We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beyond Expectation and Fears were Unfounded”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hedonism II

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hedonism II
Ranked #16 of 85 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beyond Expectation and Fears were Unfounded”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Well, what can we say? This was just incredible. We were first timers to Hedo and like so many others we didn't know what to expect. We read reviews that made it sound like one continuous orgy that you couldn't escape. Others that it was run down and nasty. What we were hoping for was an amazing beach holiday where we could be as intimate as we wanted, party as much as we cared to, and rejuvenate "us". Many of the reviews had us worried though.
Well, none of the negative reviews were accurate. The easiest way to convey our feelings was how it affected us when we had to leave; we were devastated, depressed. We had so nearly cancelled our trip so many times in the weeks prior to going and I was convinced it was going to be a disaster. On our first day my partner was disgusted at the nudity and any suggestion of sexual activity. Day two she was topless. Day three it all came off and we just partied endlessly. When we had to leave she was complaining about having to wear clothes.
Let's make this clear; we are not into swinging, and we are not really into nudity. These were the things we were apprehensive about. But none of that mattered there. We could do what we wanted. And we did. All the problems of our complex lives melted away and it was just us all week. We met so many wonderful people; no one is judgemental; no one pressures you. We started venturing down to the nude pool and beach, but it wouldn't have mattered if we didn't want to.
Specifics? Idyllic location. Utterly gobsmacking beaches and sea. Watersports. Other sports we never got near! Rooms? Ours was tired but gorgeous view and the cleaners kept it immaculate. So no complaints at all. Food? I HATE buffets, but it was so good we hardly bothered to eat anywhere else. The variety and effort by the staff is commendable. The theme nights are a blast - take a little effort to prepare some costumes, they are really fun.
And the staff... We travel a lot through Europe, probably 10-20 times per year. We stay in a lot of hotels. I am not one to give cheap praise. But I can honestly say that the staff at Hedo are the friendliest, most helpful, most laid back staff I have ever encountered. Utterly professional in every way. And the entertainment staff? They deserve special recognition. They work16 hour days, 10 days on, 1 day off. But they are so friendly, so enthusiastic, so energetic, so HOT(!!!!!), so TALENTED!!! The only thing I would say to Hedo managers is be careful how hard you work them. They are too valuable to lose.
So, anyone contemplating Hedo for the first time, just do it! We were apprehensive about going but totally gutted to leave. The day we arrived back we booked our next trip - August. There is no way we can wait another year. If you just want a beach holiday and you don't get into anything else, you really can have it. There will be a bit of nudity around, but nothing more. If you want to go and party like it is your last week on earth, you can do that too.
For us it was the most reinvigorating, energising time away we have had and we dearly needed it. Thank you Hedo staff so much. It is now hard for us to imagine going anywhere else.
Special hello and thanks to those we didn't get to say goodbye to. Winston - all the hype about you falls utterly short. Kamar - you're an amazing talented man, we could lie on your piano forever. Ash, Fabian, Eton ,Kayaan, Diana, Denise and Sharray (and the ones whose names escape us) you guys blew us away. I hope you're still there in August.
Todd - get in touch! You're awesome.
For my partner, this holiday was a dream come true in many ways. She was finally able to for a short time, feel confident and comfortable in her own skin without fear of being judged. To let go of insecurities and just give in to enjoying us which we did, all week! The atmosphere was fantastic. Almost everyone we met were couples in loving relationships, some who shared but most were there for the same reason as us. To have fun with each other. From speaking to some of the "repeat offenders" it seems that different times of the year attract different groups of people. So we were told for example if we don't want to see PDA everywhere don't go between Jan and Feb as that time is mainly couples in the lifestyle. Having said that though, you can avoid it if you want to anyway. It is a good idea to check the Hedo site before booking to see which Groups are going to be there during your stay, as that will give an indication of what to expect.
We met a few single Guys during our stay who all seemed rather disappointed and a couple who were slightly aggressive in their behaviour. One of them even suggested that if couples holiday at Hedo, they should share their wives/girlfriends! These Guys if looking for somewhere to go and have their "needs met", should probably head to Dominica or somewhere similar where the focus appears to lean toward catering for single men and women.
In short, we love Hedo and are looking forward to quickly becoming repeat offenders ourselves. The downside is having to wait to return. We would quite like to just live there. See you all in August.

Room Tip: Ocean view renovated rooms. Worth paying the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Asterion69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,110
    655
    201
    141
    75
See reviews for
11
1,492
155
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Hedonism II April 11 to April 28 2014.

This was trip number 6 for us. Last trip was in April 2013.

The resort has improved greatly from it’s decline of a few years ago. The food quality has increased and the deserts now, actually taste good. Chocolate is used extensively in the desert menu, and contributed greatly to my weight gain while there.
The salad buffet was very well appointed with many fresh vegetables and condiments. I could have made a meal from just the salad bar.
Friday nights was the gala dinner and the resort went all out to elevate the dinning experience to a new level, including ice sculptures. They had a made to order, station, for Sushi, Shrimp, Caesar salad and crepes. On regular evenings they had (it varied each night between), jerk chicken, leg of lamb, ribs, beef,prime rib, fish and a made to order pasta bar (every evening), and of course all the side dishes.
The included house wine served with dinner is now acceptable and palatable, but if you wish you can purchase up scale wines for many dollars more.
Breakfast had all the standard fare, eggs (cooked the way you like), cereal, pancakes, waffles, bacon, etc.
We always ate lunch at one of the beach grills.
Did I mention we gained significant weight during our stay.
The Al a Carte restaurants have also improved the food quality. The steak in Martinos is the best I’ve had in the Caribbean, as was the lamb. The chicken on the other hand was somewhat dry, and I couldn’t finish it. The plates are all present with the flare and decoration of a fine dining room, states side. Harry San, the Japanese Teppanyaki grill restaurant was also great, with more food than I could eat. Roberto, our chef, was a master at preparing the food on the Teppanyaki grill, as well as a great entertainer. If you can, you should get a seat at his grill, it’s worth it. The one down side to the Japanese grill is that it is, to one side of the main dining and entertainment area. This is a problem because the noise level and the music level from the main stage show is so loud you can’t carry on a conversation with a person two seats away from you. You may want to book this restaurant at a time when the main entertainment isn’t happening.
On that note, let me say that the entertainment on most nights in the dining room is great. From 7:00 to 8:00 there is recorded background music while you eat dinner, from 8:00 to 9:00 the house band plays, slightly louder music, but at tolerable (for a conversation) levels. But at 9:00 when the entertainment crew starts up, you can give up all hope of having a conversation as the sound levels are so high, that it almost hurts the ears, really
The EC’s are very good at their dance routines and put a lot of energy and effort into the show. Winston of course, is the best. Their costumes reflect the daily theme and are somewhat provocative. Audience participation is encouraged and often involve on stage antics and contests. Prizes are given for the most entertaining, or best costume.
The resort has theme nights every night of the week, and guests are encouraged to dress in those sexy themes. Not everyone participates, but still, there are a lot of people partaking, with some pretty fantastic, and skimpy, costumes.

For the Easter weekend, the resort brought in outside entertainment and a local DJ. There was a “Foam” dance party in the disco on one night, and a “Paint” dance party on the beach on another night. The dance parties included loud music, coloured lights and lasers. If you don’t know what these dance parties are, Google it, there are lots of pictures on-line.

On the night of April 14/15 the resort had a bon fire on the nude beach at 2:00 AM where we all gathered to watch the lunar eclipse, drink beer and eat pizza.

The piano player, Kemar, was great, playing everyone’s favorite tunes, and altering some of the lyrics (read: adult only lyrics). Some guests did dance on the piano and maybe showed a bit too much skin, but it was all in fun, and everyone enjoyed it.
The one (and only) downer for us in the Piano bar was the volume level of the sound again. The level was very high, to the point where I had to start wearing ear plugs because of the pain of the sound. While my wife laughed at me at first, by the end of our vacation, she was also wearing the ear plugs. The problem is that the guests at the bar, try to talk over the piano player, who turns up the volume to play over the guests at the bar, and around it goes. We do like the music, the banter, the guest singers and the atmosphere, just not the sound levels. However, not wanting to infringe on anyone else’s enjoyment, we’ll just keep using ear plugs. The energy level was very high in the piano bar, with people dancing randomly around the periphery. Eldon, the bar tender, is a gem, he remembers everyone’s drinks, and all you have to do is show up at the bar and he’s ready to poor your favorite beverage.

The two beaches (nude and clothing optional) are machine raked every morning, sometime before 7:00 AM. The caretakers, and especially Augustus, are raking the leaves all day long though. The beach is nicely shaded with leafy trees, that while providing shade from the hot Caribbean sun, also drop leaves all day. When not raking the leaves, the staff are washing down the loungers in a rotation of about a dozen a day.
There was always a free lounger on the beaches, but loungers around the nude pool are at a premium. The C/O main pool had no such restrictions.

An issue with the hot tub is the constantly varying temperature, with it being so hot some days, you couldn’t spend more than a minute or two in the tub. Chlorine levels in the HT are high (a good thing) but my eye’s and throat can take only so much before I need to get out. The tub was down for cleaning and conditioning, for several hours each day

The nude pool was constantly full of people and that side of the bar was usually two deep with people, getting drinks and socializing. Games included trivia pursuit and various drinking games between consenting couples. Winners got “Hedo” bucks to apply toward t-shirts and other souvenirs.
The nude beach and pool clothing rules are being enforced. On several occasions we witnessed security asking people to comply with the clothing, or lack of clothing, rules, to the letter, even at midnight. Some choose to leave rather than comply with the rules. T-shirts on sunburns were not accepted, in at least one case. If, as we witnessed one night at the nude pool bar/grill, you are friends with the security guards, you CAN stand around wearing cloths, in the nude area. Well at least until another guest calls the guard out, to do her job.
PDA’s by one account were discouraged, but we did not have a problem or witness any issues first hand, and there were plenty of PDA’s.
The C/O beach was probably 80/20 % nude verses covered. The C/O beach was usually under

Recent renovations have upgraded many of the rooms to private balconies and hot tubs, mood LED lighting and remodeled glass bathrooms. The other rooms (like we had) have all been repainted and new flat screen TV’s have been added. These rooms are basic, but clean, and include a safe, or even two, large enough for a laptop. All rooms have a fridge, hair dryer, and liquid soap dispensers, as well as a mirror on the ceiling, over the bed. We did notice that house keeping was constantly being supervised by senior staff, and in one case we had our room "audited", after housekeeping had finished (we had just returned to the room a minute before the supervisor showed up).
There is a clock radio / CD player in the room, but beware. There is usually no battery installed (9 volt) so in a power bump, the clock will reset. While we were there, there were several power bumps, which shut everything down for about 30 seconds. We now travel, world wide, with a battery operated clock which is independent of the local power (which by the way 117 volts at 50 Cycles (HZ)), so we don’t miss important events. Usually a smartphone will do this task just as well. Almost everything made for 60Hz, will work well on 50 Hz, BUT, many plugged in digital clocks will run slow.
Another caution is to know which outlets are switched on or off from the wall switches. The outlets by the bed are switched by a wall switch by the door. If your cell is plugged into your charger, on one of these outlets, and you switch it off at the wall, you won’t be charging anything and your cell (and clock) could die. The bed side lamps have their own on/off switch though, so you can leave these outlets ON all the time.
Missing are screens on the bathroom louvers, the windows, and a suitable seal on the door, to keep flying or crawling insects out. While we only ever caught 1 mosquito in our room in 17 days, this could be a problem in the future.
We had no hot water in the sink, on check in, and after reporting it, maintenance was there in minutes. Hot water was always available in the shower though. Maintenance never did resolve the HW issue in the sink, (we reported it a second time) and never did tell us the reason.
The beach appears to have some kind of biting insect, as myself, and many other guest seem to have been bitten. The bites are itchy and if scratched, result in a welt about the size of a dime. The itch and welt, tends to go away by itself in a few days if you don’t scratch it, although I did find a product at a US drugstore, that stopped the itch, for a short time anyway, and now always carry it with me when I travel.
The day before we were scheduled to leave, the AC went out, resort wide. We were told it was an issue with the chillers and it would be fix by 5:00pm, then we were told that while it was fixed, it needed 10 hours before it could be turned back on. So, we expected the AC to be on about 3:00AM, well we checked out at 07:00 AM and still no AC. I know things break down so we weren’t that annoyed, and I know the resort has been struggling with the results of the neglect by the previous owner, so I’ll give them a pass on this one. The outside air was cooler than our room, and I would have left a window open if it had had screens, but it didn’t and I was concerned about insects.
I’m giving the resort 3.5 stars this year (up from 3, last year)because of issues like, no hot water in the sink (dispite 2 calls to maintenance), and no screens on the windows/louvers (at least on the bathroom louvers). Insufficient wash room facilities at the piano bar (a line for the mens room!) (although upgrades are on the way). Getting locked out of my room because the computer system didn’t set my keycard correctly based on the length of my stay. Beach walk erosion from draining the private hot tubs (or rain run off). Main Hot tub temperature issues, and a screaming jet pump for said tub.

In short we had a great time, met many great people, and thoroughly enjoyed the resort. It’s much improved over last year (read my report from last year, with negative comments having been corrected this year). It seems someone is listening.

One big plus with this resort over other resorts we’ve been to, is that you actually meet and talk with a lot of other guests. At most resorts we’ve been to, the guests all seem to operate in there own little worlds and don’t intermix with other guests.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank we2are469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

From the minute you get out of the bus, OJell is there with a welcoming smile and a "welcome home" greeting. The newly appointed rooms are a nice surprise. Can't wait for all of the bathrooms to be redone. We love the new hot tubs and pretty orange cushions on the decks. The new chaise lounges and blue umbrellas really picked the place up. Diana, Ash, and Lasanya work so hard at motivating everyone to participate but no one seems to work harder than Eldon with nonstop energy. As far as the food, welcome changes were made and appreciated. The food was wonderful in all of the restaurants. Cyrene, Novlette, amd Sinque were our favorites to visit when going to Martinos with our hard working chefs who never get recognition like Stephanie who always has a smile to share. After a hard night of partying, it was easy to wake up again to Kimola serving us coffee and Austin making those damn good omelets. By the time we were ready to party again at the pool, Nicole and Michelle were ready for us without even needing to ask what we wanted after a while. Hedo is our home away from home for one glorious week each year. Can't wait until we can head there more often. Hurry up, retirement!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the new rooms. Soon they'll all be done but until then, they're worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VacationChris35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

To preface this, we love Hedo, and will go back as often as possible and at least every April. We do not go there for the rooms or the food, but for the people (guests and staff!), and the nude beach, and sexy vibe. There is no place on earth like Hedo, and despite the imperfections, every other vacation pales in comparison! So for that alone it should get 5 stars.

That said, all the hoopla about major improvements this year seems just like hoopla to me, and the changes I observed were rather minor. Unless you book and pay for one of the top of the line handful of newly refurbished high dollar $$$$ rooms, the majority of rooms are the same old dated Hedo rooms. Thankfully we just use them to sleep and shower. Unfortunately this trip we got the worst room assignment ever next to the busy and noisy highway bordering Sandals in Siberia. it wasn't close to the food OR the beach. Some mentioned getting a golf cart or helicopter to shuttle us. It was that bad! And the new bed was hard as a rock and for the first time ever we had no hot water. Yes, there was an umbrella in the room and the bedspread and drapes were no longer different mismatched patterns from different eras. But the drapes were heavy and one piece (didn't open), and the bedding is all white which seems a bit impractical. Some liked the new flat screen TV's, but I have never been bored enough at Hedo to resort to watching TV, so that was lost on us. So from my perspective the room upgrades were a bunch of hype unless you can afford the first class rooms. I have still never seen those rooms except on You Tube and probably never will.

There is nicer sand on the nude beach, the food seems a bit better, but I have never had an issue with the food, and the late night food options are definitely better. The best improvement I found were the new nude hot tub stairs which are a lot less dangerous and easier to navigate than the old "let's watch everyone trip and fall in" entry of the past. But they are aluminum instead of sturdier water resistant stainless steel, so are already corroding unfortunately. However it's a step in the right direction. The new lounge chairs on the beach are much nicer, but also in shorter supply than the old ones were, so you have to claim one early in the day. We also appreciated the new small hot tub behind our rooms in "Siberia" and used that several times once we found out how to turn up the heat on it.

The disco is still an underused waste of space, and the promised party and play rooms are still non existent. The piano bar is the "same old, same old", and could use a few new songs and routines. We used to love that place but it's gotten monotonous and yawn inducing after the first night. Change it up a little every couple nights... or years. It still has great potential. The entertainment and music and dancing in the main dining room is GREAT, and still better than the prude poolside parties nearby, if you ask me. Winston is the best and always will be!!!

The staff is amazing. You will not find more friendly, loving, caring, fun, staff anywhere. Lorna is wonderful. Augustus is a favorite and we miss him on the nude side! Bring him back! Our housekeeper went above and beyond! Shanikay at the pasta bar had my cold pasta ready for me every night and looked for me when I didn't stop by one night. She was the best. Shanique helped me out a lot too. They are such a friendly bunch, and really make Hedo the wonderful place that it is, and deserve a lot of appreciation and big raises! There was only one bad apple at the front desk on Friday night and she was cold as ice, and gave us the wrong information on our shuttle and scared us. She was that way with both of us at separate times, so it wasn't an isolated incident. Fortunately that is very rare at Hedo, and everyone else was kind and helpful and went out of their way to make sure we were happy. I missed my special guy on the nude catamaran cruise. He was very sweet and went out of his way in past years, but I didn't see him this year. I hope it was just his day off. I don't remember his name (or my own half the time!) but I have pictures of him!

Anyway, despite minor complaints, this is still the best resort on earth, bar none. And if you haven't been to Hedo, you haven't really vacationed. It's like a perverted sexy adult summer camp, only better!
.

Room Tip: Don't expect much from the rooms unless you go with the top of the line premium rooms which are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Virginiaabitspoiled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FresnoCa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

We wanted to try a "nude" place and wanted something my wife would be comfortable & allow her to be naked but not stared at or "hit on". This is it! We were naked in the pool & the bar & the beach area walked up & down the area and really got to relax. Toughest thing was to get up at 9 am to go "reserve" a couple of lounge chairs by putting a towel out. We stayed on the nude side and walked down to the beach every day. Her big concern was the public sex she thought would be everywhere. It was not. We had to "look for" it to know it was there. It was not "in your face" and she was never "hit on" or asked to be involved. She was very comfortable the whole week.
We did the water slide a few times nude. That was fun. Some people wore a swim suit & they did not slide as fast as naked did.
The room was not one of the new remodeled ones but was nice. The mirror above the bed was a bit tacky. We saw one of the remodel rooms near the nude pool & it was really nice. I see why they want more money for it. Also from that room you can walk out on the beach right to your own lounge chair. When it rained you could sit on your "porch" and watch it rain & others run. Also they had a hottub to sit in and drink. Yes drinks and food were free and you can get anything there.Call drinks or branded drinks.
The food was good. The buffet had a lot of choices and was always changing. We did the Italian restaurant one night (also free but you need a reservation in advance). This is a long slow dinner. 5 or 6 coarses and delivered one at a time. This is more of an "event" than a meal. Do that when you first get there. Also the Japanese restaurant was great. Again make a reservation in advance for that. We did that two nights. Mostly we ate lunch at the bar & pool area we did not need any clothes. In fact there they have a guard and you must be naked. A couple times I watched the security guard ask some women to take their wrap off. "this is a nude area". I loved it. Again my conservative wife was very comfortable all week.
One day we walked down the beach to Margaritaville. We wore a swim suit and guards all along the way were watching us. They are VERY concerned that the Americans enjoy and get back to where they belong. We walked by half a dozen resorts. Beach things to do there were several. We did the sailboat (naked) and then we went out to an "island" where we ate and drank a while & then they brought us back.
Night time activities were fun too. They had a theme night each night. First night I missed. (I drank too much --- I must have "needed" that and was in bed by 8. I don't remember much) Then one night they did "schoolgirl outfit. My wife had a pladd halter top & a 8" skirt that did not hide her butt or her "hairs" well. We took 4th. (great show). One night was "fetish" night and we wore "Harley" vests. (we are not "bike" riders so I got some in advance from Craigs List)
and again she wore a leather 8" skirt. Other contests were great too. They have a list in advance so you can plan to make your trip great! We feel it is more fun to participate than just watch but you could do that too. (We did not do them all)
I could say more..... I have never written a review but a friend said he was going to Grand Lido and I read a few of those reviews this morning. He will be very disappointed. He wants his wife naked but said he heard Hedo was "over the top" & she felt she'd be hit on and be pestered and not comfortable. Well......Not so when we were there. Not sure we'd go during a "swinger takeover" week. But most weeks....We loved it.
Bob & Juanita
Fresno CA.
Oh yes....We met a lot of "conservative" couples that go there every year for the enjoyment.
Must be great. We WILL go back in 2016. Next year we want to try Hidden Beach.
Almost forgot we are older people 66 & Been married 42 years and not able to dance & jump like you "youngsters" but we still did all the fun stuff we could.
We painted a rock there yellow with our name on it out by a "garden" go look for it. About the size of a basketball. Great fun. They have some fun stuff to do or just enjoy the "View" I did that too.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank BJungman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

This was our fifth trip to Hedo, we stayed from April 17th-24th. Our check-in was handled quickly and professionally however we were put in a gardenview prude room and had paid for gardenview nude. We were told we would be moved the next day which we were by 2pm. This was alittle upsetting because after a long day of travel you just want to get there and settle in...we could not unpack and had to search through our luggage to find all the items we needed to get us through until the next day. We were put way down in a room by the road when all we wanted was to be close to the nude side because that is where we spend most of our time. We have to say the standard rooms are much more bright since the drab gray & white is gone..new paint and bed linens, flat screen tvs and refrigerators are a big improvement.

Much improvement with the food as well. Lots of choices, and delicious desserts! Kudos to the new food management team! Austin and Jacqueline at the egg/omelet stations always made our mornings with their bright smiles and Jamaican greeting!! The new cushions to the dining area brighten it up as well!! Extra new choices at the nude grill since last year and Dwayne at night is always eager to please whether just chatting or making you a snack!! We never ate at the other grill so we cannot compare.

We really enjoyed the beach party this time...first one since we started going....but they could have done without the red paint....very messy!

It was great seeing Scumba, Alicia, Marlene, Sheldon, Cashwayne, Tiesta, Jermaine, Michelle and some of the other new bar staff...sorry if we forgot your names. Hedo really does have wonderful friendly staff working for them!!

Agustus raking the beach...always happy and always has kind words...keep up the good work my friend. The grounds were beautifully groomed, all debris picked up and all workers doing a great job! Denise(our housekeeper) kept our room very clean and tidy the whole time and we always enjoyed talking to her and hearing her stories and we would share ours with her as well...your housekeeping staff work very hard and Peta-Gay always greeting you with a lovely smile and kind words kept the main washrooms spotless!!

Oh and we cannot forget to mention Serena...always full of smiles and compliments!! See you next time!

The entertainment staff are amazing as always! We always look forward to see what Winston has in store to entertain us...they are all hard working and are of Las Vegas caliper!! Keep up the excellent work everyone and thankyou Ash for the special dance on Lingerie night!!

One issue that was taken care of with professional expertise and we wish to thank Michael the night manager and Donna Grant from the bottom of our hearts and Fed Ex as well is the fast and safe return of my husband's wedding band. We arrived home after a 3 hr drive from Toronto airport to find my husband had left his wedding band in the safe in our room....what a sinking feeling he got....he quickly called the resort...we believe it was Michael who was able to quickly retrieve the wedding band and keep it safe and then Donna took great care in handing it over to FedEx who took care to getting it the the airport in Montego Bay where it was flown back to Canada and then delivered to our home by FedEx in one week...A HUGE THANKYOU to all involved! We were never so happy to have this sentimental piece of jewellry back in our possession...thankyou all again from the bottom of our hearts!!!!

My husband and I were both thrilled to see all the improvements the new ownership is making to this jewel in the Caribbean! The newly renovated rooms are beautiful and we are sure we will see more improvements on our next vacation in Hedo!

Despite all the negative reviews, after all you are in Beautiful Jamaica and Rome was not built in a day! You have to go with an open mind....and where else in the Caribbean can you hang loose and have fun...like others have said it is" Walt Disney World " for adults!

Sorry if we forgot to mention anyone on their commendments until next time.......we cannot wait to hear those familiar words "Welcome Home!"

T&R
Ontario, Canada

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rhonda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

I always start with the good, and changes since our last trip 4 years ago.

Bus ride to Negril is still just horrible, Hedo cant do much about that, (but the best of friends normally start on the ride.

Mobay VIP, we where supposed to have it upon arrival with the Premium Room Package, (normal Jamaica mistake) Had it leaving, speeds thinks up a bit nice snacks and drinks before the plane.

New room did not change in size, the large shower takes up a little more space. Very clean. In room bar/frig needs a little help. Its a 1/2 size bottle of Goose, rum, and a bottle of champagne daily. 4 bottles red stripe, waters, cokes, grape juice. Mood lighting for me was take it or leave it. A/C was only out about 12 hours during our trip (the upgraded room have newer A/C units but are still connected to the old system) Did not have a problem with hot water (surprise) Telephone and the Wi-Fi worked almost perfectly. A fairly good Wi-Fi connection allowed for Skype calls home via email (FREE) No more need to get a calling card or go to the lobby.

Food Nude Beach- Greatly improved with Jerk all day ( I believe they only close 7 p- 11p) Burgers, fries, queso's, nachos, about every flavor of Jamaican patties all day. Pizza at midnight, with the full menu.

Main Dinning Hall - only ate once full quality was good

Martino's (Pastafarri) great food and service not a lot of change there.

Liquor- Many upgrades here. Grey Goose Crown, Jack. and I did not see it running out like in years past

Property Maps. Be sure to check a current one, since they continue to remodel the rooms. I did not complain however my premium room was 2129 which is about as close as you can get to the prude side. Do your research, because premium comes at a price.

I do not know if this is good or bad, however could be important to your trip. you can still book through hedo ii, however travel agents have took over and get the best rates. We used Char Travel, I think Tom's travels is another big hitter. Research the hedo ii website for events and try to find a week which fits your lifestyle. The travel agents bring there own DJ's make there own parties. So more than ever make sure you go during a time the events appeal to you. Everyone makes friends at hedo but it can be more difficult if you are not part of that group. (We had no trouble making new friends but I see it could be a problem)

Nude pool and Hot tub- Temps were good all week, seems like a lower occupancy week, but the nude pool was packed all day. I am not sure I saw a prude all week, but I may have missed a few.

Security still very visible, but unlike the past they seems a bit more laid back day and night on the PDA (depends on your taste). and they seemed to keep a lot of the black market stuff off the resort. It was actually nice not to have dealers bothering you every time you step out of the room.

Ok I will end on this note. TIPPING staff will get them fired. The staff is very upfront about this and adhere to it. In years past it had become a issue for they quality of service. We were always tippers even though it was "NOT ALLOWED" It is strictly enforced now everyone seems to get the same speed and quality of service.

Room Tip: Study the new Premium room map its is changing weekly. Just because you think you have the best or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sccple43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
4.4 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
2.6 mi away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#18 of 85 in Negril
4.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
3.4 mi away
Legends Beach Hotel
Legends Beach Hotel
#36 of 85 in Negril
3.5 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#9 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,215 reviews
1.9 mi away
Couples Swept Away
Couples Swept Away
#15 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,081 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#8 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hedonism II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hedonism II

Property: Hedonism II
Address: Norman Manley Boulevard | PO Box 25, Negril, Jamaica (Formerly SuperClubs Hedonism II)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Negril
#11 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#24 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hedonism II 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WHAT IS HEDONISM? THE SEXIEST PLACE ON EARTH WHERE YOU CAN BE WICKED FOR A WEEK Hedo®, Hedo 2®, Hedo II®, H2®, or HII®. No matter what you call it, Hedonism II is the world’s most iconic adult playground. An all-inclusive paradise where you can turn your fantasies into reality! Experience what you only read about in erotic novels and let loose! Be as mild or as wild as you like! People travel to Hedonism II from all corners of the world to live out their fantasies, to escape their inhibitions, to play. Life is too short. Do it now, before later becomes never. Your Pleasure Is Our Passion! he.don.ism noun the pursuit of pleasure; sensual self-indulgence. synonyms: self-indulgence, pleasure-seeking, self-gratification the ethical theory that pleasure (in the sense of the satisfaction of desires) is the highest good and proper aim of human life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, Ebookers, TravelUp, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Holiday Gems, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hedonism II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hedonism Ii Hotel Negril
Hedonism Jamaica
Superclubs Hedonism Ii Negril
Hedonism 2
Hedonism Resort
Jamaica Hedonism 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing