk. The phone worked fine otherwise.
All our chargers (curling iron) worked fine on the 117 VAC 50Hz power (Standard US style receptacle). The TV had addition AV inputs if you want to input your own video.
Midway through our stay, there was a knock on the door and we were asked (told) that they needed to spray for ants. In they came and sprayed the corners of the room and left. We had to air the room out for about 1 hour, to clear the odour of the pesticide. We never did see any ants, before or after the spray process. We did have a visit from a hermit crab though, we named him Hawthorne, after the comic strip character, but once he saw us he vanished quickly, never to be seen again. The room was always spotless after housekeeping was finished, and the linens always clean. The main door jam looked like the door had been bashed open once, then quickly repaired. One of the support post iron saddles supporting the outer walkway, was thoroughly rusted away (see attached picture), and the support post was held up by adjoining posts further along the walkway. In other words, it wasn't supporting anything. This post went from the concrete walkway all the way up to the roof. A few boards on the wheelchair ramp up to the fitness center, also need replacement.

Food;, the salad bar was terrific, deserts great, but the main buffet was just average. We did see the kitchen staff constantly checking the food quantity and quality, even measuring the food temperature with a digital IR thermometer. On random nights we had, one of, Brisket, Turkey, Ham or Beef. There was always a "made how you like it " Pasta bar and on some nights even a sushi bar.
Never saw lobster (might be out of season) but most nights had shrimp.
Breakfast was standard fare, with eggs, cereals,French toast, pancakes and fruit.
We never went to the main dinning area for lunch, instead, eating at the beach grills.

Bars;, seems all the bars were well staffed and they had top shelf (Courvoisier for example) liquors, if you asked. The bar tender (Elroy I think his name is) in the Piano bar seems to have a photo graphic memory and always new what I wanted before I asked. It seemed all the bar tenders were going out of their way to address me by name (I had a body tag on).

The piano bar has a new piano player, who is much better than the old one. Most nights it was standing room only. But in week two the routine became a little too scripted/choreographed. Week one was a fly by the seat of your pants sing along. Week two had more energy and audience participation, but I don't ever want to hear the tune "New York New York" sung with Hedo lyrics again, every night for 5 nights was too much. Although it was really funny the first time. Lots of dancing on the piano bar, by lovely young ladies.

The hot tub had water temperature issues, with some nights too hot to bear .
The bar at the hot tub is open till the wee hours of the morning, and pizza is also available at the nude grill (beside the bar) until 4:00 am.
The beach chairs are getting a little tired, although there always was plenty of them even in the late mornings. The water mats are just downright decrepit.
There were plenty of water floatation devices that previous guest had left behind, so you really did not need these mats anyway.
The water in the small cove was always calm, and never more than 4 feet deep, but watch out for sea urchins, even in the sandy areas. Water shoes are recommended .

Augustus was doing a great job keeping the beach clean of sea weed and leaves.
The trees over hanging the beach are great for shade from the very hot Caribbean sun, but they do drop leaves and ants. We received many bites the first few days we were there (not from the ants), then for whatever reason, nothing for about 10 days, then the bites happened again. I suspect it's sand fleas, although I never could see anything, except the results. Some welts were the size of quarters, but disappeared in a few days. We've had this same experience at multiple Caribbean resorts.

There was a bon fire and beach entertainment one night, but due to a scheduling conflict, we missed it. As well, the resort could have advertised it a bit better, so we could adjust our schedule.

One of the groups that was there threw a pool party one night, with laser light shows and two video screens, guests had glow sticks and LED trinkets to light up the night. They actually played music for the audience and I have never seen so many people dancing, it's amazing what happens when a DJ plays to the audience.

The resort "fogs" for mosquitoes each night. A common practice at most resorts in the Caribbean. In fact, I think I would avoid any resort that didn't "fog" for mosquitoes. Dengue fever is not to be taken lightly.

At dinner the 4 piece band plays background music while you dine, but I think the volume is still too high as it's sometimes difficult to carry on a pleasant conversation. At 9:00pm the EC's put on a very high energy show, and there is also audience participation for prizes, for those who dressed in costume. Oh yes, almost forgot. Every nigh has a theme, and the guests are encouraged to dress in sexy costumes. I'd post pictures, but photography of guests is generally not allowed.
There is an onsite disco, but participation is spotty, with some nights highly charged, and other nights totally deserted. The disco bar closes at 5:00am.
There are two specialty restaurants on site. The Italian one has great food, but 1 of 3 beef dinners at our table had tough, to cut beef. Otherwise all was good, service, food and atmosphere. We went to this restuarant many times and only had a problem once. The Japanese restaurant cooks to order and all was good here too. The only problem was there was more food than we could eat, and we felt bad about leaving food on the table. However this could have been avoided had we not arrived 30 minutes early, then snacked on cheese and crackers while we waited.

I give this resort three stars, because it is run down and hasn't been maintained as it should have been. Hot water is a must in the shower, and door jams could have been fixed better. Rusted out building supports is another problem, as are facades that look like they are about to fall off the building (Nude side Ocean view room, about mid block) This is the current status of this resort.

However, the resort has new owners now (as of a few weeks before we arrived) and improvements are happening. While we were there, new paint was being applied everywhere. New WiFi antennas were being installed. New visual barriers were being applied around infra structure facilities (distribution transformers). New vegetation was being planted. Walkways had new concrete installed (beside the Japanese restaurant). Some rooms even had new flatscreen TV's.
Having spoken with the new owners, good things are in the works, but as this is a review, I won't go there, now.
All in all we enjoyed our adult vacation. But at this resort, it's the people (guests and Staff) that make returning, worth while.

RC

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank we2are469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,127
    662
    202
    141
    75
See reviews for
11
1,513
156
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (548)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We took our first trip to Hedo II in April. This is definitely a fun, unique place. Overall the resort does need some updating, but I would not let that keep you from going. We had a great time, with a great group of people. As many others have said, the rooms are old, but clean and you don't spend a lot of time there. The new owners are working updating. While we were there they were busy painting outside and come of the rooms were being updated. Some specifics:

Pros -
Very fun environement, highly charged. Even if you are not in the swingers lifestyle, and you are OK with being naked, you'd love this place. We are not swingers but the sexual energy was fantastic and invigorating to say the least. We've never been to a clothing optional resort and it was a bit scary at first, but you quickly learn that you are just a part of the crowd. It is fun to just let it go and enjoy.

As far as the resort - as everyone says it needs work. But I have every confidence that by the time we go back there will be many changes. We found the food to be good, not great, not bad. We never went hungry but I would not come to this resort for the food. The grounds are very well kept and the premium liquor is selective. No Barcari Limon, so don't expect a "complete" bar. Staff was nice, but not overly helpful as we have found at some other resorts.

Cons -
I wish the staff would have been a bit more "jonny on the spot". There were many times when we went to the bar and you had to wait until they noticed you - just remind yourself that you are on Jamaican time. The cook at the naked pool grill was great - whatevery you want mon!

The resort is old - but again they are working on it. It will take time. As you've probably read, the showers are funky. They have weird controls that go between the show head and body spays. There were times when the water was not hot - warm but not hot. But just try to plan your showers so that you are not taking them when everyone else is. Then the water was plenty hot.

As with any group of people, you will get a few "bad apples". In this environment it seems to mostly come in the form of single guys. Keep in mind that they are there looking to hook up, and most of them are very respectfull, but you may encounter a few "creepy single guys". A good firm "no thank you" and they moved on to other opportunities.

All in all we had a great time. We went in with the right attitude and new the place needed work, so our expectations were not set too high. We are planning on going back. If are planning on going as a couple - look for a group to go with as it makes it much more fun and your someone that can get things done for you if needed. We went through Castaways travel and they hooked us up with a great group.

If you are thinking about going - go and experience it and enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RnBfunsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring Hill, Florida
Level Contributor
109 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Just got back from a week at Hedo II. It was our fifth trip, and we very much enjoyed it. We will be back next year.

If you want a top notch resort with outstanding food, exquisite amenities, and over-the-top personalized service, then Hedo II is not for you. If, on the other hand, you want decent-to-great food, reasonable facilities, and a certain vibe that is really, really hard to describe in words, then Hedo can be as fun and as enjoyable as any place you ever go. You can really relax, try new and naughty things (if you want to), and have a great time. You can be in the middle of naked people that are having a vibrant time partying, or you can keep your clothes on and find a quiet place to read a book in the shade. You'll meet lots of different people and that's half the fun. And, a good percentage of the people you meet will have been there before (aka "repeat offenders).

We saw two of the new owners several times while we were there, and they very approachable. We saw many renovation activities in progress. Most of the renovations will take some time, but they seem to be serious about really giving Hedo the face-lift it deserves (and SuperClubs neglected). Most importantly, all of the staff seemed to be excited about the improvements and management, and it shows. Our biggest complaints about the resort are the (sometimes) lack of hot water, the tiny bathrooms, and the outdated furniture in the rooms. They say they're going to fix the hot water (and, quite frankly, if you don't have hot water when you step in the shower, try again in five minutes, and you probably will). I think they'll replace the furniture, too. And, the tiny bathrooms will probably always be tiny bathrooms, but oh well.

The staff at Hedo is fantastic, and they seemed better than ever this trip. All of them seemed courteous and willing to give a little extra effort every day. They all work very, very hard.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeS0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2013

This place was Incredible we visited for 7 days and traveled with friends. The hotel rooms are well cared for and the beds are good. Hot water was good. but when you come here you don't talk about the beds, rooms, or hot water. The Staff was amazing from the minute you get off the shuttle, friendly and go completely out of the way to make you happy. Completely exceed your expectations. The pools are clean and well maintained swim up bars are nice. Parties and events are alot of fun and very relaxed atmosphere. The Food was my most favorate part of the trip. Flavors you have never tasted before. Cant wait to travel back here again.

Room Tip: Water view rooms better location on property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lenny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornelius, North Carolina
Level Contributor
733 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013 via mobile

Summary "Good" report; assuming you are an old time frequent traveler to Hedo!
Frequent travelers here should take comfort in new owners are not trying to make resort into a new theme, etc.
Resort is in a modest refurbishing effort. For example:
Food is noticeably better. Everyone should compare with other Jamaican locations first. Hedo rules in Jamaica, with a few exceptions "Jamaica Inn" ( luxury prices though).
Security presence and professionalism noticeably improved.
Maintenance workers at several locations everyday, Actually working, if you know what I mean!

Yes there still remains problems we would not tolerate in good ole USA, but its Jamaica Mon!

For example:

Internet access improved but still not reliable.
Two pool tables , one cue stick.

If you liked the old Hedo, you will like the newly purchased Hedo.

Dollars for dollar a great value. If you have never been, it is a great party location. Just compare with other Jamaican resorts .

Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank george60898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We just back from Hedo II on April 12 after spending an amazing week there. It was our third trip there and it is just like going home. we got married in Sept 2011 at the cottage and it was my husband's choice to have the big family wedding, I wanted beach. So as we had a really bad year last year we decided to have the wedding i wanted on the beach at Hedo. All I can say is WOW, Lorna Riddock in guest relations is the most wonderful person in the world. She took such good care of us to the point that the day of the service it was raining just before and she went out of her way to ask the minister to come early in between rain showers so we could have the wedding of our dreams. It was a perfect day.
The hotel and staff are wonderful, nothing is too much trouble, the rooms were clean, and the resort was spotless. The food was an improvement from the last time we visited with more variety. The entertainment staff were amazing and the shows were excellent and we had a lot of fun and laughed a lot. Which is what we needed. The piano bar is the best it's ever been with everyone joining in with the fun and singing their hearts our. We are going back next year and hoping to stay for two weeks next time. Amazing time had by both of us and we have not settled since coming home. Truly our second home. Thanks for a great holiday Hedo II staff and friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fiona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Let me start out by saying I love the country and the people. Hedonism was not a place I could recommend. We chose this hotel because we were looking for a fun spot to party and have a good time. We aren't offended by nudity, we just choose not to.

The room: In a word: Dated. The bathroom was small and needed a LOT of repairs. The tiles were cracked, grout was dirty, and it looked like a 70's time capsule. The shower head came off while we were there and after it was "fixed" it still looked like it was about to fall.

The food/drinks: We are not picky eaters but the food was very repetitive day after day. We mostly ate omelets in the morning and cheeseburgers and fries in the afternoon/evenings. Don't expect much. There are not enough places to get drinks so the wait times are very long.

Location/beach: this was not a great section beach. We walked down the beach and there were much nicer stretches of beach without the twigs and leaves of the beach at Hedonism. On the street side there isn't anything within walking distance.

Room Tip: If you don't heed the warnings, at least bring shower shoes and slippers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank purdue7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
4.4 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
2.6 mi away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#17 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
3.4 mi away
Legends Beach Hotel
Legends Beach Hotel
#35 of 85 in Negril
3.5 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#8 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,253 reviews
1.9 mi away
Couples Swept Away
Couples Swept Away
#14 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,125 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#7 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hedonism II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hedonism II

Property: Hedonism II
Address: Norman Manley Boulevard | PO Box 25, Negril, Jamaica (Formerly SuperClubs Hedonism II)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#11 Spa Hotel in Negril
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#24 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hedonism II 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WHAT IS HEDONISM? THE SEXIEST PLACE ON EARTH WHERE YOU CAN BE WICKED FOR A WEEK Hedo®, Hedo 2®, Hedo II®, H2®, or HII®. No matter what you call it, Hedonism II is the world’s most iconic adult playground. An all-inclusive paradise where you can turn your fantasies into reality! Experience what you only read about in erotic novels and let loose! Be as mild or as wild as you like! People travel to Hedonism II from all corners of the world to live out their fantasies, to escape their inhibitions, to play. Life is too short. Do it now, before later becomes never. Your Pleasure Is Our Passion! he.don.ism noun the pursuit of pleasure; sensual self-indulgence. synonyms: self-indulgence, pleasure-seeking, self-gratification the ethical theory that pleasure (in the sense of the satisfaction of desires) is the highest good and proper aim of human life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travelbag, Ebookers, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hedonism II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hedonism Ii Hotel Negril
Hedonism Jamaica
Superclubs Hedonism Ii Negril
Hedonism 2
Hedonism Resort
Jamaica Hedonism 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing