We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second stay”
Review of White Sands Negril

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
White Sands Negril
Ranked #21 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
D.C.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Second stay”
Reviewed 11 April 2012

I stayed at White Sands back in 2004 and just got back from my second stay. Glad that I made the decision to return. I stayed in one of the 1br apartments. Plenty of space, great shower, close to the beach, great food and drinks at the beach bar. I'll be staying at White Sands when I return.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this review, 23 September 2012
Wow, you have incredible self-restraint to have stayed away so long! Thank you for allowing us to host you on your second trip. Our one bedroom apartments are one of the most spacious apartments on the beach, glad you liked the new shower. We renovated all the apartments a few years ago and everyone loves him. Nothing like a big walk in shower to relax and. I hope you will return soon as we look forward to hosting you on your third visit. Kindest regards, White Sands Negril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    441
    281
    90
    48
    34
See reviews for
131
275
85
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roselle, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We just back from White Sands and it was a wonderful place to stay
Great location and wonderful, friendly staff. Our room was kept immaculate
thanks to Nora. Would go back there again.
I was sorry to leave.

Room Tip: We enjoy rooms that are close to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank airedalemom06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this review, 23 September 2012
I am glad you had a wonderful time at White Sands Negril, I will definitely tell Nora that you give her the highest remarks! I agree that our location is wonderful and we hope that you will be back soon to share a cocktail with us at sunset. Kindest regards, White Sands Negril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

I would absolutely return here. Thought it was funny to read a review about their hard beds. Literally just got back, stayed in G13, slept like a baby every night and took many drunken/inebriated showers without slipping or falling in the "slanted" tub. If you're not the Princess and the Pea, you will be FINE staying here. Rooms are super spacious and clean, staff is absolutely amazing and helpful.

The beach is steps away, the patio a perfect place to people watch and relax. I'm not a resort-y kinda a gal, so maybe that's why I enjoyed my stay here so much. It's quiet, quaint, and very low key. Want a five-start resort experience, go to Hawaii. Want a real Jamaican vacation? Book White Sands.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mira C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this review, 23 September 2012
I could not have written a better trip report if I tried, thank you so much for taking the time and we greatly appreciate your kind words. I am glad everyone at white Sands took great care of you, we certainly are, as you say, quaint and very low-key. We like to think that we offer a true Jamaican vacation, glad you agree with us! We look forward to sharing a sunset you soon. Kindest regards, White Sands Negril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

The first time I visited Jamaica, I stayed in Negril at White Sands. 13 years and four trips later, I STILL stay at the same family run hotel with an amazing staff. Not that I'm not adventurous--because I am. But having been up and down the 7-mile stretch of beach, I've seen all the hotels and none make me want to make a change. For one, the same family-run style of service is exactly the same as it was when I went as a college kid on spring break. The property is clean, well maintained and has the perfect amount of amenities without turning into an all inclusive. Two, their staff is AMAZING. Top to bottom, seeing the same familiar faces makes you feel like family--and they take care of you like family as well. Perfect location, great bar (and bartenders) and perfectly reasonable room rates.

I hope that in another 13 years I'll be sitting at the bar talking to Tony or Paul and remembering our youth.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnthonyBejarano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this review, 23 September 2012
Thank you so much for your loyalty and taking the time to write such a nice trip report. You certainly have spent many years walking our beach and it makes me very happy to know that you continue to support White Sands Negril. I am glad you feel welcome and enjoy our family run property. Our staff, and especially Tony and Paul, look forward to taking care of you on your next trip. Kindest regards, White Sands Negril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merrill Wi
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

After a fairly tough year with a lot of dearly departed's two Moms & two very close accomplesses
we needed a break. So for 18 days we lived very comfortably at The White Sands Hotel with a wonderful crew that consisted of the wait staff,grounds staff and security that made waking up in
the morning great. We realize that some of those out there like more attention when on vacation
although there are time when peace and solitude is what your after. This time was one of those
and we had a wonderful vacation, so when we got home we were totally refreshed.

Thank you for letting me ramble on and I hope your vacation is great also. Benny + Lupie Cliff

Room Tip: Garden rooms are Quieter and cooler, There are also rooms with kitchenettes for those who cook. also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Benny-Cliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this review, 23 September 2012
I am glad your stay at White Sands Negril allowed you to decompress and relax after a stressful year having lost loved ones. It warms my heart to know that the time spent at our property allowed you to enjoy yourself and return home totally refreshed. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future. Cheers, White Sands Negril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth, MN
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

DISCLAIMER...THIS HAS BEEN POSTED BUT UNDER MY OTHER ACCOUNT THAT I'M GOING TO DISABLE. MICHAEL-thanks for the response....I'm going to be printing that out and keeping it!!


So, let me start by saying I have been staying at this hotel since 1994. In nearly 20 years of going to Negril I have skipped a few years AND have double up some years. I've been down there with friends who have stayed at other hotels so I have had the opportunity to see other places. My first time in 1993 was at a different hotel on the beach and friends stayed on the cliffs.

Ok, back to White Sands....Garden side of the hotel (across the road from the beach) I have stayed in rooms G12, G28, G11, my sister stayed in a garden side room but I don't remember the number. Of ALL of these rooms, hands down...G12 is my all-time favorite and second choice would be G28. G28 is larger overall and at the end of the building so no traffic by your back door. BUT it is closer to the road with no trees to minimize the road noise. Turn on the AC or fan and block it out. G12...oh G12 what can I say about this room?? it's heaven. Big tree in the front of the property that provides much "wildlife" viewing - Lizzards and birds mostly but I love it. Out back (again, at the end of the property so no walk by traffic and more room for a clothes line) flowers and trees and some incredible Dr. Bird viewing. A view of the Morass from the back and because of the cement detail in the shape of stars, a great sunset photo op.

I do NOT spend much time in my room so the fact that it has a fridge, a shower, a bed and a deck is basically all I'm looking for. Garden side is nice, quiet, relaxing, and friendly and there is something about being on "that" side of the road. It provides you the chance to meet the hotel staff coming and going as well as interact with locals on the road.

Now, I have stayed beach side my last two trips and now I'm torn. I've stayed in D4 twice and this last trip I stayed in D2. D4 is nice and I would be happy with that room again. Oh hell, I think all of the rooms would be just fine. I have never stayed in any of the apartments but have looked at them and had drinks with some fun Canadians staying in an apartment so they gave me a tour and they are nice rooms! So, D2 is one of the first two deluxe rooms closest to the beach. D1 & D2 do have a bit of an ocean view. My neighbors staying in D1 invited me over for coffee one morning so I could check out D1. D1 is larger in size and the deck is larger and has a great view of the bar area/ocean. D2 however, was just as good! As i've stated....I'm not up for sitting around in my room so the fact that the bed is comfortable, there is a fridge and a shower...i'm a happy camper.

I usually eat breakfast at the restaurant on site-eggs, bacon, coffee, and it was like 8-10 bucks depending upon how many cups of coffee I had. I usually do "beach lunch" which is one of the following depending upon who's coming by: patty from patty men, coco bread, jerk pork guy, lobster guy (one lobster guy is pretty aggressive so be warned) or leftovers from the night before. The drinks at White Sands bar are priced similar to the states....$3.00 for a rum and Pepsi. $4-$5 for the yummy blended ones. They do a two-for-one special that draws guests from surrounding hotels.

The hotel exchanges money for you for a percentage..that's up to you how you want to do money. I'm of the mindest that it's right there and it's hot out and I don't want to go to town or do busy work on vacation so I willingly and gladly let them do it and take a cut. I ALWAYS take a safe in the office. Would never NOT do that. I should stress I've NEVER had my room broken into or anything like that happen at this hotel.

They take US$ at the bar but you may get your change back in Jamaican. I guess, if we had to do it right now we'd go down with a wad of 1's, 5's & 10's some 20's to pay for our drinks/bar tab. This probably would have saved us some money. But, I hate saying that. I am in a foreign country-I should use the currency of where I am.

Ok, now the people....I cannot say enough about the employees of White Sands as well as the Jamaicans that are regulars there. I've known many of the employees at White Sands for years and in a way we've grown older together. I have often found the best places to eat by asking the "guys" where we should go. Never been disappointed yet. They've turned me on to some of my all-time favorite places to eat down there. The staff in the kitchen - Chef, Jennifer & Maureen are the best start to my day. Tony and Paul the bartenders are the best end to my day. In between are the all-stars like Henry, Mousey, Everton, Leedon, Power, and ALL of the housekeeping staff! White Sands is NOT a swanky place but that is part of its charm.

A recommendation: when the newspaper person comes by, buy a paper and read what's going on in Jamaica. This opens the door to some incredible conversations with Jamaicans about what's happening in the country you are choosing to visit and spend money in. There are two newspapers....the Gleaner and the Observer. I prefer the Gleaner but if it's not available, the Observer will do.

My ONLY problem/complaint with White Sands is that it would appear that too many have fallen for its charms like I have and I have been informed by management that it's a crap shoot if I'll be able to get a room when I want one. I expect this serious situation to be somehow remedied. I'll await your resolution Mike.

Kind Regards,
Shari Green

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this review, 23 September 2012
A simple thank you seems entirely inadequate for your loyalty and friendship to the White Sands Negril community, but I sincerely thank you for your kind words and support of our little piece of paradise. As always we look forward to hosting you again and sharing our sunsets with you. Cheers, Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traverse city MI
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Just returned from our 2nd visit to White Sands. They have been doing lots of improvements. New air conditioners on the beach side, new doors and windows on the beach side as well. While we were there we got a new mattress in our room! ( beach side as well ) The rooms are clean and basic. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Tony the bartender rocks!!! Would love it if you could have a coffee maker at an additional charge. One down side is our water was shut off every night till about 7 am. Couldn't figure out if it was White Sands or thru out Negril.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the beach and on the garden side are quieter. Ask to be far from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tcbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this review, 11 March 2012
Thank you for such an honest and nice review. The water situation is a temporary thing. Jamaica has been going through a bit of a drought so the National Water Commission was shutting off water in the entire Parish of Westmoreland each night recently to refill their main water tanks. It is a temporary measure.

Glad you like enjoyed your stay. Our staff is fantastic and I love it when they are given praises by our guests. They deserve all the praise. Thank you for your second visit, we look forward to hosting you again soon.

Cheers, White Sands Negril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.5 mi away
Negril Palms Hotel
Negril Palms Hotel
#42 of 80 in Negril
516 reviews
0.1 mi away
Charela Inn / Le Vendome
0.2 mi away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#16 of 80 in Negril
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Firefly Beach Cottages
Firefly Beach Cottages
#37 of 80 in Negril
226 reviews
0.1 mi away
CocoLaPalm Resort
CocoLaPalm Resort
#12 of 80 in Negril
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Sands Negril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Sands Negril

Property: White Sands Negril
Address: Norman Manley Boulevard | PO Box 60, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Negril
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#32 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — White Sands Negril 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate resort with a non-hotel atmosphere ideal for families, singles and couples alike. An excellent choice for the undemanding traveler who values the charm of a family owned and managed resort. Excellent mid beach location with rooms on the beach and garden side of the property. Choose from spacious one-bedroom apartments, inviting deluxe and standard rooms, and a villa w/pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your White Sands Negril reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Sands Negril Hotel Negril
White Sands Hotel Negril
White Sands Resort Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing