We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The beginning of our trip!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of White Sands Negril

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
White Sands Negril
Ranked #24 of 84 Hotels in Negril
pa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The beginning of our trip!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

We arrived on January 3 after landing in Montego Bay. On to the room, it was clean, close to food, drink and dance. Only complaint and it's not much of a complaint, there was no TV or phone in the room, but it didn't stop me from having a blast. The beach was gorgeous and the restaurant was manned (womaned) by a wonderful, lovely woman whose name escapes me!! We went out to a club right down the road called The Jungle. I would recommend the club and the hotel...highly!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank garnet8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Great to hear you had a good time and the staff treated you well. The beach grill is run by
Chef ( Horace ) Maureen and Jennifer. Bartenders are Tony and Paul. I will definitely tell the grill staff you give 'em a shout out ! We are lucky to be located on one of the quietest and best parts of the beach, all within walking distance to restaurants, bars, and of course....Jungle ! Glad you enjoyed Negril's only nightclub.

We look forward to hosting you again.

Cheers,
White Sands Negril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    407
    272
    87
    48
    32
See reviews for
122
251
83
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

We've been to Negril 14 times, and have stayed at White Sands the last 6-7 times. The staff is one of the main reasons we keep coming back - specifically Patrick, Henry, Lidon, Jennifer, Chef, Paul and Peaches. After we had been there a few times they recognized us and welcomed us "home" each time we came back. The bar and breakfast area are great, very spacious. I love Chef's bacon and cheese omelette and his club for lunch.

We normally stay in a deluxe beach side room and have stayed in cottage 1 a couple times too. The rooms are clean and housekeeping does a great job. If you are looking for something fancy - this is not the place for you. You will get everything you need and get treated like you are family.

The beach is gorgeous with plenty of sun, and there are also two covered areas and a few palm trees if you need some shade. You do get people walking by selling stuff, and you just tell them to come over if you want to take a look. Lidon does a great job at keeping any trouble at bay and keeping the riff raff out.

If I had any suggestions to improve the experience, it would be to add some snacks and supper for sale in the evenings. Also, it would be cool if you could rent blenders during your stay. Then you could make money on the rentals and people could make drinks in their own room if they want to. My only gripe about White Sands are the mattresses... They are hard and uncomfortable, but the mattresses have been no better at other negril hotels that I've stayed at.

Overall, great value for the money, wonderful atmosphere and staff, great food! The beach and personalities will keep us coming back for years!

J & K
Minnesota

Room Tip: Stay on the beach side unless you really need to save a few dollars. It can be a bit scary to cross...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blondie277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and welcome back !! I am glad you feel at home while you are at White Sands, this is the experience we try to give everyone. We always appreciate the feedback on things you would like to see added. We are very fortunate to have the opportunity of hosting you and look forward to sharing our beach with you again on your next trip.

Cheers,
White Sands Negril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

Myself and my partner stayed here for two nights, in December. Our room was on the beach side upstairs the room was bigger than I had expected and as advertised we had a fridge and bath/shower.
Check-in was easy although i didn't realise the price advertised on Hostelbookers didnt include local taxes.
We enjoyed our stay although the breakfast servered at the on site resturant was a huge disappointment, it was over priced and within my salt fish I found what looked like pieces of Green sponge which totally put me off eating. (I was still charged for the breakfast!!)
The beach was lovely and we were not hassled at all we just chilled and enjoyed our environment, on our check-out I meet the owner of the hotel a nice man who explained why he asked my partner to move his car. The owner's son also helped us pump up the tyre on the car. All in all we would stay again however I would give breakfast a miss

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SelinaRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Thank you for your trip report, I am glad you and your partner enjoyed your time with us. Sorry to hear you feel the cost of our breakfast is high. Our Jamaican breakfast ( ackee and saltfish ) cost $9.35 and our Full Breakfast costs $8.50 and it includes free refills for coffee. We feel it is good value, but I understand if you feel differently.

As for not being satisfied with you meal, I apologize that it was not served correctly. My recommendation is that no matter where you eat, if you are not satisfied with the meal, send it back and ask for a fresh plate. The grill staff generally does a very good job keeping a tidy kitchen. You have already checked out so there is not a way for me to compensate you for this problem. I would gladly provide you with a complimentary breakfast on your return stay.

I am glad we were able to help you with your car, I hope you had a safe drive back to the airport.

Happy New Year.

White Sands Negril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston, Oregon
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

We arrived at White Sands on December 19th and stayed until January 3rd. This was our second trip to White Sands with our family! This time around, we brought four of our five children, ranging in age from 23 to 9. They excitedly planned this vacation with us for months!

As before, we were greeted at the Sangster Airport in Montego Bay by one of the White Sands taxi drivers, prearranged by Francis.

After approximately 1-1/4 hours, we arrived at White Sands in Negril. It was like coming home to family. It was so nice to see Francis, the manager, again. He still has that wonderful smile!
Friendly and familiar faces greeted us, and we were fortunate to have the exact same room that we had five years ago, C3, one of the apartments on the beach side of the property. There were several changes since our last trip. Instead of the original wooden slat windows, there were brand new locking windows with screens and protective bars. The bathroom was completely remodeled, and a beautiful, brand new shower replaced the old one. Two new bathroom sinks stood where there once was one. A nice-size flat-screen television hung on the bedroom wall, a brand new air conditioner in the bedroom, and wi-fi was available throughout the hotel. New tile replaced the old in the kitchen.

We couldn't wait to walk down the path to the most beautiful beach in the whole world, 7-Mile
White Sands Beach. The sun shone brightly on the clear, blue and turquoise water. Sailboats,
glass bottom boats and a few swimmers dotted the water. There were a few people strolling on the beach. A Rasta was singing Bob Marley tunes while playing his guitar. Sun bathers lay on beach chairs, basking in the beautiful sunshine. It sure was an awesome sight! The sand was like baby powder against our feet. We have traveled to many Caribbean islands, but none have the soft, white sand, and breathtaking beach that Negril has to offer. Liddon, our dear friend and security guard, was right there, and he remembered us from five years ago! What a wonderful man. We will never forget how well he watched our children on the beach when they were playing, and how he kept our belongings safe when we swam in the water. Be sure to bring along beach towels or buy some nearby for about $10 each. Also, don't forget your bug repellent as mosquitoes and sand fleas can be troublesome right after sunset and before sunrise. However, if you DO get bitten, ask for a lime at the bar, and buy aloe from a vendor, and you will be good to go!

We stopped by the bar on the way back to our room, and again noted the 2-for-1 drink specials. White Sands Bar always has very flavorful and strong drinks! The bartenders, Tony, Chris and Paul are so nice!

We headed back to our room to unpack. On our way, we spotted our dear friend, one of the maids at White Sands, Kay. Our eyes locked. She remembered us! For five years, I had hoped that she'd remember us, and she did. After a lots of hugs and a few tears, we got back to our room to unpack.

Our apartment had a small but efficient kitchen, complete with a gas oven and stove top, full-size refrigerator and microwave. Dishes, pots and pans, coffee maker, toaster and utensils are all included. If you get a unit with a kitchen, remember to purchase coffee, coffee filters, dish soap and some kind of scrubber, as these are not included.

We are a family of six, and each of us had our own bed. We slept in a full-size bed, and each of our four children had their own beds. The apartment has a separate bedroom, a living room,
bathroom and kitchen. There are two ceiling fans; one in the living room area and one in the
bedroom. A couch, and two comfy chairs are in the living room, and a table and four chairs are in the dining room.

Soon after arriving, we took a taxi to the grocery store to stock up on food. Being a large
family, we like to cook a lot of our own meals to save on the cost. There are two major grocery
stores in Negril; the Value Master and the Hi-Lo, about 2 blocks from each other, about a mile
from White Sands. There is an ATM adjacent to the Value Master, and a Cambio inside the Hi-Lo.

While shopping in the stores, you will be approached by clerks, hoping to help you shop. They are trying to earn tips, so if you use their services, be expected to pay. Minimum wage in Jamaica is only about $1.07 per hour, so they really can use the tips.

Back on the beach, we purchased patties (vegetable, chicken and beef) for only $1 U.S. or $100 Jamaican. Coco bread is delicious, and is about $0.50 each. We purchased freshly-cooked lobster for $5 each. Homemade ice cream was purchased for $200 Jamaican. A word of caution - the rum raisin ice cream was DELICIOUS, but contains real rum, so you may not want to purchase it for your children. Other flavors are available, such as chocolate and vanilla. Selections vary day to day. Fresh fruit, sugar cane, freshly squeezed juices, including orange, pineapple and mango, "special" brownies and cigarettes are also for sale. During this trip, ganja smoking was a lot more prevalent than five years ago. It was not uncommon to be asked many times per day if we wanted to buy ganja. However, we politely just said, "No, thanks", and went on our way with no problems. The smoke was in the air nearly everywhere on the beach but, again, we just stayed away from the places where people were smoking.

The water in front of White Sands is perfectly clear, and the slope so gentle that you can literally walk far into the ocean up to your neck. The water is super salty so you can just bob
up and down without even trying to float about. The water is warm, even in December. We enjoyed watching beautiful sting rays swim by several times per day. Captain Junior took us out in his glass bottom boat for a fun snorkeling excursion at the nearby reef. Depending on who you negotiate with, you can expect to pay $20 to $25 per person for a 2-hour trip! We saw at least 30 varieties of fish, coral, sponges, a yellow ray, lobster, sea urchins and anemones. We brought along our own snorkel gear, but they provided everything you need right on the boat.

This was our first Christmas and New Year's away from home, so we did not know what to expect. White Sands made everything very special and memorable. We were surprised on Christmas morning to find a decorated Christmas tree on the beach right in front of our hotel. We brought along wrapped gifts to give to the staff and to Jamaican families. Simple things such as Christmas stockings, Santa hats, small toys & trinkets, costume jewelry, balloons, bubbles, school supplies and even gently-worn clothing were greatly appreciated by all. There is a specific school that White Sands supports, and Francis can give you all the details if you wish to bring supplies, gifts or donations. Boxing Day, December 26th, is also celebrated in Jamaica. It is a holiday where unwanted or unused gifts are re-wrapped to give to others. New Year's Eve was extra special as White Sands surprised their guests with a nice bottle of champagne and a Chinese lantern, that everyone got to light during the evening by White Sands' big bonfire. We also enjoyed the fire dancer show that the hotel provided at 10 pm. We brought along a bunch of New Years hats, blowers, and glow bracelets and handed them out to nearly everyone around the bonfire on the beach.

Sunsets were spectacular, as always, and we enjoyed viewing them from the beach or up on the big, yellow balcony. Some folks traveled to Rick's Cafe or Xtabi to experience their sunsets there, but we preferred to be right on the sand in front of White Sands.

Henry, the owner, let us try some of the star fruit growing on the property. He is such a nice
and giving gentleman. His daughter, Judy, is such a sweetheart, and took me on a short tour of
their property, showing me their beautiful birds, dogs and chickens. She even took pictures of
the birds for me.

It's not a question of if, but when, we will be back. We, again, enjoyed the time of our lives,
and left half of our hearts in this beautiful place we call our second home.

Room Tip: We prefer the rooms on the beach side as opposed to the garden side as it is closer to the beach, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank thevandys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
WOW !! I think I should print your review and put it in a binder to publish. Thank you so very much for taking the time to write such a detailed and wonderful trip report. We loved hosting you and your family. Thank you for passing out all sorts of fun New Year's eve bracelets and hats, that was incredibly kind. Glad you and the family enjoyed sending off sky lanterns at midnight. I am not sure if your children joined the limbo line, but regardless King Fireman put on a good show.

We are blessed to have such amazing people stay at White Sands and when we read your words it puts a big smile on all our faces. White Sands is our home and our business. We live here and it is a 24/7 lifestyle. Our family thanks you for your loyalty and we look forward to hosting you again when you return. Have a fantastic 2013.

Cheers,
White Sands Negril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

Found info on this Villa on VRBO. Spent Christmas and New Years with another family here, 8 people in total. Not beachfront, 3-4 min walk to 7 mile beach. Mid-ranged priced.

PRO's:
Privacy and space, this villa could comfortably accommodate 10.

Private pool.

Full kitchen, and staff to cook meals if so desired.

Whitesands Provided a fun New Years Celebration.

CON's:
Limited shade on the beach. If this is a necessity for you this is not the location to stay at.

Tipping policy, which we were not informed of at time of booking. We prefer to tip directly to service providers not to owners to disperse to staff. When we attempted to tip staff some politely declined, and on occassion stated "they would get in trouble".

Noisy at night due to close proximity to main road.

Water shortage in Negril, creates a very unsanitary environment.

Overall enjoyed our stay at the Villa and first trip to Negril, great place to stay with a group of people.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gbtm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this review, 5 January 2013
It was great having your family and friends stay with us, glad you liked the New Year's Eve celebration and enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to write a trip review. I do understand your desire to tip direclty, and some clients certainly do this. The reason we ask the villa clients to give the front office the gratuity is that we can distribute it to all staff that take care of the villa, some you meet and other you may not meet. There are instances when clients only give to certain staff members and not others, which complicates matters. Either way, we are glad you had a great time and we look forward to hosting you again.
Cheers,
White Sands Negril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013 via mobile

Nice location. The beach wonderful!
Pretty old and dark room but clean with ac and fridge. You just get one mediumsize towel. Bring your own to the beach.
Staff friendly and helpful.
Not any luxaruy but since it was pretty cheap I guess you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrs-wf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this review, 3 January 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to write a review. You are correct, we do not market White Sands as luxury but we provide all the necessities needed for a nice and relaxing vacation...clean rooms, cold a/c, refrigerator in the rooms, lush landscaping, fun beach bar and grill with dialy specials and a great beach. As they say in Jamaica....'Nuff said' and thanks for allowing us to host you.

Cheers,
White Sands Negril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013 via mobile

This place is a gem. We stayed on the Garden side and it was beautiful and so quite and serene. Lushly landscaped. The room was clean and spacious. All the staff was courteous and helpful. Props to Henry for being extra helpful. There was a toddler bed in the room and he glad to remove it when asked. Just across the street from the most beautiful beach I've ever seen. Plus it was the lowest rate anywhere. I plan to return ASAP.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kiki2175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this review, 5 January 2013
Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to write a trip review. Yes, Henry Brown is a fantastic man. He has so many clients who love him that I think he needs to start his own Facebook page ! Glad you enjoyed your time and liked the property. We would love to host you again andn look forward to seeign you later this year.
Cheers, White Sands Negril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.6 mi away
Negril Palms Hotel
Negril Palms Hotel
#42 of 84 in Negril
3.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
1.0 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Firefly Beach Cottages
Firefly Beach Cottages
#34 of 84 in Negril
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
CocoLaPalm Resort
CocoLaPalm Resort
#14 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
0.4 mi away
Negril Tree House Resort
2.8 mi away
Xtabi Resort
Xtabi Resort
#30 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Sands Negril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Sands Negril

Property: White Sands Negril
Address: Norman Manley Boulevard | PO Box 60, Negril, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Negril
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#32 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — White Sands Negril 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate resort with a non-hotel atmosphere ideal for families, singles and couples alike. An excellent choice for the undemanding traveler who values the charm of a family owned and managed resort. Excellent mid beach location with rooms on the beach and garden side of the property. Choose from spacious one-bedroom apartments, inviting deluxe and standard rooms, and a villa w/pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your White Sands Negril reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Sands Negril Hotel Negril
White Sands Hotel Negril
White Sands Resort Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing